DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions that the current art of record fails to teach a U-shaped elastic part. The Examiner contends that the term “U-shaped” is very broad, especially when dealing with elastic pieces that can be bent into any number of shapes at any given time in their use. CHAO teaches in Fig. 6 a spring 53 (note that the spring 53 is a bent rod and not a traditional “spring” such as found in the prestress unit) having a first contact part 531 and second contact part 532 connected to prestress unit 50 having further springs to push and pull the button unit. These units as a whole make a U type shape and would broadly read on the term “U-shaped.” The whole of claim 3 is noted as allowable, not just the U-shaped recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHAO (2017/0277275). In regards to claim 1, CHAO teaches a mouse structure comprising: a shell, comprising a base and an upper cover covering the base, wherein the upper cover extends toward the base with a plurality of bosses (See; Figs 1-3 for a mouse structure with shell, base and bosses); a plurality of buttons, wherein each of the buttons comprises a hollow cylindrical body extending through the upper cover, and each of the hollow cylindrical bodies comprises a pressing surface and a stop surface opposite to each other (See; Figs. 3 and 6 for a button unit 40); and a plurality of U-shaped elastic members, wherein each of the elastic members comprises an embedded section, an elastic part, and a pressing part, and wherein each of the pressing parts is elastically pressed against one of the stop surfaces to pull down one of the hollow cylindrical bodies (See; Fig. 6 and p[0027] for elastic part 53 having a pressing part 531 connected to the button unit 40 and embedded section 532 which provides a prestress force to pull down the button unit. Further see Fig. 5B where the prestress units have springs which push and pull down on the button unit. These units as a whole make a U type shape and would broadly read on the term “U-shaped.”).
In regards to claim 2, CHAO teaches wherein an extension space is provided on a side of each of the hollow cylindrical bodies, and each of the stop surfaces is exposed in one of the extension spaces (See; Figs. 1-3). In regards to claim 7, CHAO teaches wherein each of the bosses is provided with a support seat, one end of the support seat is formed with a limit cover, and an interlayer space is formed between the limit cover and the support seat for clamping the embedded section (See; Figs. 1-3 and 6).
In regards to claim 8, CHAO teaches wherein the limit cover is extended with a surrounding wall surrounding the support seat, and the surrounding wall is configured to limit the embedded section (See; Figs. 1-3 and 6).
In regards to claim 9, CHAO teaches wherein each elastic member extends from one of the embedded sections toward one of the pressing parts with an attachment section, and the attachment section is attached to the support seat (See; Fig. 6).
In regards to claim 10, CHAO teaches wherein a retaining wall is formed at an end of the support seat away from the limit cover, and the retaining wall limits the attachment section (See; Figs. 1-3 and 6).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627