DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “the illumination device is configured to be capable of outputting.” The terms “configured to” and “capable” are both indicators of functional claim language. Either phrase alone would be sufficient to indicate functional claim language. Using both phrases together appears to be a mistake, because using both phrases together does not reasonably change that the phrase indicates functional claim language. The additional words are unnecessary and do not add clarity to the claim. Select one desired functional language indicator and delete the other functional language indicator.
Claim 13 recites “the operation portion is configured to be capable of adjusting.” The terms “configured to” and “capable” are both indicators of functional claim language. Either phrase alone would be sufficient to indicate functional claim language. Using both phrases together appears to be a mistake, because using both phrases together does not reasonably change that the phrase indicates functional claim language. The additional words are unnecessary and do not add clarity to the claim. Select one desired functional language indicator and delete the other functional language indicator.
Claim 19 recites: “The illumination device adapted to work of an inflator.” “Work of” is incorrect English grammar. It should be “work with” to match Claim 18 and standard technical English.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
INVOKED
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“power mechanism … configured to generate airflow” of claim 1 (where “mechanism” is a generic place holder, and “power” and “configured to generate airflow” are functions, it constitutes the structure disclosed in applicant’s par 0055),
“illumination device … capable of illuminating a working region of the inflator” of claim 1 (where “device” is a generic place holder, and “illumination” and “capable of illuminating a working region of the inflator” are functions; it is described in applicant’s par 0067).
“current transmission manner … of … type-C interface” in claim 4 (where “manner” is a generic placeholder and “current transmission … of … type-C interface” is a function, where the claim does not include structure sufficient to accomplish said function);
“current transmission manner … of … contact charging” in claim 4 (where “manner” is a generic placeholder and “current transmission … of … contact charging” is a function, where the claim does not include structure sufficient to accomplish said function);
“current transmission manner … of … wireless charging” in claim 4 (where “manner” is a generic placeholder and “current transmission … of … wireless charging” is a function, where the claim does not include structure sufficient to accomplish said function).
“illumination device is configured to be capable of outputting 300 or more lumens of light” in claim 6, (where “device” is a generic placeholder, and “illumination” and “configured to be capable of outputting 300 or more lumens of light” are functions, the structure is in par 0067)
“illumination device has a stepless brightness adjustment function” in claim 8, (where “device” is a generic placeholder, and “illumination” and “a stepless brightness adjustment function” are functions, no structure is disclosed which accomplishes the stepless brightness adjustment function, See par 0014, 0052; the disclosure states that the “brightness adjustment portion 550 accomplishes the brightness adjustment, but discloses no structure of said brightness adjustment portion 550, See par 0052, 0061)
“illumination device has a color temperature adjustment function” in claim 9, (where “device” is a generic placeholder, and “illumination” and “a color temperature adjustment function” are functions, no structure is disclosed which accomplishes the color temperature adjustment function, See par 0015, 0052; the disclosure states that the “temperature sensor” and “temperature is selected manually as required”, See par 0052, 0065)
“power mechanism driven by the motor to generate airflow” of claims 16 and 18 (where “mechanism” is a generic place holder, and “power” and “driven by the motor to generate airflow” are functions, it constitutes the structure disclosed in applicant’s par 0055),
“a power supply device configured to provide a power supply for the motor” in claims 16 and 18 (where “device” is a generic placeholder, and “power supply” and “configured to provide a power supply for the motor” are functions. The structure is disclosed in applicant’s specification (par 0041-0043).
“a first interface” in claim 18 (where “first” is a generic placeholder, and “interface” is a function. The structure is disclosed in applicant’s specification (par 0046).
“a second interface” in claim 18 (where “second” is a generic placeholder, and “interface” is a function. The structure is disclosed in applicant’s specification (par 0046).
NOT INVOKED DESPITE PRESENCE
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“current transmission manner … of universal serial bus (USB) interface” in claim 4 (“manner” is a generic place holder, but “universal serial bus” has a known generic structure as a plug and socket interface for power transfer).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 recites “current transmission manner … of Type-C interface, … contact charging, or wireless charging.” Applicant recites the limitation nominally in the specification but provides no description of the structure to perform these functions.
In addition to not describing “type-C interface,” “contact charging” or “wireless charging” there is no disclosed structure which could reasonably be interpreted as enabling said functions. A person of ordinary skill would not be able to immediately envisage a “type-C interface” because the term is a generic description “Type-C” of an “interface” and implies no structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art may consider “contact charging” as encompassing charging via physical conductive contact points (such as pins, terminals, electrodes); but no conductive contact points are disclosed in the specification.
A person of ordinary skill in the art may consider “wireless charging” to encompass electromagnetic induction based power transfer; but no structure which can accomplish said function is disclosed in the specification.
Since claim 4 recites the functional limitations “Type-C interface,” “contact charging” and “wireless charging” but not disclose structure sufficient to accomplish either function, claim 4 is rejected for lack of written description.
Claim 8 recites “stepless brightness adjustment function.” Applicant does not disclose the definition of the term “stepless.” “Stepless brightness adjustment function” is not a term of art in the field of inflators with illumination devices. Applicant discloses the “stepless brightness adjustment function” as accomplished by the brightness adjustment portion 550 (par 0052). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize in figure 4, that the brightness adjustment portion (550) is depicted as a button for manual manipulation by the operator; and the button gives no indication what is meant by the term “stepless.”
Under a plain meaning the term “stepless” refers to an object having no steps. It refer to a smooth transition between a beginning state and an end state as in a ramp. It can also refer to having no intermediary points between a beginning state and an end state, such that it toggles between the two states.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to immediately envisage what is meant by the term “stepless” because of the lack of definition, and the broadness of the plain meaning. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to conclude that applicant had possession of the “stepless brightness adjustment function.”
Claims 4, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4, Applicant does not disclose sufficient structure to accomplish the functions of “Current transmission manner … of … Type-C interface …Contact Charging, or Wireless Charging,” such that one skill in the art would understand what structure will perform the recited functions. Since there is no disclosure of structure, material or acts for performing the recited function, the claims fail to satisfy the requirements of 112(b) (See MPEP 2181), one of ordinary skill in the art would not understand what structure will perform the recited functions. Therefore claim 4 is rejected for 112(b) indefiniteness.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name “universal serial bus (USB) interface.” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “a current transmission manner” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
In this case, the limitation “universal serial bus (USB) interface) is used in common practice to refer to a wide variety of connections. It has several different standards (USB-A,B,C, micro, mini, usb-x.x each with their own standards), which include different shapes, pins, data transfer specifications, power transfer specifications, cable lengths, socket lengths and other technical features which are not included in applicant’s specification. Therefore, the trademark USB refers to a source of goods related to a trademark set of changing standards and accordingly is indefinite. Therefore claim 4 is rejected for indefiniteness. For the limited purpose of examination, under a BRI “USB” reads on generic electrical plugs and sockets and their functional equivalents.
Claim 8 recites “stepless brightness adjustment function.” Applicant does not disclose the definition of the term “stepless.” “Stepless brightness adjustment function” is not a term of art in the field of inflators with illumination devices. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be apprised of the scope of the term “stepless” as it can refer to the physical geometry of applicant’s brightness adjustment portion (fig 3, 550); “stepless” can plainly refer to continuous change between a start state and an end state; “stepless” can plainly refer to toggling instantaneously between a start state and an end state. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be apprised of the scope of the limitation “stepless,” therefore claim 8 is rejected for indefiniteness. Therefore, while the specific term “stepless” is indefinite, the functional equivalent is a device which accomplishes a brightness adjustment function. For the limited purpose of examination “stepless brightness adjustment function” will be interpreted as functionally equivalent to a brightness adjustment portion which does not disclose steps. In order to overcome the 112(b), the examiner recommends deleting the word “stepless.”
Claim 16 recites the limitation "a first coupling portion" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The “first coupling portion” is a portion of “the main housing 100,” (par 0044). However, the main housing is not recited in the claim. This is an issue because “portion” is a structural description indicating that it is a part of another structure previously claimed. Without clarifying “portion” is a component of “the main housing” it would be unclear whether “a first coupling portion” were a component of “an inflator” or “an illumination device.” For the limited purpose of examination the limitation will be interpreted as “a first coupling portion of a main housing accommodating the motor and the power mechanism.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adamany (US 2020/0313455) in view of Brent (US 4,776,766).
Claim 1, Adamany discloses an inflator (fig 1, compressor 26, par 0042), comprising:…; a power mechanism (pump 116, par 0042) … and configured to generate airflow (par 0042); at least one air vent (the fluid connection between pump 116 and hose 126, par 0042) connected to a flexible duct (air hose 126) for air intake and/or air discharge to allow the airflow to flow (par 0042); and a main housing (fig 1, compressor housing 110, par 0040 and exterior housing 50, par 0026), accommodating the motor and the power mechanism (pump 116), having a battery coupling portion (air compressor 26 docks to location 52, par 0026), capable of being detached from or mounted with a battery pack (power module 22 with battery storage device 32, par 0022) that provides a power supply for the motor (32 provides power to compressor 26, par 0024), and a first coupling portion (docking location 54 for light module 24, par 0026), configured to detachably connect an illumination device (light module 24 is removable, par 0037) capable of illuminating a working region of the inflator (light module 24 / illumination 88 is detachable, par 0033-0034 and since it is detachable it can be directed to in any direction including the inflator working region, as the user requires).
Adamany is silent on a motor which drives the pump.
Nevertheless, Adamany discloses the pump powered by electricity and compressing air (par 0043), which suggests that an electric motor is present and converting electricity to mechanical motion to be used by the pump, as is conventional in the mechanical arts.
Brent teaches an analogous air pump with a motor (fig 3, 22, c 6 ln 19) which drives the air pump.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the generic pump of Adamany with an electric motor taught by Brent in order to power an air compressor capable of using a 12-volt battery used in a vehicle and inflating vehicle tires (Brent, c 6 ln 18-38).
Claim 2, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the illumination device comprises a light-emitting portion (Adamany, LEDs of illumination device 88/24, par 0034) and a battery set (lithium ion battery power from storage device 90 or from power module 22, par 0035) for powering the light-emitting portion.
Claim 3, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 2, wherein the first coupling portion comprises a first interface (Adamany, fig 6, docking location 54 has a surface with conductive pads 64, par 0027, 0033), the illumination device comprises a second interface (light module docking interface 84, par 0033, with electrical contacts 92 which interact with conductive pads 64, par 0035), and the battery pack charges the battery set of the illumination device through the first interface and the second interface (par 0035).
Claim 4, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 3, wherein a current transmission manner between the first interface and the second interface is one of a … universal serial bus (USB) interface (Adamany, second of four claimed alternates; charging is through electrical contacts 92 and conductive pads 64, par 0035; under a BRI fig 6 shows conductive pads 64 recessed such that they can be considered the sockets of a generic plug connection, under a BRI fig 7 shows contacts 92 as prongs which protrude such that they can be considered the plugs of a generic plug connection; this interpretation aligns with the interpretation of USB as a generic plug and socket connection, See the 112(b) rejection above).
Claim 5, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling portion further comprises an adaptation portion (Adamany, fig 6, docking location 54 has clip 104, par 0038) configured to lock the illumination device onto the inflator (id.).
Claim 6, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1. Adamany is silent on wherein the illumination device is configured to be capable of outputting 300 or more lumens of light.
Nevertheless, Adamany discloses that its illumination device can use light emitting diodes, incandescent and/or fluorescent bulbs (par 0034), and that the device is capable of illuminating a nearby area (par 0037, 0039). A Lumen is the quantity of light output by a source.
Applicant has admitted that light emitting diodes, incandescent and fluorescent lamps are capable of emitting 300 or more lumens of light (See applicant’s par 0045, 0066, 0067).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the illumination device of Adamany to emit 300 or more lumens of light in order to illuminate a nearby area for visibility. It is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the number of light emitting diodes, incandescent bulbs, fluorescent bulbs, and electrical power necessary to illuminate an area, and to increase the lumens to increase the visibility provided at that area.
Claim 7, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the illumination device further comprises a display region (Adamany, indicator lights 80, par 0031) configured to indicate a state of charge and/or a working state and/or a charging state of the illumination device (displaces charge level of device, par 0031).
Claim 8, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the illumination device has a stepless brightness adjustment function (Adamany, has a switch 96 which can select a dimming mode, par 0036; dimming is a synonym for decreasing brightness; this switch is equivalent to Applicant’s brightness adjustment portion which fulfills the stepless brightness adjustment function, See applicant’s fig 4, par 0052; examiner notes that applicant has not defined “stepless” in the specification, Adamany’s “switch” which nominally is not called a “step” can fairly be called “stepless.”).
Claim 9, Adamany disclose the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the illumination device has a color temperature adjustment function (Adamany, has a switch 96 which can select different colors, par 0036; this is switch equivalent to Applicant’s switch 560 which fulfills the color temperature adjustment function, See applicant’s fig 4, par 0052).
Claim 10, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the inflator has a low-pressure working mode and a high-pressure working mode (Adamany, compressor can be targeted to different pressures; par 0043, inherently pressures only differ by being relatively higher pressure or lower pressure than each other; therefore, a relatively higher target pressure meets the limitation high-pressure mode, and a relatively lower target pressure meets the low-pressure mode).
Claim 11, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 10, wherein the power mechanism comprises a compression mechanism (Adamany, compressor module 26, par 0043) and the compression mechanism works when the inflator is in the high-pressure working mode (compressor wors with the target air pressure, par 0043).
Claim 12, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 10.
Brent further teaches wherein the power mechanism comprises a rotation mechanism (Brent, fig 3 depicts motor 22 pinon rotationally attached to drive gear of the pump 20) and the rotation mechanism works when the inflator is in the low-pressure working mode (Brent’s motor drive the pump 20, through various desired pressures, c 7 ln 3-11, therefore it is capable of pumping at relatively low-pressure targets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that when enabling the pump and motor of Adamany in view of Brent, to enable the pump with the rotary input gear and multiple pressure function of Brent in order to be able to pump at various target pressures.
Claim 13, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 10, further comprising an operation portion (Adamany, control panel 132, par 0043) disposed on the main housing (fig 10 shows panel 132 on 26), wherein the operation portion is configured to be capable of adjusting a working mode of the inflator (adjusts target air pressure, par 0043).
Claim 14, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the illumination device further comprises a magnetically attractive portion (Adamany, magnets 106 at the interface, par 0039) having a magnetic property (magnetic coupling between housing and illumination device, par 0006, 0039).
Claim 15, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator according to claim 1, wherein the illumination device (Adamany, fig 3, 24) and the battery pack (22) are disposed at two end portions of the main housing (fig 1, compressor housing 110, par 0040 and exterior housing 50, par 0026), respectively (light module 24 / illumination 88 is detachable, par 0033-0034 and since it is detachable it can be to the opposite side of the main housing case from the battery pack 22, as the user requires).
Claim 16, Adamany discloses an inflator system (fig 1, compressor 26, par 0042), comprising: an inflator (compressor 26) comprising … a power mechanism (pump 116) … to generate airflow (deliver compressed air, par 0042); a power supply device (power module 22 with battery storage, par 0022) configured to provide a power supply for the motor (32 provides power to compressor 26, par 0024); an illumination device (light module 24, par 0037) comprising a light-emitting portion (illumination device 88 with LED, par 0034) configured to illuminate a working region of the inflator (light module 24 / illumination 88 is detachable, par 0033-0034 and since it is detachable it can be directed to in any direction including the inflator working region, as the user requires) and a rechargeable battery set (lithium ion battery, par 0035, which is capable of charging from 32, par 0035) capable of providing electrical energy for the light-emitting portion when the illumination device is in a mounted state or a detached state (attached state, par 0035, removed state, par 0037); and a first coupling portion configured to detachably connect the illumination device (docking location 54 for light module 24, par 0026).
Adamany is silent on a motor which drives the pump.
Nevertheless, Adamany discloses the pump powered by electricity and compressing air (par 0043), which suggests that an electric motor is present and converting electricity to mechanical motion to be used by the pump, as is conventional in the mechanical arts.
Brent teaches an analogous air pump with a motor (fig 3, 22, c 6 ln 19) which drives the air pump.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the generic pump of Adamany with an electric motor taught by Brent in order to power an air compressor capable of using a 12-volt battery used in a vehicle and inflating vehicle tires (Brent, c 6 ln 18-38).
Claim 17, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the inflator system according to claim 16, wherein the power supply device is capable of providing a charging current for the battery set of the illumination device (Adamany, facilitate charging of the storage device 90 on the illumination device 88, par 0035).
Claim 18, Adamany discloses an illumination device (light module 24, par 0037) adapted to work with an inflator (compressor 26, par 0042) comprising … a power mechanism (pump 116) … to generate airflow (deliver compressed air, par 0042), a power supply device (power module 22 with battery storage, par 0022) configured to provide a power supply for the motor (32 provides power to compressor 26, par 0024), a first interface (fig 6, docking location 54 has a surface with conductive pads 64, par 0027, 0033) adapted to the illumination device, wherein the illumination device comprises: a light-emitting portion (LEDs of illumination device 88/24, par 0034) and a battery set (lithium ion battery power from storage device 90 or from power module 22, par 0035) for powering the light-emitting portion, wherein the light-emitting portion is configured to illuminate a working region of the inflator (light module 24 / illumination 88 is detachable, par 0033-0034 and since it is detachable it can be directed to in any direction including the inflator working region, as the user requires); and a second interface (light module docking interface 84, par 0033, with electrical contacts 92 which interact with conductive pads 64, par 0035) adapted to the inflator; wherein the first interface and the second interface are capable of being electrically connected to each other to allow a current to flow from the first interface to the second interface (the electrical contacts 92 and pads 64 pass energy to charge the battery in the light, par 0035).
Adamany is silent on a motor which drives the pump.
Nevertheless, Adamany discloses the pump powered by electricity and compressing air (par 0043), which suggests that an electric motor is present and converting electricity to mechanical motion to be used by the pump, as is conventional in the mechanical arts.
Brent teaches an analogous air pump with a motor (fig 3, 22, c 6 ln 19) which drives the air pump.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the generic pump of Adamany with an electric motor taught by Brent in order to power an air compressor capable of using a 12-volt battery used in a vehicle and inflating vehicle tires (Brent, c 6 ln 18-38).
Claim 19, Adamany in view of Brent teaches the illumination device adapted to work of an inflator according to claim 18, wherein the illumination device is detachably connected to the inflator (Adamany, attached state, par 0035, removed state, par 0037).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohm (US 2012/0168030) discloses a portable inflation device with a battery and illumination.
Chen (US 11940142) discloses a portable inflation device with a battery and illumination.
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746