DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,592,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,879,570. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,592,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9401578, Cumant.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a fitting comprising: a fitting body (2) defining a hole (5); and an indicator assembly comprising a fastener (9) extending through the hole, a first indicator (8) mounted on the fastener, and a second indicator (7) mounted on the fastener, the fastener defining a fastener axis; wherein the second indicator is axially in between the first indicator and the fitting body upon the fastener being oriented in a first position, and wherein the second indicator is radially inwardly or radially outwardly of the first indicator upon the fastener being oriented in a second position.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses the fitting body defines a cavity (col. 4, lines 9-11), the cavity defines a cavity axis and the hole defines a hole axis, and wherein the hole axis of the hole is perpendicular to the cavity axis of the cavity.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses each of the first indicator and the second indicator are formed as rings and are concentric to the hole axis.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses the fastener defines a head and a shaft, the shaft extends through the hole in the fitting body, each of the first indicator and the second indicator are mounted on the shaft.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a height of the first indicator is different than a height of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a color of the first indicator is different than a color the second indicator (because they are different materials).
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a hardness of the first indicator is different than a hardness of the second indicator (col. 4, lines 49-52).
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses an elasticity of the first indicator is different than an elasticity of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses an upper surface of the first indicator at the first end of the first indicator is substantially planar, and wherein a lower surface of the second indicator at the second end of the second indicator is substantially planar.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a fitting comprising: a fitting body defining a hole; and an indicator assembly comprising a fastener extending through the hole, a first indicator mounted on the fastener external to the hole, and a second indicator mounted on the fastener external to the hole, the fastener defining a fastener axis; wherein the second indicator is axially adjacent to the first indicator upon the fastener being oriented in a first position, and wherein the second indicator is pushed radially inward or radially outward of the first indicator by the fitting body upon the fastener being oriented in a second position.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses the fitting body defines a cavity, the cavity defines a cavity axis and the hole defines a hole axis, and wherein the hole axis of the hole is perpendicular to the cavity axis of the cavity.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses each of the first indicator and the second indicator are formed as rings and are concentric to the hole axis.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a height of the first indicator is different than a height of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 18, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a color of the first indicator is different than a color the second indicator.
In regards to claim 19, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses a hardness of the first indicator is different than a hardness of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 20, in Figures 1-2B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Cumant discloses an elasticity of the first indicator is different than an elasticity of the second indicator.
Claim(s) 1, 5-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20150030385, Bucknell.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a fitting comprising: a fitting body (101, 102) defining a hole (71, 72); and an indicator assembly comprising a fastener (10) extending through the hole, a first indicator (3) mounted on the fastener, and a second indicator (2) mounted on the fastener, the fastener defining a fastener axis; wherein the second indicator is axially in between the first indicator and the fitting body upon the fastener being oriented in a first position, and wherein the second indicator is radially inwardly or radially outwardly of the first indicator upon the fastener being oriented in a second position.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a height of the first indicator is different than a height of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a color of the first indicator is different than a color the second indicator (because they are different materials).
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a hardness of the first indicator is different than a hardness of the second indicator ([0076]-[0077]).
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses an elasticity of the first indicator is different than an elasticity of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses the first indicator defines a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an inner surface; the inner surface defining a conical, hollow bore extending from the first end to the second end; a diameter of the conical, hollow bore at the first end is less than a diameter of the conical, hollow bore at the second end; and the second indicator is configured to engage the conical, hollow bore of the first indicator in the second position.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses the second indicator defines a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an outer surface; the outer surface of the second indicator defines a conical shape; and a diameter of the outer surface at the first end of the second indicator is less than a diameter of the outer surface at the second end of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses an angle of the outer surface of the second indicator is substantially the same as an angle of the inner surface of the first indicator.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses the first indicator comprises an elastic material configured to expand to receive the second indicator within the conical hollow, bore.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses an upper surface of the first indicator at the first end of the first indicator is substantially planar, and wherein a lower surface of the second indicator at the second end of the second indicator is substantially planar.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a fitting comprising: a fitting body defining a hole; and an indicator assembly comprising a fastener extending through the hole, a first indicator mounted on the fastener external to the hole, and a second indicator mounted on the fastener external to the hole, the fastener defining a fastener axis; wherein the second indicator is axially adjacent to the first indicator upon the fastener being oriented in a first position, and wherein the second indicator is pushed radially inward or radially outward of the first indicator by the fitting body upon the fastener being oriented in a second position.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a height of the first indicator is different than a height of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 18, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a color of the first indicator is different than a color the second indicator.
In regards to claim 19, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses a hardness of the first indicator is different than a hardness of the second indicator.
In regards to claim 20, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bucknell discloses an elasticity of the first indicator is different than an elasticity of the second indicator.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679