DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application 19/252,163 filed on 27 June 2025, and is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/333,524 (now U.S. Patent Application No. 12,413,646), which was filed on June 12, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/723,081 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,785,105), which was filed on April 18, 2022, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/027,265 (now U.S. Patent No. 11,310,326), which was filed on September 21, 2020, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 15/399,342 (now U.S. Patent No. 10,785,329), which was filed on January 5, 2017.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,7853,29, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,310,326, claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,785,105 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 12,413,646. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of each other with overlapping limitations. Therefore, the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by the limitations of 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,7853,29, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,310,326, claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,785,105 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 12,413,646, and as such is unpatentable due to obvious-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBusk et al (US 2012/0076310), in view of Pereira et al (US 2012/0095958).
Regarding claim 1, DeBusk teaches a method comprising:
accessing, using a computing system, a matched group of unknown candidate signature segments, the unknown candidate signature segments obtained from a plurality of meters, respective ones of the meters to monitor respective media presented by corresponding ones of a plurality of media devices (DeBusk [0023] provides that “System 10 takes NRA streams 12 from sources of non-recognized audio 11 and identifies repeated segments within the NRA that may be of interest. NRA segments 12 are sent to candidate manager 13 which collects and marks each instant of data in the media stream with a unique identifier. Candidate manager 13 then sends the NRA to finger print generator 14 wherein the raw audio segments from the NRA are processed to extract fingerprint features and indexed into a searchable database. Audio Search Engine 16 responds to audio search requests from candidate manager 13 and uses NRA fingerprints 15 from fingerprint generator 14 to compare NRA segments against the database of previously indexed NRA”; [0005] provides that “These non-recognized audio segments may be repeated inside a single media stream or may be repeated across multiple media streams, such as a regional commercial playing on multiple radio stations”; [0023] provides that “Audio Search Engine 16 records matches of NRA segments against indexed NRA segments. When a particular segment of NRA accumulates a certain threshold number of matches, meaning that system 10 has seen the same audio content multiple times across one or more audio streams, that audio segment is determined to be of significant enough interest to warrant positive identification”);
obtaining network meter data having media identification information corresponding to a media device of the plurality of media devices that generated one of the unknown candidate signature segments (DeBusk [0023] provides that “System 10 takes NRA streams 12 from sources of non-recognized audio 11 and identifies repeated segments within the NRA that may be of interest. NRA segments 12 are sent to candidate manager 13 which collects and marks each instant of data in the media stream with a unique identifier. Candidate manager 13 then sends the NRA to finger print generator 14 wherein the raw audio segments from the NRA are processed to extract fingerprint features and indexed into a searchable database. Audio Search Engine 16 responds to audio search requests from candidate manager 13 and uses NRA fingerprints 15 from fingerprint generator 14 to compare NRA segments against the database of previously indexed NRA”; [0005] provides that “These non-recognized audio segments may be repeated inside a single media stream or may be repeated across multiple media streams, such as a regional commercial playing on multiple radio stations”; [0023] provides that “Audio Search Engine 16 records matches of NRA segments against indexed NRA segments. When a particular segment of NRA accumulates a certain threshold number of matches, meaning that system 10 has seen the same audio content multiple times across one or more audio streams, that audio segment is determined to be of significant enough interest to warrant positive identification”);
and associating, using the computing system, the media identification information with the media based on an analysis of the comparing (DeBusk [0023] provides that “System 10 takes NRA streams 12 from sources of non-recognized audio 11 and identifies repeated segments within the NRA that may be of interest. NRA segments 12 are sent to candidate manager 13 which collects and marks each instant of data in the media stream with a unique identifier. Candidate manager 13 then sends the NRA to finger print generator 14 wherein the raw audio segments from the NRA are processed to extract fingerprint features and indexed into a searchable database. Audio Search Engine 16 responds to audio search requests from candidate manager 13 and uses NRA fingerprints 15 from fingerprint generator 14 to compare NRA segments against the database of previously indexed NRA”).
DeBusk teaches the above but DeBusk does not explicitly teach comparing media identification information and timestamps, using the computing system, signature timestamps associated with signature values of an unknown candidate signature segment of the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments to respective timestamps associated with the network meter data. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Periera teaches comparing media identification information and timestamps, using the computing system, signature timestamps associated with signature values of an unknown candidate signature segment of the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments to respective timestamps associated with the network meter data (Pereira fig.9B and [0110] provides “The remote data structure 920 includes the time stamp 921, signature 922, content identification (ID) 923, feature information fields 924 and link to the menu options and metadata 925. The data structure 920 defines a content database element at a given time in the reference. The content viewed by user aligns with a given content reference and a given time into that reference. The menu applicable at that point is the nearest time stamp 921 in the array of data structures. Thus the time stamp 921 is used to identify the relevant menu option. The signature field 922, at a given time stamp 921, and the signatures, typically more than one time instance and over a time range, are used to determine a match between query for remotely viewed content and reference content databases”).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Pereira in DeBusk, for using a timestamp as a factor by the system to efficiently compare and identify an unknown piece of content by matching it with a known content. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention to arrive at the above-claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1, further comprising: storing at least one of the unknown candidate signature segments of the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments in a reference signature database as a reference signature segment corresponding to the media (DeBusk [0023] provides that “System 10 takes NRA streams 12 from sources of non-recognized audio 11 and identifies repeated segments within the NRA that may be of interest. NRA segments 12 are sent to candidate manager 13 which collects and marks each instant of data in the media stream with a unique identifier. Candidate manager 13 then sends the NRA to finger print generator 14 wherein the raw audio segments from the NRA are processed to extract fingerprint features and indexed into a searchable database. Audio Search Engine 16 responds to audio search requests from candidate manager 13 and uses NRA fingerprints 15 from fingerprint generator 14 to compare NRA segments against the database of previously indexed NRA”).
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, wherein the network meter data comprises a uniform resource locator (Pereira [0098] provides “When the query is added to the NID database at step 837, the search system can request the query client to send more information, such as the program name, channel or the uniform resource locator (url) of the content associated with the query to be stored as metadata in the NID database”). Motivation provided with reference to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 3, wherein the uniform resource locator corresponds to the media identification information and the timestamps, and wherein the media identification information comprises a media provider of the media (Pereira [0110] provides “The remote data structure 920 includes the time stamp 921, signature 922, content identification (ID) 923, feature information fields 924 and link to the menu options and metadata 925…The field 925 provides the link to menu options, at the given time index and time stamp 921”). Motivation provided with reference to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments do not match any reference signatures stored in a reference signature database (DeBusk [0023] provides that “System 10 takes NRA streams 12 from sources of non-recognized audio 11 and identifies repeated segments within the NRA that may be of interest. NRA segments 12 are sent to candidate manager 13 which collects and marks each instant of data in the media stream with a unique identifier. Candidate manager 13 then sends the NRA to finger print generator 14 wherein the raw audio segments from the NRA are processed to extract fingerprint features and indexed into a searchable database. Audio Search Engine 16 responds to audio search requests from candidate manager 13 and uses NRA fingerprints 15 from fingerprint generator 14 to compare NRA segments against the database of previously indexed NRA”).
Regarding claim 8, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 1, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 9, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 2, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 10, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 3, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 11, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 4, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 14, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 6, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 15, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 1, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 16, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 2, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 17, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 3, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 18, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 4, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 19, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 5, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 20, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 7, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Claims 5, 7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBusk et al (US 2012/0076310), in view of Pereira et al (US 2012/0095958), further in view of Ramaswamy (US 2009/0210892).
Regarding claim 5, DeBusk-Pereira has taught the method of claim 3, but DeBusk-Pereira does not explicitly teach wherein the network meter data is obtained from a network meter that monitors Internet activity related to the media device. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Ramaswamy teaches wherein the network meter data is obtained from a network meter that monitors Internet activity related to the media device (Ramaswamy [0025] provides “The home server 120 of the illustrated example receives monitoring information (e.g., advertising information, program identification information, tuning information, etc.) from the meter 116 and activity information from the activity monitor 122 and stores the received information. The example home server 120 of the illustrated example includes a database for storing received information. Alternatively, as described in further detail herein, the home server 120 may include any type of storage. The home server 120 of the illustrated example periodically or aperiodically transmits received information to the central facility 108”; Ramaswamy [0054] provides “The online activity monitor 304 of the illustrated example logs network related activity at the computer. The example online activity monitor 304 logs webpages (e.g., URLs) that a user requests at the computer and/or which are pushed to the computer (e.g., pop-up windows). Alternatively, the online activity monitor 304 may log any other type of online activity or computing resource access that occurs at the computer such as, for example, purchases made by the user online, purchases made at a bricks and mortar business for which notifications are received online (e.g., via an online credit card statement or an email message), purchases monitored by an AC Nielsen Home Scanner, messages sent online (e.g., emails or instant messages), advertisements viewed on the internet, etc. The online activity monitor 304 sends logged activity to the data transmitter 308”).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Ramaswamy in the DeBusk-Pereira, for monitoring a user’s online activity by the system as for example, using this information an interested party can determine the number and demographics of consumers that were exposed to a particular advertisement. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention to arrive at the above-claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, DeBusk-Pereira-Ramaswamy has taught the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining a quantity of the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments satisfies a threshold and wherein comparing, using the computing system is in response to a determination that the quantity of the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments satisfies the threshold (DeBusk [0023] provides that “Audio Search Engine 16 records matches of NRA segments against indexed NRA segments. When a particular segment of NRA accumulates a certain threshold number of matches, meaning that system 10 has seen the same audio content multiple times across one or more audio streams, that audio segment is determined to be of significant enough interest to warrant positive identification”). DeBusk teaches the above but DeBusk does not explicitly teach wherein comparing, using the computing system, the signature timestamps associated with the signature values of the unknown candidate signature segment of the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments to the respective timestamps associated with the network meter data occurs. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Pereira teaches wherein comparing, using the computing system, the signature timestamps associated with the signature values of the unknown candidate signature segment of the matched group of unknown candidate signature segments to the respective timestamps associated with the network meter data occurs (Pereira fig.9B and [0110] provides “The remote data structure 920 includes the time stamp 921, signature 922, content identification (ID) 923, feature information fields 924 and link to the menu options and metadata 925. The data structure 920 defines a content database element at a given time in the reference. The content viewed by user aligns with a given content reference and a given time into that reference. The menu applicable at that point is the nearest time stamp 921 in the array of data structures. Thus the time stamp 921 is used to identify the relevant menu option. The signature field 922, at a given time stamp 921, and the signatures, typically more than one time instance and over a time range, are used to determine a match between query for remotely viewed content and reference content databases”). Motivation provided with reference to claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 5, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Regarding claim 13, this claim contains limitations found within those of claim 7, and the same rationale of rejection applies where applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Falcon US 2010/0131970.
/I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2459 /TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459