DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 06/27/2025. Presently, Claims 1-35 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/303,212, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Accordingly, Claims 2-5, 7-9, 10-30, & 34-35 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: Claims 2-5, 7-9, 10-30, & 34-35.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “[Fig. 1]” in line 13 is just inserted with no context. Remove “[Fig. 1]”. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 1: line 17, “[[toes]],”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2:
line 2, “light intensity”.
line 3-4, “during the capturing of the image
Claim 8:
line 2, “visual abnormalities”.
Claim 9:
lines 1-4, “wherein an alert is provided if an abnormality is detected, and further wherein the alert [[type]] may vary based on [[the]]a type of abnormality detected as determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the severity and nature of the classified visual features.” – The same applies substantially to claim 30.
Claim 10:
line 1-2 “[[given]]predetermined coordinates”.
line 2, “computer vision means”.
Claim 11:
line 1, ‘temperature dataset”.
line 2, “the temperature dataset”.
Claim 12:
line 3, “[[the]]a location”.
line 3, “the array of temperature sensors”.
Claim 15:
line 1, “the stored temperature data”.
Claim 16:
line 2, “the detected visual abnormalities”.
Claim 17:
line 2, “the detected visual abnormalities”.
Claim 19:
line 1, “pre-measurement” – also shown as this suggestion in claims 3-4.
Claim 26: line 4, “the temperature dataset”.
Claim 32:
line 4-5, “[[the]]a area of skin of a target”.
line 7, “the [[feet]] area of the skin of the target”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The nonce term “computer vision module” for identification and detection of features and visual abnormalities is used in claim(s) 1-4, 8, 12, 19-20, 31-32, & 34-35, for invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The term, “module” is a non-structural generic placeholder that does not include any specific structure for performing the accompany functions. See MPEP 2181.I.A: The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Please note that for the purposes of this examination the phrase “computer vision module” is being interpreted to include generic algorithm performed on a generic processor as described in Paragraphs [¶0111] in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claims 1-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
First Matter: (Claim limitations at (1) below):
Claim 1: recites:
“identify initial visual features by computer vision means including at least one of hue analysis, blob analysis, corner analysis, and edge analysis;“
While Claim 1 recites that the computer vision means includes, “at least one hue analysis, blob analysis, corner analysis, and edge analysis” the specification provides no specific technical details, formulas, algorithmic steps on how these analysis are actually executed. The specification merely states, that these may be identified by various computer visions means well known to those skilled in the art, page 20. Rather than explaining each analysis, the specification merely list these analysis as generic tools. The implementation is open-ended, there is not enough written description of each analysis to be implemented in a way the inventors intended. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would not deem the instant specification having sufficient detail so that they could understand how the inventor intended to achieve the aforementioned analysis. Since the instant specification fails to provide a finite sequence of steps for performing analysis, the aforementioned claim fails to meet the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Second Matter: (Claim limitations at (1, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13-17, 21-22, 21-33) below):
Claim 1:
“further utilize a machine learning algorithm, trained with a tagged dataset of foot conditions, to classify the identified visual features and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet, such as size, shape, orientation, ulcers, toes, cuts, and blisters;”
Claim 5:
“wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained using neural networks and the tagged dataset to enhance abnormality detection accuracy by learning complex patterns in visual features.”
Claim 7:
“wherein data is compared to previously collected data using the machine learning algorithm to detect changes or early signs of abnormalities in visual features over time.”
Claim 9:
“further wherein the alert type may vary based on the type of abnormality detected as determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the severity and nature of the classified visual features.”
Claim 11:
“using the machine learning algorithm to correlate temperature changes with the detected visual features to improve diagnostic accuracy.”
Claim 13:
“and using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns and correlations between temperature and visual abnormalities.”
Claim 14:
“and using the machine learning algorithm to create a comprehensive patient profile incorporating both visual and non-visual data.”
Claim 15:
“further comprising identifying features from the stored data using image processing techniques and the machine learning algorithm to create a holistic view of the patient's foot health.”
Claim 16:
‘further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance sensitivity and specificity.”
Claim 17:
“with the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the combination of visual and non-visual data."
Claim 21:
“and using the machine learning algorithm to correlate these factors with detected abnormalities to improve diagnostic accuracy.”
Claim 22:
“and using the machine learning algorithm to generate a diagnostic report summarizing the identified visual features and abnormalities.”
Claim 24:
“wherein the processor compares current images to previously stored images to identify changes in the size or shape of abnormalities, using the machine learning algorithm to quantify the changes and generate trend metrics.”
Claim 25:
“wherein the processor generates an alert when the change in an abnormality exceeds a predetermined threshold, with the threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm based on patient-specific data and historical trends.”
Claim 26:
“using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns and correlations with visual features.”
Claim 27:
“and using the machine learning algorithm to create a comprehensive patient profile integrating visual, thermal, and bioinechanical information”
Claim 28:
“further comprising identifying features from the stored data using image processing techniques and the machine learning algorithm to provide a multifaceted assessment of foot health.”
Claim 29:
“further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance diagnostic confidence and accuracy.”
Claim 30:
“with the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the comprehensive patient profile.”
Claim 31:
“and further utilizes a tagged dataset to train a machine learning algorithm to classify the identified visual features and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet.”
Claim 32:
“and further utilizes a tagged dataset to train a machine learning algorithm to classify the identified visual features and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet.”
Claim 33:
“and using the machine learning algorithm to generate diagnostic reports based on visual features and their classification.”
An algorithm is defined, for example, as "a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task." Microsoft Computer Dictionary (5th ed., 2002). Applicant may "express that algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, or as a flow chart, or in any other manner that provides sufficient structure." Finisar Corp. v. DirecTV Grp., Inc., 523 F.3d 1323, 1340 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (internal citation omitted). This can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015), see MPEP § 2161(I).
The claim is rejected under 35 USC § 112(a) for a lack of written description. Proper written description cannot be identified in the specification, claims, and drawings directed to the computer implemented steps of the segmentation to identify the interventional device can be achieved by machine learning techniques using e.g., neural networks.
Specially, these identified claims recite functional machine learning limitations. However, the specification fails to describe the operational structure or methodology of this module. Indeed, the disclosure treats the machine learning component as a functional “black box” reciting only its generic inputs and desired outputs.
The specification does not disclose any specific neural network architecture, custom parameters, functions, or concrete step-by-step training algorithms necessary to resolve the networks internal parameters to achieve the claimed technical results. Merely reciting a desired outcome of applying a generic neural network to an input is insufficient to satisfy the written description requirement. Because the specifications fails to disclose the specific technological mechanism to achieve the claimed functional performance, the applicant has fails to demonstrate possession of the claimed invention. Notably, the recited lengthy number of claims arriving at machine learning functionality, have a disclosure that provides virtually no evidence to support the Applicant procession of the claimed features with regard to the machine learning capabilities at the time of filing.
These limitations are computer/processor-implemented functional claim limitation as it is directed to a processor-controlled algorithm configured to determine the functions as identified above. Yet the specification does not disclose the computer and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed functions, i.e. (Claims 5, 7, 9, 11, 13-17, 21-22, 21-33), in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. It is not enough to disclose that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015). As the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention, these claims are rejected for lack of written description. For more information regarding the written description requirement, see MPEP §§ 2161, 2162-2163.07(b).
The specification provides the following:
Page 20: “A tagged dataset may also be used as a training set for a machine learning algorithm, for example using neural networks.”
Indeed, the specification page 20 is directed to a mere stating “a machine learning algorithm” buts it merely tantamount to a black box, rather than showing procession of a particular implementation. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to implement the described process without proper disclosure the algorithm by which machine learning performs its specific technological mechanism. For instance, the specification merely suggest using neural networks as an example of a machine learning algorithm, page 20. Claim 1 recitation of machine learning algorithms discloses only inputs and outputs/results without an algorithmic description showing procession of how the claimed classification is performed. As another example, Claim 5 broadly states the algorithm is trained using neural networks to enhance detection accuracy by learning complex patterns, but provides not architecture details in the specification or claims or drawings. As input, the specification states that the algorithm is trained using tagged dataset or a tagged dataset of foot conditions. As output, rather than explaining how the algorithm works mathematically, the specification almost exclusively focuses on what the algorithm is supposed to achieve. The flow chart of 300B, Fig. 13B is merely a high-level system of steps. There are no flow charts, formulas, or technical breakdowns detailing the how the internal algorithm steps, nodes, weights, and or parameters of the machine learning model’s algorithmic approach. In addition, an assertion that could be derived using simulations or test (i.e., prophetic examples) does not demonstrate that the inventors actual did so or had possession of the specific functional relationships and constraints to obviate the lack of written description requirement. To satisfy the written description of 35 USC § 112(a), the specification must demonstrate that the inventor’s actually possessed the claimed invention (i.e., the specific machine learning model) at the time of filing, herein, the inventor’s do not.
Third Matter: (Claim limitations at (2-4, 8, 12, 16, 18-20, 23, 29, 34-35) below):
Claim 2:
“wherein the computer vision module analyzes the light intensity and adjusts image capture settings to optimize image quality for visual feature detection.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for the computer vision module analyzing light intensity. Instead, it teaches the light sensor 134 to detect the light intensity, ¶0097, ¶0046-0047. The Examiner disagrees that the post-processing algorithm is sufficient. There is no correlation and relational link that established in the specification that the computer vision module analyzes the light intensity and adjust the image capture settings to optimize image quality for visual feature detection. Regarding the computer vision module adjusting the image capture settings to optimize image quality for visual feature detection, the specification lacks any proper description or technical implementation of how the settings are modified or how the post-processing algorithm operates to achieve this.
Claim 3:
“wherein the computer vision module is used to confirm the target is properly positioned within the inspection area.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for the computer vision module to be used to confirm the target is properly positioned within the inspection area. The hue, blob, corner, and edge analysis to detect features and determine location of the feet does not teach using these means to confirm proper positioning within the inspection area prior to measurements.
Claim 4:
“using the computer vision module to ensure the target is stationary before image capture to minimize blurring of visual features.“
The specification does not provide proper written description for the computer vision module to perform a stability check or to ensure target is stationary before image capture to minimize blurring. The stability check is performed by the stain gauge, not the computer vision, ¶0109. The computer vision at best is a post process to the capturing of the image data. In addition, there is no teaching regarding the prevention of minimization of blurring visual features.
Claim 8:
“with abnormalities highlighted by the computer vision module to visually emphasize areas of concern.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for the computer vision module to visually emphasize areas of concern or the steps for how it highlights abnormalities. There is no or proper description provide to even suggest that the computer vision module conducts this step.
Claim 12:
“further comprising applying a reference temperature and offset algorithm to the temperature dataset for normalization, and using the computer vision module to identify the location of the temperature sensors in the captured image for accurate temperature mapping.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for the computer vision module which identifies anatomical features to be used to identify the location of the temperature sensors in the captured image for accurate temperature mapping
Claim 16:
“further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance sensitivity and specificity.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for the a dual system step-by-step process that runs both in tandem or even remotely in relationship with each other to review identified features for abnormality. In addition, there is no description provided for arriving at the step of sensitivity and specificity enhance as a result of the dual system process.
Claim 18:
“using computer vision to ensure proper foot placement and to adjust image capture parameters accordingly.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for using computer vision to ensure proper foot placement and to adjust image capture parameters accordingly. There is no correlation in the specification regarding the computer vision module to adjust image capture parameters using the strain gauge data. In other words, the computer vision does not adjust the image capture parameters
Claim 19:
“with the computer vision module monitoring light levels and adjusting settings to ensure optimal image quality.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for using computer vision to monitor light levels and to adjust image capture parameters. This is the light sensor. There is no detailed algorithmic approach for these step in the specification to suggest or claim this limitation.
Claim 20:
“with the timing controlled by the computer vision module to optimize image quality and minimize artifacts.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for using computer vision module to optimize image quality and minimize artifacts. The computer vision module is just for post capturing task to identify anatomical features at best. The computer vision module does not manage anything regarding optimizing image quality and minimizing artifacts.
Claim 23:
“using computer vision to align the images for accurate comparison and trend analysis.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for using computer vision module to align the images for accurate comparison and trend analysis. In fact there is not teaching of using this computer vision to align different images of the same foot captures at different times and there is no trend analysis of performing tracking on stored historical images or datasets.
Claim 29:
“further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance diagnostic confidence and accuracy.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for the a dual system step-by-step process that runs both in tandem or even remotely in relationship with each other to enhance diagnostic confidence and accuracy.. In addition, there is no description provided for arriving at the step to enhance diagnostic confidence and accuracy as a result of the dual system process.
Claim 34:
“the computer vision module to adjust image capture settings to eliminate ambient light effects and optimize image quality for feature detection.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for using computer vision module to adjust or modify camera settings. The computer vision module is the hue, block, corner, edge analysis used for after imaging to identify features. There is no feedback loop where the computer vison outputs its results to a processor to modify or eliminate or optimize any feature of the claim invention.
Claim 35:
“with the computer vision module confirming target stability and proper foot placement within the inspection area.”
The specification does not provide proper written description for using computer vision module to adjust or modify camera settings. The computer vision module is the hue, block, corner, edge analysis used for after imaging to identify features. The computer vision module does nothing regarding stability or confirm proper foot placement within an inspection area.
Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would not deem the instant specification having sufficient detail so that they could understand how the inventor intended to achieve the aforementioned step. Since the instant specification fails to provide a finite sequence of steps for performing step, the aforementioned claim fails to meet the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency to abovementioned claims.
Claims 1-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
line 7, “the feet”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the area of the skin of the target. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 14, “the foot”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the area of the skin of the target. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 18, “the emergence of ulcers and/or other skin abnormalities”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an emergence of ulcers and/or other skin abnormalities. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 6:
line 1, “a geometrical map of the foot”. It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from the “geometrical map of the foot” as recited in claim 1 lines 13-14. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes it refers to the geometrical map of the foot as defined in claim 1. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7:
line 1, “data”. It is unclear what the term refers to in the context of the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the tagged dataset. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2, “abnormalities”. Should recite the visual abnormalities. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
lines 2-3, “visual features”. Should recite the initial visual features. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9:
line 3-4, “the severity and nature of the classified visual features.”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a severity and nture of the classified visual features. There is not step that initializes this phrase. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 10:
line 3, “on opposite feet”. It is unclear if opposite feet refers to “both feet” as defined in claim 6 which claim 10 is dependent form. It is unclear if there is a difference between both feet vs opposite feet of an individual. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the refer to each. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Clarity is needed.
lines 3-4, ‘the generated geometrical maps”. It is unclear if this step is referring to the generated geometrical map of the foot as defined in claim 6 which refers to an individual map of a foot. Accordingly, it is unclear if the identified phrase refers to a geometrical map of each foot individually or both feet simultaneously. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes
Claim 13:
line 1, “the modified temperature dataset. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the temperature dataset. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
lines 2-3, “the dataset should recite “the temperature dataset. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17:
line 2, “the severity of the warning”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a severity of a type of abnormality. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
lines 3-4, “the combination of visual and non-visual data”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a combination of visual and non-visual data. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 18:
line 2, “a foot”. It is unclear if the phrase is intended to refer to the supposed feet recited in claim 1 or not. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the transparent panel is configured to receive a foot of a user. Appropriate correction is required.
line 3, “the user”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a strain gauge is configured to sense the weight of the user. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 4, “computer vision”. It is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from computer vision means or computer vision module. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the computer vision module. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20:
lines 1-2, “the camera”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Claim 1 does not attempt to recite “a camera”. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the camera refers to the one or more image capture device. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 2, “the inspection process”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes during inspection. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 2, “the timing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a timing. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 21:
lines 1-2, “the temperature of the transparent panel. The claim 21 or claim 1, do not define a transparent panel, a temperature, or provide proper antecedent basis for these terms. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the claim is intended to depend from claim 18 and that recitation of “the temperature” should recite “a temperature” Appropriate correction is required.
line 4, “these factors”. Its unclear what these factors refers to. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes temperature and weight. Clarity is needed.
Claim 23:
line 3, “computer vision”. It is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from computer vision means or computer vision module. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the computer vision module. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24:
line 2, “the size or shape of abnormalities. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a size or shape of the skin abnormalities. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. Also, its unclear what the difference is between skin abnormalities and visual abnormalities. The claims refer to both without a clear distinction. In addition, the phrase, “the changes” should recite “the identified changes”. Similarly the same applies to line 1 of claim 25, which also recites, “the change”. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26:
line 3, “the modified temperature dataset”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). The claim does not establish how the temperature data set is modified nor does the specification provide further detail for such modification. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 27:
lines 2-3, ‘the threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm’. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 28:
line 2, “features”. It is unclear if the phase refers to or is separate from physical features or visual features. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the initial visual features. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29:
line 2, “features”. It is unclear if the phase refers to or is separate from physical features or visual features. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the initial visual features. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2, “abnormalities”. It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from skin abnormalities or visual abnormalities. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes visual abnormalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30:
line 2, “the severity of the warning”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a severity of a type of abnormality. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 31:
line 8, the captured image” It is unclear if the phrase refers to or is separate from the one or more cameras for capturing an image. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes it does refer to it. Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Clarity is needed.
line 8, “the feet”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the area of the skin of the target. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
Claim 33:
line 14, “the foot”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes an area of skin of a target. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Examiners Notes
Due to the numerous claim language issues that the Examiner has identified, Applicant is requested to check through the entire claim set to ensure that the claim drafting follows the guideline in MPEP 608.01 to ensure that proper antecedent basis and consistent claim language are practiced and to ensure that each above noted requested correction is reflected in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim 1-31 are directed to a “method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Claim 31-35 are directed to an “apparatus” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a machine.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One:
Claims 1 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“ [...] analyzing the captured image [...] with a computer vision module to:
first identify the feet within the captured image; identify initial visual features by computer vision means including at least one of hue analysis, blob analysis, corner analysis, and edge analysis;
detect visual abnormalities of the skin based solely on the captured image, the visual abnormalities including at least one of calluses, blisters, moisture, and discolouration;
identify physical features such as toes, heel, and arch, and generate a geometrical map of the foot; and
further utilize a machine learning algorithm, trained with a tagged dataset of foot conditions, to classify the identified visual features and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet, such as size, shape, orientation, ulcers, toes, cuts, and blisters; [...].”
Claims 31 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“a computer vision module to first identify the feet within the captured image, identify initial visual features, detect visual abnormalities based solely on the captured image, identify physical items, and generate a geometrical map, and further utilizes a tagged dataset to train a machine learning algorithm to classify the identified visual features and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet.”
Claims 32 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“a computer vision module to first identify the feet within the captured image, identify initial visual features, detect visual abnormalities based solely on the captured image, identify physical items, and generate a geometrical map, and further utilizes a tagged dataset to train a machine learning algorithm to classify the identified visual features and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet”
Claims 33 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“using both computer vision and machine learning algorithms; software modules encoded in a memory to execute operations related to identifying features of the foot, including health indicators, and using the machine learning algorithm to generate diagnostic reports based on visual features and their classification.”
In claims 1, 31-33 the above recited steps recite the abstract ideas of mathematical concepts and mental process. In particular, the claimed computer vision and machine-learning operations describe algorithmic processing of image data to identify, analyze, and generate a map, and classify visual features. The specification confirms these are indeed mathematical by describing the computer vision module in terms of feature detection algorithms, ¶0111, and describes the machine-learning operations only generically as an algorithm trained using a tagged dataset, for example a neural network. Thus, these limitations as it’s recited and analyzed in the claims filed set forth mathematical processing used to evaluate and classify image data. The limitations also recite mental processes because identifying a foot in an image, recognizing visual and physical features such as toes, heal, arch, discoloration, calluses, blisters, or ulcers, and classifying these observed features according to their appearance describes an act of observation, evaluation and judgement that can be performed in the human mind. Merley requiring a computer vision module or machine learning or both to perform these evaluative steps does not remove the recited concepts from the mathematical concept and mental process groupings. There is nothing recited in the claim or even the specification to suggest an undue level of complexity in the identified abstract ideas are conducted.
Prong Two: Claims 1, 31-33 do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites (1) additional steps of “providing a transparent panel with an inspection area; capturing an image of an area of skin of a target located in the inspection area using one or more image capture devices;”- (claim 1), “a transparent panel with an inspection area; one or more cameras for capturing an image of an area of skin of a target in the inspection area; a processor for analyzing captured images to identify abnormalities in the area of skin of the target;" (claim 31), “a transparent panel with an inspection area; illumination sources of known geometry, intensity, and colour; a processor for analyzing captured images to identify abnormalities in the area of skin of a target;” (claim 32), “a transparent panel with an inspection area; illumination sources of known geometry, intensity, and colour;” (claim 33); and; (2) further an additional step of “generating indicia indicative of the emergence of ulcers and/or other skin abnormalities based on the classified visual features.” (claim 1).
The steps in (1) represent merely data gathering or pre-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality with conventionally used tools (see below Step IIB for further details). Data gathering and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05 (f and g)).Regarding the processor language written at such a high level of generality of structural limitations, the processor language amounts to a generic computer component with mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
The step in (2) represents merely notification outputting by a processor as a post-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality.
Specifically regarding the limitations of claim 1, 31-33, directed to the “using a processor configured to” is treated as a generic computer implementation, which falls under mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer and therefore does not place the abstract idea into a practical application that solves a technological solution in a meaningful way or improve the functionality of the technology or generic computer “itself”. Simply, it’s a generic computer implementation of a mental process rather than a meaningful limitation. Regarding the processor language written at such a high level of generality of structural limitations, the processor language amounts to a generic computer component with mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea and to output bioinformation based on the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on conventionally used tools. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the estimated imaging information is not outputted in any way such that a practical benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, there is no evidence of record that would support the assertion that this step is an improvement to a computer or technological solution to a technological problem. Ultimately, the Applicant’s describe improvement in the process of using optical techniques, but this is not an improvement in the function of a computer or other technology (See MPEP 2106.05(a)(ii); “the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology”; See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1); 2106.05(a); and 2106.05(f)). The claims are directed to the abstract idea. Also, there does not appear to be any particular structure or machine, treatment or prophylaxis, transformation, or any other meaningful application that would render the claim eligible at step 2A, prong 2.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims 1, 31-33 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims recite additional steps of: providing a transparent panel with an inspection area; capturing an image of an area of skin of a target located in the inspection area using one or more image capture devices that include illumination sources of known geometry, intensity, and colour; and a processor to analyze images captured. These steps represents mere data gathering, data outputting or pre/post/extra-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality. Furthermore, as discussed above, limitations with respect to the processor languages/terms, respectively, amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B and does not provide an inventive concept. The data gathering steps that were considered insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A Prong Two, have been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
As an evidence, Blinder (US6032071Adiscloses:
[Col 2 l.53-56], ‘If the skin is to be examined using conventional ELM techniques, a plane glass surface must be applied and a drop of immersion oil must be introduced between the glass and the surface of the skin”
As an evidence, Bandic et al (US 2010093503 A1)discloses:
¶0010, ‘Some of the known methods involve illuminating the skin surface with white light while the digital image is acquired by the camera’)
As an evidence, Johnnie et al (US 8976241 B1) discloses:
[Col. 9 l.47-50], ‘The image processor 630 performs digital image processing techniques, such as image calibration, pixilation and other techniques known in the art, to produce color encoded image data objects 632a-d.’
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea.
Dependent Claims
The following dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to reciting an abstract idea for similar reasons and therefore are not eligible:
3. defining further comprising a trigger mechanism to initiate inspection and performing a pre-measurement check prior to capturing the image, wherein the computer vision module is used to confirm the target is properly positioned within the inspection area.
4. defining wherein the pre-measurement check comprises a stability check, using the computer vision module to ensure the target is stationary before image capture to minimize blurring of visual features.
5. defining wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained using neural networks and the tagged dataset to enhance abnormality detection accuracy by learning complex patterns in visual features.
6. defining further comprising generating a geometrical map of the foot using computer vision techniques to facilitate comparison between regions on both feet and to identify anatomical landmarks for abnormality localization.
7. defining wherein data is compared to previously collected data using the machine learning algorithm to detect changes or early signs of abnormalities in visual features over time.
9. defining further wherein the alert type may vary based on the type of abnormality detected as determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the severity and nature of the classified visual features.
10. defining further comprising identifying physical formations at given coordinates on the foot using computer vision and performing contralateral comparison by identifying differences between corresponding points on opposite feet based on the generated geometrical maps.
11. defining using the machine learning algorithm to correlate temperature changes with the detected visual features to improve diagnostic accuracy.
12. using the computer vision module to identify the location of the temperature sensors in the captured image for accurate temperature mapping.
13. defining using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns and correlations between temperature and visual abnormalities.
14. defining using the machine learning algorithm to create a comprehensive patient profile incorporating both visual and non-visual data.
15. defining further comprising identifying features from the stored data using image processing techniques and the machine learning algorithm to create a holistic view of the patient's foot health.
16. defining further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance sensitivity and specificity.
17. defining the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the combination of visual and non-visual data.
18. defining using computer vision to ensure proper foot placement and to adjust image capture parameters accordingly.
21. defining using the machine learning algorithm to correlate these factors with detected abnormalities to improve diagnostic accuracy.
22. defining using the machine learning algorithm to generate a diagnostic report summarizing the identified visual features and abnormalities.
23. defining using computer vision to align the images for accurate comparison and trend analysis.
24. defining using the machine learning algorithm to quantify the changes and generate trend metrics.
25. defining the threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm based on patient-specific data and historical trends.
26. defining using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns and correlations with visual features.
27. defining using the machine learning algorithm to create a comprehensive patient profile integrating visual, thermal, and biomechanical information.
28. defining further comprising identifying features from the stored data using image processing techniques and the machine learning algorithm to provide a multifaceted assessment of foot health.
29. defining further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance diagnostic confidence and accuracy.
30. defining the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the comprehensive patient profile.
35. defining the computer vision module confirming target stability and proper foot placement within the inspection area.
The following dependent claims merely further describe the extra-solution activities and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for similar reasons and therefore are not eligible:
2. defining further comprising providing illumination sources of known geometry, intensity, and colour to minimize the effects of ambient light during image capture, wherein the computer vision module analyzes the light intensity and adjusts image capture settings to optimize image quality for visual feature detection.
8. defining wherein indicia are generated as output images to facilitate comparison between current and previous images, with abnormalities highlighted by the computer vision module to visually emphasize areas of concern.
9. defining wherein an alert is provided if an abnormality is detected.
11. defining further comprising recording temperature data from an array of temperature sensors during inspection and storing the data for future analysis.
12. defining further comprising applying a reference temperature and offset algorithm to the temperature dataset for normalization.
13. defining further comprising storing the modified temperature dataset in a patient database.
14. defining further comprising storing image data, weight data, reference temperature data, and time stamps in the database.
17. defining further comprising displaying an abnormality warning indicator based on detected abnormalities.
18. defining further comprising: placing a foot on the transparent panel; using a strain gauge to sense the weight of the user and determine stability before image capture.
19. defining further comprising performing a premeasurement check and activating illumination sources once stability is confirmed, with the computer vision module monitoring light levels and adjusting settings to ensure optimal image quality.
20. defining further comprising activating temperature sensors and the camera sequentially during the inspection process, with the timing controlled by the computer vision module to optimize image quality and minimize artifacts.
21. defining further comprising recording the temperature of the transparent panel and the weight of the user during inspection.
22. defining further comprising sending recorded data for processing.
23. defining further comprising capturing and storing images at multiple points in time to track changes in skin abnormalities.
24. defining wherein the processor compares current images to previously stored images to identify changes in the size or shape of abnormalities.
25. defining wherein the processor generates an alert when the change in an abnormality exceeds a predetermined threshold.
26. defining further comprising: applying a reference temperature and offset algorithm to a temperature dataset; and storing the modified temperature dataset in a database.
27. defining further comprising storing image data, weight data, reference temperature data, and time stamps in the database.
30. defining further comprising displaying an abnormality warning indicator based on detected abnormalities.
34. defining wherein the processor is configured to use outputs from a light sensor and the computer vision module to adjust image capture settings to eliminate ambient light effects and optimize image quality for feature detection.
35. defining further comprising a trigger mechanism and stability check to initiate image capture when the target is stationary.
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, 23, & 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1 – Indicated in the IDS filed on 08/07/2025).
Claim 1: O’Connor discloses: A method of identifying skin abnormalities (¶Abstract), comprising:
providing a transparent panel with an inspection area (¶Abstract, ¶0006, Claim 1, FIG. 1-4, ¶0011-0014, ¶0043, the transmission sheet 10 is made of a non-opaque materials such as glass, tempered glass, polycarbonate or plastic);
capturing an image of an area of skin of a target located in the inspection area using one or more image capture devices (image capture system - ¶0014—0017, ¶0038-0040, see also ¶0067 – the image capture system is configured to image the sole of the patient’s foot (i.e. the area of skin of a target located in the inspection area) that is near or in connect with the transmissive sheet. This system includes one or more optical sensors for the image capture system.);
analyzing the captured image using a processor configured with a computer vision module to: (image data processor - ¶0053, ¶0113, ¶0139, ‘Image processing or analysis in an embodiment of the present invention may optionally include detection for one or more of these types of physical conditions as well as features indicative of injury or ulceration. Detection in this embodiment may include analytical methods including Hausdorff distance calculation, edge detection, corner detection, blob detection, image convolution or cross-correlation, or other feature detection algorithms.’ Under the broadest reasonable interpretation these algorithms constitute a computer vision module.)
first identify the feet within the captured image (¶0064, ‘Images of the feet can be isolated from a saturated or unsaturated background during processing. This may be accomplished by feature recognition, a saturation threshold, or any other background subtraction method. These embodiments may be configured handle a wide range of ambient or stray light situations.’. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this is first identification in a sequential pipeline before other feature are analyzed.)
identify initial visual features by computer vision means including at least one of hue analysis (¶0135-0137 – tissue color thresholding and color patterns is a hue analysis), blob analysis, corner analysis, and edge analysis (¶0139);
detect visual abnormalities of the skin based solely on the captured image, the visual abnormalities including at least one of calluses (¶0136), blisters, moisture (¶Abstract, ¶0008, Claim 18-19), and discolouration (¶0135);
identify physical features such as toes, heel, and arch, and generate a geometrical map of the foot; and (¶0138, ‘the present invention may also comprise identification or tracking of geometrical features in sole images, for example, contours representing contact with the transmissive sheet; total foot area in contact with the sheet; relative positioning of the toes, metatarsals, heel, or other regions of the foot; and so forth.’ See also, ¶0158)
further utilize a machine learning algorithm, trained with a tagged dataset of foot conditions, (¶0139 the detection may be implemented through machine learning methods, including but not limited to supervised learning algorithms or semi-supervised learning algorithms. Supervised learning by definition, under the broadest reasonable interpretation involves training with tagged/labeled data) to classify the identified visual features and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet, such as size (¶0141), shape (¶0143), orientation, ulcers (¶0139), toes (¶0138-0139), cuts, and blisters; and,
generating indicia indicative of the emergence of ulcers and/or other skin abnormalities based on the classified visual features (¶0037, ‘alert[ing] medical practitioners or patients upon detection of an injured, ulcerated, or at-risk site on a patient's foot.”).
Claim 7: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, wherein data is compared to previously collected data (¶0133-0134, ¶0136-0137, ¶0176) using the machine learning algorithm (¶0139, ¶0176) to detect changes or early signs of abnormalities in visual features over time (¶0135-0137, ¶0176).
Claim 8: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, wherein indicia are generated as output images (¶0140, ¶0153) to facilitate comparison between current and previous images, (¶0140) with abnormalities highlighted by the computer vision module to visually emphasize areas of concern (¶0139-0140).
Claim 23: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, further comprising capturing and storing images at multiple points in time (¶0037) to track changes in skin abnormalities, (¶0133-0134, ¶0140) using computer vision to align the images (¶0081, ¶0152, ¶0157) for accurate comparison and trend analysis (¶0133-0134, ¶0136-0137).
Claim 31: O’Connor discloses: A skin inspection device for identifying abnormalities, comprising: (¶Abstract),
a transparent panel with an inspection area (¶Abstract, ¶0006, Claim 1, FIG. 1-4, ¶0011-0014, ¶0043, the transmission sheet 10 is made of a non-opaque materials such as glass, tempered glass, polycarbonate or plastic);
one or more cameras for capturing an image of an area of skin of a target in the inspection area; (image capture system - ¶0014—0017, ¶0038-0040, see also ¶0067 – the image capture system is configured to image the sole of the patient’s foot (i.e. the area of skin of a target located in the inspection area) that is near or in connect with the transmissive sheet. This system includes one or more optical sensors for the image capture system.);
a processor for analyzing captured images to identify abnormalities in the area of skin of the target; (image data processor - ¶0053, ¶0113, ¶0139, ‘Image processing or analysis in an embodiment of the present invention may optionally include detection for one or more of these types of physical conditions as well as features indicative of injury or ulceration. Detection in this embodiment may include analytical methods including Hausdorff distance calculation, edge detection, corner detection, blob detection, image convolution or cross-correlation, or other feature detection algorithms.’ Under the broadest reasonable interpretation these algorithms constitute a computer vision module.)
wherein the processor is configured with a computer vision module to first identify the feet within the captured image, (¶0064, ‘Images of the feet can be isolated from a saturated or unsaturated background during processing. This may be accomplished by feature recognition, a saturation threshold, or any other background subtraction method. These embodiments may be configured handle a wide range of ambient or stray light situations.’. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this is first identification in a sequential pipeline before other feature are analyzed.) identify initial visual features, (¶0135-0137 – tissue color thresholding and color patterns is a hue analysis, see also ¶0139) detect visual abnormalities based solely on the captured image (¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0136, Claim 18-19), identify physical items (¶0138, ‘the present invention may also comprise identification or tracking of geometrical features in sole images, for example, contours representing contact with the transmissive sheet; total foot area in contact with the sheet; relative positioning of the toes, metatarsals, heel, or other regions of the foot; and so forth.’ See also, ¶0158), and generate a geometrical map (¶0138, ‘the present invention may also comprise identification or tracking of geometrical features in sole images, for example, contours representing contact with the transmissive sheet; total foot area in contact with the sheet; relative positioning of the toes, metatarsals, heel, or other regions of the foot; and so forth.’ See also, ¶0158), and further utilizes a tagged dataset to train a machine learning algorithm (¶0139 the detection may be implemented through machine learning methods, including but not limited to supervised learning algorithms or semi-supervised learning algorithms. Supervised learning by definition, under the broadest reasonable interpretation involves training with tagged/labeled data) to classify the identified visual features (¶0138-0139, ¶0141, ¶0134) and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet (¶0037, ‘alert[ing] medical practitioners or patients upon detection of an injured, ulcerated, or at-risk site on a patient's foot.”).
Claim 32: O’Connor discloses, A skin inspection device for identifying abnormalities, comprising (¶Abstract):
a transparent panel with an inspection area (¶Abstract, ¶0006, Claim 1, FIG. 1-4, ¶0011-0014, ¶0043, the transmission sheet 10 is made of a non-opaque materials such as glass, tempered glass, polycarbonate or plastic);
illumination sources of known geometry, intensity, and colour; (image capture system - ¶0014—0017, ¶0038-0040, see also ¶0067 – the image capture system is configured to image the sole of the patient’s foot (i.e. the area of skin of a target located in the inspection area) that is near or in connect with the transmissive sheet. This system includes one or more optical sensors for the image capture system., ¶0078, ‘the exposure time of each sensor can be fixed at an equal, predetermined length.’, ¶0076, “white LED, , ¶0091, ‘emitting white, single-color, infrared, or near-infrared light.’, see also ¶0078, ¶0086-0087, ¶0108)
a processor for analyzing captured images to identify abnormalities in the area of skin of a target; (image data processor - ¶0053, ¶0113, ¶0139, ‘Image processing or analysis in an embodiment of the present invention may optionally include detection for one or more of these types of physical conditions as well as features indicative of injury or ulceration. Detection in this embodiment may include analytical methods including Hausdorff distance calculation, edge detection, corner detection, blob detection, image convolution or cross-correlation, or other feature detection algorithms.’ Under the broadest reasonable interpretation these algorithms constitute a computer vision module.)
wherein the processor is configured with a computer vision module to first identify the feet within the captured image, (¶0064, ‘Images of the feet can be isolated from a saturated or unsaturated background during processing. This may be accomplished by feature recognition, a saturation threshold, or any other background subtraction method. These embodiments may be configured handle a wide range of ambient or stray light situations.’. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this is first identification in a sequential pipeline before other feature are analyzed.) identify initial visual features, (¶0135-0137 – tissue color thresholding and color patterns is a hue analysis, see also ¶0139) detect visual abnormalities based solely on the captured image (¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0136, Claim 18-19), identify physical items (¶0138, ‘the present invention may also comprise identification or tracking of geometrical features in sole images, for example, contours representing contact with the transmissive sheet; total foot area in contact with the sheet; relative positioning of the toes, metatarsals, heel, or other regions of the foot; and so forth.’ See also, ¶0158), and generate a geometrical map (¶0138, ‘the present invention may also comprise identification or tracking of geometrical features in sole images, for example, contours representing contact with the transmissive sheet; total foot area in contact with the sheet; relative positioning of the toes, metatarsals, heel, or other regions of the foot; and so forth.’ See also, ¶0158), and further utilizes a tagged dataset to train a machine learning algorithm (¶0139 the detection may be implemented through machine learning methods, including but not limited to supervised learning algorithms or semi-supervised learning algorithms. Supervised learning by definition, under the broadest reasonable interpretation involves training with tagged/labeled data) to classify the identified visual features (¶0138-0139, ¶0141, ¶0134) and detect other visual abnormalities related to the feet (¶0037, ‘alert[ing] medical practitioners or patients upon detection of an injured, ulcerated, or at-risk site on a patient's foot.”).
Claim 33: A system for identifying skin features, comprising (¶Abstract):
a transparent panel with an inspection area (¶Abstract, ¶0006, Claim 1, FIG. 1-4, ¶0011-0014, ¶0043, the transmission sheet 10 is made of a non-opaque materials such as glass, tempered glass, polycarbonate or plastic);
illumination sources of known geometry, intensity, and colour (image capture system - ¶0014—0017, ¶0038-0040, see also ¶0067 – the image capture system is configured to image the sole of the patient’s foot (i.e. the area of skin of a target located in the inspection area) that is near or in connect with the transmissive sheet. This system includes one or more optical sensors for the image capture system., ¶0078, ‘the exposure time of each sensor can be fixed at an equal, predetermined length.’, ¶0076, “white LED, , ¶0091, ‘emitting white, single-color, infrared, or near-infrared light.’, see also ¶0078, ¶0086-0087, ¶0108)
a processor configured to analyze captured images using both computer vision and machine learning algorithms; software modules encoded in a memory to execute operations related to identifying features of the foot, including health indicators, and using the machine learning algorithm to generate diagnostic reports based on visual features and their classification. (image data processor - ¶0053, ¶0113, ¶0139, ‘Image processing or analysis in an embodiment of the present invention may optionally include detection for one or more of these types of physical conditions as well as features indicative of injury or ulceration. Detection in this embodiment may include analytical methods including Hausdorff distance calculation, edge detection, corner detection, blob detection, image convolution or cross-correlation, or other feature detection algorithms.’ Under the broadest reasonable interpretation these algorithms constitute a computer vision module.) (¶0064, ‘Images of the feet can be isolated from a saturated or unsaturated background during processing. This may be accomplished by feature recognition, a saturation threshold, or any other background subtraction method. These embodiments may be configured handle a wide range of ambient or stray light situations.’. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this is first identification in a sequential pipeline before other feature are analyzed.) (¶0135-0137 – tissue color thresholding and color patterns is a hue analysis, see also ¶0139) (¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0136, Claim 18-19)(¶0138, ‘the present invention may also comprise identification or tracking of geometrical features in sole images, for example, contours representing contact with the transmissive sheet; total foot area in contact with the sheet; relative positioning of the toes, metatarsals, heel, or other regions of the foot; and so forth.’ See also, ¶0158) (¶0138, ‘the present invention may also comprise identification or tracking of geometrical features in sole images, for example, contours representing contact with the transmissive sheet; total foot area in contact with the sheet; relative positioning of the toes, metatarsals, heel, or other regions of the foot; and so forth.’ See also, ¶0158)(¶0139 the detection may be implemented through machine learning methods, including but not limited to supervised learning algorithms or semi-supervised learning algorithms. Supervised learning by definition, under the broadest reasonable interpretation involves training with tagged/labeled data) (¶0138-0139, ¶0141, ¶0134) (¶0037, ‘alert[ing] medical practitioners or patients upon detection of an injured, ulcerated, or at-risk site on a patient's foot.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 & 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1, in further view of Husheer (US 20180240238 A1).
Claim 2: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, further comprising providing illumination sources of known geometry, intensity, and colour to minimize the effects of ambient light during image capture, (image capture system - ¶0014—0017, ¶0038-0040, see also ¶0067 – the image capture system is configured to image the sole of the patient’s foot (i.e. the area of skin of a target located in the inspection area) that is near or in connect with the transmissive sheet. This system includes one or more optical sensors for the image capture system., ¶0078, ‘the exposure time of each sensor can be fixed at an equal, predetermined length.’, ¶0076, “white LED, , ¶0091, ‘emitting white, single-color, infrared, or near-infrared light.’, see also ¶0078, ¶0086-0087, ¶0108);
O’Connor fails to disclose:
wherein the computer vision module analyzes the light intensity and adjusts image capture settings to optimize image quality for visual feature detection.
However, Husheer in the context of volumetric data of predetermined anatomical features of feet discloses, wherein the computer vision module (¶0047-0050) analyzes the light intensity (¶0054) and adjusts image capture settings(¶0058) to optimize image quality for visual feature detection (¶0054, ¶0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compute vision module of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Husheer. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing reliable information in the assessment of wounds, as suggested by Husheer, ¶0058.
Claim 34: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, wherein the processor is configured to use outputs from a light sensor (¶0040, ¶0062, ¶0069)
O’Connor fails to disclose: and the computer vision module to adjust image capture settings to eliminate ambient light effects and optimize image quality for feature detection.
However, Husheer in the context of volumetric data of predetermined anatomical features of feet discloses, the computer vision module to adjust image capture settings to eliminate ambient light effects and optimize image quality for feature detection. (¶0047-0050, ¶0055, ¶0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compute vision module of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Husheer. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing reliable information in the assessment of wounds, as suggested by Husheer, ¶0058.
Claims 3, 18, & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1, in further view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1).
Claim 3: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses: further comprising a trigger mechanism to initiate inspection and performing a pre-measurement check (¶0123, ¶0145) prior to capturing the image, (¶0117, ¶0141, ¶0145, ¶0149-0150)
O’Connor fails to disclose:
wherein the computer vision module is used to confirm the target is properly positioned within the inspection area.
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, wherein the computer vision module is used to confirm the target is properly positioned within the inspection area. (¶0035, ¶0046, ¶0052)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify computer vision module of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the use of a combination of sensors (e.g., optical and physical sensors) combined with related processing techniques (e.g., machine-learned classifiers) to help detect skin conditions (e.g., possible complications from diabetes), as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0022.
Claim 18: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, further comprising: placing a foot on the transparent panel; (¶0039, ¶0043), using a strain gauge to sense the weight of the user (¶0149-0150) and determine stability before image capture (¶0145, ¶0149-0150),
O’Connor fails to disclose:
using computer vision to ensure proper foot placement and to adjust image capture parameters accordingly.
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, using computer vision to ensure proper foot placement and to adjust image capture parameters accordingly. (¶0035, ¶0046, ¶0052)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify computer vision module of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the use of a combination of sensors (e.g., optical and physical sensors) combined with related processing techniques (e.g., machine-learned classifiers) to help detect skin conditions (e.g., possible complications from diabetes), as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0022.
Claim 22: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses:
further comprising sending recorded data for processing, (¶0052, ¶0054, ¶0059)
O’Connor fails to disclose: and using the machine learning algorithm to generate a diagnostic report summarizing the identified visual features and abnormalities.
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, using the machine learning algorithm to generate a diagnostic report summarizing the identified visual features and abnormalities. (¶0035, ¶0037-0038)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning algorithm of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the use of a combination of sensors (e.g., optical and physical sensors) combined with related processing techniques (e.g., machine-learned classifiers) to help detect skin conditions (e.g., possible complications from diabetes), as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0022.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1) in view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1), as applied to claims 3, in further view of Husheer (US 20180240238 A1).
Claim 4: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 3, O’Connor discloses: wherein the pre-measurement check comprises a stability check, (¶0117, ¶0141, ¶0145, ¶0149-0150)
O’Connor fails to disclose: using the computer vision module to ensure the target is stationary before image capture to minimize blurring of visual features
However, Husheer in the context of volumetric data of predetermined anatomical features of feet discloses, using the computer vision module (¶0047-0050) to ensure the target is stationary before image capture to minimize blurring of visual features (¶0055, ¶0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compute vision module of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Husheer. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing reliable information in the assessment of wounds, as suggested by Husheer, ¶0058.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1, in further view of Linders et al (US 20130261495 A1).
Claim 9: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses: wherein an alert is provided if an abnormality is detected, and (¶0037, ¶0135, ¶0154)
O’Connor fails to disclose:
further wherein the alert type may vary based on the type of abnormality detected as determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the severity and nature of the classified visual features.
However, Lavery in the context of foot temperature and health monitoring discloses
further wherein the alert type may vary based on the type of abnormality detected as determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the severity and nature of the classified visual features. (¶0037, ¶0049-0050, ¶0053 regarding the alert by the processor. ¶0088, ¶0095 regarding the abnormality change exceeding a predetermined threshold. ¶0088, ¶0090, regarding a threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm based on patient-specific data and historical trends.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning algorithm of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Linders for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to achieve a desired balance between sensitivity and specificity, as suggested by Linders, ¶0088.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1, in further view of Lavery et al (US 20020082486 A1) in view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1).
Claim 14: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising storing image data, weight data, reference temperature data, and time stamps in the database, and using the machine learning algorithm to create a comprehensive patient profile incorporating both visual and non-visual data.
However, Lavery in the context of foot temperature and health monitoring discloses, further comprising storing image data, (¶0030, ¶0035, Claim 1) weight data, (¶0013-0014, ¶0041, Claim 27) reference temperature data, (¶0044) and time stamps (¶0049 Claim 27) in the database (¶0049-0050),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Lavery for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to provide an early warning of any significant temperature differences in skin temperatures between common areas of the two feet or between neighboring site as suggested by Lavery, ¶0007.
O’Connor fails to disclose: and using the machine learning algorithm to create a comprehensive patient profile incorporating both visual and non-visual data.
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, using the machine learning algorithm (¶0022, ¶0035-0036, ¶0045 using imaging analyses and pattern recognition techniques which are operated by the machine learning algorithm that sysnthesis the inputs to create the profile of the foot health) to create a comprehensive patient profile of visual and non visual data. (¶0045– image data, theographic images and weight data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify machine learning algorithm of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the use of a combination of sensors (e.g., optical and physical sensors) combined with related processing techniques (e.g., machine-learned classifiers) to help detect skin conditions (e.g., possible complications from diabetes), as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0022.
Claims 6, 10-11, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1, in further view of Petersen et al (US 20150190059 A1).
Claim 6: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, further comprising generating a geometrical map of the foot using computer vision techniques (¶0138-0139, ¶0158)
O’Connor fails to disclose: to facilitate comparison between regions on both feet and to identify anatomical landmarks for abnormality localization.
However, Petersen in the context of monitoring foot inflammation discloses: further comprising generating a geometrical map of the foot using computer vision techniques to (¶0056-0057, ¶0059, ¶0065, ¶0072, Claim 20 – pattern recognition system is a computer vision algorithm to process the foot maps, see also ¶0064-0065, ¶0087) facilitate comparison between regions on both feet (¶0008-0009, ¶0059, ¶0062) and to identify anatomical landmarks for abnormality localization (¶0055, ¶0068, ¶0075, ¶0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the geometrical map of the foot using computer vision techniques of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claim 10: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 6, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising identifying physical formations at given coordinates on the foot using computer vision and performing contralateral comparison by identifying differences between corresponding points on opposite feet based on the generated geometrical maps.
However, Petersen in the context of monitoring foot inflammation discloses: further comprising identifying physical formations (ulcers, pre-ulcers, callous, ¶0030, ¶0075 ¶0083-0084, ¶0092-0093) at given coordinates on the foot (¶0009, ¶0011-0012) using computer vision (¶0056-0057, ¶0059, ¶0065, ¶0072, Claim 20 – pattern recognition system is a computer vision algorithm to process the foot maps, see also ¶0064-0065, ¶0087) and performing contralateral comparison (¶0076, ¶0081 ¶0088) by identifying differences between corresponding points on opposite feet based on the generated geometrical maps (¶0068, ¶0072, ¶0075-0076, ¶0081, ¶0087-0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the geometrical map of the foot using computer vision techniques of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claim 11: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses: further comprising recording temperature data from an array of temperature sensors during inspection (¶0146-0147, ¶0160) and storing the data for future analysis (¶0058, ¶0143),
O’Connor fails to disclose: and using the machine learning algorithm to correlate temperature changes with the detected visual features to improve diagnostic accuracy.
However, Petersen in the context of monitoring foot inflammation discloses: using the machine learning algorithm to correlate temperature changes with the detected visual features (¶0055, ¶0088, ¶0085) to improve diagnostic accuracy (¶0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning algorithm of O’Connor that uses machine learning to incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claim 26: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising: applying a reference temperature and offset algorithm to a temperature dataset; and storing the modified temperature dataset in a database, using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns and
However, Petersen in the context of monitoring foot inflammation discloses: further comprising: applying a reference temperature and offset algorithm to a temperature dataset; (¶0060, ¶0073) and storing the modified temperature dataset in a database, (¶0043, ¶0049) using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns (¶0085, ¶0088) correlations with visual features (¶0055, ¶Abstract, ¶0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of O’Connor that uses machine learning to incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claims 5 & 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1 & 23, respectively, in further view of Khandelwal et al (US 20240260835 A1).
Claim 5: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor fails to disclose: wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained using neural networks and the tagged dataset to enhance abnormality detection accuracy by learning complex patterns in visual features.
However, Khandelwal in the context of detecting foot abnormalities discloses: wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained using neural networks (¶0100, ¶0108-0109) and the tagged dataset (¶0101, 0106) to enhance abnormality detection accuracy by learning complex patterns in visual features (¶0080, ¶0104, ¶0106, ¶0110, ¶0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning algorithm of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Khandelwal. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as enable passive visual monitoring for foot complication, as suggested by Khandelwal, ¶0118.
Claim 24: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 23, O’Connor fails to disclose: wherein the processor compares current images to previously stored images to identify changes in the size or shape of abnormalities, using the machine learning algorithm to quantify the changes and generate trend metrics.
However, Khandelwal in the context of detecting foot abnormalities discloses: wherein the processor compares current images to previously stored images to identify changes in the size or shape of abnormalities, (¶0013, ¶0104, ¶0106, ¶0110) using the machine learning algorithm to quantify the changes (¶0099 ¶0108-0109) and generate trend metrics (¶0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor using the machine learning algorithm of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Khandelwal. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as enable passive visual monitoring for foot complication, as suggested by Khandelwal, ¶0118.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1) in view of Petersen et al (US 20150190059 A1), as applied to claims 11, in further view of Kaye et al (WO 2023242754 A1).
Claim 12: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 11, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising applying a reference temperature and offset algorithm to the temperature dataset for normalization,
However, Petersen is relied upon above discloses, further comprising applying a reference temperature and offset algorithm to the temperature dataset for normalization, (¶0013, ¶0073, ¶0060)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
O’Connor fails to disclose: using the computer vision module to identify the location of the temperature sensors in the captured image for accurate temperature mapping.
However, Kaye in the context of body temperature of the feet discloses: using the computer vision module (¶0020, ¶0024) to identify the location of the temperature sensors in the captured image (¶Abstract) for accurate temperature mapping (¶Abstract, ¶0024, ¶0032, ‘The software application significantly increases the accuracy and consistency of measurement obtained using the at least one sensor device and provides an interactive and/or easy platform for the user to view results.’.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify computer vision module of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Kaye. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as significantly increasing the accuracy and consistency of measurement obtained using the at least one sensor device and provides an interactive and/or easy platform for the user to view results, as suggested by Kaye, ¶0032.
Claim 13: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 12, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising storing the modified temperature dataset in a patient database, and using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns and correlations between temperature and visual abnormalities.
However, Petersen is relied upon above discloses, further comprising storing the modified temperature dataset in a patient database, (¶0043, ¶0046, ¶0049, ¶0073, ¶0092) and using the machine learning algorithm to analyze the dataset for patterns (¶0049, ¶0085-0086, ¶0089-0090) and correlations between temperature and visual abnormalities (¶0044, ¶0088, ¶0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified O’Connor to further incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claim 15: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 13, O’Connor discloses, further comprising identifying features from the stored data using image processing techniques and the machine learning algorithm to create a holistic view of the patient's foot health (¶0042, ¶0080, ¶0133-0134-‘determination or approximation of the overall health of a foot,’, ¶0138-0139, ¶0143).
Claim 16: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 15, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance sensitivity and specificity.
However, Petersen is relied upon above discloses, further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance sensitivity and specificity (¶0030, ¶0045, ¶0049, ¶0055, ¶0064, ¶0074-0075, ¶0085, ¶0088, ¶0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer vision and machine learning algorithm of modified O’Connor to further incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claim 17: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 16, O’Connor discloses, further comprising displaying an abnormality warning indicator based on detected abnormalities, (¶0037, ¶0153)
O’Connor fails to disclose: with the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the combination of visual and non-visual data.
However, Petersen is relied upon above discloses, with the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm (¶0083, ¶0085, ¶0089-0090) based on the combination of visual (¶0055, ¶0058, ¶0089-0090) and non-visual data (¶0054, ¶0086, ¶0089-0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning algorithm of modified O’Connor to further incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1) in view of Petersen et al (US 20150190059 A1) in view of Kaye et al (WO 2023242754 A1), as applied to claims 17, in further view of Husheer (US 20180240238 A1).
Claim 19: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 17, O’Connor discloses further comprising performing a premeasurement check (¶0123, ¶0145) and activating illumination sources once stability is confirmed (¶0117, ¶0141, ¶0145, ¶0149-0150)
O’Connor fails to disclose: with the computer vision module monitoring light levels and adjusting settings to ensure optimal image quality.
However, Husheer in the context of volumetric data of predetermined anatomical features of feet discloses, with the computer vision module (¶0047-0050) monitoring light levels (¶0054) and adjusting settings (¶0058) to ensure optimal image quality (¶0054, ¶0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compute vision module of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Husheer. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing reliable information in the assessment of wounds, as suggested by Husheer, ¶0058.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1, in further view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1) in view of Husheer (US 20180240238 A1).
Claim 20: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising activating temperature sensors and the camera sequentially during the inspection process,
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, further comprising activating temperature sensors and the camera sequentially during the inspection process, (¶0032-0034, ¶0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify method of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the use of a combination of sensors (e.g., optical and physical sensors) combined with related processing techniques (e.g., machine-learned classifiers) to help detect skin conditions (e.g., possible complications from diabetes), as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0022.
O’Connor fails to disclose: with the timing controlled by the computer vision module to optimize image quality and minimize artifacts.
However, Husheer in the context of volumetric data of predetermined anatomical features of feet discloses, with the timing controlled (¶0055) by the computer vision module (¶0047-0050) to optimize image quality and minimize artifacts. (0055, ¶0057)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compute vision module of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Husheer. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as providing reliable information in the assessment of wounds, as suggested by Husheer, ¶0058.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1), as applied to claims 1, in further view of Yaroslavsky et al (US 20070219605 A1) in view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1).
Claim 21: O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses:
further comprising recording the weight of the user during inspection, (¶0143, ¶0149-0150)
O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising recording the temperature of the transparent panel during inspection,
However, Yaroslavsky in the context of treatment of tissue discloses, further comprising recording the temperature of the transparent panel during inspection, (¶0078
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transparent panel of O.Connor to incorporate the teachings of Yaroslavsky for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to improve the sensitivity as suggested by Varosklasky, ¶0040.
O’Connor fails to disclose: and using the machine learning algorithm to correlate these factors with detected abnormalities to improve diagnostic accuracy.
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, using the machine learning algorithm to correlate these factors (i.e., weight and recorded temperature) with detected abnormalities to improve diagnostic accuracy (¶0023, ¶0035-0036, ¶0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify machine learning algorithm of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the increasing accuracy of the prediction algorithms, as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0023.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1) in view of Khandelwal et al (US 20240260835 A1), as applied to claims 24, in further view of in further view of Linders et al (US 20130261495 A1).
Claim 25: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 24, O’Connor discloses: wherein the processor generates an alert when the change in an abnormality exceeds a predetermined threshold, (¶0037, ¶0135, ¶0154)
O’Connor fails to disclose: with the threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm based on patient-specific data and historical trends.
However, Linders in the context of indicating emergence of an Ulcer on the foot, discloses, with the threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm based on patient-specific data and historical trends (¶0037, ¶0049-0050, ¶0053 regarding the alert by the processor. ¶0088, ¶0095 regarding the abnormality change exceeding a predetermined threshold. ¶0088, ¶0090, regarding a threshold determined by the machine learning algorithm based on patient-specific data and historical trends.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning algorithm of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Linders for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to achieve a desired balance between sensitivity and specificity, as suggested by Linders, ¶0088.
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1) in view of Petersen et al (US 20150190059 A1), as applied to claims 26, in further view of Lavery et al (US 20020082486 A1) in view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1).
Claim 27: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 26, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising storing image data, weight data, reference temperature data, and time stamps in the database,
However, Lavery in the context of foot temperature and health monitoring discloses, further comprising storing image data, (¶0030, ¶0035, Claim 1) weight data, (¶0013-0014, ¶0041, Claim 27) reference temperature data, (¶0044) and time stamps (¶0049 Claim 27) in the database (¶0049-0050),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Lavery for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to provide an early warning of any significant temperature differences in skin temperatures between common areas of the two feet or between neighboring site as suggested by Lavery, ¶0007.
O’Connor fails to disclose: and using the machine learning algorithm to create a comprehensive patient profile integrating visual, thermal, and biomechanical information.
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, using the machine learning algorithm (¶0022, ¶0035-0036, ¶0045 using imaging analyses and pattern recognition techniques which are operated by the machine learning algorithm that sysnthesis the inputs to create the profile of the foot health) to create a comprehensive patient profile integrating visual (¶0045 – image data), thermal (¶0045 – theographic images), and biomechanical information (¶0045 – weight data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify machine learning algorithm of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the use of a combination of sensors (e.g., optical and physical sensors) combined with related processing techniques (e.g., machine-learned classifiers) to help detect skin conditions (e.g., possible complications from diabetes), as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0022.
Claim 28: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 27, O’Connor discloses: further comprising identifying features (¶0134-0135, ¶0138, ¶0143-0144) from the stored data using image processing techniques (¶0139) and the machine learning algorithm (¶0139, ¶0176) to provide a multifaceted assessment of foot health (¶0133-0134, ¶0153).
Claim 29: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 28, O’Connor fails to disclose: further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities using both computer vision and the machine learning algorithm to enhance diagnostic confidence and accuracy.
However, Petersen is relied upon above discloses, further comprising reviewing the identified features to detect abnormalities (¶0055) using both computer vision (¶0064) and the machine learning algorithm (¶0085) to enhance diagnostic confidence and accuracy (¶0088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the foot using computer vision techniques and machine learning of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Petersen. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to take advantage of the continuous data provided by two thermograms to ascertain various risks to foot health and provide detection in avoiding foot ulcers, as suggested by Petersen, ¶0098.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1) in view of Petersen et al (US 20150190059 A1) in view of Lavery et al (US 20020082486 A1) in view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1), as applied to claims 29, in further view of Mizzi et al (US 20240130689 A1)
Claim 30: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 29, O’Connor discloses: further comprising displaying an abnormality warning indicator based on detected abnormalities, (¶0037, ¶0153)
O’Connor fails to disclose: with the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the comprehensive patient profile.
However, Mizzi in the context of foot monitoring discloses, with the severity of the warning determined by the machine learning algorithm based on the comprehensive patient profile (¶0037, ¶0050-0051, ¶0134).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine learning algorithm of modified O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Mizzi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to significantly improve assessment, prevention and treatment plans for high-risk patients, as suggested by Mizzi, ¶0005.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al (US 20140121479 A1) in view of Husheer (US 20180240238 A1), as applied to claims 34, in further view of Van Snellenberg et al (US 20190021649 A1).
Claim 35: Modified O’Connor discloses all the elements above in claim 1, O’Connor discloses, further comprising a trigger mechanism and stability check to initiate image capture when the target is stationary, (¶0117, ¶0141, ¶0145, ¶0149-0150)
O’Connor fails to disclose: with the computer vision module confirming target stability and proper foot placement within the inspection area.
However, Van Snellenberg in the context of non-invasive detection of skin problems of the user’s feet or foot discloses, with the computer vision module confirming target stability and proper foot placement within the inspection area. (¶0035, ¶0046, ¶0052)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify computer vision module of O’Connor to incorporate the teachings of Van Shellenberg for the advantages of providing an improved system and method for the use of a combination of sensors (e.g., optical and physical sensors) combined with related processing techniques (e.g., machine-learned classifiers) to help detect skin conditions (e.g., possible complications from diabetes), as suggested by Van Shellenberg, ¶0022.
Conclusion
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798