DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al (USPN 7244497) in view of CN101845675.
Regarding claim 1, Hartmann et al teach:
A system for making a microfiber including biomass (Hartmann et al: col 9:25-col 10:24; col 26:34-47; col 28: 7-17; fig 3, specifically core/sheath fibers), the system comprising:
a coaxial spinneret having an inner conduit and an outer conduit (Hartmann et al: col 26:34-47; col 28: 7-17; fig 3, specifically core/sheath fibers);
a coagulation bath opposite the coaxial spinneret, the coagulation bath including one or more solvents (Hartmann et al: col 26:34-47; col 28: 7-17; fig 3, specifically core/sheath fibers);
a source of biomass in communication with the outer conduit (Hartmann et al: col 26:34-47; col 28: 7-17; fig 3, specifically core/sheath fibers); and
a source of a phase-change material (PCM) in communication with the inner conduit (Hartmann et al: the core material is a temperature regulating material such as a phase change material; col 26:34-47; col 28: 7-17; fig 3, specifically core/sheath fibers).
However, Hartmann et al do not teach a grounded bath; and a potentiostat positioned to provide a voltage between the spinneret and the coagulation bath. CN101845675 teaches a wet electrospinning process and system to produce long cellulosic fibers with simple operation, good orientation effect, easy control and low cost, wherein the wet electrospinning includes a grounded bath having an earthing device and a step of applying a voltage that inherent must include a potentiostat (paras. 0003, 0005, 0006, 0008, 0010, 0013, 0015-0024; and fig 1). Since Hartmann et al and CN101845675 are analogous with respect to spinning cellulosic fibers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the grounded coagulation bath and potentiostat of CN101845675 in order to simplify the operation, achieve good orientation effect, obtain easy control and lower costs.
Regarding claim 2, Hartmann et al teach the inner conduit having a first flow diameter and the outer conduit having a second flow diameter, wherein the first/inner member 43 can have a much smaller diameter than the second/outer member (figs 3), but does not teach the claimed ratio. Since the claimed ratio is well-known in the core/sheath fiber art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the claimed conduits of Hartmann et al to have the claimed diameter ratio in order to form diverse fiber having desired characteristics.
Regarding claim 3, such is taught by the above combination of Hartmann et al and CN101845675 since CN101845675 teaches the distance between the spinneret and bath being 8-30cm (CN101845675: para. 0005).
Regarding claim 4, such is taught by Hartmann et al (col 28:20-22).
Regarding claim 5, such is taught by Hartmann et al (col 3:20-32).
Regarding claim 6, such is taught by Hartmann et al (col 13:66-col 14:38).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744