DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee Hye Sung (KR 20100091771 A, hereinafter, “Lee”, newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an illumination system (pedestrian crossing for traffic light, see figures 1-7), comprising:
a housing (housing 10, see fig 2);
a connection assembly (bracket 130, see fig 3) configured to connect the housing (10) to a support structure (post 9, see fig 3);
a lighting element (illumination member 50, front plate 30, auxiliary lighting member 70, reflectors 510 and 710) that includes an optical element (30, 510) and is associated with the housing (10); and
a controller (control unit 90, see fig 7) configured to control operation (as seen in fig 3) of electrically coupled to the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) for selective activation of the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to emit light (as seen in fig 6),
wherein the housing (10) includes a shroud (traffic light shade 330, see fig 2) that at least in part (front part of 10, 330) defines portion defining a cavity (open space 10a and space covered by 330) that surrounds at least a portion of the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710), and
wherein the shroud (330) and the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) includes an optical element (30, 510) configured to in combination direct light emitted from the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to form an illumination pattern (see light beams emitted by pedestrian crossing for traffic light) on selectively illuminate a target area (area of crosswalk 5, see fig 6) of a roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the controller (90) is configured to selectively activate the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) in response to at least one vehicle and a pedestrian (pedestrian, not shown but disclosed in ¶ 1 of “Tech Solution”) in proximity to the illumination system (pedestrian crossing for traffic light).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches wherein the controller (90) is an electronic controller (necessarily occurring to manage and controlling light emission from provided inputs) coupled to the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710), and is configured to control the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to form an illumination pattern (see light beams emitted by pedestrian crossing for traffic light) on the target area (5) of a roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the electronic controller (90) is configured to control the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to form an illumination pattern (see light beams emitted by pedestrian crossing for traffic light) on the target area (5) of a roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6) based on a pre-programmed schedule (as illumination is activated based on external illuminance, that is, it is schedule to be turned on at dusk, see ¶ of page 6).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches wherein the controller (90) is configured to control the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to form an illumination pattern (see light beams emitted by pedestrian crossing for traffic light) on the target area (5) of a roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6) in a continuous pattern (as seen in fig 6, and expected from an HID light source).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches wherein the controller (90) is configured to control the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to illuminate the target area (5) in a blinking pattern.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches wherein the controller (90) is configured to control the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to form an illumination pattern (see light beams emitted by pedestrian crossing for traffic light) on the target area (5) of a roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6) based on ambient conditions (as illumination is activated based on the level of illumination in the day, see ¶ 1, page 6).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches wherein the ambient conditions (external illuminance) include at least one selected from a group consisting of a light level (see ¶ 1-3, page 6 ), a relative humidity, a sound level, and a weather condition.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches further comprising:
one or more sensors (170, 190);
wherein the controller (90) is further configured to control the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to illuminate the target area (5) based on signals received from the one or more sensors (170, 190).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches wherein the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) is configured to emit light of a color matching a color of a traffic sign and/or a pavement marking (as cross walks are painted in white, and light emitted by the device is white, as expected from an HID bulb).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches wherein the support structure (9) is a traffic sign pole (9, better seen in fig 6).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches wherein the target area (5) comprises a pavement marking (5) on the roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches method of illuminating (as seen in fig 6) a pavement marking (5), comprising:
connecting an illumination system (pedestrian crossing for traffic light) to a traffic sign pole (9), the illumination system (pedestrian crossing for traffic light) including a shroud (330) housing (10) a lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710), wherein the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) includes an optical element (30, 510);
positioning the illumination system (pedestrian crossing for traffic light) such that the optical element (30, 510) and shroud (330) are oriented towards a roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6); and
activating the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710),
wherein the shroud (330) and optical element (30, 510) in combination direct light (also seen in fig 3) emitted from the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to form an illumination pattern (see light beams emitted by pedestrian crossing for traffic light) on a target area (5) of the roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Hye Sung (KR 20100091771 A, hereinafter, “Lee”, newly cited by the Examiner) in view of Lai Chih-Ming (US 20100320933 A1, hereinafter, “Lai”, newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claims 4-6, Lee teaches wherein the optical element (30, 510) comprises a refractive element (30); and
wherein the refractive element (30) and shroud (330) in combination direct light emitted from the lighting element (50, 30, 70, 510, 710) to form an illumination pattern (see light beams emitted by pedestrian crossing for traffic light) on the target area (5) without illuminating other portions of the roadway (see roadway, not labeled but seen in fig 6); but
Lee does not explicitly teach the refractive element is a lens; and
wherein the lens has a cone angle (see cone angle, better seen in fig 7); and
wherein the cone angle of the lens is between 30 and 45 degrees.
Lai teaches a refractive element (optic lens 213, see fig 9);
the refractive element (213) is a lens (as seen in fig 9); and
wherein the lens has a cone angle (see cone angle, better seen in fig 7); and
wherein the cone angle (cone angle) of the lens is between 30 and 45 degrees (between -20 degree and 20 degrees, i.e. angle spread of about 40 degrees and thus in the range of 30 to 45 degrees, see fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the refractive element as taught by Lai into the teachings of Lee to order to further enhance light harvesting. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to improve light emission of the device and avoid light losses.
Claims 7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Hye Sung (KR 20100091771 A, hereinafter, “Lee”, newly cited by the Examiner) in view of Vincze et al. (WO 2023217913 A2, hereinafter, “Vincze”, previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 7, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the lighting element comprises one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs).
Vincze teaches an illumination system (lighting system, see figures 1-13b), having a housing (see housing H, annotated in fig 7a below); a connection assembly (see connection assembly CA, annotated in fig 7a below) configured to connect the housing (H) to a support structure (pole, not labeled but clearly seen in fig 1); a lighting element (LED lighting elements, see fig 7a) associated with the housing (H); and a controller (controller 120 see fig 7a and plurality of sensors disclosed in Page 7, lines 11-29) configured to control operation of the lighting element (LEDs), wherein the housing (H) includes a portion defining a cavity (see cavity formed by H, not labeled but seen in fig 7a), and wherein the lighting element (LEDs) includes an optical element (lenses, see fig 7a) configured to direct light from the lighting element (LEDs) to selectively illuminate a target area (area of zebra crossing, see fig 1) of a roadway (traffic surface R, see fig 1);
wherein the lighting element (LEDs) comprises one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (see page 18, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the lighting element as taught by Vincze into the teachings of Lee to provide the device with lighting element that has long life, resistance to vibrations, faster reaction times, and low heat production, over other light sources. One would have been motivated since LEDs are recognized in the illumination art to have many desirable advantages, including reduced size, high efficiency, low power consumption.
Regarding claims 15-16, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to control the lighting element based on signals received from a user input device; and
wherein the user input device comprises a crosswalk request button.
Vincze teaches an illumination system (lighting system, see figures 1-13b), having a housing (see housing H, annotated in fig 7a below); a connection assembly (see connection assembly CA, annotated in fig 7a below) configured to connect the housing (H) to a support structure (pole, not labeled but clearly seen in fig 1); a lighting element (LED lighting elements, see fig 7a) associated with the housing (H); and a controller (controller 120 see fig 7a and plurality of sensors disclosed in Page 7, lines 11-29) configured to control operation of the lighting element (LEDs), wherein the housing (H) includes a portion defining a cavity (see cavity formed by H, not labeled but seen in fig 7a), and wherein the lighting element (LEDs) includes an optical element (lenses, see fig 7a) configured to direct light from the lighting element (LEDs) to selectively illuminate a target area (area of zebra crossing, see fig 1) of a roadway (traffic surface R, see fig 1);
wherein the controller (120) is configured to control the lighting element (LEDs) based on signals received from a user input device (pedestrian pushing push button 200c, see fig 1); and
wherein the user input device (200c) comprises a crosswalk (zebra crossing, see fig 2) request button (see page 8, lines 10-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the user input device as taught by Vincze into the teachings of Lee in order provide the device with an additional input that forces the device to provide illumination despite the ambient illumination level. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to further customize the device for pedestrian usage
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 22-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, although Lee teaches the illumination system, as described in claim 1 above, and wherein the shroud (330) includes a top lip (see top portion of 330), a first portion (see one side portion of 330), and a second portion (see another portion of 330), the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach:
(claim 3) wherein the shroud includes a bottom lip, the first portion is a first indent portion, and the second portion is a second indent portion; and
(claim 21) wherein the top lip and bottom lip each extend a first distance from the lens, and the first indent portion and second indent portion each extend a second distance from the lens, and wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the first indent portion and second indent portion are situated on opposite ends of the shroud and each extend between the top lip and bottom lip; and
(claim 22) wherein the first indent portion and second indent portion are parabolic in shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875