DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
was made.
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffth et al. (US20150335821A1) in view of by Nakamura (JP 2014061155 A).
Regarding claim 1 Griffth discloses a radiopharmaceutical drug delivery system (Fig 1) comprising: (i) a movable cart (cart 9, Fig 1) having an administration system (Fig 32B) for administering a dose of the radiopharmaceutical drug (drug inside radiopharmaceutical vial 902; [0073]; Fig 4C) to a patient ([0234]); (ii) an informatics system with a computer screen configured as a user interface (graphical user interface (GUI) 15, Fig 1; [0071]; [0084]); and (iii) an assembly (200+700+180+902+1554) containing the dose of the radiopharmaceutical drug (drug inside radiopharmaceutical vial 902; [0073]; Fig 4C), the assembly formed separately from the movable cart and installable to the administration system ([0118];[0137]; [0149]: “While the preferred method of operating the vial access system 600 and the vented cannula 208 is provided above, the method and steps can be conducted in any suitable order or arrangement to achieve the desired results.”; the assembly (200+700+180+902+1554) is structurally capable of being partially formed separately from the movable cart 9; sub-assemblies 200+700 and 902+1554 can be connected through cannula 208 and access system 600 and then inserted in the wells and cavities of the cart 9 including the necessary connections for fluid delivery administration to the patient using control system 10), the assembly comprising: 1) a configurable dose transporter (vial shield 1554+ septum cap 1562, Fig 5A-D), wherein the configurable dose transporter comprises: a) a separable radioactive dose transportation and containment module (vial 902; Fig 4C); b) a shielding (vial shield 1554, Fig 5A-D) for use with one or more of different radionuclide types, quantities, and volumes ([0136]); and c) a radioactive dose (drug inside radiopharmaceutical vial 902; [0073]; Fig 4C) in a vessel selected from a syringe or a vial (vial 902, Fig 4C ); and (2) a disposable sealed fluid cartridge (MPDS 200+ SPDS 700+180; fluid path are sealed by means of connectors and/or adapters) connectable with the syringe or the vial (902) via a sealable fitting for installation in the administration system (sealed connection is formed when first end 702 is connected to connector end 228 which couples to vial 902 by means of vented cannula 208 of MPDS 200; [0100];[0107]-[0108]; assembly is installed in the cart 9 wells in connection to catheter [0108]), the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (MPDS 200+ SPDS 700+180) comprising an integrated infusion pump (pumping mechanism 180, Fig 2A).
Griffth is silent wherein all components of the disposable sealed fluid cartridge are disposable.
Nakamura discloses a radiopharmaceutical drug delivery system (radioactive drug administration device 1, Fig 1) comprising: an assembly (A) comprising: (1) a configurable dose transporter (radioactive drug 30+ vial 32+ shielding container 33), wherein the configurable dose transporter (30+32+33) comprises: a) a separable radioactive dose transportation and containment module (vial 32, Fig 1); b) a shielding (shielding material of container 33, Fig 1) for use with one or more of different radionuclide types, quantities, and volumes; and c) a radioactive dose (dose of radiopharmaceutical 30) in a vessel selected from a syringe or a vial (vial 30, Fig 1); and (2) a disposable sealed fluid cartridge (disposable cartridge comprise at least from tubing 34, 38 + three-way stopcock 35+ syringe 36, Fig 1) connectable with the syringe or the vial (32) via a sealable fitting (sealable fitting between vial 32 seal and catalan needle 34a, Fig 1) for installation in the administration system (administration unit 13, Fig 1), the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (34+38, 35, and 36) comprising an integrated infusion pump (syringe 36, Fig 1), wherein all components of the disposable sealed fluid cartridge are disposable ([0049]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the cartridge device of Griffth with similar to be fully disposable as taught by Nakamura for the purpose of reducing contamination and radiation exposure, improving safety ([0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the vessel (902) can be selected from different standard sizes ([0137]).
Regarding claim 3, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the shielding system (1554) is configured to be used with a variety of sizes of the syringe or the vial (902) being inserted or connected therein ([0137]).
Regarding claim 4, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the computer screen is a touch screen (graphical user interface (GUI) 15, Fig 1; [0071]: “The display 15 may be a color display and incorporate touch-screen capability, as known in the art, for ease of use”).
Regarding claim 5, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (200+700+180) is configured to permit withdrawal of custom volumes from the vial or syringe ([0091]) based on one or more of patient weight, sex, age, other physical parameters, and health history data (200+700+180 permits withdrawal of costume volumes from the vial 902, ([0091]) to the patient trough vented cannula 208 and patient end 704; [0210]-[0211] desired activity level can be set based on the weight of the patient).
Regarding claim 6, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the drug delivery system is configured to support a drug specific infusion parameter (activity level [0089]; [0210]- [0211] desired activity level can be set based on the weight of the patient).
Regarding claim 7, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the separable radioactive dose transportation and containment module (902) is shielded ([0117]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 8, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (200+700+180) comprises a port (704) for eliminating errors in connecting a patient line or a saline line ([0082]: "a patient end 704 having a luer connector that is attachable to, for example, a catheter(not shown) placed in a venous structure of a patient"; patient end 704 is a port connecting to a catheter; luer connection between end 704 and catheter is secure and structurally capable of reduce or eliminate human error at the time of connection) to the cartridge.
Regarding claim 9, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the system (Fig 1A) is configured to monitor and track one or more of the total volume in syringes, total volume administered in real-time, total volume from an IV bag, and total volume infused into the patient ([0243]: "the display 1360 indicates the total volume (35.0 ml) of injected fluid").
Regarding claim 10, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the system further comprises a control system (system controller 5, Fig 1D-E) to control the process of infusion of a medical fluid into the patient ([0084]; controller 5 controls system 10 functionalities, including infusion of medical fluid (saline+ radioactive liquid)).
Regarding claim 11, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 10. Griffth discloses wherein the control system (5; [0084]) is configured to halt the infusion process due to system error ([0076]; [0235]: system interruption without user intention; error displayed as alert indicating to discard dose and present button for the purpose).
Regarding claim 12, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the system has a feature to alert a user to occurrence of one or more of fluid occlusion, a pump failure, a deviation from a programmed volume, and an unexpected sequence of events in real-time ([0076]; [0220]; alert is generated as screen notification display Fig 27B (visual alarm) as result of activation of pause button 1212d in real time; the alert is expected from the sequence of events).
Regarding claim 14, Griffth discloses a radiopharmaceutical drug delivery system (Fig 1) comprising: (i) a movable cart (cart 9, Fig 1A) having an administration system (Fig 32B) for administering a dose of a radiopharmaceutical drug (drug inside radiopharmaceutical vial 902; [0073]; Fig 4C) to a patient ([0234]); (ii) an informatics system with a computer screen as a graphical user interface (GUI) (graphical user interface (GUI) 15, Fig 1; [0071]; [0084]); (iii) a status light system that illuminates a working area (touchscreen surface area of graphical user interface 15, Fig 1A) for monitoring a status of an infusion component ([0179]: "provide status information on the system 10" (... ) "activity present 1012, fluid motion/injection status 1014, check for air/priming status 1016, and system battery status 1018"); and (iv) an assembly (200+700+22+180+902+1554) containing the dose of the radiopharmaceutical drug (drug inside radiopharmaceutical vial 902, Fig 4), the assembly (200+700+22+180+902+1554) formed separately from the movable cart (9) and installable to the administration system (administration system of cart 9) ([0118][0137]; [0149]: “While the preferred method of operating the vial access system 600 and the vented cannula 208 is provided above, the method and steps can be conducted in any suitable order or arrangement to achieve the desired results.”; therefore the assembly (200+700+180+902+1554) is structurally capable of being partially formed separately from the movable cart 9; sub-assemblies 200+700+180 and 902+1554 can be connected through cannula 208 and access system 600 and then inserted in the wells and cavities of the cart 9 including the necessary connections for fluid delivery administration to the patient using control system 10), the assembly comprising: 1) a configurable dose transporter (vial shield 1554+ septum cap 1562, Fig 5A-D), wherein the configurable dose transporter comprises: a) a separable radioactive dose transportation and containment module (vial 902; Fig 4C); b) a shielding (vial shield 1554, Fig 5A-D) for use with one or more of different radionuclide types, quantities, and volumes ([0136]); and c) a radioactive dose (drug inside radiopharmaceutical vial 902; [0073]; Fig 4C) within a vessel selected from a syringe or a vial (vial 902, Fig 4C); and 2) a disposable sealed fluid cartridge (MPDS 200, SPDS 700 and pump 180, Fig 2A) connectable with the syringe or the vial (902) via a sealable fitting for installation in the administration system (sealed connection is formed when first end 702 is connected to connector end 228 which couples to vial 902 by means of vented cannula 208 of MPDS 200; [0100];[0107]-[0108]; assembly is installed in the cart 9 wells in fluid connection with catheter for delivery under control of controller 5 [0108]), the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (200+700+180) comprising an integrated infusion pump (pump 180, Fig 2A), wherein the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (200+700+180) is configured for withdrawing customizable volumes from the vessel (cartridge comprised of 200+700+180 permits withdrawal of costume volumes from the vial 902; [0091] to the patient trough patient end 704 ([0082],Fig 1C); [0210]-[0211] desired activity level can be set based on the weight of the patient),
Griffth is silent wherein all components of the disposable sealed fluid cartridge are disposable.
Nakamura discloses a radiopharmaceutical drug delivery system (radioactive drug administration device 1, Fig 1) comprising: an assembly (A) comprising: (1) a configurable dose transporter (radioactive drug 30+ vial 32+ shielding container 33), wherein the configurable dose transporter (30+32+33) comprises: a) a separable radioactive dose transportation and containment module (vial 32, Fig 1); b) a shielding (shielding material of container 33, Fig 1) for use with one or more of different radionuclide types, quantities, and volumes; and c) a radioactive dose (dose of radiopharmaceutical 30) in a vessel selected from a syringe or a vial (vial 30, Fig 1); and (2) a disposable sealed fluid cartridge (disposable cartridge comprise at least from tubing 34, 38 + three-way stopcock 35+ syringe 36, Fig 1) connectable with the syringe or the vial (32) via a sealable fitting (sealable fitting between vial 32 seal and catalan needle 34a, Fig 1) for installation in the administration system (administration unit 13, Fig 1), the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (34+38, 35, and 36) comprising an integrated infusion pump (syringe 36, Fig 1), wherein all components of the disposable sealed fluid cartridge are disposable ([0049]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the cartridge device of Griffth with similar to be fully disposable as taught by Nakamura for the purpose of reducing contamination and radiation exposure, improving safety ([0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 14. Griffth discloses wherein the status light system ([0179]: light status generated by display see Fig 7) is controlled by a control system (controller 5, [0084]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffth et al. ( US 20150335821 A1) in view of by Nakamura (JP 2014061155 A) in further view of Juretich et al. (US 20150202384 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 1. Griffth discloses wherein the infusion pump (22+180) is configured to protect the patient from an air infusion ([0158]: “air is purged from the fluid path by pumping an amount of the pharmaceutical and/or a diluent, such as saline, through the fluid path to the end of a tubing set (e.g., MPDS 200 or SPDS 700) before connecting the tubing set to a catheter in the patient. Such an air purging or “priming” procedure is standard practice to prevent the occurrence of an air embolism in a patient, which can cause serious injury or death.”); System (10) comprises an air detector (176); However Griffth embodiment of Fig 1 is silent regarding a pump comprising an alarm signal for air detection in real-time.
Juretich teaches an alarm signal for air detection in real-time ([0004]; cassette is loaded into a pump and contains air-in-line sensor used to trigger alarm in real time)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Griffth/Nakamura with similar air-in-line sensor coupled to pump as taught by Juretich to trigger safety alarms ([0004]).
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffth et al. ( US 20150335821 A1) in view of by Nakamura (JP 2014061155 A) in further view of Barron et al. (US 20090149743 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Griffth/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 14. Griffth discloses wherein the status light system ([0179]: light status generated by display see Fig 7) indicates the different state (state indicated by highlighted symbols; [0170][0179]). However, Griffth is silent wherein the system indicates of different states of the device with various colors.
Barron teaches a delivery system (Fig 1) comprising a graphical user interface (GUI) and status light system indicating the different state of the device with various colors ([0233]: “the graphical icons can also be displayed in different colors to indicate the status, or state, or the device”)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify GUI of the device of Griffth/Nakamura with similar color indication associated with symbols as taught by Barron for the purpose of helping the user to recognize status of device helping speed the workflow and prevent mistakes ([0233])
Claim 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffth et al. ( US 20150335821 A1) in view of Burbank et al. (US 20140018727 A1) in further view of by Nakamura (JP 2014061155 A).
Regarding claim 17, Griffth discloses a radiopharmaceutical drug delivery system comprising: a configurable dose transporter (carrying system 500, Fig 4A + vial shield 544 Fig 4A+ vial 902; [0119]), a separable radioactive dose transportation and containment module (vial 902, Fig 4A); a shielding (vial shield 544 Fig 4A; [0119]); a disposable sealed fluid cartridge (MPDS 200+ SPDS 700+ pump 180, Fig 2A); and a syringe or a vial (vial 902; [0073]); wherein the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (200+700+180) comprises:(i) one or more selectable integrated flow channels (tubing section 204, 210, 216, 220, 226, 230 and tubing section of 700, Fig 1C and 2A);(ii) an adapter (connector end 228, Fig 2A) to access the syringe or the vial (902) ([0107]);(iii) a patient port (patient end 704, Fig 1C) and a saline port (spike 202, Fig 2A); and (v) an integrated precision pump (pump 180 is structurally and functionally connected; [0091]) configured to control a flow of a radioactive drug (drug inside radiopharmaceutical vial 902; [0073]; Fig 4C) from the syringe or the vial (902); wherein the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (200+700+180) is configured for withdrawing a customizable volume from the syringe or the vial (200+700+180 permits withdrawal of costume volumes from the vial 902 to the patient trough 704 ([0082],Fig 1C); [0210]-[0211] desired activity level can be set based on the weight of the patient).
Griffth is silent regarding the disposable sealed fluid cartridge comprises and (iv) one or more pressure sensors; and wherein all components of the disposable sealed fluid cartridge are disposable.
Burbank teaches a disposable sealed fluid cartridge (sealed disposable fluid circuit,[0179]) comprises and (iv) one or more pressure sensors (pressure transducer; [0179]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the disposable sealed fluid cartridge device of Griffth with similar pressure sensor at the distal end as taught by Burbank for the purpose of detecting pressure of fluid medication being delivered to the patient ([0179]).
Griffth/Burbank are silent wherein all components of the disposable sealed fluid cartridge are disposable.
Nakamura discloses a radiopharmaceutical drug delivery system (radioactive drug administration device 1, Fig 1) comprising: an assembly (A) comprising: (1) a configurable dose transporter (radioactive drug 30+ vial 32+ shielding container 33), wherein the configurable dose transporter (30+32+33) comprises: a) a separable radioactive dose transportation and containment module (vial 32, Fig 1); b) a shielding (shielding material of container 33, Fig 1) for use with one or more of different radionuclide types, quantities, and volumes; and c) a radioactive dose (dose of radiopharmaceutical 30) in a vessel selected from a syringe or a vial (vial 30, Fig 1); and (2) a disposable sealed fluid cartridge (disposable cartridge comprise at least from tubing 34, 38 + three-way stopcock 35+ syringe 36, Fig 1) connectable with the syringe or the vial (32) via a sealable fitting (sealable fitting between vial 32 seal and catalan needle 34a, Fig 1) for installation in the administration system (administration unit 13, Fig 1), the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (34+38, 35, and 36) comprising an integrated infusion pump (syringe 36, Fig 1), wherein all components of the disposable sealed fluid cartridge are disposable ([0049]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the cartridge device of Griffth with to be fully disposable as taught by Nakamura for the purpose of reducing contamination and radiation exposure, improving safety ([0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Griffth/Burbank/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 17. Griffth discloses wherein the disposable sealed fluid cartridge (200+700+180) is configured for withdrawing a customizable volume based on one or more of patient weight, sex, age, health history data, and other physical parameter (200+700+180 permits withdrawal of costume volumes from the vial 902 to the patient through 704 ([0082],Fig 1C); [0210]-[0211] desired activity level can be set based on the weight of the patient; [0210]: “(…)the system 10 can include more than pre-set or predefined weight-based formulas. For example, the system 10 can also include formulas based on other patient parameters, such as glucose-level or cardiac output, or scanner parameters, such as acquisition time or crystal type.”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffth et al. ( US 20150335821 A1) in view of Burbank et al. (US 20140018727 A1) in further view of by Nakamura (JP 2014061155 A) in further view of Kaintz et al. (US 20130331634 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Griffth/Burbank/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 17. Griffth/Burbank/Nakamura are silent regarding wherein the adapter is tagged with one or more of an RFID, barcode, or QR code.
Kaintz teaches a delivery system (Fig 1) comprising an adapter (SPDS connector 317a, Fig 2B) is tagged with one or more of an RFID, barcode, or QR code ([0097]: “the SPDS connector 317a can be encoded through RFID”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the adapter of device of Griffth/Burbank/Nakamura with similar RFID encoding as taught by Kaintz for the purpose of to ensure that the correct SPDS is connected ([0097])
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffth et al. ( US 20150335821 A1) in view of Burbank et al. (US 20140018727 A1) in further view of by Nakamura (JP 2014061155 A) in further view of Cork et al.( US 20020128585 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Griffth/Burbank/Nakamura discloses the delivery system according to claim 17. Griffth is silent wherein the disposable sealed fluid cartridge comprises preconnected ports to eliminate errors in selection of the patient and the saline lines.
Cork teaches a delivery system (Fig 3) comprising disposable sealed fluid cartridge (disposable fluid circuit 104, Fig 5; ([0075])) comprises preconnected ports to eliminate errors in selection of the patient and the saline lines ([0079]: “the fluid circuit 104 pre-connects the processing chamber 106, the containers 110, the fluid control cassettes 112 and the MEMS carrier/cassette 96. The assembly thereby preferably forms an integral pre-assembled sterile unit”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the disposable sealed fluid cartridge of device of Griffth/Burbank/Nakamura with similar pre-connections of its ports forming an integral unit as taught by Cork for the purpose of reducing human error at the time of connections and reducing assembly time by having a preassembled unit ([0079])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/GUILLERMO G PAZ ESTEVEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783