DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of August 4, 2026. Claims 1-4 are presented for examination, with Claim 1 being the only one in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0001846 (“Hori”) in view of EP 2 792 585 A1 (“Kosugi”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hori discloses a headlight device (1 in Fig. 1; [0024]) to be employed in a leaning vehicle that has a vehicle body leaning leftward when turning left and leaning rightward when turning right (100; [0023]), the headlight device comprising:
a headlight including a plurality of light sources, which is configured to respectively light a plurality of areas (1 in Fig. 1; [0024]; irradiates a plurality of areas shown in Figs. 5-6; [0036]) that include:
a single left oblique area that are located in an ahead-driving direction, and on the left, with respect to the headlight of the leaning vehicle (PCL1-3; [0041]), the left oblique area having a maximum luminous intensity point thereof above a horizontal reference line (H-H, L-L),
a single right oblique area that are located in the ahead-driving direction, and on the right, with respect to the headlight of the leaning vehicle (PCR1-3; [0041]), the right oblique area each having a maximum luminous intensity point thereof above the horizontal reference line (H-H, L-L), and
one or more lower areas that are located in the ahead-driving direction with respect to the headlight of the leaning vehicle (PL; [0038]), the one or more lower areas each having a maximum luminous intensity point thereof below the horizontal reference line (H-H, L-L); and
a control device (5 in Fig. 2; [0025]) that controls the headlight to light at least the left oblique area and the right oblique area based on adaptive lighting control ([0028]; Adaptive Driving Beam (ADB) mode; [0034]), such that when an oncoming vehicle or a vehicle ahead is in one of the areas lit by the headlight, the light for the one area is reduced or turned off (as shown in Figs. 5-6; [0052]; [0057]), wherein:
when the leaning vehicle is upright (Fig. 5), the control device instructs the headlight to light the left oblique areas (PCL1-3), the right oblique area (PCR1-3), and at least one of the one or more lower areas (PL), each of the left oblique area and the right oblique area being lit based on the adaptive lighting control ([0028]; Adaptive Driving Beam (ADB) mode; [0034]) and spreading more outwardly in a left-right direction than any of said at least one lower area ([0044]; [0048]; [0052]), and
wherein when the leaning vehicle is upright (Fig. 5), the horizontal reference line (H-H, L-L) extends in the left-right direction through an upper edge of a low-beam area (PL), the low-beam area being one of the one or more lower areas that is at a center with respect to the left-right direction ([0038]).
Hori fails to specifically disclose that “an uppermost point of the left oblique area is positioned further leftward than a leftmost point of each of the one or more lower areas, and an uppermost point of the right oblique area is positioned further rightward than a rightmost point of each of the one or more lower areas.”
However, Kosugi, in the same field of endeavor teaches an uppermost point of the left oblique area is positioned further leftward than a leftmost point of each of the one or more lower areas, and an uppermost point of the right oblique area is positioned further rightward than a rightmost point of each of the one or more lower areas (Figs. 5-8; [0107]-[0109]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the headlight device as disclosed by Hori with the oblique areas as taught by Kosugi, in order to ensure visibility over a road surface at a long distance, as evidenced by Kosugi ([0114]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hori in view of Kosugi further teaches wherein: each of the leftmost point of the left oblique area (PCL1-3 of Hori) and the rightmost point of the right oblique area (PCR1-3 of Hori) is positioned above the horizontal reference line (H-H, L-L of Hori).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hori in view of Kosugi further teaches wherein: the left oblique area has a lower edge, a left end of which extends upwardly while extending leftward (PCL1-3 in Figs. 5-6; [0041] of Hori), and the right oblique area has a lower edge, a right end of which extends upwardly while extending rightward (PCR1-3 in Figs. 5-6; [0041] of Hori).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hori in view of Kosugi further teaches a leaning vehicle comprising the headlight device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1; [0024] of Hori).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed August 4, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Initially, the examiner is interpreting the claim limitation “a single left oblique area” as corresponding to 60 in Fig. 1B of their application, the claim limitation “a single right oblique area” as corresponding to 70, both oblique areas being “above the horizontal line” as corresponding to HL, and the claim limitation “one or more lower areas” as corresponding to 80 in Fig. 1B of their application.
Hori, in Fig. 5, as applied and cited for these features, discloses “a single left oblique area” (PC formed by PCL1-3), “a single right oblique area” (PC formed of PCR1-3), and “one or more lower areas” (PL), meeting the above claim limitations.
In contrast to Applicants’ argument that Hori and Kosugi, alone or in combination fail to disclose, teach or suggest “an uppermost point of the left oblique area is positioned further leftward than a leftmost point of each of the one or more lower areas, and an uppermost point of the right oblique area is positioned further rightward than a rightmost point of each of the one or more lower areas,” the examiner cannot concur with Applicants’ argument, because most of the left and right oblique areas (PC) of Hori are positioned further leftward and rightward, respectively, than the respective lower areas (PL).
The examiner notes that it is not specifically clear in Fig. 5 of Hori whether the “uppermost points” of the left and right oblique areas are further leftward and rightward, respectively, from the lower areas; however, the examiner cites Kosugi for these features (see, Figs. 5-8, LL, LR, and LB, in particular when the leaning vehicle is upright), thereby meeting all the presently claimed limitations.
For at least the reasons stated above, the rejections of all pending claims are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845