DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, lines 1-2, the limitation “wherein an initial volume of the diluted lubricant is larger at a start of the introducing step” is vague and indefinite. Where has this feature been described in the specification? Does this limitation mean that when fluid leaves a volume, there is less fluid in that volume, so basically just a statement of conservation of mass? What structure is being claimed?
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Comparing claim 1 of 12,366,325, with claim 1 of the current application, the claims are identical with the exception that in the current limitation has been deleted: “calculating a ratio of polarized lubricant to water based on a daily production volume of the fluid production pump”. It would have been obvious to omit this limitation, therefore the claims are not patentably distinct.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325.
Claim 3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325.
Claim 4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325.
Claim 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325.
Claim 10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325.
Claim 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,325.
Claim 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,873,946. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Comparing claim 11 of 11,873,946, with claim 13 of the current application, the claims are identical with the exception that in the current limitation has been deleted: “the method further comprising the step of calculating a ratio of polarized lubricant to water based on a daily production volume of the fluid production pump”. It would have been obvious to omit this limitation, therefore the claims are not patentably distinct.
Claim 14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,873,946.
Claim 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,873,946.
Claim 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,873,946.
Claim 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,873,946.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellos, US Patent 3,661,784.
Regarding claim 1, Bellos discloses a method of lubricating a fluid production pump (see column 4, line 57-column 5, line 42), the method comprising the steps of: mixing a polarized lubricant with water to produce a diluted lubricant (see col 4, line 60); creating a flowpath within the fluid production pump (see col 5, line 4-5); and repeatedly introducing a periodic volume of diluted lubricant within the flowpath (see col 5, line 32) to allow the diluted lubricant to react with components of the fluid production pump and form a protective barrier on the components of the fluid production pump according to a predefined lubrication schedule (see col 5, line 35-38). Bellos does not specify that the mixing step includes producing a diluted lubricant having a ratio of water to polarized lubricant in a range of 1:1-13:1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to employ a lubricant in the specified concentration range since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated employ a lubricant in the specified concentration range in order to improve the system corrosion resistance and efficiency for a specific environment and workload schedule.
Regarding claim 2, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 1, wherein the creating step (as described above) includes creating a closed loop flowpath (“closed system” from col 5, line 25) within the fluid production pump (as described above).
Regarding claim 3, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 2, further comprising the steps of: undoing the closed loop flowpath from the fluid production pump after the circulating step (see col 5, line 35-37); and creating a serial flowpath (see col 5, line 22) through the fluid production pump before the operating step (as described above).
Regarding claim 4, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of disposing the initial volume of the diluted lubricant within the flowpath (see col 5, line 31-35).
Regarding claim 5, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 4, wherein the mixing step (see col 4, line 60) is performed before the disposing step (as described above).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 1, wherein the initial volume of the diluted lubricant is larger at the start of the introducing step (due to conservation of mass).
Regarding claim 12, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of filling a scratch (covering all surfaces) formed in the protective barrier (coating) with the periodic volume of polarized lubricant (see col 5, line 37).
Regarding claim 13, Bellos discloses a method of reducing friction in a fluid production pump, the method comprising: circulating a diluted lubricant through the fluid production pump (see col 5, line 32) to allow the diluted lubricant to be attracted to the fluid production pump via a positive ion charge of the diluted lubricant (see column 4, line 57-column 5, line 42). Bellos does not specify that the mixing step includes producing a diluted lubricant having a ratio of water to polarized lubricant in a range of 1:1-13:1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to employ a lubricant in the specified concentration range since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated employ a lubricant in the specified concentration range in order to improve the system corrosion resistance and efficiency for a specific environment and workload schedule.
Regarding claim 14, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 13, further comprising the step of repeatedly introducing additional diluted lubricant through the fluid production pump according to a predefined lubrication schedule (see col 5, line 35-38).
Regarding claim 15, Bellos discloses the method recited in claim 13, wherein the circulating step (as described above) includes circulating the diluted lubricant through a closed loop flowpath (see col 5, line 25) formed within the fluid production pump.
Claims 9-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellos in view of Kayser et al., US PGPub 2012/0088698.
Bellow discloses the method recited in claims 1 and 13 but does not specify that the polarized lubricant in the mixing step includes a plant based fluid or an emulsifier. Kayser teaches lubricant compound for coating industrial equipment (see [0003]) wherein the compound includes a plant based fluid (see [0099]-[0100]) (claims 9 and 18) or an emulsifier (see [0027]) (claims 10 and 19). It would have been obvious to provide the compound described by Kayer to the system disclosed by Bellos in order to improve the system corrosion resistance and efficiency for a specific environment and workload schedule.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654