DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tetsuo (JPH05219662).
Regarding claim 1, Tetsuo discloses a method (Figs.2 and 3; please refer to the whole reference for detailed) for adjusting a phase of a ground power unit (8 in Fig. 2 (or) 30 in Fig.3, please consider both embodiments shown in Figs.2 and 3), the method comprising: receiving a reference signal (signal from 12 or 15 in Figs.2 and 3); triggering the ground power unit (8 or 30) to output an output signal (please refer to process 61 in Fig.1; ¶ 8, which states “…forces the ground power supply and the onboard power supply to operate in parallel”); comparing (using 13 (or) 16, respectively) the output signal (output signal from 8 (or) 30) to the reference signal (signal from 12 or 15 in Figs.2 and 3, respectively) to measure a phase shift (please refer to at least ¶ 8 and 11); disabling (using timer 18) the ground power unit from outputting the output signal for a period (please refer to at least ¶ 11, which states “the timer 18 commands the operation control circuit 22 to interrupt the output, so the ground power supply 8 interrupts its AC output during the operation period of the timer 18”); and restarting the ground power unit (8 or 30) after the period to adjust the phase shift of the output signal relative to the reference signal (please refer to at least ¶ 11-13, which states “When the set time of the timer 18 has elapsed, the contact 19 turns off, and the ground power supply 8restarts its AC output in response to a control signal from the operation control circuit 22. At this time, the output voltage phase of the ground power supply 8 matches the output voltage phase of the internal power supply 2”).
Regarding claim 11, Tetsuo discloses a system (Figs.2 and 3; please refer to the whole reference for detailed), comprising: a ground power unit (8 in Fig. 2 (or) 30 in Fig.3, please consider both embodiments shown in Figs.2 and 3); and a processing module (at least 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21 and 22 in Fig.2 (or) 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 41, 42 and 43 in Fig.3) coupled to the ground power unit (8 or 30, respectively), the processing module configured to: receive a reference signal (signal from 12 or 15 in Figs.2 and 3); trigger the ground power unit (8 or 30) to output an output signal (please refer to process 61 in Fig.1; ¶ 8, which states “…forces the ground power supply and the onboard power supply to operate in parallel”); compare (using 11 and 13 (or) 14 and 16, respectively) the output signal (output signal from 8 (or) 30) to the reference signal (signal from 12 or 15 in Figs.2 and 3, respectively) to measure a phase shift (please refer to at least ¶ 8 and 11); disable (using timer 18) the ground power unit from outputting the output signal for a period (please refer to at least ¶ 11, which states “the timer 18 commands the operation control circuit 22 to interrupt the output, so the ground power supply 8 interrupts its AC output during the operation period of the timer 18”); and restart the ground power unit (8 or 30) after the period to adjust the phase shift of the output signal relative to the reference signal (please refer to at least ¶ 11-13, which states “When the set time of the timer 18 has elapsed, the contact 19 turns off, and the ground power supply restarts its AC output in response to a control signal from the operation control circuit 22. At this time, the output voltage phase of the ground power supply 8 matches the output voltage phase of the internal power supply 2”).
4. Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahl et al. (2021/0376651) (hereinafter “Dahl”).
Regarding claim 1, Dahl discloses a method (for example - Figs.3A , 4-6A and 7; please refer to the whole reference for detailed) for adjusting a phase of a ground power unit (1’ in Figs. 3A , 4-6A and 7; please refer to at least ¶ 26), the method comprising: receiving a reference signal (output signal from 50 of battery GPU 1); triggering the ground power unit (1’) to output an output signal (output signal from 1’); comparing the output signal to the reference signal to measure a phase shift (please refer to at least ¶ 174-179, which states “…closing the input coupling switch 200, if the difference between the detected phase angle and a phase angle of the alternating output current of the inverter 50 of the battery GPU 1 is smaller or equal to a predetermined threshold…”); disabling the ground power unit from outputting the output signal for a period (a period when the switch 200 in Fig.3A (or 200’ in Figs.4-6A and 7) is opened (otherwise disabling 1’ from output the output signal) during synchronizing period, which is before closing the switch 200 as stated in at least ¶ 174-179); and restarting (by turning on the switch 200 in Fig.3A (or 200’ in Figs.4-6A and 7)) the ground power unit after the period to adjust the phase shift of the output signal relative to the reference signal (output signal from 50 of battery GPU 1).
Regarding claim 3, Dahl discloses the ground power unit (1’ in Fig.3A, 4-6A and 7) is a first ground power unit, the output signal is a first output signal, and the reference signal (output signal from 50 of battery GPU 1) is a second output signal from a second ground power unit (1).
Regarding claim 4, Dahl discloses connecting the output signal and the reference signal to an electrical bus (electrical bus connected to 191) of an aircraft so that the electrical bus transmits a combined signal.
Regarding claim 11, Dahl discloses a system (for example - Figs.3A , 4-6A and 7; please refer to the whole reference for detailed), comprising: a ground power unit (1’ in Figs. 3A , 4-6A and 7; please refer to at least ¶ 26); and a processing module (processing module (10 and 11) of 1 and 1’) coupled to the ground power unit, the processing module configured to: receive a reference signal (output signal from 50 of battery GPU 1); trigger the ground power unit (1’) to output an output signal (output signal from 1’); compare the output signal to the reference signal to measure a phase shift (please refer to at least ¶ 174-179, which states “…closing the input coupling switch 200, if the difference between the detected phase angle and a phase angle of the alternating output current of the inverter 50 of the battery GPU 1 is smaller or equal to a predetermined threshold…”); disable the ground power unit from outputting the output signal for a period (a period when the switch 200 in Fig.3A (or 200’ in Figs.4-6A and 7) is opened (otherwise disabling 1’ from output the output signal) during synchronizing period, which is before closing the switch 200 as stated in at least ¶ 174-179); and restart (by turning on the switch 200 in Fig.3A (or 200’ in Figs.4-6A and 7)) the ground power unit after the period to adjust the phase shift of the output signal relative to the reference signal (output signal from 50 of battery GPU 1).
Regarding claim 13, Dahl discloses the ground power unit (1’ in Fig.3A, 4-6A and 7) is a first ground power unit, the output signal is a first output signal, and the reference signal (output signal from 50 of battery GPU 1) is a second output signal from a second ground power unit (1).
Regarding claim 14, Dahl discloses connecting the output signal and the reference signal to an electrical bus (electrical bus connected to 191) of an aircraft so that the electrical bus transmits a combined signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahl et al. (2021/0376651) (hereinafter “Dahl”) in view of Elliott et al. (5,355,024) (“Elliott”) and Cote et al. (2010/0133813) (“Cote”).
Regarding claim 5, Dahl is used to reject claims 1 and 4 above.
Dahl discloses the electrical bus (electrical bus connected to 191) is coupled to the aircraft as explained in claim 4 above.
Dahl doesn’t explicitly disclose the electrical bus is coupled to a starter-generator of the aircraft.
Elliott discloses a ground power unit (10 in Fig.2) connected to an electrical bus which is coupled to aircraft power (155) of an aircraft (150).
Cote discloses a starter-generator (132 in Fig.2) is used to power an aircraft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dahl with the teaching of Elliott to provide a ground power unit connected to an electrical bus of an aircraft and with the teaching of Cote to recognize that a starter-generator is used to power an electrical device of an aircraft. The suggestion/motivation would have been to recognize that the starter-generator is used to provide power on the aircraft.
Regarding claim 15, Dahl is used to reject claims 11 and 14 above.
Dahl discloses the electrical bus (electrical bus connected to 191) is coupled to the aircraft as explained in claim 14 above.
Dahl doesn’t explicitly disclose the electrical bus is coupled to a starter-generator of the aircraft.
Elliott discloses a ground power unit (10 in Fig.2) connected to an electrical bus which is coupled to aircraft power (155) of an aircraft (150).
Cote discloses a starter-generator (132 in Fig.2) is used to power an aircraft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dahl with the teaching of Elliott to provide a ground power unit connected to an electrical bus of an aircraft and with the teaching of Cote to recognize that a starter-generator is used to power an electrical device of an aircraft. The suggestion/motivation would have been to recognize that the starter-generator is used to provide power on the aircraft.
8. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahl et al. (2021/0376651) (hereinafter “Dahl”) in view of Brombach et al. (2014/0132062) (“Brombach”)
Regarding claim 9, Dahl is used to reject claim 1 above.
Dahl discloses the output signal and the reference signal; and comparing the output signal to the reference signal including measuring the phase shift as explained in claim above.
Dahl doesn’t explicitly disclose the output signal includes three phases and the reference signal includes the three phases; and comparing the output signal to the reference signal includes measuring the phase shift of one of the three phases.
Brombach discloses an example of using three phases power supply (¶ 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dahl with the teaching of Brombach to recognize using three phases power supply for the output signal and the reference signal.
Regarding claim 19, Dahl is used to reject claim 11 above.
Dahl discloses the output signal and the reference signal; and comparing the output signal to the reference signal including measuring the phase shift as explained in claim above.
Dahl doesn’t explicitly disclose the output signal includes three phases and the reference signal includes the three phases; and comparing the output signal to the reference signal includes measuring the phase shift of one of the three phases.
Brombach discloses an example of using three phases power supply (¶ 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dahl with the teaching of Brombach to recognize using three phases power supply for the output signal and the reference signal as supported by Brombach.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2, 6-8, 10, 12, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Richard Tan/Primary Examiner 2836