DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 – 5 and 10 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 should be amended to i) “set a first weight for the remapping count of the plurality of super blocks and a second weight for the erase count of the plurality of super blocks”, and ii) “determine the grades of the plurality of super blocks, based on a sum of values obtained by multiplying the remapping count of the plurality of super blocks by the first weight and multiplying the erase count of the plurality of super blocks by the second weight”. This is so that it is clear which remapping count/erase count (the one corresponding to plurality of super blocks or the one corresponding to memory blocks) is being referred to.
Claim 10 should be amended to “allocate, based on the grades of the plurality of super blocks and the priority information, the plurality of super blocks to a plurality of name spaces allocated to the plurality of tenantssee spec Fig. 10 and corresponding paragraphs).
Claim 12 should be amended to “determining grades of a plurality of super blocks, based on i) a remapping count in which one of memory blocks, included , is [[is]] mapped to another memory block and ii) an erase count of an erase operation with respect to the plurality of memory blocks”. This is so that it is clear i) what (one of memory blocks or each plurality of super blocks or plurality of memory blocks) is mapped to another memory block, and ii) what (grades or one or memory blocks) corresponds to erase count.
Claim 12 should be amended to “allocating the plurality of super blocks to the plurality of name spaces based on ranks of the plurality of super blocks and priority information about the plurality of tenants, wherein the ranks are based on the grades”. This is so that ranks is based on grades of super blocks (and not based on temperature of super blocks or based on size of super blocks) (see spec ¶[192-193]). There is also no disclosure of ranks determined based on temperature/size of super blocks.
Claim 15 should be amended to “reading the remapping count of the plurality of super blocks and the erase count of the plurality of super blocks”. This is a typo.
Claim 17 should be amended to “performing garbage collection, wear leveling, or read reclaim on the plurality of memory; determining the ranks of the plurality of super blocks, based on the remapping count and the erase count, [[when]] in response to performing the garbage collection, the wear leveling, or the read reclaim see MPEP 2111.04(II)). It is noted that use of “in response to” (or based on) alone is not enough to avoid contingent limitation because these terms merely recite actions to be performed as a result of a condition but does not recite said condition occurring.
Claim 18 should be amended to “allocating a plurality of super blocks to the plurality of name spaces such that a number of super blocks of [[the]] a same grade in each of the plurality of name spaces is substantially the same for each of the plurality of name spaces”. This is to correct lack of antecedence basis.
Claim 19 should be amended to “allocating the plurality of super blocks to the plurality of name spaces such that a number of super blocks of [[the]] a same grade in each of the plurality of name spaces is different for each of the plurality of name spaces”. This is to correct lack of antecedence basis.
Claim 20 should be amended to “determining a priority of the first tenant among the plurality of tenants is higher than that of other tenants; allocating a plurality of super blocks to the plurality of name spaces such that a number of low-grade super blocks assigned to a first name space assigned to a first tenant among the plurality of name spaces is greater than [[the]] a number of super blocks assigned to remaining name spaces among the plurality of name spaces, [[when]] in response to [[a]] the priority of the first tenant among the plurality of tenants is higher than that of other tenants”. This is to correct lack of antecedence basis. In addition, this amendment is to avoid reciting the limitation in a contingent manner (see MPEP 2111.04(II)). It is noted that use of “in response to” (or based on) alone is not enough to avoid contingent limitation because these terms merely recite actions to be performed as a result of a condition but does not recite said condition occurring.
Claims, dependent upon above identified claims, are also objected on the same grounds as said above identified claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno (US 20230236730) in view of Song (US 20250004938).
Regarding claim 10, Kanno teaches
A storage system (storage system = Fig. 1 storage system) comprising:
a host device (host device = Fig. 1 host 2) configured to manage a plurality of tenants and provide priority information about the plurality of tenants, and (Examiner is interpreting priority information to refer to QOS (see spec ¶[183]).) (Kanno teaches plural user application 402 (plurality of tenants), each allocated with corresponding QOS domain that is accessed using QOS domain ID (priority information) that is provided (provide) with read/write command from (about) said plural user application 402 (see Fig. 2, Fig. 17, ¶[203-205], [276]).)
a storage device (storage device = Fig. 1 storage device 3) configured to:
allocate the plurality of super blocks to a plurality of name spaces allocated to the plurality of tenants, based on [the grades of the plurality of super blocks and] the priority information (claim objection: This limitation should read “allocate, based on the grades of the plurality of super blocks and the priority information, the plurality of super blocks to a plurality of name spaces allocated to the plurality of tenants”.) (Kanno teaches allocating respective superblock (plurality of superblocks) to respective placement ID (plurality of namespaces) based on QOS domain ID (priority information) (see Fig. 18, ¶[209], [211]) wherein said respective placement ID is in respective QOS domain that is allocated (allocated) to said plural user application 402 (plurality of tenants) (see Fig. 2, Fig. 17, ¶[203-205], [276]).)
As noted in claim 10, Kanno teaches allocating super blocks to name spaces based on priority information but does not appear to explicitly teach said super blocks are also allocated based on grades of said super blocks in the following manner.
determine grades of a plurality of super blocks based on a plurality of parameters of memory blocks in a plurality of super blocks, and
allocate the plurality of super blocks to a plurality of name spaces allocated to the plurality of tenants, based on the grades of the plurality of super blocks [and the priority information]
However, Song teaches
determine grades of a plurality of super blocks based on a plurality of parameters of memory blocks in a plurality of super blocks, and
allocate the plurality of super blocks to a plurality of name spaces allocated to the plurality of tenants, based on the grades of the plurality of super blocks [and the priority information] (Song teaches selecting (determine) a super block (super block), for allocation (allocate), based on (based on) block status information 231 (grade) that includes i) replacement (parameters) indicating whether said super block has a replacement block (memory block) and ii) erase count (parameters) indicating erase counts of memory blocks (memory blocks) in said super block (see Fig. 16, ¶[133], [136]) wherein said super block is selected based on i) said super block not having said replacement block and ii) said erase count (see ¶[136]). Song also teaches there are plural of said super block (super blocks) that are allocated, each with its own block status information (grades) (see Fig. 16).)
In view of Song, Kanno is modified such that said super blocks (allocated to said name spaces based on priority information) is further allocated based on respective blocks status information (grades) of said super blocks wherein said respective block status includes i) replacement (parameters) indicating whether there is a replacement memory block (memory block) in a respective super block, and ii) erase count (parameters) that indicates erase counts of memory blocks (memory blocks) in said respective super block.
Kanno and Song are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, resource management.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Kanno in the manner described supra because selecting a super block with no replacement block would allow a super block, with replacement block, to be used for bad block replacement which minimizes lack of user memory blocks (Song, ¶[117], [119]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 recites, at least, allocating super blocks based on i) remapping count of remapping one memory block to another memory block, ii) erase count of memory blocks, and ii) priority information about plurality of tenants. This subject matter is reflected in the following limitations of claim 1.
determine grades of the plurality of super blocks based on a remapping count of remapping one memory block to another memory block in each of the plurality of super blocks, and an erase count of an erase operation with respect to the plurality of memory blocks, and
allocate the plurality of super blocks to the plurality of name spaces, based on the grades of the plurality of super blocks and priority information about the plurality of tenants
As noted in claim 10, Kanno in view of Song teaches allocating super blocks to user applications (tenants) based on i) QOS domain ID (priority information) from (about) said user applications and ii) block status information 231 (grades), for each of said super blocks, including a) whether there is a replacement block (remapping) in respective super block, and b) erase count (erase count) indicating erase counts of memory blocks within said respective super block. Song also teaches mapping information 233 indicating remapping of said replacement block (see Song Fig. 8-9, 16 and corresponding paragraphs). While Kanno in view of Song teaches allocating said super blocks based on whether there is a replacement block, Kanno in view of Song do not appear to explicitly teach allocating said super blocks using a count of remapping said replacement block. Therefore, claim 1 is allowable over prior art of record.
Claim 11 recites the same allowable subject matter as claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is allowable over prior art for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim 12 recites, at least, allocating super blocks that has its grades determined from i) remapping count of one memory block to another memory block and ii) erase count of memory blocks. This subject matter is reflected in the following limitations of claim 12.
determining grades of a plurality of super blocks, based on a remapping count in which one of memory blocks included in each of the plurality of super blocks including a plurality of memory blocks on a plurality of dies is mapped to another memory block and an erase count of an erase operation with respect to the plurality of memory blocks; and
allocating the plurality of super blocks to the plurality of name spaces based on ranks of the plurality of super blocks and priority information about the plurality of tenants.
As noted in claim 10, Kanno in view of Song teaches allocating super blocks to user applications (tenants) based on i) QOS domain ID (priority information) from said user applications and ii) block status information 231 (grades), for each of said super blocks, including a) whether there is a replacement block (remapping) in respective super block, and b) erase count (erase count) indicating erase counts of memory blocks within said respective super block. Song also teaches mapping information 233 indicating remapping of said replacement block (see Song Fig. 8-9, 16 and corresponding paragraphs). While Kanno in view of Song teaches allocating said super blocks based on whether there is a replacement block, Kanno in view of Song do not appear to explicitly teach allocating said super blocks using a count of remapping said replacement block. Therefore, claim 12 is allowable over prior art of record.
Claims, dependent upon independent claims 1 or 12, are also allowable over prior art for the same reasons as said independent claims.
Conclusion
/CHIE YEW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139