DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over JP 2001270431 A to Yoshino (herein after “Yoshino”) in view of US20100211280A1 to Cayol et al. (herein after “Cayol”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshino teaches A control method for regenerative braking of a road vehicle (1) driven by a driver (DR);(See Yoshino para[0001] a control method for a regenerative cooperative braking system in an electric vehicle.)
the road vehicle (1) comprising four wheels (4, 5), of which two or four wheels (4, 5) are driving , arranged in pairs on a front axle (2) and/or a rear axle (3), each of which is rotationally driven by a respective electric motor (7) connected to it (See Yoshino figure 1) the method comprises the steps of: -
- controlling a braking system (13), following a request for braking by the driver (DR), so as to actuate a hydraulic unit (18) to exert a first braking torque (mBT) at least on each driving wheel (4, 5); (see Yoshino para[0015] In addition to the regenerative braking device 14, the vehicle braking device includes a hydraulic braking device 30 as a friction braking device)
- modulating, at least for each driving wheel (4, 5), the first braking torque (mBT) and/or the second braking torque (eBT) so that the sum of the first braking torque (mBT) and the second braking torque (eBT) is, instant by instant, equal to or less than the respective value (MRT) of maximum braking capacity; (see Yoshino para[0003] The so-called regenerative cooperative control is performed so that the total braking torque (according to the brake operation status of the driver, such as the amount of depression of the brake pedal) can be accurately obtained. In this control, when the required total braking torque is smaller than the maximum regenerative braking torque determined by the vehicle speed )
- storing the regenerative electrical energy generated by the regenerative braking of each driving wheel (4, 5) in a vehicular electrical energy storage system (16). (See Yoshino para[0029] More specifically, the design upper limit value is the upper limit value of the regenerative braking torque determined based on design conditions of the device such as the capacity of the electric motor 28 functioning as a generator and the charging capacity (maximum charging capacity) of the power storage device 36.)
However, Yoshino does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach estimating, at least for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective grip factor (G) on the ground travelled by the road vehicle (1); - defining or collecting, at least for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective vertical load (Fz) acting on it, - computing, for each driving wheel (4, 5), a value of a maximum braking capacity (MRT) depending at least on the respective grip factor (G) and the respective vertical load (Fz) ; - controlling the braking system (13), in addition to the respective first braking torque (mBT), so as to actuate in regenerative electric braking, by delivering a respective second braking torque (eBT), each driving wheel and thus the respective electric motor (7), at least according to the respective maximum braking capacity (MRT) value and in particular the first braking torque (mBT), so as to generate regenerative electrical energy. Nevertheless, Cayol same field of endeavor teaches estimating, at least for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective grip factor (G) on the ground travelled by the road vehicle (1); (See para[0007] The method consists in determining the grip potential on each of the wheels)
- defining or collecting, at least for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective vertical load (Fz) acting on it; (see para[0029]The input signal characteristic of the measurement or estimate of mass is produced by a mass measurement or estimating means 22 able in particular to determine the vertical component of the forces on each of the wheels and, more particularly, on each front and rear wheelset)
- computing, for each driving wheel (4, 5), a value of a maximum braking capacity (MRT) depending at least on the respective grip factor (G) and the respective vertical load (Fz) ; (See para[0037] The grip potential data plotted on the abscissa axis dictates, on the ordinate axis, the maximum regenerative braking command that can be applied to the regenerative braking electric machine (such as the machine 11 in FIG. 1). )
- controlling the braking system (13), in addition to the respective first braking torque (mBT), so as to actuate in regenerative electric braking, by delivering a respective second braking torque (eBT), each driving wheel and thus the respective electric motor (7), at least according to the respective maximum braking capacity (MRT) value and in particular the first braking torque (mBT), so as to generate regenerative electrical energy; (see para[0036]The braking current which determines the braking torque applied by the electric machine in regenerative braking (the machine 11 in FIG. 1) is then determined in a step S5 and the process is resumed from step S2 as long as regenerative braking is still in progress, para[0035] The other command signals, notably C1 to C3, are deduced from this equal-grip condition taking the demanded total braking force into consideration).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yoshino’s method for a regenerative cooperative braking system in an electric vehicle with Cayol’s maximum braking torque based on grip factor and vertical force in order to allow to determine the grip potential on each of the wheels, in testing an equal-grip condition on the measured potentials, and in deducing a command signal for the regenerative braking in such a way as to optimize regeneration (See Cayol para[0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein the hydraulic unit (18) (See Yoshino a main part of a hydraulic braking device ) comprises an anti-lock braking system (ABS), which, when activated, determines the modulation of the first braking torque (mBT). (see Yoshino para[0023] The electromagnetic on-off valve 108 is set to maintain the open state when the regenerative braking cooperative control or the anti-lock control for the front wheels 10 and 12 is performed.).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein, during at least part, particularly during the totality, of the activation of the anti-lock braking system (ABS), i.e., during the modulation of the first torque (mBT), the second braking torque (eBT) is controlled at a respective base value (BV) constant for each driving wheel (4, 5). (See Yoshino para [0012] Therefore, the invention according to claim 1 of the present application is a control method for a regenerative cooperative braking system in which the friction braking torque and the regenerative braking torque are coordinated to obtain a total braking torque to be applied to the vehicle., meaning second braking torque(regenerative braking torque ) is controlled by fraction of maximum torque(similar as base value), see para[0023] The electromagnetic on-off valve 108 is set to maintain the open state when the regenerative braking cooperative control or the anti-lock control for the front wheels 10 and 12 is performed).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein the base value (BV) corresponds to a predefined percentage of the maximum braking capacity (MRT) of said driving wheel (4, 5). (See Yoshino para [0012] Therefore, the invention according to claim 1 of the present application is a control method for a regenerative cooperative braking system in which the friction braking torque and the regenerative braking torque are coordinated to obtain a total braking torque to be applied to the vehicle., meaning second braking torque(regenerative braking torque ) is controlled by fraction of maximum torque, para[0003] the required total braking torque is smaller than the maximum regenerative braking torque determined by the vehicle speed ).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches - collecting a plurality of data (DD) on vehicular dynamics; and - regulating the respective base value (BV) of the second braking torque (eBT) as a function of the data (DD)on vehicular dynamics. (See Yoshino para[0027] Further, wheel speed sensors 252, 254, 256, 258 for detecting the rotational speeds of the respective wheels 10, 12, 60, 62 are provided, and based on the output signals of these wheel speed sensors 252, 254, 256, 258. Thus, data such as the braking slip state and the estimated vehicle body speed can be obtained, para[0013] the braking torque (Tb) corresponding to the operating state of the brake operating element and the second engine brake equivalent torque (Tb) corresponding to the engine braking at the time when the operation of the brake operating element is started).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein during the modulating phase, for each drive wheel (4, 5), the second braking torque (eBT) is controlled in concordance with the respective value of the maximum braking capacity (MRT) of said driving wheel (4, 5). (See Yoshino para[0003] The so-called regenerative cooperative control is performed so that the total braking torque (according to the brake operation status of the driver, such as the amount of depression of the brake pedal) can be accurately obtained. In this control, when the required total braking torque is smaller than the maximum regenerative braking torque determined by the vehicle speed and the capacity of the storage battery, the total torque is covered by the regenerative braking torque, but this limit value (maximum regenerative braking torque) is used.)
Regarding claim 7, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein the second torque (eBT) is commanded to correspond, under predefined conditions, to a predefined regenerative percentage of the respective value of the maximum braking capacity (MRT). (See Yoshino para [0012] Therefore, the invention according to claim 1 of the present application is a control method for a regenerative cooperative braking system in which the friction braking torque and the regenerative braking torque are coordinated to obtain a total braking torque to be applied to the vehicle., meaning second braking torque(regenerative braking torque ) is controlled by fraction of maximum torque, para[0003] the required total braking torque is smaller than the maximum regenerative braking torque determined by the vehicle speed )
Regarding claim 8, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein the predefined conditions comprise at least sections of the maximum braking capacity (MRT) which are constant and/or decreasing over time. (see Yoshino para[0011] However, since the engine brake equivalent torque Тa gradually decreases according to the vehicle speed V, the total braking torque Тq acting on the entire vehicle gradually decreases accordingly, and the deceleration of the vehicle decreases against the driver's intention. Will be done. Therefore, in order for the driver to keep the deceleration of the vehicle constant according to his or her intention, it is necessary to further press the brake pedal, which causes the driver to feel uncomfortable and makes the deceleration operation complicated and difficult, para[0013] The target total braking torque (Тq) is defined as the sum of Тa2), and when the operation amount (Sb) of the brake operator decreases to the maximum and then decreases, the braking torque (Тb) corresponding to the operation state of the brake operator and the brake In accordance with the decrease rate of the operation amount (Sb) of the operator, )
Regarding claim 9, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein during the phase of controlling the braking system (13), at least one right wheel and one left drive wheel (4, 5) of the same front and/or rear axle (2) are controlled independently of each other, distributing the regenerative braking between them differentially. (see Yoshino para[0032] the total braking torque including at least one of the hydraulic braking torque and the regenerative braking torque is applied to each wheel 10, 12, 60, 62)
Regarding claim 10, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein the driving wheels (4, 5) are four, (See Yoshino figure 1) and wherein during the phase of controlling the braking system (13), the wheels (4, 5) of the front axle (2) and the wheels (4, 5) of the rear axle (3) are controlled independently of each other, distributing the regenerative braking differentially between the front axle (2) and the rear axle (3). (see Yoshino para[0015] the hydraulic braking torque by the hydraulic braking device 30 act on the wheels 10 and 12, and the hydraulic braking device 30 applies to the wheels 60 and 62; para[0014] The electric drive device 14 is connected to the drive wheels (front wheels) 10 and 12 via the differential device 22 and the left and right drive shafts 24 and 26 sequentially. The electric drive device 14 also functions as a regenerative braking device that applies regenerative braking torque to the wheels 10 and 12 by regenerative braking of the electric motor 28)
Regarding claim 11, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein the respective braking torque delivered by a wheel (4, 5) is dynamically time-varying (See Yoshino para[0005] Such engine braking is commonly used when a substantially continuous braking operation is performed for a certain period of time including, for example, when going down a relatively steep slope., para[0003] the both braking torques are coordinated in a well-balanced and well-timed manner according to the braking intention of the driver), particularly with update frequencies greater than 5 Hz; more particularly with update frequencies of 10 Hz or more.
Regarding claim 12, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 1. Yoshino teaches wherein the first braking torque (mBT) delivered by the hydraulic unit (18) is independent for each wheel (4, 5) of the front axle (2) and/or the rear axle (3), respectively, and/or between the wheel pair (4, 5) of the front axle and the wheel pair (4, 5) of the rear axle. ((see Yoshino para[0032] the total braking torque including at least one of the hydraulic braking torque and the regenerative braking torque is applied to each wheel 10, 12, 60, 62.)
Regarding claim 13, Yoshino teaches Electric road vehicle (1) comprising: - a front axle (2) and a rear axle (3); - four wheels (4, 5) (See Yoshino figure 1), of which two or four driving wheels (4, 5) arranged in pairs on a front axle (2) and/or a rear axle (3); (see Yoshino figure 1, front wheels 10,12 and rear wheels 60,62)
- a powertrain system (6) (see Yoshino electric motor 28, wheels 10,12, 60 and 62, the left and right drive shafts 24 and 26, the differential device 220) comprising two or four electric motors (7), or
alternatively one or two electric motors connected to active differentials which in turn are each connected to two driving wheels (4, 5), each of the electric motors (7) being connected to a respective wheel (4, 5) or two wheels in the case of active differentials being present; where each wheel (4, 5) is rotatably driven by the respective electric motor (7) connected to it; (see Yoshino electric motor 28, wheels 10,12, 60 and 62, the left and right drive shafts 24 and 26, the differential device 22, see figure 1)
- a braking system (13), itself comprising at least one braking element (14) operable by the driver (DR) to request a braking, particularly a pedal; (See Yoshino para[0003] The so-called regenerative cooperative control is performed so that the total braking torque (according to the brake operation status of the driver, such as the amount of depression of the brake pedal) can be accurately obtained.)
wherein the braking system (13) also comprises a hydraulic unit (18), and mechanical brakes, controlled by the hydraulic unit (18); (See Yoshino para[0014] FIG. 2 is a configuration explanatory view schematically showing a main part of a hydraulic braking device forming a part of the vehicle braking device)
the braking system (13) being connected to the control circuitry (8) and configured to be controlled by it; (See Yoshino para[0019] The hydraulic braking device 30 includes the wheel cylinders 32, 34 and 64, 66 respectively attached to the wheels 10, 12 and 60, 62, the total braking torque control device 46, the linear valve device 56 and the antilock control device 58. , And is provided with a hydraulic circuit as shown in FIG.)
wherein the control circuitry (8) is also configured for:
controlling the braking system (13), following a request for braking by the driver (DR) via the braking element (14), so as to actuate the hydraulic unit (18) to exert a first braking torque (mBT) on at least each drive wheel (4, 5); (see Yoshino para[0015] In addition to the regenerative braking device 14, the vehicle braking device includes a hydraulic braking device 30 as a friction braking device)
modulating, at least for each drive wheel (4, 5), the first braking torque (mBT) and/or the second braking torque (eBT) so that the sum of the first braking torque (mBT) and the second braking torque (eBT) is, instant by instant, equal to or less than the respective maximum braking capacity value (MRT); (see Yoshino para[0003] The so-called regenerative cooperative control is performed so that the total braking torque (according to the brake operation status of the driver, such as the amount of depression of the brake pedal) can be accurately obtained. In this control, when the required total braking torque is smaller than the maximum regenerative braking torque determined by the vehicle speed ); and
storing the regenerative electrical energy generated by the regenerative braking of each wheel (4, 5) in a vehicular electrical energy storage system (16). (See Yoshino para[0029] More specifically, the design upper limit value is the upper limit value of the regenerative braking torque determined based on design conditions of the device such as the capacity of the electric motor 28 functioning as a generator and the charging capacity (maximum charging capacity) of the power storage device 36.)
14) Road vehicle (1) according to claim 13, wherein the control circuitry (8) is configured to carry out the method according to claim 1. ( see Yoshino para[0030] electrically connected to the solenoids of the above-mentioned electromagnetic on-off valves 90, 94, 96, 100, 102, 108, 110, 116, the linear valve device 56, etc. via a drive circuit (not shown). Further, in the ROM, a braking torque cooperative control determination program for determining whether or not to perform cooperative control of the regenerative braking torque ).
However, Yoshino does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach - an electronic control circuitry, which is configured for: o estimating, for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective grip factor (G) on the ground travelled by the road vehicle (1); ); defining or collecting, for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective vertical load (Fz) acting on it; o computing, for each driving wheel (4, 5), a value of a maximum braking capacity (MRT) depending at least on the respective grip factor (G) and the respective vertical load (Fz). Nevertheless, Cayol same field of endeavor teaches - an electronic control circuitry, which is configured for: o estimating, for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective grip factor (G) on the ground travelled by the road vehicle (1); ); (See para[0007] The method consists in determining the grip potential on each of the wheels)
defining or collecting, for each driving wheel (4, 5), independently of the other driving wheel(s) (4, 5), a respective vertical load (Fz) acting on it; o computing, for each driving wheel (4, 5), a value of a maximum braking capacity (MRT) depending at least on the respective grip factor (G) and the respective vertical load (Fz) ; (See para[0037] The grip potential data plotted on the abscissa axis dictates, on the ordinate axis, the maximum regenerative braking command that can be applied to the regenerative braking electric machine (such as the machine 11 in FIG. 1). )
controlling the braking system (13), in addition to the respective first braking torque (mBT), to actuate in regenerative electric braking, by delivering a respective second braking torque (eBT), each driving wheel and thus the respective electric motor (7), as a function of the respective maximum braking capacity (MRT) value and especially the first braking torque (mBT), so as to generate regenerative electrical energy; (see para[0036]The braking current which determines the braking torque applied by the electric machine in regenerative braking (the machine 11 in FIG. 1) is then determined in a step S5 and the process is resumed from step S2 as long as regenerative braking is still in progress, para[0035] The other command signals, notably C1 to C3, are deduced from this equal-grip condition taking the demanded total braking force into consideration)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Yoshino’s method for a regenerative cooperative braking system in an electric vehicle with Cayol’s maximum braking torque based on grip factor and vertical force in order to allow to determine the grip potential on each of the wheels, in testing an equal-grip condition on the measured potentials, and in deducing a command signal for the regenerative braking in such a way as to optimize regeneration (See Cayol para[0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshino and Cayol remain applied as claim 13. Yoshino teaches wherein the control circuitry (8) is configured to carry out the method according to claim 1. ( see Yoshino para[0030] electrically connected to the solenoids of the above-mentioned electromagnetic on-off valves 90, 94, 96, 100, 102, 108, 110, 116, the linear valve device 56, etc. via a drive circuit (not shown). Further, in the ROM, a braking torque cooperative control determination program for determining whether or not to perform cooperative control of the regenerative braking torque).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666