DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 12/28/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2025 and 02/11/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " wherein the metal partition plate is electrically connected to the bottom of the metal cavity in a welding or coupling manner" in lines 1-2 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Similar rejection would be applied to claim 17.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " wherein the first strip comprises a first feeder and a second feeder, one end of the first feeder is connected to the first polarization arm, and the other end of the first feeder is welded or coupled to the second feeder; and wherein the second strip comprises a third feeder and a fourth feeder, one end of the third feeder is connected to the second polarization arm, and the other end of the third feeder is welded or coupled to the fourth feeder" in lines 1-6 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as “wherein the first strip comprises a first feeder and a second feeder, one end of the first feeder is connected to the first polarization arm, and another end of the first feeder is welded or coupled to the second feeder; and wherein the second strip comprises a third feeder and a fourth feeder, one end of the third feeder is connected to the second polarization arm, and another end of the third feeder is welded or coupled to the fourth feeder”.
Similar rejection would be applied to claim 19.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " a dielectric body wherein one end of the dielectric body is disposed in the metal cavity, and the other end of the dielectric body extends out of the metal cavity; a metal strip, disposed on the dielectric body, wherein one end of the metal strip is disposed in the metal cavity, and the other end of the metal strip extends out of the metal cavity" in lines 1-6 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as “a dielectric body wherein one end of the dielectric body is disposed in the metal cavity, and another end of the dielectric body extends out of the metal cavity; a metal strip, disposed on the dielectric body, wherein one end of the metal strip is disposed in the metal cavity, and another end of the metal strip extends out of the metal cavity”.
Claims 15-20 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 20 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al, CN-107819198-A (hereinafter Xiao) and in view of Yang et al, CN-210926326-U (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao discloses the following:
an antenna, comprising:
a reflection panel (712, fig 22), wherein the reflection panel is provided with a metal cavity (713, 714, 716), the metal cavity has an opening, and the opening faces a front side of the reflection panel (fig. 22);
a metal strip (7161, fig. 8), wherein one end of the metal strip is disposed in the metal cavity (716), and another end of the metal strip extends out of the metal cavity (page 9, para 4, fig. 10: metal strip 7161 extends out of the metal cavity passing through reflection panel 712 through holes 7121);
a sliding dielectric (7165, fig. 13), wherein at least a part of the sliding dielectric is slidably disposed in the metal cavity (716); and
an antenna element (711, fig. 17), and the antenna element is connected to the end that is of the metal strip (7161) and that extends out of the metal cavity (716).
Xiao does not disclose the antenna comprises a dielectric body, wherein one end of the dielectric body is disposed in the metal cavity, and another end of the dielectric body extends out of the metal cavity; the metal strip disposed on the dielectric body; wherein the antenna element is connected to the end that is of the dielectric body and that extends out of the metal cavity.
Yang suggests the antenna (fig. 1) comprises a dielectric body (2-1, 3-1, figs. 3,4), wherein one end of the dielectric body is disposed in the metal cavity, and another end of the dielectric body extends out of the metal cavity (fig. 1); the metal strip (2-2, 3-2) disposed on the dielectric body (2-1, 3-1); wherein the antenna element (1) is connected to the end that is of the dielectric body (2-1, 3-1) and that extends out of the metal cavity (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the dielectric body as suggested in Yang to the antenna taught in Xiao as claimed for the purpose of directing the electromagnetic signals forward, reducing backward radiation, providing support to the antenna element without shorting the signals from the metal strip in order to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 2, Xiao discloses wherein the antenna further comprises a metal partition plate (714, fig. 8), at least a part of the metal partition plate is disposed in the metal cavity so that the metal cavity is partitioned into a first cavity and a second cavity, and a part that is of the metal partition plate and that extends out of the metal cavity is connected to the antenna element (711, figs. 8, 17).
Regarding claim 3, Xiao discloses wherein the metal strip comprises a first strip (7161 in the left cavity, fig. 8) and a second strip (7161 in the right cavity), at least a part of the first strip is disposed in the first cavity, and at least a part of the second strip is disposed in the second cavity (fig. 8);
the first cavity, the first strip, the first dielectric substrate, and the metal partition plate form a first feeding network (figs. 16-17), and the second cavity, the second strip, the second dielectric substrate and the metal partition plate form a second feeding network (figs. 16-17, page 8, para 10-11 to page 9, para 1); and
the antenna element comprises a first polarization arm and a second polarization arm (711, figs. 8-17), the first polarization arm and the second polarization arm are respectively located on two sides of the metal partition plate (714), the first polarization arm is connected to the first feeding network to form first polarization of the antenna, and the second polarization arm is connected to the second feeding network to form second polarization of the antenna (page 11, para 1-2).
Xiao does not disclose the dielectric body comprises a first dielectric substrate and a second dielectric substrate, at least a part of the first dielectric substrate is disposed in the first cavity, and at least a part of the second dielectric substrate is disposed in the second cavity.
Yang suggests the dielectric body comprises a first dielectric substrate and a second dielectric substrate (2-1, 3-1, figs. 3,4), at least a part of the first dielectric substrate is disposed in the cavity (fig. 1), and at least a part of the second dielectric substrate is disposed in the cavity (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide first and second dielectric substrates as suggested in Yang to the antenna taught in Xiao as claimed for the purpose of isolating the first and second signals feeding to the antenna in order to improve the antennas’ performance.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein the metal partition plate (714, fig. 8) is electrically connected to the bottom of the metal cavity (716) in a welding or coupling manner (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein the first strip comprises a first feeder (1601, fig. 16) and a second feeder (7161, fig. 8), one end of the first feeder is connected to the first polarization arm (711), and the other end of the first feeder is welded or coupled to the second feeder (fig. 17); and
wherein the second strip comprises a third feeder (1601) and a fourth feeder (7161), one end of the third feeder is connected to the second polarization arm (711), and the other end of the third feeder is welded or coupled to the fourth feeder (fig. 17).
Regarding claim 7, Xiao discloses wherein the sliding dielectric (7165, fig. 8) is disposed in at least one of the first cavity or the second cavity (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Xiao discloses the following:
a base station system, comprising one or more processing circuits and a base station antenna, wherein the base station antenna comprises:
a reflection panel (712, fig 22), wherein the reflection panel is provided with a metal cavity (713, 714, 716), the metal cavity has an opening, and the opening faces a front side of the reflection panel (fig. 22);
a metal strip (7161, fig. 8), wherein one end of the metal strip is disposed in the metal cavity (716), and the other end of the metal strip extends out of the metal cavity (page 9, para 4, fig. 10: metal strip 7161 extends out of the metal cavity passing through reflection panel 712 through holes 7121);
a sliding dielectric (7165, fig. 13), wherein at least a part of the sliding dielectric is slidably disposed in the metal cavity (716); and
an antenna element (711, fig. 17), and the antenna element is connected to the end that is of the metal strip (7161) and that extends out of the metal cavity (716).
Xiao does not disclose the antenna comprises a dielectric body, wherein one end of the dielectric body is disposed in the metal cavity, and the other end of the dielectric body extends out of the metal cavity; the metal strip disposed on the dielectric body; wherein the antenna element is connected to the end that is of the dielectric body and that extends out of the metal cavity.
Yang suggests the antenna (fig. 1) comprises a dielectric body (2-1, 3-1, figs. 3,4), wherein one end of the dielectric body is disposed in the metal cavity, and the other end of the dielectric body extends out of the metal cavity (fig. 1); the metal strip (2-2, 3-2) disposed on the dielectric body (2-1, 3-1); wherein the antenna element (1) is connected to the end that is of the dielectric body (2-1, 3-1) and that extends out of the metal cavity (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the dielectric body as suggested in Yang to the antenna taught in Xiao as claimed for the purpose of directing the electromagnetic signals forward, reducing backward radiation, providing support to the antenna element without shorting the signals from the metal strip in order to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 15, Xiao discloses wherein the base station antenna further comprises a metal partition plate (714, fig. 8), at least a part of the metal partition plate is disposed in the metal cavity so that the metal cavity is partitioned into a first cavity and a second cavity, and a part that is of the metal partition plate and that extends out of the metal cavity is connected to the antenna element (711, figs. 8, 17).
Regarding claim 16, Xiao discloses wherein the metal strip comprises a first strip (7161 in the left cavity, fig. 8) and a second strip (7161 in the right cavity), at least a part of the first strip is disposed in the first cavity, and at least a part of the second strip is disposed in the second cavity (fig. 8);
the first cavity, the first strip, the first dielectric substrate, and the metal partition plate form a first feeding network (figs. 16-17), and the second cavity, the second strip, the second dielectric substrate and the metal partition plate form a second feeding network (figs. 16-17, page 8, para 10-11 to page 9, para 1); and
the antenna element comprises a first polarization arm and a second polarization arm (711, figs. 8-17), the first polarization arm and the second polarization arm are respectively located on two sides of the metal partition plate (714), the first polarization arm is connected to the first feeding network to form first polarization of the antenna, and the second polarization arm is connected to the second feeding network to form second polarization of the antenna (page 11, para 1-2).
the dielectric body comprises a first dielectric substrate and a second dielectric substrate, at least a part of the first dielectric substrate is disposed in the first cavity, and at least a part of the second dielectric substrate is disposed in the second cavity;
Xiao does not disclose the dielectric body comprises a first dielectric substrate and a second dielectric substrate, at least a part of the first dielectric substrate is disposed in the first cavity, and at least a part of the second dielectric substrate is disposed in the second cavity.
Yang suggests the dielectric body comprises a first dielectric substrate and a second dielectric substrate (2-1, 3-1, figs. 3,4), at least a part of the first dielectric substrate is disposed in the cavity (fig. 1), and at least a part of the second dielectric substrate is disposed in the cavity (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide first and second dielectric substrates as suggested in Yang to the antenna taught in Xiao as claimed for the purpose of isolating the first and second signals feeding to the antenna in order to improve the antennas’ performance.
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein the metal partition plate (714, fig. 8) is electrically connected to the bottom of the metal cavity (716) in a welding or coupling manner (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Xiao discloses wherein the first strip comprises a first feeder (1601, fig. 16) and a second feeder (7161, fig. 8), one end of the first feeder is connected to the first polarization arm (711), and the other end of the first feeder is welded or coupled to the second feeder (fig. 17); and
wherein the second strip comprises a third feeder (1601) and a fourth feeder (7161), one end of the third feeder is connected to the second polarization arm (711), and the other end of the third feeder is welded or coupled to the fourth feeder (fig. 17).
Claims 5, 9-13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao and Yang as applied to claims 1-2 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Yue et al, CN-113241523-A (hereinafter Yue).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the antenna further comprises an electrical connecting piece, a gap is maintained between the metal partition plate and the metal cavity, and the metal partition plate is electrically connected to the reflection panel through the electrical connecting piece.
Yue suggests wherein the antenna further comprises an electrical connecting piece (1D, 5, fig. 3), a gap (4) is maintained between the metal partition plate and the metal cavity, and the metal partition plate is electrically connected to the reflection panel through the electrical connecting piece (page 4, para 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an electrical connecting piece as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of connecting the partition plate and the reflection panel in order to form a common ground in the antenna circuit to prevent voltage fluctuation and reduce electrical noise due to interference between different components in the circuit to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the reflection panel comprises a first panel, a second panel, and a third panel, the first panel is provided with the metal cavity, the second panel and the third panel are respectively disposed on two sides of the first panel in a width direction, and the second panel and the third panel are separately coupled to the first panel.
Yue suggests wherein the reflection panel comprises a first panel (1D, fig. 3), a second panel, and a third panel (fig. 3 below), the first panel is provided with the metal cavity (1C, 2 C), the second panel and the third panel are respectively disposed on two sides of the first panel in a width direction, and the second panel and the third panel are separately coupled to the first panel (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first, second and third panels as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process in order to reduce time and cost.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein a first flange and a second flange are respectively disposed on two sides of the first panel in a width direction of the metal cavity; and the second panel is coupled to the first flange, and the third panel is coupled to the second flange.
Yu suggests wherein a first flange and a second flange (5, fig. 3) are respectively disposed on two sides of the first panel (1D) in a width direction of the metal cavity; and the second panel is coupled to the first flange, and the third panel is coupled to the second flange (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first and second flanges as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of improving the connection between the first, second and third panels in order to maintain the antenna’s functioning during movements or vibrations.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the antenna comprises a shielding structure, and the shielding structure is welded, coupled, or connected to the reflection panel and covers the opening of the metal cavity.
Yue suggests wherein the antenna comprises a shielding structure (1D, 5, fig. 3), and the shielding structure is welded, coupled, or connected to the reflection panel (1A, page 4, para 3) and covers the opening of the metal cavity (1C, 2C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a shielding structure as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of shielding the cavity and connecting to the reflection panel to form a common ground in the antenna circuit to prevent voltage fluctuation and reduce electrical noise due to interference between different components in the circuit to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the shielding structure is a metal plate or a metal film.
Yue suggests wherein the shielding structure is a metal plate or a metal film (1D, page 3, para 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the shielding structure being a metal plate as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process and connecting to the reflection panel in order to form a common ground in the antenna circuit to prevent voltage fluctuation and reduce electrical noise due to interference between different components in the circuit to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the shielding structure is square, rectangular, or grid-shaped.
Yue suggests wherein the shielding structure is square, rectangular (1D, fig. 3), or grid-shaped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the shielding structure being rectangular as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process in order to reduce cost and time in manufacturing the antenna.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the base station antenna further comprises an electrical connecting piece, a gap is maintained between the metal partition plate and the metal cavity, and the metal partition plate is electrically connected to the reflection panel through the electrical connecting piece.
Yue suggests wherein the antenna further comprises an electrical connecting piece (1D, 5, fig. 3), a gap (4) is maintained between the metal partition plate and the metal cavity, and the metal partition plate is electrically connected to the reflection panel through the electrical connecting piece (page 4, para 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an electrical connecting piece as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of connecting the partition plate and the reflection panel in order to form a common ground in the antenna circuit to prevent voltage fluctuation and reduce electrical noise due to interference between different components in the circuit to improve the antenna’s performance.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the reflection panel comprises a first panel, a second panel, and a third panel, the first panel is provided with the metal cavity, the second panel and the third panel are respectively disposed on two sides of the first panel in a width direction, and the second panel and the third panel are separately coupled to the first panel.
Yue suggests wherein the reflection panel comprises a first panel (1D, fig. 3), a second panel, and a third panel (fig. 3 above), the first panel is provided with the metal cavity (1C, 2 C), the second panel and the third panel are respectively disposed on two sides of the first panel in a width direction, and the second panel and the third panel are separately coupled to the first panel (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first, second and third panels as suggested in Yue to the antenna taught in Xiao and Yang as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process in order to reduce time and cost.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao and Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al, CN-204538253-U (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Xiao and Yang does not disclose wherein the metal cavity is formed in the reflection panel by using a bending process.
Liu suggests wherein the metal cavity is formed in the reflection panel by using a bending process (page 4, para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the bending process as suggested in Liu to the antenna taught in Xio and Yang for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process in order to reduce time and cost.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Liao, CN-101515668-A, fig. 4: reflection panel with metal cavity
Zhang et al, CN-210926326-U, fig. 4: reflection panel with metal cavity
Pu et al, US-20140313095-A1, fig. 8: reflector panel comprises first, second and three panels
Ren et al, US-20240170858-A1, fig. 12 could read on claim 1
Tian, WO-2024027426-A1, fig. 4 could read on claim 1
Huang et al, WO-2023078121-A1, fig. 10 could read on claim 1
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845