DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “an occlusion device” in each of lines 2 and 3 which renders the scope of the claim indefinite since it is unclear if the second recitation of “an occlusion device” is introducing a new element or is a reference to the previously recited occlusion device. As best understood from the specification and figures, the first and second links are components of a singular occlusion device. Therefore, for examination purposes, each recitation of an occlusion device has been interpreted as referring to the same occlusion device.
It is recommended that claim 10, line 3 is amended to recite “placing a second link of [[an]] the occlusion device…” to alleviate the clarity issues.
Claims 11-16 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency from claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughett et al. (US 9,282,973 B2)
Regarding claim 1, Hughett discloses a minimally invasive surgical assembly (100, see Fig. 1) comprising: an occlusion device for occluding a left atrial appendage of a patient (see col. 6, lines 23-25), the occlusion device comprising: an elongated first link (1112, see Fig. 40) comprising a first end and a second end; and an elongated second link (1114) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the second link is pivotably coupled to the first end of the first link (the clamping portions 1112 and 1114 are pivotably coupled to each other by urging members 1108, see Fig. 40); and a delivery device, the delivery device comprising a rigid frame (deployment device 118, see Fig. 1, 34) having a receiving aperture (see receiving aperture in annotated Fig. 32 above) that extends through a first portion of the rigid frame, the receiving aperture adapted to receive at least a portion of the left atrial appendage of the patient, the receiving aperture being at least partially defined by a first aperture edge and a second aperture edge (see second aperture edge in annotated Fig. 32 above; the first aperture edge is the edge opposite the second aperture edge), wherein the first link of the occlusion device is configured to be removably coupled to a second portion of the rigid frame that is at or adjacent to the first aperture edge, and the second link of the occlusion device is configured to be removably coupled to a third portion of the rigid frame that is at or adjacent to the second aperture edge (the first and second links are removably coupled to all portions of the rigid frame since the occlusion clip 1160 is removably coupled to the deployment device 118, see col. 10, lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 2, Hughett discloses the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 1, wherein a fourth portion of the rigid frame that entirely surrounds the receiving aperture is planar (the fourth portion forming the inner surface of the deployment device 118 entirely surrounds the receiving aperture and is planar, see Fig. 32 and col. 15, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 3, Hughett discloses the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 1, wherein the rigid frame is planar (the frame of deployment device 118 is considered planar since it is made up of smooth surfaces, see Fig. 32).
Regarding claim 4, Hughett discloses the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 1, wherein the first aperture edge is substantially linear (the first edge opposite the second in annotated Fig. 32 is linear), and the first link is configured to be parallel to the first aperture edge (the first link formed by clamping portion 1112, see Fig. 40, is configured to be parallel to the first aperture edge when loaded into the device as shown in Fig. 29-30).
Regarding claim 5, Hughett discloses the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 4, wherein the second aperture edge is substantially linear (see second aperture edge in annotated Fig. 32), and the second link is configured to be parallel to the second aperture edge (the second link formed by clamping portion 1114, see Fig. 40 is configured to be parallel to the second aperture edge when loaded into the device as shown in Fig. 29-30).
Regarding claim 6, Hughett discloses the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 1, wherein the receiving aperture is at least partially defined by the first aperture edge, the second aperture edge, and a third aperture edge (see annotated Fig. 32).
Regarding claim 7, Hughett discloses the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 6, wherein the third aperture edge is substantially linear (see third aperture edge in annotated Fig. 32).
Regarding claim 8, Hughett discloses the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 2, wherein the fourth portion of the rigid frame is at least partially defined by a first perimeter edge that is parallel to the first aperture edge and a second perimeter edge that is parallel to the second aperture edge (the fourth portion of the frame forming the inner surface of deployment device 118 is partially defined by perimeter edges that are parallel to the first and second aperture edges as shown in annotated Fig. 32).
Claims 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughett et al. (US 2012/0035631 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Hughett ‘631 discloses a method of occluding tissue (see Fig. 2 and [0036]), comprising: placing a first link (20) of an occlusion device(10) laterally at a base of tissue (the base of the LAA, see Fig. 2); placing a second link (30) of the occlusion device on an opposing side of the base of tissue, substantially parallel with the first link (beam members 20,30 are parallel to each other, see Fig. 2); and securing the first link and the second link to fully occlude the base of tissue (the occlusion device is closed around the LAA, see [0036]).
Regarding claim 12, Hughett ‘631 discloses the method of occluding tissue of claim 10, further comprising snaring filament (48) held within the first link and the second link (band 48 is held within a portion of the beam members 20 and 30, see Fig. 2 and 10 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Hughett ‘631 discloses the method of occluding tissue of claim 10, further comprising securing the first link of the occlusion device and the second link of the occlusion device with a first mechanical fastener (band 48 is connected to beam member 20 by a first pin 28e which can be considered a first mechanical fastener, see Fig. 2 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 14, Hughett ‘631 discloses the method of occluding tissue of claim 13, further comprising securing the first link of the occlusion device and the second link of the occlusion device with a second mechanical fastener (band 48 is connected to beam member 30 by a second pin 38e which can be considered a second mechanical fastener, see Fig. 2 and [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Hughett ‘631 discloses the method of occluding tissue of claim 10, wherein placing the first link of an occlusion device laterally at a base of tissue further comprises using a delivery frame (jaws 142 and 242 form a rigid frame, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Hughett ‘631 discloses the method of occluding tissue of claim 10, wherein placing the first link of an occlusion device laterally at a base of tissue further comprises using an introducer device (deployment device 110 is used to place the first link and the second link at the base of the LAA, see Fig. 3 and [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughett ‘973, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bardsley et al. (US 2008/0294175).
Regarding claim 9, Hughett ‘973 teaches the minimally invasive surgical assembly occlusion device of claim 1, but fails to teach the rigid frame is translucent or transparent.
Bardsley, in the same field of art, teaches a delivery device (see Fig. 2) with a frame (13) comprised of transparent material to create a field of view during a surgical procedure (see [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Hughett ‘973 such that the delivery frame is comprised of a transparent material, as taught by Bardsley, since doing so would improve the field of vision when the device is used in a surgical procedure. The transparent material would also be translucent.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughett ‘631, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Francischelli et al. (US 2008/0033457 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hughett ‘631 discloses the method of occluding tissue of claim 10, further comprising: positioning the first and second links of an occlusion device (10) so that the LAA may be passed through the occlusion device while the occlusion device is held by a delivery frame (110, see Fig. 3 and [0036]). Hughett further teaches releasing the first link and the second link from the delivery frame (see [0036]).
Hughett ‘631 fails to expressly teach grasping a portion of the LAA and pulling it through the delivery frame.
Francischelli, in the same field of art, teaches a related method of occluding tissue including the step of grasping a portion of the tissue and pulling a portion of the tissue through an occlusion device while it is held by a delivery frame to aid in placement of the occlusion device around the tissue (see [0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Hughett ‘631 to include the step of grasping tissue and pulling it through the occlusion device while it is held by the delivery frame, as taught by Francischelli, since doing so would have aided in placement of the occlusion device around the tissue.
The combination of Hughett ‘631 and Francischelli teaches the step of pulling a portion of the tissue through the delivery frame since the delivery frame 110 of Hughett ‘631 is structured such that any tissue passing through the occlusion device while it is held by the jaws of the delivery frame would also pass through the delivery frame (see Fig. 3 of Hughett ‘631).
Double Patenting
Claims (1,2,8), 3, (4,5), (6,7), and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1), 2, (3), (4), and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,364,483. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the claims of the patent "anticipate" the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited above, where Applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, Applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
The limitations of the present application are recited in the corresponding ‘483 patent claims as mapped below:
Present Claims 19/253,163
U.S. Patent No. 12,364,483
1
1
2
1
3
2
4
3
5
3
6
4
7
4
8
1
9
5
Conclusion
/SERENITY A MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771