Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Feed module in Claims 67, 73, and 83: (A) the limitation uses the generic term “module”; (B) the module has the function(s) of feeding and move in a second dimension; (C) the claims do not provide additional structure to perform the claimed action(s). As such, the limitation will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a module having a pocketed spring intake and exit (as shown in Figure 3A) and a transport (as detailed in Claim 77) or functional equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 70 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 70 recites “the pocketed spring exit aperture”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 76 recites “the continuous string of pocketed springs”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Double Patenting
Claims 67, 73, 74, 77, 81, and 82 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. US12365578B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application contains broader versions of the claims in the parent patent.
Bolded text in the parent Patent is displayed to highlight overlapping subject matter where it is not readily apparent.
US App 19/253,189
US12365578B2
Claim 67: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising: first and second rows of welding heads having respective welding positions and retracted positions such that, while the first or second row of welding heads is in the welding position, a main axis of respective welding heads of the row of welding heads in the welding position is oriented in a first dimension and the welding heads of the row of welding heads in the welding position are aligned with each other in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension; and a feed module configured to move in the second dimension and deposit folded lengths of a continuous string of pocketed springs alternatingly against the first and second rows of welding heads.
Claim 12: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising:
first, second, and third rows of welding heads, the welding heads of the first, second, and third rows of welding heads having respective welding positions and respective retracted positions, a main axis of the welding heads of the first and second rows of welding heads oriented in a first dimension while in the respective welding positions, wherein the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other along a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension; a transport having a main axis oriented in the second dimension; and a feed module including a pocketed spring intake and a pocketed spring outflow, the feed module mechanically coupled to the transport to enable the transport to move the feed module in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that an exit aperture of the pocketed spring outflow is aligned with the welding heads of the first row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position; wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the third row of welding heads to enable welding two rows of pocketed springs together; The cushioning unit assembler of claim 1, wherein the feed module is configured to move in a first direction of the second dimension to feed rows of a single continuously connected string of pocketed springs onto the first row of welding heads; and wherein the feed module is configured to move in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction to feed rows of the single continuously connected string of pocketed springs onto the second row of welding heads; The cushioning unit assembler of claim 11, wherein the feed module is configured to alternatingly feed the single continuously connected string of pocketed springs onto the first row of welding heads and the second row of welding heads.
Claim 73: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising:
first and second rows of welding heads, the first row of welding heads having a welding position and a retracted position such that, while the first row of welding heads is in the welding position, a main axis of respective welding heads of the first row of welding heads is oriented in a first dimension and the welding heads of the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension; and
a feed module configured to move in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that a pocketed spring exit aperture portion of the feed module is aligned with the welding heads of the first row of welding heads within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position.
Claim 1: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising:
first, second, and third rows of welding heads, the welding heads of the first, second, and third rows of welding heads having respective welding positions and respective retracted positions, a main axis of the welding heads of the first and second rows of welding heads oriented in a first dimension while in the respective welding positions, wherein the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other along a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension;
a transport having a main axis oriented in the second dimension; and
a feed module including a pocketed spring intake and a pocketed spring outflow, the feed module mechanically coupled to the transport to enable the transport to move the feed module in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that an exit aperture of the pocketed spring outflow is aligned with the welding heads of the first row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position;
wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the third row of welding heads to enable welding two rows of pocketed springs together.
Claim 74: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the second row of welding heads.
Claim 1: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising: first, second, and third rows of welding heads, the welding heads of the first, second, and third rows of welding heads having respective welding positions and respective retracted positions, a main axis of the welding heads of the first and second rows of welding heads oriented in a first dimension while in the respective welding positions, wherein the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other along a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension;
a transport having a main axis oriented in the second dimension; and
a feed module including a pocketed spring intake and a pocketed spring outflow, the feed module mechanically coupled to the transport to enable the transport to move the feed module in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that an exit aperture of the pocketed spring outflow is aligned with the welding heads of the first row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position;
wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the third row of welding heads to enable welding two rows of pocketed springs together.
Claim 77: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a transport that includes one or more of a hydraulic motor, a rail, a beam, or a bar;
wherein the transport is mechanically coupled to the feed module to enable the feed module to move along the scope of movement.
Claim 2: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 1, wherein the transport includes one or more of a hydraulic motor, a rail, a beam, or a bar.
(Claim 1 recites the transport and mechanically coupled limitations)
Claim 73: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising:
first and second rows of welding heads, the first row of welding heads having a welding position and a retracted position such that, while the first row of welding heads is in the welding position, a main axis of respective welding heads of the first row of welding heads is oriented in a first dimension and the welding heads of the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension; and
a feed module configured to move in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that a pocketed spring exit aperture portion of the feed module is aligned with the welding heads of the first row of welding heads within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position.
Claim 13: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising:
first and second rows of welding heads, the welding heads of the first and second rows of welding heads having respective welding positions and respective retracted positions, a main axis of the welding heads of the first row of welding heads oriented in a first dimension while in the respective welding position, wherein the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other along a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension;
a transport having a main axis oriented in the second dimension; and
a feed module including a pocketed spring intake and a pocketed spring outflow, the feed module mechanically coupled to the transport to enable the transport to move the feed module in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that an exit aperture of the pocketed spring outflow is aligned with the welding heads of the first row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position;
wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the second row of welding heads to enable welding two rows of pocketed springs together.
Claim 74: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the second row of welding heads.
Claim 13: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising:
first and second rows of welding heads, the welding heads of the first and second rows of welding heads having respective welding positions and respective retracted positions, a main axis of the welding heads of the first row of welding heads oriented in a first dimension while in the respective welding position, wherein the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other along a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension;
a transport having a main axis oriented in the second dimension; and
a feed module including a pocketed spring intake and a pocketed spring outflow, the feed module mechanically coupled to the transport to enable the transport to move the feed module in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that an exit aperture of the pocketed spring outflow is aligned with the welding heads of the first row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position;
wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the second row of welding heads to enable welding two rows of pocketed springs together.
Claim 77: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a transport that includes one or more of a hydraulic motor, a rail, a beam, or a bar;
wherein the transport is mechanically coupled to the feed module to enable the feed module to move along the scope of movement.
Claim 14: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 13, wherein the transport includes one or more of a hydraulic motor, a rail, a beam, or a bar.
(Claim 13 recites the limitations regarding the transport and mechanical coupling)
Claim 81: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 80, wherein the row of probes includes exactly one probe.
Claim 18: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 13, wherein the second row of welding heads includes exactly one welding head.
Claim 82: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a power supply electrically coupled to at least some of the welding heads to provide welding energy thereto;
wherein the welding energy is configured to cause one or more of the welding heads to perform ultrasonic heating, ohmic heating, or inductive heating.
Claim 15: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 13, further including a power supply electrically coupled to at least some of the welding heads to provide welding energy thereto;
wherein the welding energy is configured to cause one or more welding heads to perform ultrasonic heating, ohmic heating, or inductive heating.
Claims 67, 73, 77, and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. US11875652B2 in view of Wolfson (US20190055115A1).
US App 19/253,189
US11875652B2
Claim 67: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising: first and second rows of welding heads having respective welding positions and retracted positions such that, while the first or second row of welding heads is in the welding position, a main axis of respective welding heads of the row of welding heads in the welding position is oriented in a first dimension and the welding heads of the row of welding heads in the welding position are aligned with each other in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension; and a feed module configured to move in the second dimension and deposit folded lengths of a continuous string of pocketed springs alternatingly against the first and second rows of welding heads.
Claim 10: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising: first, second, third, and fourth rows of welding heads, the welding heads of the first, second, third, and fourth rows having a welding position and a retracted position, a main axis of the welding heads of the first, second, third, and fourth rows oriented in a first dimension while in the welding position; a transport disposed above the first, second, third, and fourth rows of welding heads, the transport having a main axis oriented in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension; a feed module including a pocketed spring intake and a pocketed spring outflow, the feed module mechanically coupled to the transport to enable the feed module to move in the second dimension along a scope of movement, an exit aperture of the pocketed spring outflow vertically aligned with the welding heads of the first row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position, the pocketed spring outflow vertically aligned with the welding heads of the second row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the second row are in the welding position; The cushioning unit assembler of claim 1, wherein the feed module is configured to alternatingly feed a single continuously connected string of pocketed springs onto the first row of welding heads and the second row of welding heads.
Claim 73: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising:
first and second rows of welding heads, the first row of welding heads having a welding position and a retracted position such that, while the first row of welding heads is in the welding position, a main axis of respective welding heads of the first row of welding heads is oriented in a first dimension and the welding heads of the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension; and a feed module configured to move in the second dimension along a scope of movement, so that a pocketed spring exit aperture portion of the feed module is aligned with the welding heads of the first row of welding heads within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position.
Claim 1: A cushioning unit assembler, comprising: first, second, third, and fourth rows of welding heads, the welding heads of the first, second, third, and fourth rows having a welding position and a retracted position, a main axis of the welding heads of the first, second, third, and fourth rows oriented in a first dimension while in the welding position; a transport disposed above the first, second, third, and fourth rows of welding heads, the transport having a main axis oriented in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension;
a feed module including a pocketed spring intake and a pocketed spring outflow, the feed module mechanically coupled to the transport to enable the feed module to move in the second dimension along a scope of movement, an exit aperture of the pocketed spring outflow vertically aligned with the welding heads of the first row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position, the pocketed spring outflow vertically aligned with the welding heads of the second row within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the second row are in the welding position.
Claim 77: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a transport that includes one or more of a hydraulic motor, a rail, a beam, or a bar;
wherein the transport is mechanically coupled to the feed module to enable the feed module to move along the scope of movement.
Claim 2: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 1, wherein the transport includes one or more of a hydraulic motor, a rail, a beam, or a bar. (Claim 1 recites the mechanical coupling)
Claim 78: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a power supply electrically coupled to provide a welding pulse to at least some welding heads of the first row of welding heads or the second row of welding heads.
Claim 4: The cushioning unit assembler of claim 1, further including a power supply electrically coupled to at least one of the first row of welding heads or at least one the third row of welding heads to provide a welding pulse thereto, and electrically coupled to at least one of the second row of welding heads or at least one of the fourth row of welding heads to provide a welding pulse thereto.
US12365578B2 fails to recite that the welding heads are aligned with each other in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension.
However, Wolfson (US20190055115A1) teaches this feature in Figure 1A, shown as Item 122.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known alignment of the welding rows technique from Wolfson to another welding system in order to provide a system that welds multiple pocketed spring modules simultaneously in a straight/aligned manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 73-75, 77-78, 80-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN111053395A) in view of Kujuro (US20110154653A1).
Claim 73
Ye teaches a cushioning unit assembler (figure 1), comprising: first and second rows of welding heads (Figures 1-2 show welding head pairs (6, 8) where the top die heads (62 and 82) are aligned and form a row, and the lower blades (61, 81) are aligned and form a row.), the first row of welding heads having a welding position and a retracted position such that (The machine translation Lines X-X teach that the first sealing die head (62) is driven to close with the lower blade (61).), while the first row of welding heads is in the welding position, a main axis of respective welding heads of the first row of welding heads is oriented in a first dimension (The main axis in the prior art is the vertical axis.) and the welding heads of the first row of welding heads are aligned with each other in a second dimension perpendicular to the first dimension (Figure 1 shows the heads (62, 82) are aligned in a direction perpendicular to the vertical direction.); and a feed module (5 or 7), so that a pocketed spring exit aperture portion of the feed module is aligned with the welding heads of the first row of welding heads within at least a portion of the scope of movement while the welding heads of the first row are in the welding position. (Figure 1 shows the exit aperture(s) of the feed modules (5 or 7) is aligned with the welding heads.)
Ye does not explicitly disclose the feed module is configured to move in the second dimension along a scope of movement.
However, Kujuro (US20110154653A1) teaches feed modules (I, II, III on moveable base (10)) that are configured to move in the second dimension (Figure 2 shows rails (11) that allow the base (10), and therefore the feed modules, to move in a second dimension.) (perpendicular to the main axis of a welding head (Figure 4 shows the sealing/cutting mechanism (4) has a main axis in the vertical direction.)) along a scope of movement.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known movable base with multiple feeders of Kujuro to the system of Ye in order to provide a system capable of increasing productivity by providing a different string of springs having different characteristics by moving to another supply unit (feed module). See ¶0013 of Kujuro.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known known movable base with multiple feeders of Kujuro to the system of Ye because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Claim 74
Ye in view of Kujuro teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to close together with the second row of welding heads. (Ye, Machine translation lines 323-324)
Claim 75
Ye in view of Kujuro teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, wherein the first row of welding heads and the second row of welding heads are configured to close together (Ye, Machine translation lines 323-324) and, when closed together, to press together at least two layers of pocketed spring fabric. (Ye, Machine translation lines 351-352 teach the sealing head and knife operate to seal the cut in the second pocketed spring string. This sealing is the pressing together of fabric on each side of the string to seal the cut.)
Claim 77
Ye in view of Kujuro teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a transport that includes one or more of a hydraulic motor, a rail (Kujuro, Figure 4, Item 11), a beam, or a bar; wherein the transport is mechanically coupled to the feed module to enable the feed module to move along the scope of movement. (Kujuro, Figure 4 shows the transport rail (11) is coupled to the feed module (I, II, III).)
Claim 78
Ye in view of Kujuro teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a power supply electrically coupled to provide a welding pulse to at least some welding heads of the first row of welding heads or the second row of welding heads. (Ye, Figures 1-2 show sealing heads (62, 82). Kujuro, Figure 4 shows a sealing head (44) that is coupled to a power source (ultrasonic generator, 43) that is configured to provide energy to perform the sealing/welding.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known ultrasonic generator of Kurjuro to the sealing head of Ye in order to provide ultrasonic energy to the welding head/horn. (See Kujuro ¶0049)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to combine the known ultrasonic generator of Kurjuro to the sealing head of Ye because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to combine prior art structures according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim 80
Ye in view of Kujuro teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, wherein the first and second rows of welding heads include a row of anvils and a row of probes. (The claim does not specify a structure that qualifies something as an anvil or probe. Ye, Figures 1-2 show the rows include anvils (62, 82) and probes (63, 83).)
Claim 81
Ye in view of Kujuro teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 80, wherein the row of probes includes exactly one probe. (Ye, Figure 1 shows the probes (63, 83) are separate and can be considered to each be in a row.)
Claim 82
Ye in view of Kujuro teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 73, further comprising a power supply electrically coupled to at least some of the welding heads to provide welding energy thereto; wherein the welding energy is configured to cause one or more of the welding heads to perform ultrasonic heating, ohmic heating, or inductive heating. (Ye, Figures 1-2 show sealing heads (62, 82). Kujuro, Figure 4 shows a sealing head (44) that is coupled to a power source (ultrasonic generator, 43) that is configured to provide energy to perform the sealing/welding.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known ultrasonic generator of Kurjuro to the sealing head of Ye in order to provide ultrasonic energy to the welding head/horn. (See Kujuro ¶0049)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to combine the known ultrasonic generator of Kurjuro to the sealing head of Ye because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to combine prior art structures according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 83-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stumpf (US4401501A) in view of Lee (KR101076416B1).
Claim 83
Stumpf teaches a cushioning unit assembler (Figure 1), comprising: first (20) and second (20) rows of welding heads (Figure 8); and pocketed springs of folded lengths of a continuously connected string of pocketed springs against the first and second rows of welding heads (Figure 9 shows the pocketed spring string is a continuous string that is folded upon itself.), so that: a first length of the continuously connected string of pocketed springs is folded against a second length of the continuous string of pocketed springs (Figure 9 shows the pocketed spring string is a continuous string that is folded upon itself. The first length is the top in Figure 9 and the second length is the bottom.); and the first row of welding heads is between the first length and the second length (Col. 8 Lines 25-32 teach the strip(s) are placed upon and suspended from the Bank A with Bank B located between the two lengths of strip. Therefore, Bank B is interpreted as the first row of welding heads.)
Stumpf does not disclose a feed module configured to sequentially feed pocketed springs of folded lengths of a continuously connected string of pocketed springs. Stumpf does disclose that the strips can be fed automatically. (Col. 12, Lines 20-25)
However, Lee teaches a feed module configured to sequentially feed pocketed springs of a continuously connected string of pocketed springs. (Figure 2, Item 10)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known automatic spring string conveyance device of Lee with the system of Stumpf in order to provide a device for the feeding process that operates quickly, where accuracy is maintained, and there is no fear of failure. (See Lee machine translation Lines 41-43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to combine the known automatic spring string conveyance device of Lee with the system of Stumpf because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to combine prior art structures according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim 84
Stumpf in view of Lee teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 83, wherein the feed module (Lee Figure 2) is configured to feed the continuously connected string of pocketed springs (Lee Figure 2) so that: a third length of the continuously connected string of pocketed springs is folded against the first length of the continuous string of pocketed springs (Stumpf, Col. 8, Lines 45-67 teach that the joined strip (which contains the first and second lengths) is indexed downward in the apparatus, and another strip is inserted above the Bank A anvils. This excerpt, and Figure 9, teaches that strips of continuous lengths of pocketed springs are folded atop one another repeatedly during production.); and the second row of welding heads is between the third length and the first length. Stumpf, Col. 8, Lines 45-67 teach that the joined strip (which contains the first and second lengths) is indexed downward in the apparatus, and another strip is inserted above the Bank A anvils. Therefore, the Bank A anvils, which are the claimed second row of welding heads, is between the first and new third length of pocketed spring string.)
Claim 85
Stumpf in view of Lee teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 83, wherein the first and second rows of welding heads are rows of anvils. (Stumpf, Col. 8, Line 24/25)
Claim 86
Stumpf in view of Lee teaches the cushioning unit assembler of claim 83, wherein the feed module is configured to alternatingly feed the continuously connected string of pocketed springs onto the first row of welding heads and the second row of welding heads. (Stumpf, Figure 9 shows the string being fed onto the anvils (20) is a continuously connected string. Lee, Figure 2 shows the module (10) moving a continuously connected string.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 70 and 76 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 68-69, 71-72 and 79 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 68 requires all of the limitations of Claim 67, as well as wherein the feed module is configured to deposit a first folded length of the continuous string of pocketed springs so that the first folded length is against a second folded length of the continuous string of pocketed springs, and so that the first or second row of welding heads is between the first folded length and the second folded length.
Claim 69 requires all of the limitations of Claim 67, as well as wherein the feed module configured to move in the second dimension along a scope of movement; and wherein the feed module is aligned with the welding heads of the row of welding heads in the welding position within at least a portion of the scope of movement
Claim 70 requires all of the limitations of Claim 67, as well as wherein the pocketed spring exit aperture portion of the feed module is aligned in a third dimension perpendicular to the first and second dimensions, with the welding heads of the row of welding heads in the welding position within at least a portion of the scope of movement.
Claim 71 requires all of the limitations of Claim 67, as well as wherein the first and second rows of welding heads are rows of anvils.
Claim 72 requires all of the limitations of Claim 67, as well as wherein the feed module is configured to deposit a first folded length of the continuous string of pocketed springs against the first row of welding heads while moving in a first direction; and wherein the feed module is configured to deposit a second folded length of the continuous string of pocketed springs against the second row of welding heads while moving in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction.
The prior art teaches: mattress cores made from a continuous string of pocketed springs folded upon itself (See US4401501 (Figure 2A); US12137814 (Figure 7)); apparatus for welding strings of pocketed springs (See US20160007761 (Figure 1); US20140201924 (Figure 1); US4401501 (Figure 9)); and feed modules for feeding pocketed springs (See US11504761 (Figure 2B); US20200198961 (Figure 3); US20110154653 (Figure 4); US20110107572 (Figure 1)); but the prior art failed to teach the combination of features of the welding head, feed module, and their spatial orientation and function as claimed in Claim 67.
Claim 76 requires all of the limitations of Claim 73, as well as wherein the feed module is configured to deposit a first folded length of the continuous string of pocketed springs so that the first folded length is against a second folded length of the continuous string of pocketed springs, and so that the first row of welding heads is between the first folded length and the second folded length.
Claim 79 requires all of the limitations of Claim 73, as well as wherein the first row of welding heads is configured to press together with the second row of welding heads to weld folded lengths of a continuously connected string of pocketed springs together.
The prior art teaches: mattress cores made from a continuous string of pocketed springs folded upon itself (See US4401501 (Figure 2A); US12137814 (Figure 7)); apparatus for welding strings of pocketed springs (See US20160007761 (Figure 1); US20140201924 (Figure 1); US4401501 (Figure 9)); and feed modules for feeding pocketed springs (See US11504761 (Figure 2B); US20200198961 (Figure 3); US20110154653 (Figure 4); US20110107572 (Figure 1)); but the prior art failed to teach the combination of features of the welding head, feed module, and their spatial orientation and function as claimed in Claims 76 or 79.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US12137814B2
2019-12-13
Figure 7 shows a core made from a continuous string of pocketed springs that is folded to form rows and welded.
US4401501A
1982-01-29
Figure 9 teaches an apparatus that receives a continuous string of pocketed springs that is folded over unto itself. The apparatus then welds to the strings together to form a mattress (See Figure 2A).
US11504761B2
2019-03-14
Figure 2A teaches a feeding apparatus for a continuously connected string of pocketed springs.
US20190055115A1
2019-02-21
Figure 1A teaches an apparatus for receiving strings of pocketed springs and welding them together. Figure 4 shows a feed module associated with the apparatus.
US20160304292A1
2016-01-22
Figure 2 shows a feed module for feeding a continuously connected string of pocketed springs.
US20160007761A1
2016-01-14
Figure 1 teaches an apparatus for receiving strings of pocketed springs and welding them together. Figure 13A shows the apparatus uses a welding phalanges arranges in rows that close together.
US20140201924A1
2015-12-29
Figure 1 teaches an apparatus for receiving strings of pocketed springs and welding them together. Figures 4-5 show the apparatus uses a welding phalanges arranges in rows that close together.
US20110107572A1
2010-11-08
Figure 1 shows an apparatus for handling pocketed spring strings that includes a feed module (11).
US5792309A
1996-08-28
Figure 1 teaches an apparatus for handling pocketed spring strings that has a feed module (5).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726