DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the above application filed on 06/27/2025. Claims 1 – 20 are examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "162" – Figs. 3A and 3B and "164" – Figs. 3C and 3D have both been used to designate the same things. Para. [0058] disclosed “FIGS. 3A - 3D are expanded views of the callout 164 of FIG. 2.” Appropriate corrections are required.
Fig. 2 is objected to because reference character "162" pointing to the dashed ‘callout’ portion of Fig. 2 is in error for reference character "164" because Para. [0058] disclosed that “FIGS. 3A - 3D are expanded views of the callout 164 of FIG. 2.”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Fig. 2 is objected to because the middle line coming out of the top of the left side (138) of valve (130) should be labeled as reference character "162" because Para. [0053] disclosed that “For example, the valve 130 directs the lubricant within the bulk scavenge conduit 152 into the return conduit 162 for delivery to the reservoir 110.” Compare Applicant’s Fig. 2 to Fig. 2 of Luz et al. (11,415,051). Appropriate corrections are required.
Figs. 3A and 3C are objected to because the middle line coming out of the top of the valve (130) then making a 90° turn to the left-side of the page should be labeled as reference character "162" because Para. [0053] disclosed that “For example, the valve 130 directs the lubricant within the bulk scavenge conduit 152 into the return conduit 162 for delivery to the reservoir 110.” Compare Applicant’s Fig. 2 to Fig. 2 of Luz et al. (11,415,051). Appropriate corrections are required.
Figs. 3B and 3D are objected to because the middle line coming out of the top of the valve (130) then making a 90° turn to the left-side of the page should be labeled as reference character "162" because Para. [0050] disclosed that “When the valve 130 is at the bypass position 140, the lubricant in the scavenge circuit 122 (e.g., the bulk scavenge conduit 152) is blocked from flowing to the reservoir 110.” Appropriate corrections are required.
Figs. 3B and 3D are objected to because the left most outlet in the top of the valve (130) is missing a vertical line with a wavy line (indicating a cut-off section) where the vertical line is labeled as reference character "132" because Para. [0050] disclosed that “Further, the valve 130 includes a bypass position 140 (e.g., a second position, etc.) at which the lubricant in the scavenge circuit 122 (e.g., the bulk scavenge conduit 152) flows into the bypass conduit 132.” Compare Figs. 3B and 3D to Applicant’s Fig. 2. Appropriate corrections are required.
Fig. 4 is objected to because the left-side line coming out of the top of the valve (130) then making a 90° turn to the left-side of the page then making another 90° turn to the bottom of the page to end at reservoir (110) is incorrectly labeled as reference character "112" twice. Said line should be labeled as reference character "162" because Para. [0053] disclosed that “For example, the valve 130 directs the lubricant within the bulk scavenge conduit 152 into the return conduit 162 for delivery to the reservoir 110.” Compare Applicant’s Fig. 4 to Fig. 3 of Luz et al. (11,415,051). Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10, 11, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, l. 2 “to the supply conduit downstream of the location on the supply conduit” is believed to be in error for --to the supply conduit downstream of the location of the filter on the supply conduit-- to clarify the claim.
Claim 10, l. 2 “the lubricant entering the supply pump from the bypass conduit from flowing” is believed to be in error for --the lubricant entering the supply [[pump]] conduit from the bypass conduit from flowing-- to correct a typo. As shown in Applicant’s Fig. 2, the check valve (136) is located to prevent the lubricant entering the supply conduit (112) from the bypass conduit (132 at location 134) from flowing back into the reservoir (110), i.e., from 136[Wingdings font/0xE0]116[Wingdings font/0xE0]130[Wingdings font/0xE0]114[Wingdings font/0xE0]110.
Claim 11, ll. 8 – 9 “the reservoir to a component via a supply conduit” is believed to be in error for --the reservoir to the one or more components via a supply conduit-- because Claim 11, l. 5 recited ‘one or more components’.
Claim 11, ll. 10 – 11 “from the component; and” is believed to be in error for --from the one or more components; and-- because Claim 11, l. 5 recited ‘one or more components’.
Claim 18, l. 2 “to the supply conduit downstream of the location on the supply conduit” is believed to be in error for --to the supply conduit downstream of the location of the filter on the supply conduit-- to clarify the claim.
Claim 20, l. 2 “the lubricant entering the supply pump from the bypass conduit” is believed to be in error for --the lubricant entering the supply [[pump]] conduit from the bypass conduit-- to correct a typo. As shown in Applicant’s Fig. 2, the check valve (136) is located to prevent the lubricant entering the supply conduit (112) from the bypass conduit (132 at location 134) from flowing back into the reservoir (110), i.e., from 136[Wingdings font/0xE0]116[Wingdings font/0xE0]130[Wingdings font/0xE0]114[Wingdings font/0xE0]110.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luz et al. (11,415,051) in view of Nozawa et al. (6,378,302) or alternatively, in view of Lacher et al. (9,382,925).
Regarding Claim 1, Luz teaches, in Figs. 1 - 3, the invention as claimed, including a system (100 – Fig. 2) for lubricating a gas turbine engine (10 – Fig. 1), the system comprising: a reservoir (110 – Fig. 2) to store a lubricant; a supply pump (114) to pump the lubricant from the reservoir (110) to a component (102, 104, 106, 108, 116) of the gas turbine engine (100) via a supply conduit (112); a scavenge pump (124, 146, 148, 150) to pump the lubricant from the component (102, 104, 106, 108, 116); and a valve (130) fluidly coupled (via line 152) with the scavenge pump (124, 146, 148, 150), the valve (130) to control a flow of the lubricant to the reservoir (110 – Col. 9, ll. 15 - 20); the valve (130) having a supply position (138) to a bypass position (140), wherein in the bypass position (140) the valve (130) fluidly couples the lubricant flowing through the scavenge pump (124, 146, 148, 150) into a bypass conduit (132 – Col. 9, ll. 30 - 35), the bypass conduit (132) extending from the valve (130) to a location (134) downstream of the supply pump (114).
Luz teaches a system for lubricating a gas turbine engine, i.e., base system, upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement. Luz is silent on an external pressure source coupled with the valve, the external pressure source to provide a pressure to actuate the valve from the supply position to the bypass position.
Nozawa teaches, in Col. 9, l. 65 to Col. 10, ll. 15 and Figs. 1, 4, 7, and 8, a similar valve (11), e.g., a 2-position, 3-way valve, coupled to an external pressure source (F), i.e., external hydraulic signal F, the external pressure source (F) to provide a pressure (hydraulic pressure) to actuate the valve (11) from a first position (I) to a second position (II). Luz further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 20 – 25, that the valve (130) is configured as a two-position/three-way valve. Alternatively, Lacher teaches, in Col. 6, l. 45 to Col. 7, ll. 10 and Figs. 3, 5B, 5C, and 7, a similar valve (190), e.g., a two-position, five-way valve, coupled to an external pressure source (198), i.e., external hydraulic signal, the external pressure source (198) to provide a pressure (hydraulic pressure) to actuate the valve (190) from a first position (192) to a second position (194).
Thus, improving a particular system (for lubricating a gas turbine engine), based upon the teachings of such improvement in Nozawa or Lacher, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, i.e., applying these known improvement techniques in the same manner to the system for lubricating a gas turbine engine of Luz, and the results would have been predictable and readily recognized, that coupling an external pressure source to the valve of Luz would have facilitated active control over switching the valve from the supply position to the bypass position by providing pressure from the external pressure source to actuate the valve. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Regarding Claim 11, Luz teaches, in Figs. 1 - 3, the invention as claimed, including a gas turbine engine (10 – Fig. 1), comprising: a compressor section (32); a combustion section (34); a turbine section (36); one or more components (102, 104, 106, 108, 116) operatively coupled with at least one of the compressor section (32), the combustion section (34), or the turbine section (36); a reservoir (110 – Fig. 2) to store a lubricant; a supply pump (114) to pump the lubricant from the reservoir (110) to a component (102, 104, 106, 108, 116) of the gas turbine engine (100) via a supply conduit (112); a scavenge pump (124, 146, 148, 150) to pump the lubricant from the component (102, 104, 106, 108, 116); and a valve (130) fluidly coupled (via line 152) with the scavenge pump (124, 146, 148, 150), the valve (130) to control a flow of the lubricant to the reservoir (110 – Col. 9, ll. 15 - 20); the valve (130) having a supply position (138) to a bypass position (140), wherein in the bypass position (140) the valve (130) fluidly couples the lubricant flowing through the scavenge pump (124, 146, 148, 150) into a bypass conduit (132 – Col. 9, ll. 30 - 35), the bypass conduit (132) extending from the valve (130) to a location (134) downstream of the supply pump (114).
Luz teaches a gas turbine engine, i.e., base device, upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement. Luz is silent on an external pressure source coupled with the valve, the external pressure source to provide a pressure to actuate the valve from the supply position to the bypass position.
Nozawa teaches, in Col. 9, l. 65 to Col. 10, ll. 15 and Figs. 1, 4, 7, and 8, a similar valve (11), e.g., a 2-position, 3-way valve, coupled to an external pressure source (F), i.e., external hydraulic signal F, the external pressure source (F) to provide a pressure (hydraulic pressure) to actuate the valve (11) from a first position (I) to a second position (II). Luz further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 20 – 25, that the valve (130) is configured as a two-position/three-way valve. Alternatively, Lacher teaches, in Col. 6, l. 45 to Col. 7, ll. 10 and Figs. 3, 5B, 5C, and 7, a similar valve (190), e.g., a two-position, five-way valve, coupled to an external pressure source (198), i.e., external hydraulic signal, the external pressure source (198) to provide a pressure (hydraulic pressure) to actuate the valve (190) from a first position (192) to a second position (194).
Thus, improving a particular device (gas turbine engine), based upon the teachings of such improvement in Nozawa or Lacher, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, i.e., applying these known improvement techniques in the same manner to the gas turbine engine of Luz, and the results would have been predictable and readily recognized, that coupling an external pressure source to the valve of Luz would have facilitated active control over switching the valve from the supply position to the bypass position by providing pressure from the external pressure source to actuate the valve. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Re Claims 2 and 12, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, including wherein the external pressure source provides the pressure to actuate the valve, refer to the rejections of Claims 1 and 11 above.
Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, as discussed above, is silent on said external pressure source provides said pressure to actuate said valve to the bypass position when a discharge pressure from the supply pump to the (Claim 2) component and (Claim 12) one or more components (Claims 2 and 12) is below a threshold value. Luz further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 50 – 60, that “…the valve 130 may be configured in any other suitable manner. For example, in one embodiment, the biasing element 144 is configured to bias the valve 130 towards its normal position 138.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, with said external pressure source provides said pressure to actuate said valve to the bypass position when a discharge pressure from the supply pump to the component or the one or more components is below a threshold value (any value) because Luz teaches that the valve may be configured in suitable manner such as where the biasing element (144 – spring) biased the valve towards the supply/normal position so supplying said pressure to said valve would have facilitated overcoming the force of the biasing element and switching said valve from the supply/normal position to the bypass position because the valve only had two positions, i.e., supply position or bypass position, and Luz teaches that the valve may be configured in any suitable manner.
Re Claims 3 and 13, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Luz further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 45 – 50, wherein, in response to a discharge pressure from the supply pump (114) exceeding a threshold value (any value), the valve (130) actuates to the supply position (138 – normal or first position).
Re Claims 4, 5, 14, and 15, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Luz further teaches, in Fig. 2 and Col. 9, ll. 35 – 50, further (Claims 4 and 14) including a fluid passage (142) extending from the supply conduit (112) between the supply pump (114) and the valve (130), wherein the lubricant flows within the fluid passage (142), and wherein the lubricant within the fluid passage (142) partially actuates the valve (130) to the bypass position (140). Luz further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 50 – 60, that “…the valve 130 may be configured in any other suitable manner. For example, in one embodiment, the biasing element 144 is configured to bias the valve 130 towards its normal position 138.” Luz further teaches, in Col. 11, ll. 15 – 20, that “For example, the lubricant within the passage 142 acts or otherwise exerts a force on a spool (not shown) of the valve 130”.
Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, as discussed above, is silent on (Claims 4 and 14) said lubricant within said fluid passage partially actuates said valve to the bypass position and (Claims 5 and 15) wherein the external pressure source supplements the pressure supplied by the lubricant within the fluid passage to fully actuate the valve to the bypass position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, with said lubricant within said fluid passage partially actuates said valve to the bypass position and wherein the external pressure source supplements the pressure supplied by the lubricant within the fluid passage to fully actuate the valve to the bypass position because Luz teaches that the valve may be configured in any other suitable manner such as where the biasing element biased the valve towards the supply/normal position so supplying a combination of said external pressure and pressure from said lubricant within said fluid passage to said valve would have facilitated overcoming the force of the biasing element and switching said valve from the supply/normal position to the bypass position because the valve only had two positions, i.e., supply position or bypass position, and Luz teaches that the valve may be configured in any suitable manner.
Re Claims 6 and 16, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Luz further teaches, in Fig. 2, wherein the bypass conduit (132) extends from the valve (130) to a location (134) on the supply conduit (112) downstream of the supply pump (114).
Re Claims 7 and 17, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Luz further teaches, in Fig. 2, further including a lubricant filter (118), the lubricant filter (118) to filter the lubricant from the supply conduit (112) before supplying the lubricant to the (Claim 7) component (102, 104, 106, 108) and (Claim 17) one or more components (102, 104, 106, 108). Luz further teaches, in Col. 7, ll. 45 – 50, that “In this respect, the lubricant filter 118 is configured to remove particulates and other contaminants present within the lubricant flowing through the supply conduit 112”.
Re Claims 8 and 18, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Luz further teaches, in Fig. 2, further including a lubricant cooler (120) fluidly coupled to the supply conduit (112) downstream of the location (134) on the supply conduit (112) downstream of the supply pump (114), wherein after filtering (118), the lubricant cooler (120) cools the lubricant before supplying the lubricant to the component (102, 104, 106, 108). Luz further teaches, in Col. 7, ll. 50 – 55, that “In this respect, the lubricant cooler 120 is configured to cool the lubricant flowing through the supply conduit 112 before the lubricant reaches the AGB 108 and the sumps 102, 104, 106.”
Re Claims 9 and 19, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Luz further teaches, in Fig. 2, further including a check valve (136) fluidly coupled to the supply conduit (112) between the supply pump (114) and the location (134) where the bypass conduit (132) fluidly couples to the supply conduit (112).
Re Claims 10 and 20, Luz, i.v., Nozawa or Lacher, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Luz further teaches, in Fig. 2, wherein the check valve (136) is configured to prevent the lubricant entering the supply pump (114) from the bypass conduit (132) from flowing back into the reservoir (110). Luz further teaches, in Col. 9, ll. 10 – 15, that “As such, the check valve 136 is configured to prevent the lubricant entering the supply conduit 112 from the bypass conduit 132 from flowing back into the deicing circuit 116”. Luz further teaches, in Col. 10, l. 65 to Col. 11, l. 5, that “As such, the check valve 136 is positioned between the location 135 and the supply pump 114 to prevent the lubricant entering the supply conduit 112 from the bypass conduit 132 from flowing back into the reservoir 110.”
Correspondence
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741