DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the external ports must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from claim 20. No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the limitations of claims 17 & 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from claims 17 & 18. No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 19 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
The examiner is interpreting the recited limitation “breakout” as also being a header in line with the applicant’s disclosure on page 7 last paragraph “breakouts or headers”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by applicant cited Little (US2019/0293884A1).
A system comprising:
a first cage-side connector (figures 4B at 100, 5B & 21);
a second cage-side connector (figures 4B at 100, 5B & 21);
a first PCB-side connector (figures 2, 3A & 23A); and
a plurality of cables (154, 194, 840; each cable 194 is composed of two separate cables unnumbered see figures 3A/B), wherein:
a first cable of the plurality of cables is connected to the first cage-side connector (figures 21, 25 & 39) and the first PCB-side connector (figures 1, 2 & 3A), and
a second cable of the plurality of cables is connected to the second cage-side connector (figures 21, 25 & 39) and the first PCB-side connector (figures 1, 2 & 3A).
Claim 2 Little discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a second PCB-side connector (figures 2, 3A & 23A, show multiple PCB (70) side connectors (750)), wherein a third cable of the plurality of cables is connected to the second PCB-side connector and one of the first and second cage-side connectors (e.g., fig. 1, 194 connected to 192/170 and 80).
Claim 5 Little discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first cage-side connector is one or more of an OSFP connector, a QSFP connector (Abstract “QSFP module”) Abstract , a QSFP-DD connector, and an OSFP-XD connector.
Claim 6 Little the system of claim 1, wherein the first cage-side connector is a QSFP connector (Abstract “QSFP module”).
Claim 7 Little discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first cage-side connector is configured to mate with one or more of an OSFP pluggable module and a QSFP pluggable module (Abstract “QSFP module”).
Claim 8 Little the system of claim 1, further comprising a second PCB-side connector (figures 3A & 23A show multiple PCB (70, 710) connectors (192/170)), wherein: a third cable (multiple cables in figures 3A & 23A plus other figures) connects the first cage-side connector to the second PCB-side connector (e.g., multiple 750’s), and a fourth cable (multiple cables in figures 3A & 23A) connects the second cage-side connector to the second PCB-side connector (e.g., multiple 750’s).
Claim 11 Little discloses the system of claim 8, further comprising: a third PCB-side connector (figures 3A & 23A show multiple PCB (70, 710) connectors (192/170)); and a fourth PCB-side connector (figures 3A & 23A show multiple PCB (70, 710) connectors (192/170)), wherein: a fifth cable connects the first cage-side connector to the third PCB-side connector, and a sixth cable (multiple cables in figures 3A & 23A) connects the first cage-side connector to the fourth PCB-side connector (e.g., multiple 750’s).
Claim 17 Little discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a third cage-side connector (fig. 1 shows at least 16 cage (80) side connectors, unnumbered), wherein: a third cable (each cable 194 has two cables see for example fig. 3A) connects the first cage-side connector (say top left corner unnumbered connector in fig. 3A) to the first PCB-side connector (192/170).
Claim 18 Little discloses the system of claim 17, further comprising a fourth cage-side connector (fig. 3A shows at least 16 cage side connectors, unnumbered), wherein: a third cable (fig. 3A for example shows two cables (first & third) connected to a PCB connector 192/170) connects the first cage-side connector to the first PCB-side connector.
Claim(s) 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by applicant cited Little (US2019/0293884A1).
A connection system comprising:
a first cage-side connector (figures 4B at 100, 5B & 21);
a second cage-side connector (figures 4B at 100, 5B & 21);
a PCB-side connector (figures 2, 3A & 23A); and
a plurality of cables (154, 194, 840), wherein:
a first cable of the plurality of cables is connected to the first cage-side connector (figures 21, 25 & 39) and the PCB-side connector (figures 1, 2 & 3A), and
a second cable of the plurality of cables is connected to the second cage-side connector (figures 21, 25 & 39) and the PCB-side connector (figures 1, 2 & 3A).
Claim(s) 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by applicant cited Little (US2019/0293884A1).
system comprising:
a first external port (fig. 5A 104/105, “lower mating ports 104, 105”);
a second external port (fig. 5A 104/105 “lower mating ports 104, 105”);
a PCB (70, 90, 312, 510, 710); and
a connector system connecting the first external port and the second external port to the PCB (e.g., figures 12A & 23A), the connector system comprising:
a first cage-side connector (figures 4B at 100, 5B & 21) connected to the first external port;
a second cage-side connector (figures 4B at 100, 5B & 21) connected to the second external port;
a first PCB-side connector connected to the PCB (e.g., fig. 1); and
a plurality of cables (fig. 1 at 194; fig. 23A at 840), wherein:
a first cable (fig. 1 one of cables 194) of the plurality of cables is connected to the first cage-side connector (unnumbered connectors back of 80) and the PCB (70), and
a second cable (fig. 1 one of cables 194) of the plurality of cables is connected to the second cage- side connector (unnumbered connectors back of 80) and the PCB (70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Little (US2019/0293884A1) in view of Annis et al (US9742081)().
Little does not disclose the first PCB-side connector comprises one or more pins in a first pattern and the second PCB-side connector comprises one or more pins in a second pattern.
Annis discloses two PCB-side connectors one comprising one or more pins in a first pattern and the second PCB-side connector comprises one or more pins in a second pattern (Abstract last sentence). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in the electrical connector art to use two PCB connectors with different pin patterns. One motivation for this would be to expand the applicable uses of the device. This combination follows the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim 10 Little discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the first PCB-side connector is configured to mate with a first breakout on a PCB, and the second PCB-side connector is configured to mate with a second breakout on the PCB (figure 3A is a good example of first and second PCB side connectors (192) mating with first and second breakouts (170)).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Little (US2019/0293884A1) in view of Locati (US5129831).
Little does not disclose that the first PCB-side connector comprises one or more keys of a first pattern and wherein the one or more keys of the first pattern align with one or more holes associated with a first breakout on a PCB.
Locati discloses an electrical connector assembly (e.g., fig. 8) wherein a first PCB-side connector (116) comprises one or more keys (24) of a first pattern and wherein the one or more keys of the first pattern align with one or more holes (118) associated with a first breakout on a PCB (122). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in this art to include a keying technique as taught by Locati with the connector system of Little. A motivation for this would be to ensure that an installer does not insert the wrong kind of connector. This combination follows the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Little (US2019/0293884A1).
Little does not disclose that the cables are copper.
At the time the invention was made it would have been routine knowledge to one of ordinary skill have the cabling made with copper. A motivation for choosing copper would be to choose a cabling that is tried and true for many years. Well settled case law has shown that merely selecting a known material on the basis of suitability for its intended use is not grounds for a patent, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 16 Little discloses the first cage-side connector, the second cage-side connector, and the first PCB-side connector are internal to a computing system (last sentence of Abstract & for example figure 3A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL C. ZARROLI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658B
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /M.C.Z/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 .