DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20200001721A1 to Merryweather (herein after”Merryweather”) in view of CN215291981U to Zheng et al. (herein after “Zheng”).
Regarding claim 1, Merryweather teaches A control method for performing an ice removal operation on a handle assembly of a vehicle, the method comprising (See Merryweather Abstract An assembly, comprising a movable door assembly and heating element. the movable door assembly is configured to be disposed on the outside of the vehicle. the heating element is coupled to the moveable door assembly, and is configured to receives energy from the battery is set on the vehicle, and at least a portion of the movable door assembly for heating.) :
the vehicle standby mode is configured to preheat the handle assembly at a second power within a predetermined period of time before the vehicle is used (See Merryweather para[0049] Alternatively or additionally, the controller 950 may communicate with a dash switch 962 allowing the user to activate the heater, for example, in a pre-heat mode for a predetermined set period of time in anticipation of opening the door to provide access to the charging port 912. It may be noted that this function may be implemented via wireless data communication from a smart phone application or the like allowing the car to be remotely “warmed up”.)
However, Merryweather does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach , receiving a control mode signal, the control mode signal being a signal for selecting one control mode from preset control modes to perform the ice removal operation, wherein the control modes comprise at least two of a monitoring mode, a vehicle standby mode, and a rapid deicing mode, wherein the monitoring mode is configured to monitor a frozen state of the handle assembly in real time and heat the handle assembly at a first power according to the frozen state of the handle assembly, the rapid deicing mode is configured to heat the handle assembly at a third power when the vehicle is in use. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Zheng teaches SO1, receiving a control mode signal, the control mode signal being a signal for selecting one control mode from preset control modes to perform the ice removal operation, wherein the control modes comprise at least two of a monitoring mode, a vehicle standby mode, and a rapid deicing mode, (see Zheng claim 1 the energy storage module is electrically connected with the heating module and the identification module respectively and supplies current to the heating module and the identification module)
wherein the monitoring mode is configured to monitor a frozen state of the handle assembly in real time and heat the handle assembly at a first power according to the frozen state of the handle assembly, (see Zheng claim 1 the identification module is used for detecting whether frost exists on the surface of the transmission mechanism;
a heating module for generating heat to melt the frost, para [0006]The identification module is used to detect whether there is frost on the surface of the transmission mechanism; the heating module has a heating surface for melting frost; the energy storage module is electrically connected to the heating module and the identification module respectively and supplies current to the heating module and the identification module; the control module is electrically connected to the identification module, the heating module and the energy storage module respectively, and the control module controls the heating module to turn on and off according to the information fed back by the identification module)
the rapid deicing mode is configured to heat the handle assembly at a third power when the vehicle is in use (See Zheng para[0059] As shown in Figures 1 to 3, the door handle 20a has a heating module 233 that is an electric infrared heating element, which means that the ice is broken by infrared radiation heating. Compared to resistance heating, it has greater penetrating power, can heat both the inside and outside simultaneously, resulting in uniform and thorough heating; it does not require a heat transfer medium, has good thermal efficiency; and it is easy to control the temperature, heats up rapidly, and is highly safe); and S02, executing the control mode selected in step SO1. (See Zheng control module).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Merryweather’s assembly includes a movable door assembly and a heating element with Zheng’s observation of the frozen state and heating based on the state in order allow to control the temperature, heats up rapidly, and is highly safe (See para[0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. Nevertheless, Zheng same field of endeavor teaches wherein step S02 comprises: S03-1, identifying a handle temperature (see Zheng para[0018] the identification module is an icing sensor or a temperature sensor) and a battery level when the control mode is the monitoring mode. (See Zheng para [0068] Under the above settings, the independent energy storage module 235 can ensure that the battery has sufficient power when the vehicle is turned off, preventing the vehicle from failing to start due to battery depletion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Merryweather’s assembly includes a movable door assembly and a heating element with Zheng’s observation of the frozen state and heating based on the state in order allow to control the temperature, heats up rapidly, and is highly safe (See para[0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. Merryweather teaches wherein step S02 further comprises: S03-2, calculating a heating duration based on the identified handle temperature and the identified battery level if the identified handle temperature is lower than a preset temperature and the identified battery level is greater than a preset battery level; S03-3, heating the handle assembly at the first power for the heating duration (See Merryweather para[0048] Accordingly, heat is provided when the movable door 130 is in the open position with the cavity 112 exposed to the elements, while not running down the battery 108.) ; andS03-4, repeating step S03-2 and step S03-3. (see para[0049] The controller 950 may monitor the state of the battery and prevent activation of the heater element 942 if the battery power is below a predetermined level, as another example, if the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is above freezing.).
Regarding claim 4, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. Merryweather teaches wherein the preset temperature is 0 degree Celsius. (See Merryweather para[0049] as another example, if the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is above freezing.).
Regarding claim 5, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. However, Merryweather does not teach wherein step S02 further comprises: S03-5, sending a notification signal to a user if the identified battery level is not greater than a preset battery level. Nevertheless, Zheng same field of endeavor teaches wherein step S02 further comprises: S03-5, sending a notification signal to a user if the identified battery level is not greater than a preset battery level (See Zheng para [0068] Under the above settings, the independent energy storage module 235 can ensure that the battery has sufficient power when the vehicle is turned off, preventing the vehicle from failing to start due to battery depletion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Merryweather’s assembly includes a movable door assembly and a heating element with Zheng’s observation of the frozen state and heating based on the state in order allow to control the temperature, heats up rapidly, and is highly safe (See para[0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. However, Merryweather does not teach wherein step S02 comprises:SO5-1, determining whether there is a trigger signal when the control mode is the rapid deicing mode. Nevertheless, Zheng same field of endeavor teaches wherein step S02 comprises:SO5-1, determining whether there is a trigger signal when the control mode is the rapid deicing mode (see Zheng first switch, second switch, para [0066] The control module controls the opening and closing of the first switch 250 to supply power to the heating module 233 and control the heating module 233 to heat it. Para[0070] the heating module 233 is electrically connected to the controller via a first switch 250, trigger signal is electronic input or circuit system to perform as switching actions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Merryweather’s assembly includes a movable door assembly and a heating element with Zheng’s observation of the frozen state and heating based on the state in order allow to control the temperature, heats up rapidly, and is highly safe (See para[0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. Merryweather teaches wherein step S02 further comprises: S05-2, driving a handle to be deployed if the trigger signal is identified; S05-3, heating the handle assembly at the third power for a preset heating duration if the handle is not successfully deployed; andS05-4, driving the handle again to be deployed, and repeating step S05-3 until the handle is successfully deployed. (See Merryweather para[0049] for example, in a pre-heat mode for a predetermined set period of time in anticipation of opening the door to provide access to the charging port 912, para[0030] the closed position of the door 226 may be detected and/or signaled by activation of a door switch 236 of the type generally known in the art.).
Regarding claim 11, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. Merryweather teaches wherein the handle assembly is configured to perform an ice removal operation using the control method according to claim 1. (See Merryweather para[0004] Such formation of ice may make removal of a charging device more difficult, and/or may inhibit proper closing and sealing of the door after charging is complete. As another example, ice may form while the door is closed, thereby inhibiting opening of the door).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Merryweather in view of Zheng and DE 102008061773 A1 to Humburg (herein after “Humburg”).
Regarding claim 11, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. However, Merryweather does not teach wherein step S02 comprises: S04-1, receiving a vehicle usage time signal set by a user, and calculating the duration from the current time to the time when the vehicle is used, when the control mode is the vehicle standby mode. ((See Humburg para[0002] The general procedure is that a user specifies a planned start time for use or enters it into a vehicle heater., para[0026] This first preheating time interval I<sub>V1</sub> defines a period of time during which the vehicle heater 12 must be operated before a planned start of use time t<sub>NA</sub> recognizable in Fig. 2 in order to be able to provide the thermal conditions desired by the user in the vehicle at this planned start of use time t<sub>NA</sub>. The point in time at which the first preheating time interval I<sub>V1</sub> is determined can, for example, be fixed before the planned start of use, whereby this point in time must be at least so far in advance of the planned start of use that it is ensured that a maximum expected or permissible first preheating time interval I<sub>V1</sub> is available before the planned start of use t<sub>NA</sub>.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Merryweather’s assembly includes a movable door assembly and a heating element with Humburg’s duration of heating and preheating and usage of vehicle in order to allow to operate at least one heating device before the planned start of use (see para[0004]) and to a vehicle temperature control system by means of which a vehicle can be conditioned before a planned commencement of use (see para[0001]).
Regarding claim 7, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. However, Merryweather does not teach wherein step S02 further comprises: S04-2, heating the handle assembly at the second power for a preset heating duration if the calculated duration to the time when the vehicle is used is less than a preset duration and a handle is unable to be normally deployed; andS04-3, repeating step S04-2 until the handle is able to be normally deployed. Nevertheless, Humburg same field of endeavor teaches wherein step S02 further comprises: S04-2, heating the handle assembly at the second power for a preset heating duration if the calculated duration to the time when the vehicle is used is less than a preset duration and a handle is unable to be normally deployed; andS04-3, repeating step S04-2 until the handle is able to be normally deployed see Humburg para[0005] In connection with such a heating device to be operated for preconditioning, an independent preheating time interval is defined, and this heating device is operated for a period of time assigned to this preheating time interval before the planned start of use, in order to ensure that the assembly to be heated by this heating device is also in a suitable condition, in particular a comfortable condition for a user of a vehicle, when use is started).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Merryweather’s assembly includes a movable door assembly and a heating element with Humburg’s duration of heating and preheating and usage of vehicle in order to allow to operate at least one heating device before the planned start of use (see para[0004]) and to a vehicle temperature control system by means of which a vehicle can be conditioned before a planned commencement of use (see para[0001]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Merryweather in view of Zheng and JP H07119110 A to Sayama et al. (herein after “Sayama”).
Regarding claim 10, Merryweather and Zheng remain applied as claim 1. However, Merryweather does not teach wherein the third power is greater than the second power and, and the second power is greater than the first power. Nevertheless, Sayama same field of endeavor teaches wherein the third power is greater than the second power and, and the second power is greater than the first power (see Samaya para[0012] Normally, road heating uses 200 W/m2 of power, but as a result of detailed preliminary experiments conducted by the inventors, snow melting operation is performed by switching between four stages: 100%, 62.5%, 25%, and 0%., para[0013] 25% of the preheating power is supplied to the heating elements, para[0013] the road surface temperature suitable for snow melting can be maintained with less power supply) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Merryweather’s assembly includes a movable door assembly and a heating element with Sayama’s heating power higher than preheating power, preheating power higher than melting at low power in order to allow to remove snow from the pavement surface of roads, to remove snow from the pavement surface of roads (See para[0002]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666