Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “based on the power mode”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
- For examination purposes, the “power mode” will be interpreted as a state or mode defined in some manner by the amount of power required or consumed while operating in that power mode.
Claim 3 recites “to receive setting information on the power mode from the outside”. The term “from the outside” is indefinite as it is unclear outside of what (the controller, the external device (e.g. host), etc.) the setting information is received from.
Claim 20 recites “from an outside” and “from the outside”, similar to claim 3. This claim language is indefinite for similar reasoning as discussed above.
- For examination purposes, the “from the outside” limitation of claims 3 and 20 will be interpreted as from outside of the storage device.
Claim 20 further recites, “a history that has entered the low power mode by satisfying a low power mode entry condition without receiving of the low power mode entry request”. This recitation does not specify what has entered the low power mode. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to clearly recite that the storage device is the component that the history is referring to as discussed in paragraph [0009] of the specification; “a history of the storage device entering the low-power mode by satisfying a low-power mode entry condition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2025/0103222.
Per Claim 1, Tseng discloses:
a storage device (storage device 10), comprising:
a memory for storing data (rewriteable non-volatile memory module 43);
and a controller (memory control circuit unit 42)
communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to control the memory for at least one of inputting or outputting of the data (Paragraph 33)
by determining whether to activate at least one of a plurality of low power mode delay techniques (Paragraphs 61-66; The memory storage device 10 may switch between a normal mode and a power saving mode based on a plurality of operation modes. Each of the operation modes comprise their own “waiting time” which represents an amount of time before the memory storage device enters the power saving mode of the respective operation mode.)
based on the power mode (Paragraph 61 introduces the operation modes. Paragraph 85 equates a first operation mode with a mode that avoids unnecessary power consumption. This meets the interpretation outlined above with respect to the claimed “power mode”. Paragraph 93 further discusses operation modes in reference to power states.).
Per Claim 20, Tseng discloses:
a storage device for processing data (storage device 10),
wherein the storage device is configured to determine whether to delay an entry into a low power mode (Paragraphs 61-66; The memory storage device 10 may switch between a normal mode and a power saving mode based on a plurality of operation modes. Each of the operation modes comprise their own “waiting time” which represents an amount of time before the memory storage device enters the power saving mode of the respective operation mode.)
based on at least one of
a history of receiving a low power mode entry request received from an outside,
a history that has entered the low power mode by satisfying a low power mode entry condition without receiving of the low power mode entry request,
and a history of receiving a command from the outside (Paragraphs 66-67; The waiting time can be dynamically adjusted according to a current/practical need. This reads on the claimed “history of receiving a command from the outside” as a command/instruction history of reads/writes from the host (See Paragraph 54)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2025/0103222 in view of Wang et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0289017.
Per Claim 3, Tseng discloses the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive information from the outside (Paragraph 43, Figure 5; Host interface 52 is coupled to memory management circuit 51 of the memory control circuit unit 42 and is configured to receive and identify instructions and data transmitted by the host system 11. Paragraph 66; The memory management circuit 51 may dynamically decide to operate the memory storage device 10 in the first operation mode or the second operation mode according to a current need.).
Tseng does not specifically teach that the instructions/data transmitted by the host system 11 to the storage device 10 are directly related to setting information regarding the power mode.
However, Wang, of a possible common inventive entity as Tseng since Figures 1-6 and many teachings of each reference are identical, teaches that memory storage device 10 receives a performance match command (CMD) from host system 11. The CMD comprises performance requirement information for configuring the memory storage device 10, including power consumption setting information (paragraphs 51-53, 63, and 64, Figures 7 and 8).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the information “from the outside” of Tseng to include performance/power related setting information, as taught by Wang, because it allows for dynamically adjusting the memory storage device to meet the requirements of the host system to improve the operating performance and avoid compatibility problems between the memory storage device and the host system (Wang, Paragraph 65).
Per Claim 13, Tseng discloses a method for operating a storage device (storage device 10), comprising: receiving information at the storage device (Paragraph 43, Figure 5; Host interface 52 is coupled to memory management circuit 51 of the memory control circuit unit 42 and is configured to receive and identify instructions and data transmitted by the host system 11. Paragraph 66; The memory management circuit 51 may dynamically decide to operate the memory storage device 10 in the first operation mode or the second operation mode according to a current need.); and determining whether to activate at least one of a plurality of low power mode delay techniques (Paragraphs 61-66; The memory storage device 10 may switch between a normal mode and a power saving mode based on a plurality of operation modes. Each of the operation modes comprise their own “waiting time” which represents an amount of time before the memory storage device enters the power saving mode of the respective operation mode.) based on the power mode (Paragraph 61 introduces the operation modes. Paragraph 85 equates a first operation mode with a mode that avoids unnecessary power consumption. This meets the interpretation outlined above with respect to the claimed “power mode”. Paragraph 93 further discusses operation modes in reference to power states.).
Tseng does not specifically teach that the instructions/data transmitted by the host system 11 to the storage device 10 are directly related to setting information regarding the power mode.
However, Wang, of a possible common inventive entity as Tseng since Figures 1-6 and many teachings of each reference are identical, teaches that memory storage device 10 receives a performance match command (CMD) from host system 11. The CMD comprises performance requirement information for configuring the memory storage device 10, including power consumption setting information (paragraphs 51-53, 63, and 64, Figures 7 and 8).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the information “from the outside” of Tseng to include performance/power related setting information, as taught by Wang, because it allows for dynamically adjusting the memory storage device to meet the requirements of the host system to improve the operating performance and avoid compatibility problems between the memory storage device and the host system (Wang, Paragraph 65).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 2 and 14, no combination of Tseng and the prior art teach or make obvious the three claimed low-power mode delay techniques and their respective requirements for determining whether to delay entry into a low-power mode.
With respect to claim 4, no combination of Tseng and the prior art teach or make obvious the normal and power saving modes of Tseng comprising a greater number of low power mode delay techniques activated in one of the normal or power saving modes being greater than the number of low power mode delay techniques activated for the other mode.
Claims 5-12 inherit the allowable subject matter of claim 2.
Claims 15-19 inherit the allowable subject matter of claim 14.
- Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175