DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated June 27, 2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5 and 52 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1, 5 and 52 are presently under examination.
Priority
The present application claims priority to provisional application No. 63/666,009 filed on 06/28/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLong et. al (US 2021/0363141).
For claim 1, DeLong teaches compounds that are inhibitors of both Rho kinase and of a monoamine transporter (MAT). The compounds are effective in treating several diseases like glaucoma (see abstract).
Among the compounds disclosed, the authors cite compound 175 (see page 29, Table 4):
Compound 175 is disclosed as a racemate (i.e. 50% R and 50% S), not as a pure (S) enantiomer like in instant claim 1.
However, DeLong further teaches: “when racemates exists, each enantiomer or diastereomer may be separated used, or they may be combined in any proportion” (see [0084]).
Finally, as legal authority the examiner cites In re Adamson, 125 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1960a. The case sets forth the requirements of patentability regarding enantiomers as follows: “The existence of a racemate is, in and of itself, sufficient to render obvious any individual enantiomer contained within; no express suggestion of isomer separation is needed”. See p. 235, ¶ 1. In other words, once a racemic mixture has shown some efficacy against any disease, it will be obvious to resolve the mixture and try each enantiomer individually and expect at least one of them to be efficacious.
All this will result in the practice of claim 1 with a reasonable expectation of success.
2) Claim(s) 5 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLong et. al (US 2021/0363141) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Bastin et. al. (Organic Process Research and Development (2000) 4:427-435).
DeLong teaches all the structural limitations of claims 5 and 52, except for the monomesylate or dimesylate salts. However, DeLong further teaches making salts of the above compounds (See for example [0084]).
Further, Bastin teaches that: “the selection of an appropriate salt for a new chemical entity provides the pharmaceutical chemist the opportunity to modify the characteristics of the potential drug substance and to permit the development of dosage forms with good bioavailability, stability, manufacturability, and patient compliance (see abstract). Among the commonly used salts, Bastin discloses mesylate (see Table 1 on page428).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art, to make any salt of a known biologically active compound, including the (S) enantiomer of compound 175 disclosed by DeLong, in order to improve its dosage forms, bioavailability, stability, manufacturability, and patient compliance, thus resulting in the practice of claims 5 and 52 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
February 12, 2026.