DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casey (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0224309).
Regarding claim 1, Casey teaches a method comprising: receiving a path and a schedule of a vehicle (Paragraph 0203 In one or more examples, the pilot 904 may submit flight plans, configure aircrafts and radios, and/or input throughput requirements. Input from pilot 904 may be used by airspace integrator 906 to implement communication channels of wireless network operators 902.); receiving regulatory wireless requirements associated with the path (Paragraph 0205 In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include information from global stakeholders 910. Global stakeholders 910 may include air traffic controls, NASA, national regulators, military flight operators, aerospace integrators, weather services, EASA, and unmanned traffic management systems. In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include rules related to countries' civil airspace 908, The airspace integrator 906 may use the integrated information from global industry stakeholder 910 and civil airspace 908 to allocate physical space for aircrafts, as well as assist the wireless network operators 902 with their spectrum management systems to ensure predictable flight performances based on submitted flight plans.); creating a profile indicating wireless system configurations for a wireless system associated with the vehicle based on the path, the schedule, and the regulatory wireless requirements (Paragraph 0151 Before the flight, and as described below, the pilot can interface with the spectrum management system and digital twin to receive an RF spectrum channel allocation for use during their flight based on their filed flight plan and other variables.); and configuring the wireless system based on the profile (Paragraph 0151 During the flight, the spectrum management system 202 can provision the allocated RF spectrum channel to both the aircraft and the pilot to establish a continuous communications link and the spectrum management system can monitor the link during the flight to make sure it is performing within specification.).
Regarding claim 2, Casey teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Casey further teaches wherein the path comprises a route indicating country borders that the vehicle will cross (Paragraph 0167 In one or more examples, when a pilot 302 submits a flight plan, the system can query the geofences 306 to make sure there is RF availability throughout the path of the plan and at all altitudes expressed in the flight plan. Paragraph 0205 In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include information from global stakeholders 910. Global stakeholders 910 may include air traffic controls, NASA, national regulators, military flight operators, aerospace integrators, weather services, EASA, and unmanned traffic management systems. In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include rules related to countries' civil airspace 908, The airspace integrator 906 may use the integrated information from global industry stakeholder 910 and civil airspace 908 to allocate physical space for aircrafts, as well as assist the wireless network operators 902 with their spectrum management systems to ensure predictable flight performances based on submitted flight plans.).
Regarding claim 3, Casey teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Casey further teaches wherein the schedule comprises times that the vehicle will cross country borders (Paragraph 0163 Looking at the example of FIG. 4B, in one or more examples, a sub-channel 416 can be divided into multiple time slots 414. In one or more examples, multiple UAS assigned to the same channel can transmit data during a time slot/slots allotted to them during a specific time. Paragraph 0205 In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include information from global stakeholders 910. Global stakeholders 910 may include air traffic controls, NASA, national regulators, military flight operators, aerospace integrators, weather services, EASA, and unmanned traffic management systems. In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include rules related to countries' civil airspace 908, The airspace integrator 906 may use the integrated information from global industry stakeholder 910 and civil airspace 908 to allocate physical space for aircrafts, as well as assist the wireless network operators 902 with their spectrum management systems to ensure predictable flight performances based on submitted flight plans.).
Regarding claim 4, Casey teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Casey further teaches wherein receiving the path and the schedule of the vehicle comprises receiving the path and the schedule of the vehicle at a time of departure of the vehicle (Paragraph 0128 As described in further detail below, the selection of the slot for the pilot's use by the spectrum management system can be based on the information and flight plan submitted by the pilot, as well as other factors such as predictions about RF spectrum interference that may occur during the flight, RF coverage prediction, and RF spectrum availability in the geographic area or areas that the aircraft will traverse during their flight.).
Regarding claim 6, Casey teaches the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Casey further teaches wherein the vehicle comprises an aircraft (Paragraph 0127 Described herein are systems and methods for assigning and managing RF communications between ground-based stations and airborne assets.).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekizawa (Japanese Patent Publication JP2024158318).
Regarding claim 8, Sekizawa teaches a method comprising: receiving spatial data associated with a vehicle (Page 7 line 28 If the common band is not detected (step S103: NO), the main ECU 10 detects whether the wireless communication unit 17 has moved from the first area across the border into the second area based on the current position measured by the navigation ECU 21 (step S106).); receiving regulatory wireless requirements (Page 5 line 3 Regulations in each region may change as legislation is established. Therefore, the main ECU 10 may periodically connect to a specified server on an external network via wireless communication using the TCU 16 to download the latest regulations and update the frequency band DB 112 as appropriate. This allows the wireless communication unit 17 to perform wireless communication in each country using a frequency band that complies with the regulations of that country, even if there is a change in the regulations.); and configuring a wireless system associated with the vehicle based on the spatial data associated with a vehicle and the regulatory wireless requirements (Page 7 line 31 When it is detected that the wireless communication unit 17 has moved to the second region (step S106: YES), the main ECU 10 refers to the record for the second region registered in the frequency band DB 112 and sets the band to be used by the wireless communication unit 17 (step S107).).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is commensurate in scope with claim 8 with the exception that the claim is directed to a system comprising a memory storage (Page 2 line 28 The storage unit 11 is, for example, an auxiliary storage device such as a hard disk drive (HDD) or a solid state drive (SSD) or a flash memory. The storage unit 11 stores various program data 113 executed by the main ECU 10, including the frequency band setting program 100, as well as map data 111 and a frequency band DB 112.); and a processing unit disposed in a client device and coupled to the memory storage (Page 2 line 24 The main ECU 10 is, for example, a single processor or a multi-processor, and includes at least one CPU. If the main ECU 10 is configured to include multiple CPUs, the main ECU 10 may be packaged as a single device, or may be configured as multiple devices that are physically separated within the vehicle-mounted device 1.). Therefore, the same prior art can be applied to claim 15 as was applied to claim 8.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Sekizawa teaches the method/system of claims 8 and 15 as set forth above. Sekizawa further teaches wherein receiving spatial data associated with the vehicle comprises receiving spatial data associated with the vehicle from instruments located in the vehicle (Page 4 line 1 The GNSS receiver 22 is a module that measures the current position of the vehicle, including the wireless communication unit 17, based on GNSS signals received from multiple GNSS satellites. The GNSS receiver 22 measures the current position at a predetermined time interval (e.g., every second) and outputs the measurement results to the navigation ECU 21.).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Sekizawa teaches the method/system of claims 8 and 15 as set forth above. Sekizawa further teaches wherein the spatial data comprises a geographical location of the vehicle (Page 4 line 1 The GNSS receiver 22 is a module that measures the current position of the vehicle, including the wireless communication unit 17, based on GNSS signals received from multiple GNSS satellites. The GNSS receiver 22 measures the current position at a predetermined time interval (e.g., every second) and outputs the measurement results to the navigation ECU 21.).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Sekizawa teaches the method/system of claims 8 and 15 as set forth above. Sekizawa further teaches wherein the wireless system comprises a Wi-Fi system (Page 1 line 16 The frequency bands of wireless LAN (Wi-Fi (registered trademark)) permitted for outdoor use vary by country or region. When conducting wireless communication outdoors, it is necessary to set an appropriate frequency band so as not to violate the regulations of that country or region.).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Sekizawa teaches the method/system of claims 8 and 15 as set forth above. Sekizawa further teaches wherein the vehicle comprises a maritime ship (Page 2 line 32 Map data 111 has a data structure of regional meshes in which the entire earth is divided into meshes based on, for example, latitude and longitude. Each mesh includes, as attribute information, information on the "region" in which the mesh is located. Note that map data 111 does not need to include ocean data, but may include data on territorial waters and exclusive economic zones (EEZs) assuming travel by ferry.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casey in view of Sekizawa.
Regarding claim 5, Casey teaches the system of claim 1 as set forth above. However, Casey does not teach wherein the wireless system comprises a Wi-Fi system.
Sekizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for configuring a wireless system of a vehicle based on the vehicle’s planned location. The wireless system configures a Wi-Fi system based on the vehicle’s planned location (Page 1 line 16 The frequency bands of wireless LAN (Wi-Fi (registered trademark)) permitted for outdoor use vary by country or region. When conducting wireless communication outdoors, it is necessary to set an appropriate frequency band so as not to violate the regulations of that country or region.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Casey with the teachings of Sekizawa which teaches configuring a Wi-Fi system based on the vehicle’s planned location in order to comply with local Wi-Fi regulations (See Sekizawa Page 1 line 16 The frequency bands of wireless LAN (Wi-Fi (registered trademark)) permitted for outdoor use vary by country or region. When conducting wireless communication outdoors, it is necessary to set an appropriate frequency band so as not to violate the regulations of that country or region.).
Regarding claim 7, Casey teaches the system of claim 1 as set forth above. However, Casey does not teach wherein the vehicle comprises a maritime ship.
Sekizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for configuring a wireless system of a vehicle based on the vehicle’s planned location. The system may be employed on a ferry (Page 2 line 32 Map data 111 has a data structure of regional meshes in which the entire earth is divided into meshes based on, for example, latitude and longitude. Each mesh includes, as attribute information, information on the "region" in which the mesh is located. Note that map data 111 does not need to include ocean data, but may include data on territorial waters and exclusive economic zones (EEZs) assuming travel by ferry.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Casey with the teachings of Sekizawa which teaches employing the system on a ferry in order to comply with local Wi-Fi regulations that apply on territorial waters (See Sekizawa Page 2 line 32 Map data 111 has a data structure of regional meshes in which the entire earth is divided into meshes based on, for example, latitude and longitude. Each mesh includes, as attribute information, information on the "region" in which the mesh is located. Note that map data 111 does not need to include ocean data, but may include data on territorial waters and exclusive economic zones (EEZs) assuming travel by ferry.).
Claim(s) 10, 13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekizawa in view of Casey.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Sekizawa teaches the method/system of claims 8 and 15 as set forth above. However, Sekizawa does not teach wherein the spatial data comprises an altitude of the vehicle.
Casey, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for configuring a wireless system of a vehicle based on the vehicle’s location. The system configures the wireless system based on the vehicle’s altitude (Paragraph 0167 In one or more examples, when a pilot 302 submits a flight plan, the system can query the geofences 306 to make sure there is RF availability throughout the path of the plan and at all altitudes expressed in the flight plan.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Sekizawa with the teachings of Casey which teaches configuring the wireless system based on the vehicle’s altitude in order to comply with regulations that restrict wireless communication frequency based on altitude (See Casey Paragraph 0167 In one or more examples, when a pilot 302 submits a flight plan, the system can query the geofences 306 to make sure there is RF availability throughout the path of the plan and at all altitudes expressed in the flight plan.).
Regarding claim 13, Sekizawa teaches the method of claim 8 as set forth above. However, Sekizawa does not teach wherein the vehicle comprises an aircraft.
Casey, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for configuring a wireless system of a vehicle based on the vehicle’s location. The system may be employed on an aircraft (Paragraph 0127 Described herein are systems and methods for assigning and managing RF communications between ground-based stations and airborne assets.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Sekizawa with the teachings of Casey which teaches employing the system on an aircraft in order to comply with regulations that apply to aircrafts (See Casey Paragraph 0205 In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include information from global stakeholders 910. Global stakeholders 910 may include air traffic controls, NASA, national regulators, military flight operators, aerospace integrators, weather services, EASA, and unmanned traffic management systems. In one or more examples, airspace integrator 906 may include rules related to countries' civil airspace 908, The airspace integrator 906 may use the integrated information from global industry stakeholder 910 and civil airspace 908 to allocate physical space for aircrafts, as well as assist the wireless network operators 902 with their spectrum management systems to ensure predictable flight performances based on submitted flight plans.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of the record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure.
Shiota – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0100932
ZHANG – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0081149
CHHAYA – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0130708
HATAYAMA – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0297475
EDGE – U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0143900
/PATRICK DANIEL MOHL/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666