DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 6, 9, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12366702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite slightly different reflectivity characteristics at the end of the claim language.
Similarly, claims 7 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12366702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite slightly different reflectivity characteristics.
Similarly, claims 8 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12366702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite slightly different reflectivity characteristics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An [US 2014/0104877] in view of Meis [US 2010/0067257].
As to claim 1, An discloses a light-emitting assembly [see figures 2, 3] having a display area [to the left of 144’ in figure 4] and a non-display area connected to the display area [portion under 144’], and comprising: a plurality of reflection-reducing components [156a, see paragraph 89, note in figure 2 there are at least two reflection reducing components 156a] disposed in the non-display area [see figures 3, 4], wherein in a top view, two of the plurality of reflection-reducing components are separated by a gap at a corner of the light-emitting assembly [the top and bottom corners of the unit have a gap along the lengthwise direction in figure 3]; a reflective component disposed in the display area [152b]; and a light source [154./155, figure 2], wherein the reflective component is disposed between at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components and the light source in the top-view [see figure 2, note opposing reflection reducing components have the reflector between the light source and the reflection reducing component], and wherein a ratio of a reflectivity of the at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components to a reflectivity of the reflective component is greater than or equal to 3% and less than or equal to 85 % [see paragraph 101, having a 95% absorbance or 5% reflectivity].
An teaches that the reflection reducing components are a substrate layer [see 156a shape, figures 3, 4] and is attached to the light emitting assembly but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components comprises a first glue layer and a substrate layer disposed on the first glue layer.
Meis teaches the use of glue layers [250] and substrate layers [240] which mounted on the glue layers [see figure 2] are used to connect optical bodies was well known.
It would have been obvious to use a glue layer to attach the reflection reducing components as taught by Meis with the lighting unit as taught by An, as glue is well known for its affixing properties and ease of application in manufacture [see An, paragraph 130].
As to claim 2, An fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of the first glue layer contacts the reflective component. Meis teaches using the adhesive layer across the entire light emitting assembly [see 250, figure 2]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to implement the glue layer across 155 in figure 3, in order to affix all the components together and form an integral unit [see An, paragraph 130].
As to claim 3, An discloses the light-emitting assembly as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a light guide plate, wherein the at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components partially overlaps the light guide plate [152, figure 3].
As to claim 4, An discloses the light-emitting assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reflectivity of the at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components is less than 85% [see paragraph 101].
As to claim 5, An discloses the light-emitting assembly as claimed in claim 4, wherein the ratio of the reflectivity of the at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components to the reflectivity of the reflective component is greater than or equal to 3% and less than or equal to 80% [see paragraphs 101-102, for example].
As to claim 6, An discloses a light-emitting assembly [see figure 3] having a display area [to the left of 144’, figure 4] and a non-display area connected to the display area [under and to the right of 144’, figure 4], and comprising: a reflection-reducing component [156a] disposed in the non-display area [see figure 3]; a reflective component disposed in the display area [153] and adjacent to the reflection-reducing component [see figure 3, for example]; and a light source [154], wherein the reflective component is disposed between the reflection-reducing component and the light source in a top-view [see figure 2, note opposing reflection reducing components have the reflector between the light source and the reflection reducing component], and wherein a reflectivity of the reflection-reducing component is less than or equal to 85 % [see paragraph 101, having 95% absorbance or 5% reflectivity].
An teaches that the reflection reducing components are a substrate layer [see 156a shape, figures 3, 4] and is attached to the light emitting assembly but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components comprises a first glue layer and a substrate layer disposed on the first glue layer.
Meis teaches the use of glue layers [250] and substrate layers [240] which mounted on the glue layers [see figure 2] are used to connect optical bodies was well known.
It would have been obvious to use a glue layer to attach the reflection reducing components as taught by Meis with the lighting unit as taught by An, as glue is well known for its affixing properties and ease of application in manufacture [see An, paragraph 130].
As to claim 7, An fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of the first glue layer contacts the reflective component. Meis teaches using the adhesive layer across the entire light emitting assembly [see 250, figure 2]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to implement the glue layer across 155 in figure 3, in order to affix all the components together and form an integral unit [see An, paragraph 130].
As to claim 8, An discloses the light-emitting assembly as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a light guide plate [152], wherein the reflection-reducing component partially overlaps the light guide plate [see figure 3].
As to claim 9, An discloses a light-emitting assembly [see figure 3, 4] having a display area [to the left of 144’, figure 4] and a non-display area [portion under and to the right of 144’] connected to the display area [see figure 3], and comprising: a reflection-reducing component [156a] disposed in the non-display area [see figure 3]; a reflective component [153] disposed in the display area and adjacent to the reflection-reducing component [see figure 3]; and a light source [154], wherein the reflective component is disposed between the reflection-reducing component and the light source in a top-view [see figure 2, note opposing reflection reducing components have the reflector between the light source and the reflection reducing component], and wherein a ratio of a reflectivity of the reflection-reducing component to a reflectivity of the reflective component is greater than or equal to 3% and less than or equal to 85 % [see paragraphs 101-102, having 95% absorbance or 5% reflectivity].
An teaches that the reflection reducing components are a substrate layer [see 156a shape, figures 3, 4] and is attached to the light emitting assembly but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of the plurality of reflection-reducing components comprises a first glue layer and a substrate layer disposed on the first glue layer.
Meis teaches the use of glue layers [250] and substrate layers [240] which mounted on the glue layers [see figure 2] are used to connect optical bodies was well known.
It would have been obvious to use a glue layer to attach the reflection reducing components as taught by Meis with the lighting unit as taught by An, as glue is well known for its affixing properties and ease of application in manufacture [see An, paragraph 130].
As to claim 10, An fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of the first glue layer contacts the reflective component. Meis teaches using the adhesive layer across the entire light emitting assembly [see 250, figure 2]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to implement the glue layer across 155 in figure 3, in order to affix all the components together and form an integral unit [see An, paragraph 130].
As to claim 11, An discloses the light-emitting assembly as claimed in claim 9, further comprising a light guide plate [152], wherein the reflection-reducing component partially overlaps the light guide plate [see figure 3].
As to claim 12, An discloses the light-emitting assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the reflectivity of the reflection-reducing component is less than or equal to 85% [see paragraph 101].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nichol [see PTO-892], Yamashita, Iwauchi, Vasylyev (x2), You (x2), and Mulder all teach alternative backlight units which include a reflection reducing component in varying configurations.
/BRYON T GYLLSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875