DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-10 and 14-19 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple cannot depend from any other multiple depend claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 4-10 and 14-19 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. 2021/0316115.
In regard to claim 1, Yang discloses (fig. 3) a method of making an articulable tube, the method comprising:
forming a first hinge portion (338b) in a wall of an elongated tubular member, wherein the first hinge portion comprises a hinge extension (338a) having a first arcuate articulating edge (338);
forming a second hinge portion (340c) in the wall of the tubular member, wherein the second hinge portion comprises a hinge recess (340a) having a second arcuate articulating edge (sidewalls of recess 340a) complementary to the first arcuate articulating edge (338), and
compressing the tubular member along a longitudinal axis of the tubular member such
that the hinge recess receives the hinge extension and the first and second arcuate articulating edges engage to couple the first and second hinge portions together in a snap-fit connection (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10).
In regard to claim 2, wherein the first and second articulating edges are profiled toward a centerline of the tubular member (see profiled surfaces 338 and sides of 340 in fig. 3c).
In regard to claim 3, wherein at least one of the hinge extension or the hinge recess is at least partially circular (see figs. 3a-3c).
In regard to claim 11, discloses an elongated tubular member comprising:
a first hinge portion (338b) formed in a wall of the tubular member, wherein the first hinge portion comprises a hinge extension (338a) having a first arcuate articulating edge 338;
a second hinge portion (340c) formed in the wall of the tubular member, wherein the second hinge portion comprises a hinge recess (340a) having a second arcuate articulating edge (340);
wherein the hinge extension is received in the hinge recess such that the first and second
arcuate articulating edges are engaged to thereby couple the first and second hinge portions together in a snap-fit connection (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10).
In regard to claim 12, wherein the first and second articulating edges are profiled toward a centerline of the tubular member (see profiled surfaces 338 and sides of 340 in fig. 3c).
In regard to claim 13, wherein at least one of the hinge extension or the hinge recess is at least partially circular (see figs. 3a-3c).
In regard to claim 20, discloses a method of making an articulable tube assembly, the method comprising:
forming, with a first cut, a hinge extension (338b) in a wall of an elongated tubular member having a longitudinal axis, wherein the hinge extension has a first articulating surface (338) located at a first axial location along the longitudinal axis;
forming, with a second cut, a hinge recess (340a) in the wall of the tubular member, wherein the hinge recess has a second articulating surface (340) located at a second axial location along the longitudinal axis, wherein the second axial location is longitudinally offset from the first axial location;
urging the hinge extension and the hinge recess toward each other such that first and
second articulating surfaces engage to couple the hinge extension and the hinge recess together in a snap-fit connection (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10), thereby forming an articulable tube with at least one hinge (see fig. 2a);
placing the articulable tube coaxially within or around a second tubular member (see paragraph 12 and paragraph 16); and
coupling the articulable tube and the second tubular member together (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10).
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. 2021/0316115.
In regard to claim 1, Yang discloses (fig. 3) a method of making an articulable tube, the method comprising:
forming a first hinge portion (338b) in a wall of an elongated tubular member, wherein the first hinge portion comprises a hinge extension (338a) having a first arcuate articulating edge (338);
forming a second hinge portion (340c) in the wall of the tubular member, wherein the second hinge portion comprises a hinge recess (340a) having a second arcuate articulating edge (sidewalls of recess 340a) complementary to the first arcuate articulating edge (338), and
compressing the tubular member along a longitudinal axis of the tubular member such
that the hinge recess receives the hinge extension and the first and second arcuate articulating edges engage to couple the first and second hinge portions together in a snap-fit connection (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10).
In regard to claim 2, wherein the first and second articulating edges are profiled toward a centerline of the tubular member (see profiled surfaces 338 and sides of 340 in fig. 3c).
In regard to claim 3, wherein at least one of the hinge extension or the hinge recess is at least partially circular (see figs. 3a-3c).
In regard to claim 11, discloses an elongated tubular member comprising:
a first hinge portion (338b) formed in a wall of the tubular member, wherein the first hinge portion comprises a hinge extension (338a) having a first arcuate articulating edge 338;
a second hinge portion (340c) formed in the wall of the tubular member, wherein the second hinge portion comprises a hinge recess (340a) having a second arcuate articulating edge (340);
wherein the hinge extension is received in the hinge recess such that the first and second
arcuate articulating edges are engaged to thereby couple the first and second hinge portions together in a snap-fit connection (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10).
In regard to claim 12, wherein the first and second articulating edges are profiled toward a centerline of the tubular member (see profiled surfaces 338 and sides of 340 in fig. 3c).
In regard to claim 13, wherein at least one of the hinge extension or the hinge recess is at least partially circular (see figs. 3a-3c).
In regard to claim 20, discloses a method of making an articulable tube assembly, the method comprising:
forming, with a first cut, a hinge extension (338b) in a wall of an elongated tubular member having a longitudinal axis, wherein the hinge extension has a first articulating surface (338) located at a first axial location along the longitudinal axis;
forming, with a second cut, a hinge recess (340a) in the wall of the tubular member, wherein the hinge recess has a second articulating surface (340) located at a second axial location along the longitudinal axis, wherein the second axial location is longitudinally offset from the first axial location;
urging the hinge extension and the hinge recess toward each other such that first and
second articulating surfaces engage to couple the hinge extension and the hinge recess together in a snap-fit connection (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10), thereby forming an articulable tube with at least one hinge (see fig. 2a);
placing the articulable tube coaxially within or around a second tubular member (see paragraph 12 and paragraph 16); and
coupling the articulable tube and the second tubular member together (see paragraph 4, lines 9-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Konstorum Fenech, Shally and Lander disclose similar articulable tubes with snap-fit connections.
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679