DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B1 (Fig. 21-31) in the reply filed on 6/10/2026 is acknowledged. (Reiterated)
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63664876, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The provisional application 63664876 Fig 1-7 only provide the support for the Fig. 1-7 of the unelected Species A. The provisional application herein completely lacks any support or discussion of a shoe having a lattice contained within (claims 1-18) nor is there any discussion of the healing plug and healing area contained within the sole (claims 5-9, 14-18). As such, claims 1-18 of the present application do not have priority to the provisional application 63664876 and its filing date of 6/27/2024.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63801747, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The provisional application herein completely lacks any support or discussion of a shoe having the healing plug and healing area contained within the sole (claims 5-9, 14-18). As such, claims 5-9 and 14-18 of the present application do not have priority to the provisional application 63801747 and its filing date of 5/7/2025.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63791202, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The provisional application herein completely lacks any support or discussion of a shoe having the healing plug and healing area contained within the sole (claims 5-9, 14-18). As such, claims 5-9 and 14-18 of the present application do not have priority to the provisional application 63791202 and its filing date of 4/18/2025.
Oath/Declaration
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 10/5/2026 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-18 based upon the 103 rejection under Ponomarev (US 20260020643 A1).
Inventor Dean Vayser’s Declaration of Attribution has provided clear evidence that the disclosure of the publication of Ponomarev is obtained from the present inventor of Vayser. In particular note the email dated 1/29/2023 sent by Vayser to Ponomarev three months before the filing of the provisional application of Ponomarev shows clear images and disclosure that matches that of the application made by Ponomarev, wherein these images were relied on in the rejection of record. Furthermore, Applicant has clearly laid out the evidence of Vayser providing the disclosure to Ponomarev throughout the years of 2022 and 2023 before Ponomarev filed his application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 against Ponomarev have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See Declaration section above. Ponomarev no longer relied upon.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendments, filed 10/5/2026, to claims 1 and 10 acknowledged by Examiner.
Claims 1-18 are now pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening mechanism” in claims 1 and 10; being Velcro (hook and loop straps), shoe laces, clap fasteners, magnets and zippers (instant application [0123]) and equivalents therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the patient” in line 3 which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim. Examiner will be interpreting this as “the individual”.
Claims 2-9 rejected as being dependent to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatano (US 20230337783 A1) in view of Walborn (US 10939723 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hatano discloses a shoe 1A15 (Fig. 19-20 and [0112-0120] sandal 1A15 being a shoe) comprising:
an outer shell 112 configured to encase a foot of an individual (Fig. 19-20 and [0062, 0115] ground contact surface 112 being an outer shell as a shell is defined by Merriam Webster [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/shell] as “a thin usually spherical layer or surface enclosing a space or surrounding an object”, thus an outer surface 112 of the foot bed portion 110 may be termed a shell; wherein the outer surface 112 of the foot bed portion 110 is working to encase a foot of the wearer with the foot cover portion 120);
an outer dorsal shell 121 configured to encase a top of the foot of the patient (Fig. 19-20 and [0117] outer surface 121 of the foot cover portion 120 being at the dorsal portion/top of the foot, being again a shell as being the outer surface; to thus encase a top of the foot);
an inner lattice shell 110 configured to fit within the outer shell 112 (Fig. 19-20 and [0112-0120] the foot bed portion 110 is formed of an inner lattice inside its outer surface 112);
an inner dorsal lattice 120 configured to fit within the outer dorsal shell 121 (Fig. 19-20 and [0112-0120], the foot cover portion 120 is formed of an inner lattice within its outer surface 121).
Hatano is silent on a fastening mechanism configured to secure the outer shell and the outer dorsal shell to the foot of the individual.
Hatano does acknowledge sandal 1A15 being a shoe ([0116]).
However, Walborn teaches an analogous shoe (Fig. 2) having an analogous outer shell (sole 23, Fig. 2) and an analogous outer dorsal shell (upper portion 25, Fig. 2), wherein there are straps 27 provided as fastening mechanisms to mate the shoe to the foot of the user (Fig. 2 and Col. 2 lines 16-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the outer shell (112) and outer dorsal shell (121) to have a fastening mechanism (straps 27) that secures the outer shell and the outer dorsal to the foot of the individual as taught by Walborn in order to provide standard known in the art structure for securing footwear to a user securely (Walborn Col. 2 lines 16-25).
Regarding claim 10, Hatano discloses a shoe 1A15 (Fig. 19-20 and [0112-0120] sandal 1A15 being a shoe) comprising:
an outer shell 112 and an inner lattice shell 110 secured to an interior side of the outer shell 112 such that the outer shell 112 and the inner lattice shell 110 are configured to encase a foot of an individual (Fig. 19-20 and [0062, 0115] ground contact surface 112 being an outer shell as a shell is defined by Merriam Webster [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/shell] as “a thin usually spherical layer or surface enclosing a space or surrounding an object”, thus an outer surface 112 of the foot bed portion 110 may be termed a shell; wherein the outer surface 112 of the foot bed portion 110 is working to encase a foot of the wearer with the foot cover portion 120; [0112-0120] the foot bed portion 110 is formed of an inner lattice inside its outer surface 112 thus the lattice 110 being secured to an interior side of the outer shell 112);
an outer dorsal shell 121 and an inner dorsal lattice 120 secured to an interior side of the outer dorsal shell 121 such that the outer dorsal shell 121 thus, the inner dorsal lattice 120 are configured to encase a top of the foot of the patient (Fig. 19-20 and [0117] outer surface 121 of the foot cover portion 120 being at the dorsal portion/top of the foot, being again a shell as being the outer surface; to thus encase a top of the foot; [0112-0120], the foot cover portion 120 is formed of an inner lattice within its outer surface 121; thus the inner lattice 120 is formed on an interior side of the outer dorsal surface 121).
Hatano is silent on a fastening mechanism configured to secure the outer shell and the outer dorsal shell to the foot of the individual.
Hatano does acknowledge sandal 1A15 being a shoe ([0116]).
However, Walborn teaches an analogous shoe (Fig. 2) having an analogous outer shell (sole 23, Fig. 2) and an analogous outer dorsal shell (upper portion 25, Fig. 2), wherein there are straps 27 provided as fastening mechanisms to mate the shoe to the foot of the user (Fig. 2 and Col. 2 lines 16-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the outer shell (112) and outer dorsal shell (121) to have a fastening mechanism (straps 27) that secures the outer shell and the outer dorsal to the foot of the individual as taught by Walborn in order to provide standard known in the art structure for securing footwear to a user securely (Walborn Col. 2 lines 16-25).
Claim(s) 2-7, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatano (US 20230337783 A1) in view of Walborn (US 10939723 B2) in view of Bleicher (US 20200238626 A1).
Regarding claims 2-4, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner lattice shell further comprises at least one recessed area (claim 2); the at least one recessed area is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell (claim 3); and wherein the at least one recessed area is located on a side of the inner lattice shell (claim 4).
However, Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10) wherein there may be at least one recessed area 102 located on the sole 101 therein (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 in the sole 101 is a recessed area), and wherein the at least one recessed area is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10, the recessed area 102 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one recessed area 102 as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166]), thus as combined the at least one recessed area is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell 110 of Hatano, and is located on a side of the inner lattice shell being the top side of the sole 110 of Hatano.
Regarding claim 5-7, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner lattice shell further comprises at least one healing area defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area (claim 5), wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell (claim 6), and wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a side of the inner lattice shell (claim 7).
Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10-12 and [0166]), wherein there may be at least one healing area defined by an aperture 102 (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 being a healing area for a wound or ulcer) and at least one healing plug 121 that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area 102 (Fig. 12A-12B and [0168]), wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10-12, the recessed area 102 and plug 121 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one healing area defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166, 0168]), thus as combined the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell 110 of Hatano, and is located on a side of the inner lattice shell being the top side of the sole 110 of Hatano.
Regarding claims 11-13, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 10 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner lattice shell further comprises at least one recessed area (claim 11); the at least one recessed area is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell (claim 12); and wherein the at least one recessed area is located on a side of the inner lattice shell (claim 13).
However, Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10) wherein there may be at least one recessed area 102 located on the sole 101 therein (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 in the sole 101 is a recessed area), and wherein the at least one recessed area is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10, the recessed area 102 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one recessed area 102 as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166]), thus as combined the at least one recessed area is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell 110 of Hatano, and is located on a side of the inner lattice shell being the top side of the sole 110 of Hatano.
Regarding claim 14-16, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 10 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner lattice shell further comprises at least one healing area defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area (claim 14), wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell (claim 15), and wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a side of the inner lattice shell (claim 16).
Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10-12 and [0166]), wherein there may be at least one healing area defined by an aperture 102 (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 being a healing area for a wound or ulcer) and at least one healing plug 121 that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area 102 (Fig. 12A-12B and [0168]), wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10-12, the recessed area 102 and plug 121 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one healing area defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166, 0168]), thus as combined the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a sole of the inner lattice shell 110 of Hatano, and is located on a side of the inner lattice shell being the top side of the sole 110 of Hatano.
Claim(s) 8-9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatano (US 20230337783 A1) in view of Walborn (US 10939723 B2) in view of Bleicher (US 20200238626 A1) and Randolph (US 20090234264 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner dorsal lattice further comprises at least one recessed area.
However, Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10) wherein there may be at least one recessed area 102 located on the sole 101 therein (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 in the sole 101 is a recessed area), and wherein the at least one recessed area is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10, the recessed area 102 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown for contacting the foot therein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one recessed area 102 as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166]).
Hatano as combined with Bleicher does not provide for the recessed area being in the inner dorsal lattice 120 of Hatano.
However, Randolph teaches an analogous foot 110 wherein there may be a foot wound/ulcer 114 on the dorsal side of the foot (Fig. 1 and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the recessed area in the inner shell lattice of Hatano/Bleicher to be provided in the inner dorsal lattice (120) of Hatano which contacts the dorsal side of the foot (Hatano Fig. 19-20) in order to remove pressure from a dorsal ulcer as taught by Randolph and such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that "a mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice" In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (See MPEP 2144.04 VI B).
Regarding claim 9, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 1 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner dorsal lattice further comprises at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area
Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10-12 and [0166]), wherein there may be at least one healing area defined by an aperture 102 (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 being a healing area for a wound or ulcer) and at least one healing plug 121 that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area 102 (Fig. 12A-12B and [0168]), wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10-12, the recessed area 102 and plug 121 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166, 0168]).
Hatano as combined with Bleicher does not provide for the at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug being in the inner dorsal lattice 120 of Hatano.
However, Randolph teaches an analogous foot 110 wherein there may be a foot wound/ulcer 114 on the dorsal side of the foot (Fig. 1 and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug in the inner shell lattice of Hatano/Bleicher to be provided in the inner dorsal lattice (120) of Hatano which contacts the dorsal side of the foot (Hatano Fig. 19-20) in order to remove pressure from a dorsal ulcer as taught by Randolph and such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that "a mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice" In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (See MPEP 2144.04 VI B).
Regarding claim 17, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 10 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner dorsal lattice further comprises at least one recessed area.
However, Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10) wherein there may be at least one recessed area 102 located on the sole 101 therein (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 in the sole 101 is a recessed area), and wherein the at least one recessed area is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10, the recessed area 102 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown for contacting the foot therein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one recessed area 102 as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166]).
Hatano as combined with Bleicher does not provide for the recessed area being in the inner dorsal lattice 120 of Hatano.
However, Randolph teaches an analogous foot 110 wherein there may be a foot wound/ulcer 114 on the dorsal side of the foot (Fig. 1 and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the recessed area in the inner shell lattice of Hatano/Bleicher to be provided in the inner dorsal lattice (120) of Hatano which contacts the dorsal side of the foot (Hatano Fig. 19-20) in order to remove pressure from a dorsal ulcer as taught by Randolph and such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that "a mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice" In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (See MPEP 2144.04 VI B).
Regarding claim 18, Hatano in view of Walborn discloses the invention of claim 10 above.
Hatano as combined does not disclose wherein the inner dorsal lattice further comprises at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area
Bleicher teaches an analogous sole 101 (Fig. 10-12 and [0166]), wherein there may be at least one healing area defined by an aperture 102 (Fig. 10 and [0166], aperture 102 being a healing area for a wound or ulcer) and at least one healing plug 121 that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area 102 (Fig. 12A-12B and [0168]), wherein the at least one healing area and at least one healing plug is located on a side of the sole (Fig. 10-12, the recessed area 102 and plug 121 is positioned on a top side of the sole as shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the inner lattice shell sole 110 of Hatano to have at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug that is sized to fit within the at least one healing area as taught by Bleicher in order to enable wounds and ulcers of the foot to remain load free when wearing the footwear therein (Bleicher [0166, 0168]).
Hatano as combined with Bleicher does not provide for the at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug being in the inner dorsal lattice 120 of Hatano.
However, Randolph teaches an analogous foot 110 wherein there may be a foot wound/ulcer 114 on the dorsal side of the foot (Fig. 1 and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the at least one healing area that is defined by an aperture and at least one healing plug in the inner shell lattice of Hatano/Bleicher to be provided in the inner dorsal lattice (120) of Hatano which contacts the dorsal side of the foot (Hatano Fig. 19-20) in order to remove pressure from a dorsal ulcer as taught by Randolph and such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that "a mere rearrangement of parts was held to be an obvious matter of design choice" In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (See MPEP 2144.04 VI B).
Conclusion
/KEVIN S ALBERS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/KERI J NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786