DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7 – 12, 14 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fox et al. (US 2015/0113466).
As to claim 1, Fox discloses a method of information input (inputting information for date in fig. 4), comprising:
presenting an information input component in a display device (presenting input filed for date 401 of fig. 4), the information input component comprising a plurality of input positions for inputting different portions of information (plurality input positions corresponding to YYYY/MM/DD of 401 of fig. 4);
in response to a first input position of the plurality of input positions being in an input state (in response of press of input field 401 of fig. 4 [0057]), determining a first set of elements matching the first input position from a plurality of elements associated with an input panel (determining selectable elements in the character entry subfields and character rows 402 each containing a set of characters 403 of fig. 4A) based at least on a first element which has been input at a second input position of the plurality of input positions (the character selected by the user in one character row affects the set of characters that are presented in other character rows. For example, if the user selects digit "1" in the first character row, the second character row changes to show only the digit "9", as the required year input is from 1990 to 2038 [0058]);
presenting the first set of elements in a first style in the input panel to indicate that the first set of elements are in a selectable state (presenting input options as selectable characters 403 in the row 402 of fig. 4A, wherein unselectable characters are shown blank);
moving an indicator between the first set of elements displayed by the input panel based on a movement instruction received via a controller associated with the display device (receiving selection input at input module 301 may be a hardware component, for example, a touch detection unit of a mobile device, and/or a software component, for example, as part of an operation system of a personal computer [0054], wherein input is interpreted as input via controller);
and in response to receiving an input instruction via the controller, inputting a second element corresponding to the indicator to the first input position (inputting a character “2” corresponding to the year position of the input field 401 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 2 (dependent on 1), Fox discloses the method, further comprising:
presenting a second set of elements of the plurality of elements different from the first set of elements in a second style in the input panel to indicate that the second set of elements are in a non-selectable state (presenting elements as unselectable as shown in character rows 402 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), Fox discloses the method, wherein
the input panel displays the plurality of elements according to a target layout (displaying selectable elements in fig. 4A), causing:
in response to a number of the first set of input elements being greater than one, any of the first set of input elements to have a first adjacent element in a horizontal direction and/or a second adjacent element in a vertical direction (displaying selectable adjacent characters 403 in the horizontal direction as shown in fig. 4A),
the first adjacent element and the second adjacent element being comprised in the first set of elements (group of selectable characters “1” and “2” in the horizontal direction as shown in fig. 4A).
As to claim 4 (dependent on 1), Fox discloses the method, further comprising:
determining the second input position (Input position for the hundreds of the year in the field 401 of fig. 4A) associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions (associated with the thousands position of the year in the filed 401 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 4), Fox discloses the method, wherein
the first input position (the thousands position of the year in the filed 401 of fig. 4A) is configured to input a target portion of the information (characters in the first row 402 of fig. 4A), and determining the second input position (Input position for the hundreds of the year in the field 401 of fig. 4A) associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions comprises:
determining the second input position associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions based on a correlation between the target portion and a further portion to be input at a further input position (the character selected by the user in one character row affects the set of characters that are presented in other character rows. For example, if the user selects digit "1" in the first character row, the second character row changes to show only the digit "9", as the required year input is from 1990 to 2038 [0058]).
As to claim 7 (dependent on 1), Fox discloses the method, wherein
the information input component comprises a date input component, and the plurality of input positions are configured to input different digits in a date (date input component of the field 401 of fig. 4A, wherein input characters 403 are digits in a date).
As to claim 8, Fox discloses a display device, comprising:
at least one processing unit (processor 504 of fig. 5);
and at least one memory (system memory 536 of fig. 5) coupled to the at least one processing unit (processor 504 of fig. 5) and storing instructions executable by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the display device to perform acts comprising:
presenting an information input component in a display device (presenting input filed for date 401 of fig. 4), the information input component comprising a plurality of input positions for inputting different portions of information (plurality input positions corresponding to YYYY/MM/DD of 401 of fig. 4);
in response to a first input position of the plurality of input positions being in an input state (in response of press of input field 401 of fig. 4 [0057]), determining a first set of elements matching the first input position from a plurality of elements associated with an input panel (determining selectable elements in the character entry subfields and character rows 402 each containing a set of characters 403 of fig. 4A) based at least on a first element which has been input at a second input position of the plurality of input positions (the character selected by the user in one character row affects the set of characters that are presented in other character rows. For example, if the user selects digit "1" in the first character row, the second character row changes to show only the digit "9", as the required year input is from 1990 to 2038 [0058]);
presenting the first set of elements in a first style in the input panel to indicate that the first set of elements are in a selectable state (presenting input options as selectable characters 403 in the row 402 of fig. 4A, wherein unselectable characters are shown blank);
moving an indicator between the first set of elements displayed by the input panel based on a movement instruction received via a controller associated with the display device (receiving selection input at input module 301 may be a hardware component, for example, a touch detection unit of a mobile device, and/or a software component, for example, as part of an operation system of a personal computer [0054], wherein input is interpreted as input via controller);
and in response to receiving an input instruction via the controller, inputting a second element corresponding to the indicator to the first input position (inputting a character “2” corresponding to the year position of the input field 401 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 9 (dependent on 8), Fox discloses the display device, wherein
the acts further comprise:
presenting a second set of elements of the plurality of elements different from the first set of elements in a second style in the input panel to indicate that the second set of elements are in a non- selectable state (presenting elements as unselectable as shown in character rows 402 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 10 (dependent on 8), Fox discloses the display device, wherein
the input panel displays the plurality of elements according to a target layout (displaying selectable elements in fig. 4A), causing:
in response to a number of the first set of input elements being greater than one, any of the first set of input elements to have a first adjacent element in a horizontal direction and/or a second adjacent element in a vertical direction (displaying selectable adjacent characters 403 in the horizontal direction as shown in fig. 4A),
the first adjacent element and the second adjacent element being comprised in the first set of elements (group of selectable characters “1” and “2” in the horizontal direction as shown in fig. 4A).
As to claim 11 (dependent on 8), Fox discloses the display device, wherein
the acts further comprise:
determining the second input position (Input position for the hundreds of the year in the field 401 of fig. 4A) associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions (associated with the thousands position of the year in the filed 401 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 12 (dependent on 11), Fox discloses the display device, wherein
the first input position (the thousands position of the year in the filed 401 of fig. 4A) is configured to input a target portion of the information (characters in the first row 402 of fig. 4A), and determining the second input position (Input position for the hundreds of the year in the field 401 of fig. 4A) associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions comprises:
determining the second input position associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions based on a correlation between the target portion and a further portion to be input at a further input position (the character selected by the user in one character row affects the set of characters that are presented in other character rows. For example, if the user selects digit "1" in the first character row, the second character row changes to show only the digit "9", as the required year input is from 1990 to 2038 [0058]).
As to claim 14 (dependent on 8), Fox discloses the display device, wherein
the information input component comprises a date input component, and the plurality of input positions are configured to input different digits in a date (date input component of the field 401 of fig. 4A, wherein input characters 403 are digits in a date).
As to claim 15, Fox discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (system memory 536 of fig. 5), wherein
the computer program is executable by a processor (processor 504 of fig. 5) to implement acts comprising:
presenting an information input component in a display device (presenting input filed for date 401 of fig. 4), the information input component comprising a plurality of input positions for inputting different portions of information (plurality input positions corresponding to YYYY/MM/DD of 401 of fig. 4);
in response to a first input position of the plurality of input positions being in an input state (in response of press of input field 401 of fig. 4 [0057]), determining a first set of elements matching the first input position from a plurality of elements associated with an input panel (determining selectable elements in the character entry subfields and character rows 402 each containing a set of characters 403 of fig. 4A) based at least on a first element which has been input at a second input position of the plurality of input positions (the character selected by the user in one character row affects the set of characters that are presented in other character rows. For example, if the user selects digit "1" in the first character row, the second character row changes to show only the digit "9", as the required year input is from 1990 to 2038 [0058]);
presenting the first set of elements in a first style in the input panel to indicate that the first set of elements are in a selectable state (presenting input options as selectable characters 403 in the row 402 of fig. 4A, wherein unselectable characters are shown blank);
moving an indicator between the first set of elements displayed by the input panel based on a movement instruction received via a controller associated with the display device (receiving selection input at input module 301 may be a hardware component, for example, a touch detection unit of a mobile device, and/or a software component, for example, as part of an operation system of a personal computer [0054], wherein input is interpreted as input via controller);
and in response to receiving an input instruction via the controller, inputting a second element corresponding to the indicator to the first input position (inputting a character “2” corresponding to the year position of the input field 401 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 16 (dependent on 15), Fox discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein
the acts further comprise:
presenting a second set of elements of the plurality of elements different from the first set of elements in a second style in the input panel to indicate that the second set of elements are in a non-selectable state (presenting elements as unselectable as shown in character rows 402 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 17 (dependent on 15), Fox discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein
the input panel displays the plurality of elements according to a target layout (displaying selectable elements in fig. 4A), causing:
in response to a number of the first set of input elements being greater than one, any of the first set of input elements to have a first adjacent element in a horizontal direction and/or a second adjacent element in a vertical direction (displaying selectable adjacent characters 403 in the horizontal direction as shown in fig. 4A),
the first adjacent element and the second adjacent element being comprised in the first set of elements (group of selectable characters “1” and “2” in the horizontal direction as shown in fig. 4A).
As to claim 18 (dependent on 15), Fox discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein
the acts further comprise:
determining the second input position (Input position for the hundreds of the year in the field 401 of fig. 4A) associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions (associated with the thousands position of the year in the filed 401 of fig. 4A).
As to claim 19 (dependent on 18), Fox discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein
the first input position (the thousands position of the year in the filed 401 of fig. 4A) is configured to input a target portion of the information (characters in the first row 402 of fig. 4A), and determining the second input position (Input position for the hundreds of the year in the field 401 of fig. 4A) associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions comprises:
determining the second input position associated with the first input position from the plurality of input positions based on a correlation between the target portion and a further portion to be input at a further input position (the character selected by the user in one character row affects the set of characters that are presented in other character rows. For example, if the user selects digit "1" in the first character row, the second character row changes to show only the digit "9", as the required year input is from 1990 to 2038 [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox in view of Johnson et al. (US 2012/0101847).
As to claim 6 (dependent on 1), claim 13 (dependent on 8) and claim 20 (dependent on 15), Fox discloses the method and the device, further comprising:
determining target information based at least on the input first element and second element (determining the date that was entered including the year [0057 – 0058]); but does not explicitly disclose that and in response to the target information not satisfying a predetermined condition, presenting a prompt message in the display device.
In the same filed of endeavor, Johnson disclose a method and a device wherein in response to the entered information not satisfying a predetermined condition, presenting a prompt message in the display device (If the requested date is not available, and error message (such as a pop-up message) can be displayed to the user to let he/she know to input a different date and/or time [0175]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Johnson, such that an error message was displayed when a predetermined condition was not satisfied as disclosed by Johnson, with motivation to prevent entry of erroneous data (Johnson [0175], [0018]).
Conclusion
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623