Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the battery” should be rewritten as “the battery unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yunoue (US20130071212A1), henceforth referred to as Yunoue.
Regarding claim 1, Yunoue discloses a construction machine comprising an electric motor that drives a hydraulic pump by the power of a battery unit (Paragraph [0068]: "Indicated at 18 is the electric motor mounted on the motor-pump support plate 12 with the hydraulic pump 17. As electric power is fed from the below-described battery 31 to the electric motor 18, the electric motor 18 drives the hydraulic pump 17"), and a fan that generates airflow inside the machine (Figure 3: fan 30), wherein the electric motor is placed below the fan (Figure 3: motor 18 positioned below fan 30).
Regarding claim 2, Yunoue discloses the electric motor is placed below the battery (Figure 3: motor 18 is positioned below battery 31).
Regarding claim 3, Yunoue discloses the electric motor is positioned at a side of the battery unit, and below a hydraulic oil tank that provides hydraulic oil supply to the hydraulic pump (Figure 3: motor 18 is positioned to the side of battery 31, and lower than hydraulic oil tank 20).
Regarding claim 4, Yunoue discloses an electrical device is disposed in front of the battery unit and the electrical device is located below the fan (Figure 3: water pump 28 disposed in front of battery 31, and located below fan 30).
Regarding claim 5, Yunoue discloses the fan and the hydraulic oil tank are arranged side by side in the front-rear direction on one lateral side of the battery unit (Figure 3: fan 30 and tank 20 are positioned side by side in the front-rear direction, on a side of battery 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yunoue in view of Ota (US20170067227A1), henceforth referred to as Ota.
Regarding claim 6, Yunoue discloses an inverter (19), but does not teach the inverter placed below the fan. Ota discloses an inverter that supplies power to the electric motor is placed below the fan (Figures 4 and 5: fan 8A is positioned above inverter 34, which is placed on the bottom surface of utility room 29). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction machine of Yunoue with the inverter placement of Ota, as it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. 13. Further, changing the inverter location of Yunoue would not materially affect the functionality of the invention.
Regarding claim 7, Yunoue discloses the inverter is placed to the side of the battery unit (Figure 3: inverter 19 is placed to the side of battery 31). Ota further discloses the inverter is placed below the hydraulic oil tank (Figure 4: hydraulic oil tank 10 is flush with the upper surface of housing cover 21, which is disposed above inverter 34, which is placed on the bottom surface of utility room 29).
Cited Prior Art not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Weaver (US-20150368874-A1), which discloses a construction machine with an inverter, battery, and oil reservoir.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614