DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 06/30/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2016/0063230 to Alten.
As to claims 1, 9, and 19, Alten discloses a method of operating an On-Screen Display (OSD) function of a public-place- device (Para. 0051, 0076, device that can run a banking program), wherein the public-place-device comprises a display (Fig. 1; Para. 0030, 0033, 0128, display, 102) and a touch screen (Fig. 1; Para. 0030, 0033, 0128-0129, display, 102, can be a touch-screen display capable of detecting when a user touches a location on the screen with one or more fingers and/or performs a touch gesture on the screen by moving one or more fingers along the surface of the screen), the method comprising:
while the OSD function is in a locked state:
disabling a OSD configuration of the display by preventing output of an OSD image on the display (Fig. 6; Para. 0049, block 620, unauthorized user is prompted to try again); and
detecting a touch input through the touch screen (Fig. 6; Para. 0047, block 602 user device receives a fingerprint gesture sequence that includes a series of fingerprint gesture descriptors) ;
causing the OSD function to switch from the locked state to the unlocked state in response to detecting, via the touch screen, a predetermined touch secret code (Fig. 6; Para. 0050-0052, block 630 where the user is authorized and a specific application is launched);
while the OSD function is in an unlocked state:
output the OSD image on the display, wherein the OSD image is configured to display an OSD operation (Fig. 6; Para. 0050-0052, where a specific application is launched);
receive, via the touch screen, user selection of the OSD operation (Fig. 6; Para. 0050-0052, user may be required to either re-enter passcode or use a new passcode for specific applications); and
conduct the OSD configuration of the display responsive to receiving the user selection of the OSD operation (Fig. 6; Para. 0050-0052, allow the user to invoke an application program (e.g., a banking program)).
Additionally as to claim 9, Alten discloses the OSD system comprises a touch controller and a display controller directly communicatively connected to the touch controller (Para. 0123, 0134, control circuitry).
Additionally as to claim 19, Alten discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (Para. 0125, 0132, 0136, computer readable storage media).
As to claims 2 and 10, Alten discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
causing, while the OSD function is in the unlocked state, the OSD function to switch from the unlocked state to the locked state in response to receiving an OSD locking request (Fig. 10; Para. 0067-0068, block 1016 to block 1012; If tactile contact is broken, the device can be locked at block 1012, and process 1000 can end); and
removing the OSD image on the display in response to the switch from the unlocked state to the locked state (Fig. 10; Para. 00067-0068, process 1000 can end).
As to claim 3, Alten discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the OSD locking request comprises at least one of the predetermined touch secret code or other touch secret code input through the touch screen, a touch input performed by operating an area of the touch screen corresponding to an OSD locking indicator, and a signal indicating that no OSD operation has been received for a predetermined period of time (Para. 0003, time out causing locked state).
As to claims 4, 12, and 20, Alten discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the touch secret code comprises a touch gesture secret code (Fig. 5, 7; Para. 0053-0054, three passcodes, as shown in charts 700, 710, 720).
As to claims 5 and 13, Alten discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the OSD operation comprises at least one of an operation performed by touching an area of the touch screen corresponding to at least part of the OSD image (Fig. 5, 7; Para. 0042, keys, 504), and an operation performed by a specific OSD input apparatus (Fig. 6; Para. 0050-0052, allow the user to invoke an application program (e.g., a banking program)).
As to claims 6 and 16, Alten discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the OSD image comprises an OSD navigation menu including at least one control for adjusting a setting of the public-place-device (Para. 0035, 0056, home screen).
As to claims 7 and 17, Alten discloses the method of claim 1,further comprising: while the OSD function is in the locked state:
receiving, from an external device, a command for performing the OSD operation (Fig. 16-19, Para. 0104, block 1712, first device 1500 can receive either an approval or a denial of the access request from server 1604); and
conducting the OSD configuration of the display responsive to receiving the command (Fig. 16-19; Para. 0104, where access to protected function is granted).
As to claims 8 and 18, Alten discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the external device is a remote control (Fig. 16, 18; Para. 0106-0110, where the second user is required to authorize the first user or vice versa).
As to claim 11, Alten discloses the OSD system of claim 9, wherein the OSD locking request comprises at least one of the first signal, a second signal from the touch controller, wherein the second signal is sent by the touch controller to the display controller in response to detecting a touch secret code other than the predetermined touch secret code, a touch operation parsed by the display controller that is performed on an area of the touch screen corresponding to an OSD locking indicator, and a signal from a timer indicating that no OSD operation has been received for a predetermined period of time. (Para. 0003, time out causing locked state)
As to claim 14, Alten discloses the OSD system of claim 9, wherein the touch controller is further configured to: send the first signal to the display controller through at least one of a GPIO connection, a USB connection, an IIC connection and an RS232 connection, in response to detecting the predetermined touch secret code (Para. 0098, 0125, 0130-0131, 0134, wired or wireless connections).
As to claim 15, Alten discloses the OSD system of claim 9, wherein the predetermined touch secret code is recorded in firmware of the touch controller (Fig. 20; Para. 0124, storage subsystem, 2010; Para. 0126, firmware).
Conclusion
/LISA S LANDIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2626