This action is in response to the documents, amendments and remarks received on July 10, 2026.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 10, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent 11,857,190 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that VENDELY et al. does fails to teach, suggest or otherwise render obvious the amended limitatations of a buttress comprising a visual indicium that extends lateralloy across at least a portion of the body from a lateral side edge of the body in a direction transverse to the first length of the body of the buttress. While the embodiment of VENDELY et al. relied upon for the rejection mailed on April 13, 2026 does not illustrate a visual indicium configured as currently claimed, figure 73 of VENDELY et al. discloses an alternative embodiment of an assembly including a buttress body 3202 having visual indicia 3226 that extends in a direction transverse to the length of the buttress body 3202.
Thus, Examiner maintains that the invention(s) of claims 37-40 are unpatentable over VENDELY et al. as further discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VENDELY et al. (US 10,166,023).
In reference to claims 37, figure 73 of VENDLEY et al. discloses an applicator assembly including a platform 3222 positioned within a U-shaped (column 70 lines 34-39) gap of a housing 3224; a buttress body 3202 having an adhesive thereon (abstract), the buttress body 3202 positioned on at least a portion of the platform 3222, and a visual indicium 3226 that extends laterraly across at least a portion of the body 3202 from a lateral side edge of the body 3202 in a direction transverse to a first length of the body 3202 (column 75 lines 11-60).
VENDLEY et al. does not mention a tray in the embodiment 3200 having trimming features as claimed. However, VENDLEY et al. discloses an alternative embodiment (figures 7-9) of an applicator assembly 200 which also includes a platform 220 positioned within a housing 210, 218; as well as, movable features 252 coupled to a base 260 of a tray (figure 9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the applicator assembly of VENDLEY et al. with the trimming feature to include a tray, since column 25 lines 37-40 of VENDLEY et al. states such a modification provides structural support to movable features (i.e. trimming feature(s)) of the applicator assembly.
Regarding claims 38 and 39, VENDLEY et al. disclose the at least one visual indicium 3226 as various shapes integrally formed with the buttress body. Column 75 lines 31-40 of VENDLEY et al. expresses a desire to provide visual feedback to a user that corresponds to the positioning of the buttress assembly with features, wherein the visual feedback can include visibly colored markings printed or etched into a surface of the assembly. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified the buttress assembly with a printed colored marking for the purpose of ensuring blade 1354 is aligned with a variable length feature 1356 of the buttress assembly.
With respect to claim 40, the abstract and figure 35A of VENDLEY et al. discloses the knowledge in the art to provide the buttress body with an adhesive 1338 of a first material and the portion of the buttress body and the visual indicium 3226 is of a second material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-36 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
November 19, 2022