DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 6/30/2025, is being considered by the examiner.
Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a transform basis”, “a modified transform coefficient”, “an intra subpartition mode” , “an explicit MTS is enabled” must be shown or the features must be canceled from the claims 1-4. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Koo (US Patent 11,350,130 B2), (“Koo”), in view of Koo et al. (US Patent 2022/0174273 A1), (“Koo_273”).
Regarding claim 1, Koo meets the claim limitations as follows:
An image decoding apparatus (i.e. a decoder) [Koo: col. 2, line 34; Fig. 2] for transforming a transform coefficient for each transform unit (i.e. FIG. 5 is an embodiment to which the disclosure is applied and illustrates a schematic block diagram of a dequantization and transform unit 220/230 within a decoder) [Koo: col. 2, line 51-53; Fig. 5], the image decoding apparatus (i.e. a decoder) [Koo: col. 2, line 34; Fig. 2] comprising:a transform unit decoding circuit configured to (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] decode, from coded data (i.e. decoding a video signal) [Koo: col. 2, line 34; Fig. 2], (i) a secondary index, stldx, indicating whether or not a secondary transform is used (i.e. FIG. 10 is a flowchart for describing a decoding process in which a horizontal transform or vertical transform is applied to a row or a column based on an MTS flag and an MTS index as an embodiment to which the present disclosure is applied) [Koo: col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 3; Fig. 10] and a transform basis (i.e. Here, whether the transform is DST or DCT is represented by S or C, a type number is represented as a superposition in the form of a Roman number, and N of a lower subscript indicates that the transform is an NxN transform. Further, in the 2D matrix such as the CNII and SNIV, it is assumed that col= vectors form a transform basis) [Koo: col. 12, line 12-17; Fig. 6], and (ii) a multiple transform selection index, mts_idx, being a switch index for selecting a transform basis of a core transform (i.e. determine the MTS index may be the inverse transform of the DCT2. Based on at least one of the prediction mode, the horizontal transform, and the vertical transform of the current block (S930). Here, the MTS index may mean an index indicating any one of the plurality of transform combinations for each intra prediction mode and the MTS index may be transmitted for each transform unit) [Koo: col. 15, line 21-27; Fig. 9];an inverse quantization circuit configured to (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] perform an inverse quantization on a quantized transform coefficient and derive the transform coefficient (i.e. The decoder may perform an inverse primary approximation transform in a vertical direction by using the vertical primary transform for the dequantized transform coefficient block (S2140)) [Koo: col. 34, line 50-53; Figs. 5, 21];a secondary transform circuit (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] configured to (i.e. As an embodiment, the decoder may check whether the number of non-zero transform coefficients is greater than the threshold. In this case, the transform combination index may be obtained when the number of non-zero transform coefficients is greater than the threshold) [Koo: col. 14, line 63-67] derive a modified transform coefficient by applying the secondary transform to the transform coefficient (i.e. The secondary transform unit 122 may apply the secondary transform to a primary transformed signal and here, the secondary transform may be predefined in the table in the encoder and/or the decoder) [Koo: col. 10, line 30-34; Fig. 5] by using a transform matrix in a case that the secondary transform is enabled (i.e. the secondary transform may adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6 may be adopted) [Koo: col. 10, line 55-58; Fig. 6] - Note: Fig. 6 discloses multiple transform structures based on different Discrete Cosine Transforms and Discrete Sine Transforms associated with different intra prediction mores); anda core transform circuit configured to (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] apply the core transform(i.e. In the disclosure, when a transform is performed, the transform may be performed through a plurality of steps. For example, as in FIG. 4, two steps of a primary transform and a secondary transform may be applied or more transform steps may be used according to an algorithm. In this case, the primary transform may be referred to as a core transform. The primary transform unit 121 may apply a primary transform on a residual signal. In this case, the primary transform may be pre-defined in a table form in the encoder and/or the decoder. A discrete cosine transform type 2 (hereinafter "DCT2") may be applied to the primary transform. Alternatively, a discrete sine transform-type 7 (hereinafter called "DST7") may be applied to a specific case. For example, in the intra prediction mode, the DST7 may be applied to a 4x4 block. Further, the primary transform may adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6
may be adopted) [Koo: col. 10, line 11-30; Fig. 4] including a vertical transform and a horizontal transform to the transform coefficient or the modified transform coefficient (i.e. One transform combination may include a horizontal transform (or row transform) applied to rows of a corresponding 2D block and a vertical transform ( or col =
transform) applied to colunms) [Koo: col. 12, line 26-29; Fig. 6],wherein the core transform circuit (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] derives a horizontal transform type and a vertical transform type according to the multiple transform selection index, mts_idx (i.e. Referring to FIG. 6 above, a case of using 35 intra prediction modes and a case of using 67 intra prediction modes are illustrated. A plurality of transform combinations may be applied to each transform configuration group divided in each intra prediction mode column. For example, the plurality of transform combinations may include four (row direction transforms and column direction transforms) combinations. As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col = (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 42-58; Fig. 6], in a case that an explicit MTS is enabled ((i.e. In the present disclosure. Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) may refer to a method for performing transform using at least two transform types. This may also be expressed as an Adaptive Multiple Transform (AMT) or Explicit Multiple Transform (EMT), and likewise, mts_idx may also be expressed as AMT_idx, EMT_idx, tu_mts_idx, AMT_TU_idx, EMT_TU_idx, transform index, or transform combination index and the present disclosure is not limited to the expressions) [Koo: col. 5, line 5-13]; (i.e. For example, when sps_mts_intra_enabled_flag=1 or sps_mts_inter_enabled_flag=1, the decoder may obtain tu_mts_flag) [Koo: col. 16, line 51-53; Fig. 6]), derives the horizontal transform type and the vertical transform type to be equal to 0 in a case that a value of the secondary index, stldx, is not equal to 0 (For example, the plurality of transform combinations may include four (row direction transforms and column direction transforms) combinations. As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col= (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 42-58; Fig. 6], and performs the vertical transform according to the vertical transform type, and the horizontal transform according to the horizontal transform type ((The inverse secondary transform unit 231 performs an
inverse secondary transform for the transform coefficients. Here, the inverse secondary transform represents an inverse transform of the secondary transform described in FIG. 4 above. As another embodiment, the secondary transform may
adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6 may be adopted) [Koo: col. 11, line 22-30; Fig. 6]; (As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col= (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 46-58; Fig. 6]).
Koo does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a secondary index, stldx.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koo_273 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a secondary index, stldx (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure,
data hiding and implicit coding methods for transform indicators are introduced. Here, transform indicators may include ST_idx, UTI_idx, EMT_CU_Flag, EMT_TU_Flag, NSST_Idx and any sort of transform related index which corresponding information may be inserted in a coefficient coding process (it can be extracted during a coefficient coding process)) [Koo_273: para. 0244]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Koo with Koo_273 to program the system to implement Koo_273’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Koo with Koo_273 will enable the system to transform efficiency by determining and applying a transform suitable for a current bloc [Koo_273: para. 0016].
Regarding claim 2, Koo meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Koo further meets the claim limitations as follows:
wherein the core transform circuit (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] derives the horizontal transform type and the vertical transform type to be equal to 0 or 1 according to an intra prediction mode and a size of the transform unit in a case that an intra subpartition mode is used ((i.e. Referring to FIG. 6 above, the transform configuration groups may be determined based on the prediction mode and the number of groups may be a total of six groups G0 to G5. In addition, G0 to G4 correspond to a case where intra prediction is applied, and G5 represents transform combinations (or transform sets and transform combination sets) applied to the residual block generated by the inter prediction. One transform combination may include a horizontal transform (or row transform) applied to rows of a corresponding 2D block and a vertical transform (or col = transform) applied to columns) [Koo: col. 12, line 18-29; Fig. 6] ; (i.e. The plurality of transforms ( or transform combinations) may include the transforms ( or transform combinations) described in FIG. 6 of the present disclosure.) [Koo: col. 5, line 58-60; Fig. 6]; (i.e. Further, in each coding process, partitioning, decomposition, splitting, and division may be appropriately replaced and construed) [Koo: col. 5, line 1-4; Fig. 6]).
Regarding claim 3, Koo meets the claim limitations as follows:
An image encoding apparatus (i.e. an encoder) [Koo: col. 2, line 33; Fig. 1] for transforming a transform coefficient for each transform unit (i.e. FIG. 5 is an embodiment to which the disclosure is applied and illustrates a schematic block diagram of a dequantization and transform unit 220/230 within a decoder) [Koo: col. 2, line 51-53; Fig. 5], the image decoding apparatus (i.e. an encoder) [Koo: col. 2, line 33; Fig. 1] comprising:a transform unit encoding circuit configured to (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] encode, from coded data (i.e. encoding a video signal) [Koo: col. 2, line 32; Fig. 1], (i) a secondary index, stldx, indicating whether or not a secondary transform is used (i.e. FIG. 10 is a flowchart for describing a decoding process in which a horizontal transform or vertical transform is applied to a row or a column based on an MTS flag and an MTS index as an embodiment to which the present disclosure is applied) [Koo: col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 3; Fig. 10] and a transform basis (i.e. Here, whether the transform is DST or DCT is represented by S or C, a type number is represented as a superposition in the form of a Roman number, and N of a lower subscript indicates that the transform is an NxN transform. Further, in the 2D matrix such as the CNII and SNIV, it is assumed that col= vectors form a transform basis) [Koo: col. 12, line 12-17; Fig. 6], and (ii) a multiple transform selection index, mts_idx, being a switch index for selecting a transform basis of a core transform (i.e. determine the MTS index may be the inverse transform of the DCT2. Based on at least one of the prediction mode, the horizontal transform, and the vertical transform of the current block (S930). Here, the MTS index may mean an index indicating any one of the plurality of transform combinations for each intra prediction mode and the MTS index may be transmitted for each transform unit) [Koo: col. 15, line 21-27; Fig. 9];a quantization circuit configured to (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] perform a quantization on a quantized transform coefficient and derive the transform coefficient (i.e. The quantization unit 130 may quantize the transform coefficient and transmits the quantized transform coefficient to the entropy encoding unit 190 and the entropy encoding unit 190 may entropy-code a quantized signal and output the entropy-coded quantized signal as a bitstream) [Koo: col. 6, line 35-39; Fig. 4];a secondary transform circuit configured to ((i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] derive a modified transform coefficient by applying the secondary transform to the transform coefficient (i.e. The secondary transform unit 122 may apply the secondary transform to a primary transformed signal and here, the
secondary transform may be predefined in the table in the encoder and/or the decoder) [Koo: col. 10, line 30-34; Fig. 5] by using a transform matrix in a case that the secondary transform is enabled (i.e. the secondary transform may adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6 may be adopted) [Koo: col. 10, line 55-58; Fig. 6] - Note: Fig. 6 discloses multiple transform structures based on different Discrete Cosine Transforms and Discrete Sine Transforms associated with different intra prediction mores); anda core transform circuit configured to (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] apply the core transform (i.e. In the disclosure, when a transform is performed, the transform may be performed through a plurality of steps. For example, as in FIG. 4, two steps of a primary transform and a secondary transform may be applied or more transform steps may be used according to an algorithm. In this case, the primary transform may be referred to as a core transform. The primary transform unit 121 may apply a primary transform on a residual signal. In this case, the primary transform may be pre-defined in a table form in the encoder and/or the decoder. A discrete cosine transform type 2 (hereinafter "DCT2") may be applied to the primary transform. Alternatively, a discrete sine transform-type 7 (hereinafter called "DST7") may be applied to a specific case. For example, in the intra prediction mode, the DST7 may be applied to a 4x4 block. Further, the primary transform may adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6
may be adopted) [Koo: col. 10, line 11-30; Fig. 4] including a vertical transform and a horizontal transform to the transform coefficient or the modified transform coefficient (i.e. One transform combination may include a horizontal transform (or row transform) applied to rows of a corresponding 2D block and a vertical transform ( or col =
transform) applied to colunms) [Koo: col. 12, line 26-29; Fig. 6],wherein the core transform circuit (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22] derives a horizontal transform type and a vertical transform type according to the multiple transform selection index, mts_idx (i.e. Referring to FIG. 6 above, a case of using 35 intra prediction modes and a case of using 67 intra prediction modes are illustrated. A plurality of transform combinations may be applied to each transform configuration group divided in each intra prediction mode column. For example, the plurality of transform combinations may include four (row direction transforms and column direction transforms) combinations. As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col = (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 42-58; Fig. 6], in a case that an explicit MTS is enabled ((i.e. In the present disclosure. Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) may refer to a method for performing transform using at least two transform types. This may also be expressed as an Adaptive Multiple Transform (AMT) or Explicit Multiple Transform (EMT), and likewise, mts_idx may also be expressed as AMT_idx, EMT_idx, tu_mts_idx, AMT_TU_idx, EMT_TU_idx, transform index, or transform combination index and the present disclosure is not limited to the expressions) [Koo: col. 5, line 5-13]; (i.e. For example, when sps_mts_intra_enabled_flag=1 or sps_mts_inter_enabled_flag=1, the decoder may obtain tu_mts_flag) [Koo: col. 16, line 51-53; Fig. 6]), derives the horizontal transform type and the vertical transform type to be equal to 0 in a case that a value of the secondary index, stldx, is not equal to 0 (For example, the plurality of transform combinations may include four (row direction transforms and column direction transforms) combinations. As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col= (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 42-58; Fig. 6], and performs the vertical transform according to the vertical transform type, and the horizontal transform according to the horizontal transform type ((The inverse secondary transform unit 231 performs an
inverse secondary transform for the transform coefficients. Here, the inverse secondary transform represents an inverse transform of the secondary transform described in FIG. 4 above. As another embodiment, the secondary transform may
adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6 may be adopted) [Koo: col. 11, line 22-30; Fig. 6]; (As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col= (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 46-58; Fig. 6]).
Koo does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a secondary index, stldx.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koo_273 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a secondary index, stldx (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure,
data hiding and implicit coding methods for transform indicators are introduced. Here, transform indicators may include ST_idx, UTI_idx, EMT_CU_Flag, EMT_TU_Flag, NSST_Idx and any sort of transform related index which corresponding information may be inserted in a coefficient coding process (it can be extracted during a coefficient coding process)) [Koo_273: para. 0244]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Koo with Koo_273 to program the system to implement Koo_273’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Koo with Koo_273 will enable the system to transform efficiency by determining and applying a transform suitable for a current bloc [Koo_273: para. 0016].
Regarding claim 4, Koo meets the claim limitations as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for making a computer (i.e. the processing method to which the disclosure is applied may be produced in the form of a program executed by a computer, and may be stored in a computer-readable recording medium) [Koo: col. 36, line 35-39] transform a transform coefficient for each transform unit (i.e. FIG. 5 is an embodiment to which the disclosure is applied and illustrates a schematic block diagram of a dequantization and transform unit 220/230 within a decoder) [Koo: col. 2, line 51-53; Fig. 5], wherein the program making the computer (i.e. the embodiments described in the disclosure may be implemented and performed on a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip. For example, the function units illustrated in the drawings may be implemented and performed on a computer, a processor, a microprocessor, a controller or a chip) [Koo: col. 36, line 12-18; Fig. 22]:decode, from coded data (i.e. decoding a video signal) [Koo: col. 2, line 34; Fig. 2], (i) a secondary index, stldx, indicating whether or not a secondary transform is used (i.e. FIG. 10 is a flowchart for describing a decoding process in which a horizontal transform or vertical transform is applied to a row or a column based on an MTS flag and an MTS index as an embodiment to which the present disclosure is applied) [Koo: col. 2, line 66 – col. 3, line 3; Fig. 10] and a transform basis (i.e. Here, whether the transform is DST or DCT is represented by S or C, a type number is represented as a superposition in the form of a Roman number, and N of a lower subscript indicates that the transform is an NxN transform. Further, in the 2D matrix such as the CNII and SNIV, it is assumed that col= vectors form a transform basis) [Koo: col. 12, line 12-17; Fig. 6], and (ii) a multiple transform selection index, mts_idx, being a switch index for selecting a transform basis of a core transform (i.e. determine the MTS index may be the inverse transform of the DCT2. Based on at least one of the prediction mode, the horizontal transform, and the vertical transform of the current block (S930). Here, the MTS index may mean an index indicating any one of the plurality of transform combinations for each intra prediction mode and the MTS index may be transmitted for each transform unit) [Koo: col. 15, line 21-27; Fig. 9];perform an inverse quantization on a quantized transform coefficient and derive the transform coefficient (i.e. The decoder may perform an inverse primary approximation transform in a vertical direction by using the vertical
primary transform for the dequantized transform coefficient block (S2140)) [Koo: col. 34, line 50-53; Figs. 5, 21];derive a modified transform coefficient by applying the secondary transform to the transform coefficient (i.e. The secondary transform unit 122 may apply the secondary transform to a primary transformed signal and here, the
secondary transform may be predefined in the table in the encoder and/or the decoder) [Koo: col. 10, line 30-34; Fig. 5] by using a transform matrix in a case that the secondary transform is enabled (i.e. the secondary transform may adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6 may be adopted) [Koo: col. 10, line 55-58; Fig. 6] - Note: Fig. 6 discloses multiple transform structures based on different Discrete Cosine Transforms and Discrete Sine Transforms associated with different intra prediction mores);derive a horizontal transform type and a vertical transform type according to the multiple transform selection index, mts_idx (i.e. Referring to FIG. 6 above, a case of using 35 intra prediction modes and a case of using 67 intra prediction modes are illustrated. A plurality of transform combinations may be applied to each transform configuration group divided in each intra prediction mode column. For example, the plurality of transform combinations may include four (row direction transforms and column direction transforms) combinations. As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col = (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 42-58; Fig. 6], in a case that an explicit MTS is enabled ((i.e. In the present disclosure. Multiple Transform Selection (MTS) may refer to a method for performing transform using at least two transform types. This may also be expressed as an Adaptive Multiple Transform (AMT) or Explicit Multiple Transform (EMT), and likewise, mts_idx may also be expressed as AMT_idx, EMT_idx, tu_mts_idx, AMT_TU_idx, EMT_TU_idx, transform index, or transform combination index and the present disclosure is not limited to the expressions) [Koo: col. 5, line 5-13]; (i.e. For example, when sps_mts_intra_enabled_flag=1 or sps_mts_inter_enabled_flag=1, the decoder may obtain tu_mts_flag) [Koo: col. 16, line 51-53; Fig. 6]); derive the horizontal transform type and the vertical transform type to be equal to 0 in a case that a value of the secondary index, stIdx, is not equal to 0 (For example, the plurality of transform combinations may include four (row direction transforms and column direction transforms) combinations. As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col= (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 42-58; Fig. 6], and perform transform to the transform coefficient or the modified transform coefficient according to the vertical transform type and the horizontal transform type ((The inverse secondary transform unit 231 performs an inverse secondary transform for the transform coefficients. Here, the inverse secondary transform represents an inverse transform of the secondary transform described in FIG. 4 above. As another embodiment, the secondary transform may adopt combinations of various transforms DST 7, DCT 8, DST 1, and DCT 5 of the multiple transform selection (MTS). For example, FIG. 6 may be adopted) [Koo: col. 11, line 22-30; Fig. 6]; (As a specific example, DST-7 and DST-5 may be applied in a row (horizontal) direction and a col= (vertical) direction in group 0, and as a result, a total of four combinations are available. Since a total of four transform kernel combinations may be applied to each intra prediction mode, a transform combination index for selecting one of the transform kernel combinations may be transmitted every transform unit. In the present disclosure, the transform combination index may be called MTS index and expressed as mts_idx) [Koo: col. 12, line 46-58; Fig. 6]).
Koo does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a secondary index, stldx.
However, in the same field of endeavor Koo_273 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a secondary index, stldx (i.e. In another embodiment of the present disclosure,
data hiding and implicit coding methods for transform indicators are introduced. Here, transform indicators may include ST_idx, UTI_idx, EMT_CU_Flag, EMT_TU_Flag, NSST_Idx and any sort of transform related index which corresponding information may be inserted in a coefficient coding process (it can be extracted during a coefficient coding process)) [Koo_273: para. 0244]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Koo with Koo_273 to program the system to implement Koo_273’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Koo with Koo_273 will enable the system to transform efficiency by determining and applying a transform suitable for a current bloc [Koo_273: para. 0016].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information