DETAILED ACTION
The following claims are pending in this office action: 1-20
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/30/2025 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 13-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kirby et al.(US 20160308908 A1)[hereinafter “Kirby”]in view of Venkatachari et al. (US 11991216 B1) [hereinafter “Venkatachari”].
As per claim 1, Kirby discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a device, rules associated with security policies of a network with network devices; (Kirby, [0037]” the security device controller discovers security policies (e.g., firewall configurations/rules) and routing policies (e.g., router configurations/ACLs) configured on the security devices on the network,”) analyzing, by the device, the rules to generate a rule analysis(Kirby, [0034]” the security device controller includes an analysis engine for implementing change management on vendor neutral language for pre- and post-deployment management and analysis to determine changes or rule violations”) that identifies one or more anomalies associated with the rules(Kirby, [0037],[0042],[0053]” the semantic difference engine can determine differences in a semantic network flow model with a configured network/firewall policy (e.g., providing a more robust and more user understandable pre- and post-deployment change evaluation than simply a line-by-line code comparison that shows differences based on the line-by-line code comparison of two configurations)” and “The security device controller can then determine configuration changes for one or more of the security devices on the network to resolve any detected discrepancies” also “prior to execution, the security device controller performs a pre-deployment analysis to determine whether any configuration change(s) will violate the rules (e.g., the whitelist/blacklist predefined alerts). If this pre-deployment analysis passes (e.g., or if the admin/user overrides it), then the user (e.g., admin) can schedule or execute the configuration change(s). For example, the reporting engine (320) can be used to report any such pre-deployment analysis results”).
Kirby does not disclose identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules.
However, Venkatachari in the same field of endeavor discloses
identifies one or more corresponding recommendations((Venkatachari, col 15, Ln10-20)” Context analysis module 238 may also generate actionable insights such that an action can be taken to minimize insider and external threats. The actionable insights may include users and/or resources whose permissions and privileges have been over-provisioned, and specific recommendations for remediating the difference to establish a productive zero-trust access model for users and resources. In some embodiments, an alert is sent to user A for taking actions based on the actionable insights”) associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; ((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 54-60)” the suggestion may include remediation steps such as changing a user role, changing permission, removing a connection, deleting a machine, etc. The suggestion may be generated based on an analysis of the contextual insights and/or policies applied to one or more cloud-based assets involved in the remedial actions.”) and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 54-60)” context analysis module 238 may generate and add a visualization of one or more insights to one or more graphs.”) and the one or more corresponding recommendations((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 64-67)” user interface module 240 to generate a visualization of the suggestion including the one or more remedial actions and/or the determined impact”) in a context of the rules. ((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 22-27)” The visualization or visual representation may be in different forms, shapes, colors, etc. In some embodiments, an insight may be a contextual insight or an actionable insight. The contextual insight provides information relevant to a cloud-based asset such as roles and policies attached to an asset”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules as suggested by Venkatachari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating remedial recommendations for identified security-policy anomalies, thereby facilitating remediation of security risks associated with the analyzed policies.
As per claim 2, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 1. Kirby further discloses wherein providing for display the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations comprises: providing the one or more anomalies for display(Kirby, [0075], [0076]” after a search is launched, search results are displayed in the search results page (1000)” and “the search summary (e.g., for an access search), displays the number of search queries and the number of errors and devices ”) as one or more corresponding collapsible sections. (Kirby, [0076]” displayed in the right-hand section, and the search summary can be collapsible and expandable).”).
As per claim 3, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 1. Kirby further discloses the method comprising: providing an option to automatically correct the one or more anomalies(Kirby, [0038]” the security device controller includes automatically implementing a policy change transaction (e.g., a set of commands/configurations of a security device on a heterogeneous network), including logging into a security device (e.g., using credentials, such as a username/password, a device-based digital certificate, and/or other credentials for authentication and authorization), sending commands to add/delete/modify policies to the security device”) with the one or more corresponding recommendations.
As per claim 4, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 1. Kirby further discloses the method comprising: providing a preview (Kirby, [0053]” In some embodiments, prior to execution, the security device controller performs a pre-deployment analysis to determine whether any configuration change(s) will violate the rules (e.g., the whitelist/blacklist predefined alerts). If this pre-deployment analysis passes (e.g., or if the admin/user overrides it), then the user (e.g., admin) can schedule or execute the configuration change(s)”) of the one or more corresponding recommendations within the context of the rules.
As per claim 8, Kirby discloses a device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors(Kirby, [0021]” The invention can be implemented in numerous ways, including as a process; an apparatus; a system; a composition of matter; a computer program product embodied on a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor”) to: receive rules associated with security policies of a network with network devices; Kirby, [0037]” the security device controller discovers security policies (e.g., firewall configurations/rules) and routing policies (e.g., router configurations/ACLs) configured on the security devices on the network,”).
analyze the rules to generate a rule analysis(Kirby, [0034]” the security device controller includes an analysis engine for implementing change management on vendor neutral language for pre- and post-deployment management and analysis to determine changes or rule violations”) that identifies one or more anomalies associated with the rules(Kirby, [0037],[0042],[0053]” the semantic difference engine can determine differences in a semantic network flow model with a configured network/firewall policy (e.g., providing a more robust and more user understandable pre- and post-deployment change evaluation than simply a line-by-line code comparison that shows differences based on the line-by-line code comparison of two configurations)” and “The security device controller can then determine configuration changes for one or more of the security devices on the network to resolve any detected discrepancies” also “prior to execution, the security device controller performs a pre-deployment analysis to determine whether any configuration change(s) will violate the rules (e.g., the whitelist/blacklist predefined alerts). If this pre-deployment analysis passes (e.g., or if the admin/user overrides it), then the user (e.g., admin) can schedule or execute the configuration change(s). For example, the reporting engine (320) can be used to report any such pre-deployment analysis results”).
provide an option to automatically correct the one or more anomalies(Kirby, [0038]” the security device controller includes automatically implementing a policy change transaction (e.g., a set of commands/configurations of a security device on a heterogeneous network), including logging into a security device (e.g., using credentials, such as a username/password, a device-based digital certificate, and/or other credentials for authentication and authorization), sending commands to add/delete/modify policies to the security device”)
Kirby does not disclose
identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies;
provide for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules;
However, Venkatachari in the same field of endeavor discloses
identifies one or more corresponding recommendations((Venkatachari, col 15, Ln10-20)” Context analysis module 238 may also generate actionable insights such that an action can be taken to minimize insider and external threats. The actionable insights may include users and/or resources whose permissions and privileges have been over-provisioned, and specific recommendations for remediating the difference to establish a productive zero-trust access model for users and resources. In some embodiments, an alert is sent to user A for taking actions based on the actionable insights”) associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; ((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 54-60)” the suggestion may include remediation steps such as changing a user role, changing permission, removing a connection, deleting a machine, etc. The suggestion may be generated based on an analysis of the contextual insights and/or policies applied to one or more cloud-based assets involved in the remedial actions.”).
one or more corresponding recommendations((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 64-67)” user interface module 240 to generate a visualization of the suggestion including the one or more remedial actions and/or the determined impact”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules; one or more corresponding recommendations as suggested by Venkatachari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating remedial recommendations for identified security-policy anomalies, thereby facilitating remediation of security risks associated with the analyzed policies.
As per claim 9, the references as combined above disclose the device of claim 8. Kirby further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to: display a view of the rules affected by the one or more anomalies in a single view. (Kirby, [0058],[0060]” a screen diagram of a graphical user interface (GUI) illustrating a status page output by a security device controller in accordance with some embodiments” and “an alerts page 500 is output by the security device controller to display any such violations. In particular, these violations can generate new alerts visible in the alerts page (500). As used in this context, the “alert” term is being used to indicate an alert in the typical use of the term, for example, such as when an event triggers an alert when some particular condition is analyzed on the network and/or is to be brought to the attention of a security network admin (e.g., as compared to the use of the term alert as a type of rule that is analyzed on each change of configuration and raise an issue if the rule is violated, as discussed above with respect to the use ofover time.”).
As per claim 10, the references as combined disclose the device of claim 9. Kirby further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to display the view of the rules affected by the one or more anomalies in the single view, are to: [collapse rules] (Kirby, [0076][0075]”…the search summary can be collapsible and expandable” and “In particular, a rules search can look for a rule that exactly matches a search query. An access search can look for all matches, including overlapped, hidden, and exact matches” and “ selecting a row on the bottom left table/grid (1006) populates the right grid (1008) with all of the rules for that device that match the query (e.g., they will show a match type, such as overlap, hidden, or exact).”).
provided between [the rules affected by the one or more anomalies.] (Kirby, [0075]” selecting a row on the bottom left table/grid (1006) populates the right grid (1008) with all of the rules for that device that match the query (e.g., they will show a match type, such as overlap, hidden, or exact).”).
As per claim 13, the references as combined above disclose the device of claim 8. Kirby further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to: generate a report based on the rule analysis;(Kirby, [0030],[0101]” the security device controller provides reporting and analytics information. For example, the security device controller can generate reports on the configured and/or managed security devices in a network” and “generating a report on the configured security devices on the heterogeneous network is performed. For example, a change management summary or dashboard can be displayed to report on the success and/or failure of any deployed configuration changes”) and provide the report to one or more network engineers. (Kirby, [0026]” an administrator (e.g., an Information Technology (IT), network, or security admin(istrator)) can use the security device controller to express a rule and/or policy (e.g., a set of rules) for a security device(s) in a general or abstract manner ”).
As per claim 14, the references as combined above disclose the device of claim 8.Kirby further discloses wherein the security policies include one or more of a user access policy,(Kirby, [0024]” A rule can include an access control entry (ACE) inside an ACL or a rule inside a security policy (e.g., a firewall policy). Generally, a rule provides a description of a network flow and/or a filtering access (e.g., allow or deny, such as to allow/deny from <Source> to <Destination> for Service).”) a user authentication policy, (Kirby, [0038]” the security device controller includes automatically implementing a policy change transaction (e.g., a set of commands/configurations of a security device on a heterogeneous network), including logging into a security device (e.g., using credentials, such as a username/password, a device-based digital certificate, and/or other credentials for authentication and authorization), sending commands to add/delete/modify policies to the security device, and then logging out of the security device.”) a data protection policy, (Kirby, [0024]” A rule can include an access control entry (ACE) inside an ACL or a rule inside a security policy (e.g., a firewall policy). Generally, a rule provides a description of a network flow and/or a filtering access (e.g., allow or deny, such as to allow/deny from <Source> to <Destination> for Service).”) a network usage policy, (Kirby, [0024]” Generally, a rule provides a description of a network flow and/or a filtering access (e.g., allow or deny, such as to allow/deny from <Source> to <Destination> for Service).”) a network configuration policy, (Kirby, [0024]” the configuration policy can include a security configuration for a firewall and/or a routing configuration for a router”) or a device security policy.
As per claim 15, Kirby discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions(Kirby, [0021]” a computer readable storage medium; and/or a processor, such as a processor configured to execute instructions stored on and/or provided by a memory coupled to the processor”) comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to: receive rules associated with security policies of a network with network devices; (Kirby, [0037]” the security device controller discovers security policies (e.g., firewall configurations/rules) and routing policies (e.g., router configurations/ACLs) configured on the security devices on the network,”) analyze the rules to generate a rule analysis(Kirby, [0034]” the security device controller includes an analysis engine for implementing change management on vendor neutral language for pre- and post-deployment management and analysis to determine changes or rule violations”) that identifies one or more anomalies associated with the rules(Kirby, [0037],[0042],[0053]” the semantic difference engine can determine differences in a semantic network flow model with a configured network/firewall policy (e.g., providing a more robust and more user understandable pre- and post-deployment change evaluation than simply a line-by-line code comparison that shows differences based on the line-by-line code comparison of two configurations)” and “The security device controller can then determine configuration changes for one or more of the security devices on the network to resolve any detected discrepancies” also “prior to execution, the security device controller performs a pre-deployment analysis to determine whether any configuration change(s) will violate the rules (e.g., the whitelist/blacklist predefined alerts). If this pre-deployment analysis passes (e.g., or if the admin/user overrides it), then the user (e.g., admin) can schedule or execute the configuration change(s). For example, the reporting engine (320) can be used to report any such pre-deployment analysis results”).
provide an option to automatically correct the one or more anomalies(Kirby, [0038]” the security device controller includes automatically implementing a policy change transaction (e.g., a set of commands/configurations of a security device on a heterogeneous network), including logging into a security device (e.g., using credentials, such as a username/password, a device-based digital certificate, and/or other credentials for authentication and authorization), sending commands to add/delete/modify policies to the security device”)
Kirby does not disclose
identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; provide for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules; one or more corresponding recommendations.
However, Venkatachari in the same field of endeavor discloses
identifies one or more corresponding recommendations((Venkatachari, col 15, Ln10-20)” Context analysis module 238 may also generate actionable insights such that an action can be taken to minimize insider and external threats. The actionable insights may include users and/or resources whose permissions and privileges have been over-provisioned, and specific recommendations for remediating the difference to establish a productive zero-trust access model for users and resources. In some embodiments, an alert is sent to user A for taking actions based on the actionable insights”) associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; ((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 54-60)” the suggestion may include remediation steps such as changing a user role, changing permission, removing a connection, deleting a machine, etc. The suggestion may be generated based on an analysis of the contextual insights and/or policies applied to one or more cloud-based assets involved in the remedial actions.”).
one or more corresponding recommendations. ((Venkatachari, col 9, Ln 64-67)” user interface module 240 to generate a visualization of the suggestion including the one or more remedial actions and/or the determined impact”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules; one or more corresponding recommendations as suggested by Venkatachari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating remedial recommendations for identified security-policy anomalies, thereby facilitating remediation of security risks associated with the analyzed policies.
As per claim 19, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 9. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5, 11, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kirby et al.(US 20160308908 A1)[hereinafter “Kirby”]in view of Venkatachari et al. (US 11991216 B1) [hereinafter “Venkatachari”] as applied to claim 1 and in view of Kumar et al (US 20180176257 A1) [hereinafter “Kumar”].
As per claim 5, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 4. The combination fails to disclose wherein providing the preview of the one or more corresponding recommendations comprises: providing a preview of placement of one of the rules based on the one or more corresponding recommendations.
Kumar in the same field of endeavor discloses
providing a preview of [placement of one of the rules] based on the one or more corresponding recommendations(Kumar, [0017], [0018]” The controller device may utilize the new rule construct and the information identifying the firewall devices to determine proper positions for the new firewall rule (e.g., in a list of firewall rules in a memory of each of the firewall devices), and may cause the new firewall rule to be stored in the firewall devices at the proper positions” and “Unlike manual determination of firewall rule placement by network administrators and typical automated firewall rule placement ….”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules as suggested by Venkatachari to further include providing a preview of placement of one of the rules based on the one or more corresponding recommendations as taught by Kumar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Kumar’s rule-placement technique would facilitate proper placement of a new firewall rule relative to existing rules , thereby improving rule management and reducing the burden associated with manually determining rule placement.
As per claim 11, the references as combined above disclose the device of claim 8. The combination fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further to: receive a new rule for the security policies; and provide a recommended placement of the new rule with respect to the rules associated with the security policies.
However, Kumar in the same field of endeavor discloses
receive a new rule for the security policies; (Kumar, [0017]” the new rule construct and the information identifying the firewall devices to determine proper positions for the new firewall rule (e.g., in a list of firewall rules in a memory of each of the firewall devices), and may cause the new firewall rule to be stored in the firewall devices at the proper positions”) and provide a recommended placement of the new rule with respect to the rules associated with the security policies. (Kumar, [0017], [0018]” he controller device may utilize the new rule construct and the information identifying the firewall devices to determine proper positions for the new firewall rule (e.g., in a list of firewall rules in a memory of each of the firewall devices), and may cause the new firewall rule to be stored in the firewall devices at the proper positions” and “Unlike manual determination of firewall rule placement by network administrators and typical automated firewall rule placement ….”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules as suggested by Venkatachari to further include receive a new rule for the security policies; and provide a recommended placement of the new rule with respect to the rules associated with the security policies. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Kumar’s rule-placement technique would facilitate proper placement of a new firewall rule relative to existing rules , thereby improving rule management and reducing the burden associated with manually determining rule placement.
As per claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 11. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kirby et al.(US 20160308908 A1)[hereinafter “Kirby”]in view of Venkatachari et al. (US 11991216 B1) [hereinafter “Venkatachari”] as applied to claim 1 and in view of Kumar et al (US 20180176257 A1) [hereinafter “Kumar”] as applied to claims 5, 11 and 16 and also in view Bejarano et al (US 20170126740 A1) [hereinafter “Bejarano”].
As per claim 6, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 5. The combination fails to disclose the method further comprising: receiving an indication of acceptance of the placement of the one of the rules; and correcting one of the one or more anomalies based on the indication.
However, Bejarano in the same field of endeavor discloses
receiving an indication of acceptance of the placement of the one of the rules;(Bejarano, [0081]” security management system 10 may also present an interface by which an administrator 12 may further configure the placement of the created rule within an ordered list of rules for a security device 5”) and correcting one of the one or more anomalies based on the indication. (Bejarano, [0091]” Administrator 12 may then choose a different location to place the newly created rule than the suggested rule placement location (1002)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules as suggested by Venkatachari to also include providing a preview of placement of one of the rules based on the one or more corresponding recommendations as taught by Kumar to further include receiving an indication of acceptance of the placement of the one of the rules; and correcting one of the one or more anomalies based on the indication as taught by Bejarano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Bejarano’s different location to place the newly created rule would provide recommendations for correcting identified rule anomalies and allow a user to preview, accept, or modify a recommended rule placement, thereby reducing rule conflicts and improving rule placement.
As per claim 12, the references as combined above disclose the device of claim 11. The combination fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further to: receive an acceptance of the recommended placement of the new rule; and utilize the recommended placement of the new rule based on the acceptance.
However, Bejarano in the same field of endeavor discloses
receive an acceptance of the recommended placement of the new rule; (Bejarano, [0081]” security management system 10 may also present an interface by which an administrator 12 may further configure the placement of the created rule within an ordered list of rules for a security device 5”) and utilize the recommended placement of the new rule based on the acceptance. (Bejarano, [0091]” Administrator 12 may then choose a different location to place the newly created rule than the suggested rule placement location (1002)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules as suggested by Venkatachari to also include providing a preview of placement of one of the rules based on the one or more corresponding recommendations as taught by Kumar to further include receive an acceptance of the recommended placement of the new rule; and utilize the recommended placement of the new rule based on the acceptance as taught by Bejarano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been m16otivated to do so because incorporating Bejarano’s different location to place the newly created rule would provide recommendations for correcting identified rule anomalies and allow a user to preview, accept, or modify a recommended rule placement, thereby reducing rule conflicts and improving rule placement.
As per claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kirby et al.(US 20160308908 A1)[hereinafter “Kirby”]in view of Venkatachari et al. (US 11991216 B1) [hereinafter “Venkatachari”] as applied to claim 1 and in view of Kumar et al (US 20180176257 A1) [hereinafter “Kumar”] as applied to claims 5, and 16 and also in view Bejarano et al (US 20170126740 A1) [hereinafter “Bejarano”] and further in view of Baskaran et al (US 11715051 B1)[hereinafter “Baskaran”].
As per claim 7, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 5. The combination fails to disclose the method further comprising: receiving an indication of rejection of the placement of the one of the rules; and tagging one of the one or more corresponding recommendations as ignored based on the indication.
However, Bejarano in the same field of endeavor discloses
receiving an indication of rejection of the placement of the one of the rules; (Bejarano, [0088]” administrator 12 may modify the rule placement that was automatically determined by rule analysis module 30”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules as suggested by Venkatachari to further include providing a preview of placement of one of the rules based on the one or more corresponding recommendations as taught by Kumar to also include receiving an indication of rejection of the placement of the one of the rules as taught by Bejarano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Bejarano’s teaching of allowing an administrator to modify an automatically determined rule placement would have provided user control over rule placement, thereby allowing an undesired placement to be rejected or corrected.
The reference as combined above fails to disclose
tagging one of the one or more corresponding recommendations as ignored based on the indication.
However, Baskaran in the same field of endeavor discloses
tagging one of the one or more corresponding recommendations as ignored based on the indication. ((Baskaran, col.182 Ln15-20)” In one embodiment, the method also includes receiving input in response to transmitting the data, and using the input to update a status of the recommendation to at least one of a rejected status, an excluded status or flagged status, or an unflagged status”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirby to include identifies one or more corresponding recommendations associated with correcting the one or more anomalies; and providing for display, by device, the rule analysis and the one or more corresponding recommendations in a context of the rules as suggested by Venkatachari to further include providing a preview of placement of one of the rules based on the one or more corresponding recommendations as taught by Kumar to also include receiving an indication of rejection of the placement of the one of the rules as taught by Bejarano and further include tagging one of the one or more corresponding recommendations as ignored based on the indication as suggested by Baskaran. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Baskaran’s teaching of updating a recommendation status based on received input would have enabled the system to identify recommendations that have been rejected or excluded, thereby avoiding further reliance on such recommendations.
As per claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Nimmagadda et al, (US 20180176252 A1) discloses “application template generation and deep packet inspection approach for creation of micro-segmentation policy for network applications“.
Kirner et al, (US 20150127832 A1) discloses “pairing in a distributed network management system that uses a logical multi-dimensional label-based policy model”
/K.N.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 2493
/CARL G COLIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2493