DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of preliminary amendment filed 28 October 2025 in which claim 1 – 14 are cancelled and claims 15 – 34 are newly added. Claims 15 – 34 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 18 – 23, 27 – 29, 33, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Latta et al; (Publication number: US 2013/0328763 A1), hereafter Latta.
Regarding claim 15:
Latta discloses a computer-implemented method (Latta Figure 5A [0065]) comprising:
obtaining, for each of a plurality of sensors configured to monitor a respective type of input, corresponding input data characterizing the respective type of input monitored by the sensor (Latta [0068] plurality of sensor inputs obtained based on ability to provide sensing information during a period of time);
determining a respective usage level of each sensor based on the corresponding input data characterizing the respective type of input (Latta [0068] determining of unplugging the device determines a level of usage. A plugged device has a usage level greater than 0. An unplugged device has 0 level of usage);
determining one or more modifications to operations performed by one or more sensors based on the respective usage level of each sensor (Latta Figure 5A 510 – determining if sensors is to be removed/added. When a sensor is removed for example, the operation is modified as it will no longer function); and
adjusting operations performed by the one or more sensors based on the one or more modifications (Latta Figure 5A 510 – adjusting operations is performed when sensor is removed. Operation is adjusted by removing the sensor since operation is stopped).
Regarding claim 18:
Latta discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the plurality of sensors comprises (i) one or more cameras, (ii) one or more motion sensors, (iii) one or more manipulable buttons, (iv) one or more biometric sensors, (vi) one or more microphones, or any combination thereof (Latta [0031]).
Regarding claim 19:
Latta discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the plurality of sensors is associated with (i) a gaze tracking module, (ii) an audio detection module, (iii) a body tracking module, (iv) a biometric sensing module, or any combination thereof (Latta [0031]).
Regarding claim 20:
Latta discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the plurality of sensors is associated with one or more interactive peripherals (Latta Figure 1 sensors 149 part of mobile device 149).
Regarding claim 21:
Latta disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the adjusting operations performed by the one or more sensors based on the one or more modifications comprises: adjusting a sampling rate of the one or more sensors (Latta [0082] a low power mode of operation … may reduce the rate at which sensing information is provided from the particular sensing device).
Regarding claim 22:
Latta discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein adjusting operations performed by the one or more sensors based on the one or more modifications comprises: modifying a level of processing applied to outputs of the or more sensors (Latta [0082] a low power mode of operation may reduce the quality of sensing information provided from a particular sensing device).
Regarding claim 23:
Latta discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein adjusting operations performed by the one or more sensors based on the one or more modifications comprises: causing the one or more sensors to operate in a lower-power mode of operation mode (Latta [0071] A removed sensor input is a low-power mode, as claimed).
Regarding claim 27:
Latta discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the respective usage levels comprise a usage level for a particular moment of time (Latta [0068] inputs are identified for a particular period of time).
Regarding claim 28:
Latta discloses the computer implemented method of claim 15, wherein the respective usage levels comprise a rolling average of interactions over a predefined period of time (Latta [0089] moving average filter).
Regarding claim 29:
Latta discloses the computer implemented method of claim 15, wherein the respective usage level of each sensor is determined at a first time (Latta Figure 5A 510), and wherein the method further comprises:
determining an updated respective usage level of each sensor at a second time that is after the first time (Latta [0068] determining of unplugging the device determines a level of usage during a subsequent iteration of the method of figure 5A);
determining one or more updated modifications to operations performed by one or more sensors based on the updated respective usage level of each sensor (Latta Figure 5A 510; determining modification to add/remove sensor during the subsequent iteration in method of Figure 5A); and
adjusting operations performed by one or more sensors based on the one or more updated modifications (Latta Figure 5A 510 – adjusting operations is performed when sensor is removed during the subsequent iteration in method of Figure 5A).
Regarding claim 33:
Claim 33 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 15.
Regarding claim 34:
Claim 34 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 17, 24, and 30 - 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lata in view of WOLFF-PETERSON et al; (Publication number; US 2011/0021269 A1), hereafter Wolff-Peterson.
Regarding claim 16:
Latta does not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 15, further comprising: updating a mapping between two or more sensors based on the one or more modifications.
However, Wolff-Peterson discloses a device for managing operation of accessories. More particularly, Wolff-Peterson discloses updating a mapping between two or more sensors based on the one or more modifications (Wolff-Peterson [0032] [ 0033] user drag and drop function performs claimed updating of mapping between actions and input functions).
It would have been obvious to modify Latta to include updating a mapping between two or more sensors based on the one or more modifications, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate efficiently managing utilization of accessories thereby improving the ability to compete in a gaming environment (Wolff-Peterson [0003]).
Regarding claim 17:
Latta (in view of Wolff-Peterson) discloses the computer implemented method of claim 16, wherein updating a mapping between two or more sensors based on the one or more modifications comprises: varying a mapping of the one or more sensors of a first type to one or more sensors of a second type (Wolff-Peterson [0016] [0049] substitute simulations provided).
Regarding claim 24:
Latta (in view of Wolff-Peterson) discloses the computer implemented method of claim 16, wherein determining one or more modification to operation performed by the one or more sensors based on the respective usage level of each sensor comprises: determining the one or more modifications based on user preference data associated with a user (Wolff-Peterson [0035] step 812 Profile used).
Regarding claim 30:
Latta does not disclose the computer implemented method of claim 15, wherein the respective usage levels are predicted future usage levels.
However, Wolff-Peterson discloses a device for managing operation of accessories. More particularly, Wolff-Peterson discloses wherein the respective usage levels are predicted future usage levels (Wolff-Peterson [0057] statistical and behavior modeling used).
It would have been obvious to modify Latta (in view of Wolff-Peterson) wherein the respective usage levels are predicted future usage levels, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate efficiently managing utilization of accessories thereby improving the ability to compete in a gaming environment (Wolff-Peterson [0003]).
Regarding claim 31:
Latta (in view of Wolff-Peterson) discloses the computer implemented method of claim 30, comprising: determining, based on data characterizing behavior of a user, the predicted future usage level (Wolff-Peterson [0057] predicted behavior of the user would include future usage level by AMS).
Regarding claim 32:
Latta (in view of Wolff-Peterson) discloses the computer implemented method of claim 30, comprising: determining, based on data characterizing sensor usage patterns, the predicted future usage levels (Wolff-Peterson [0057] statistical analysis of the user would include predicted future usage level of AMS).
Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latta in view of Hyun-suk MIN (Publication number: US 2013/0265261 A1), hereafter Min.
Regarding claim 25:
Latta does not disclose the computer implemented method of claim 24, wherein the user preference data characterized preferred responses to environmental parameters.
However, Min discloses a user terminal device and control method device. More particularly, Min discloses user preference data characterized preferred responses to environmental parameters (Min [0013] operating condition includes environment of external device; see also Figure 4 showing switching of input from 1st mode to 2nd mode based on the operating condition).
It would have been obvious to modify Latta wherein the user preference data characterized preferred responses to environmental parameters, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate improve the accessibility and convenience of the input device (Min [0007]).
Regarding claim 26:
Latta does not discloses the computer implemented method of claim 24, wherein the user preference data characterizes preferred responses to a user physical state, a user mental state, or both.
However, Min discloses a user terminal device and control method device. More particularly, Min discloses wherein the user preference data characterizes preferred responses to a user physical state, a user mental state, or both (Min [0100] operating condition includes moving object; see Figure 5 illustrating moving state of user and switching of input mode).
It would have been obvious to modify Latta wherein the user preference data characterizes preferred responses to a user physical state, a user mental state, or both, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate improve the accessibility and convenience of the input device (Min [0007]).
Conclusion
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 1 May 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622