DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed on June 30, 2025. Claims 10-19 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-14, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shelton, IV et al. (US 2021/0196365, hereinafter Shelton ‘365).
Concerning claims 10 and 19, the Shelton ‘365 prior art reference teaches a method to drive an actuator of an endoscopic system comprising: actuating an actuator motor ([¶ 0193]), that is operatively connected to an actuator (Figure 2; 1125), depending on a current position of an actuating unit of the endoscopic system when the actuating unit is actuated between a start position and an end position ([¶ 0193], actuating unit = trigger, which controls the actuator motor, which may move the actuator; open position = unactuated to a closed position = fully depressed) and when an actuator force exerted by the actuator does not exceed a limit value ([¶ 0195], jaws allowed to move below tissue damage threshold), ceasing actuation of the actuator motor when the actuating unit is actuated between the start position and the end position when an actuator force exerted by the actuator reaches or exceeds the limit value ([¶ 0192], control of jaws stops when tissue damage threshold is exceeded), and driving the actuator motor beyond a limit value, depending on an operating force exerted on the actuating unit, when the actuating unit is actuated in the end position ([¶ 0183], user may override lockout of the system to allow for further driving beyond the tissue damage limit).
Concerning claim 11, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the actuation of the actuator is an opening and closing of forceps jaws ([¶ 0092]).
Concerning claim 12, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising measuring an operating force exerted on the actuating unit ([¶ 0194], user input closure trigger speed = operating force exerted on the actuating unit).
Concerning claim 13, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the measuring is based on the actuation of a trigger ([¶ 0193]), which would define a deformation of the actuating unit.
Concerning claim 14, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising determining a current position of the actuating unit between the start position and end position ([¶ 0193], position between start and end position must be determined to determine input closure trigger speed).
Concerning claim 16, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the limit value is realized by restricting the current conducted to the actuator motor ([¶ 0172]).
Concerning claim 18, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the method of claim 10, comprising a moveable grip member as part of the actuating unit (Figure 2; 1147).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton, IV et al. (US 2021/0196365, hereinafter Shelton ‘365) in view of Shelton, IV et al. (US 2019/0201018, hereinafter Shelton ‘018).
Concerning claim 15, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the endoscopic system as claimed in claim 10, but does not specifically teach that the limit value can be set by the user.
However, the Shelton ‘018 reference teaches an endoscopic system similar to that of the Shelton ‘365 reference, wherein the Shelton ‘018 reference teaches that limit values may be fixed or predetermined, defined with respect to one or more other variables, or alternatively may be programmed or set by a user of the surgical instrument ([¶ 0696]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the limit value of the Shelton ‘365 reference set by a user as in the Shelton ‘018 reference given the Shelton ‘018 references teaches manual programming as an obvious alternative to fixed or predetermined values (Shelton ‘018; [¶ 0696]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton, IV et al. (US 2021/0196365, hereinafter Shelton ‘365) in view of Roberson et al. (US 2018/0161060, hereinafter Roberson).
Concerning claim 17, the Shelton ‘365 reference teaches the endoscopic system as claimed in claim 1, but does not specifically teach the limit value being realized by way of a slip coupling or an adjustable overload spring.
However, the Roberson reference teaches an endoscopic system similar to that of the Shelton ‘365 reference, wherein the Roberson reference teaches a slip coupling utilized to realize a limit value ([¶ 0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the limit value of the Shelton ‘365 reference be realized by a slip coupling as the Roberson reference, given the Roberson reference teaches a slip coupling as a known structure for realizing a limit value (Roberson; [¶ 0122]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Diolaiti reference (US 2021/0162174) teaches a method of operating a robotic surgical device including multiple redundant sensors and thresholds wherein a threshold may be overridden with an exception ([¶ 0081]); the Anglese reference (US 2020/0237453) teaches a method of driving an actuator of a surgical device, wherein the actuator motor may continue to turn after a limit value is reached or exceeded ([¶ 0073]); the Schoettgen et al. reference (US 2019/0201022) teaches a manually operated surgical device with multiple sensors and a control unit having a limit value; and the Eckert et al. reference (US 2018/0049792) teaches a method for operating a surgical device including ceasing actuation upon reaching a limit value and driving an actuator motor beyond the limit value ([¶ 0038]).
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 9/30/2026