DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a drain valve” in line 2; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to the same “drain valve” recited in parent claim 16, line 6.
Similarly, claim 20 recites the limitation “a drain valve” in line 4, and is rejected for the same reason as claim 18, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-9 and 14-19, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2017/0342629 (“Gwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Gwon discloses a water level detection system comprising:
a drain conduit (“81”) configured to be fluidly coupled to an opening (opening of tub “3” to which upper end of drain conduit “81”, relative to the orientation of fig. 1, is connected) of a water containing vessel (“3”) at a first end (top end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) of the drain conduit;
a drain valve (“83”; although element “83” is designated a drainage pump, the drainage pump closes water flow therethrough when water retention is desired in water containing vessel “3”) fluidly coupled to the drain conduit;
an air passageway (“91”) fluidly coupled to the drain conduit downstream from the first end and upstream from the drain valve (see fig. 1);
a pressure sensor (“S”) fluidly coupled to the air passageway; and
a water level control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraphs [0051], [0056] and [0057]) communicably coupled to the pressure sensor, the water level control unit configured to control a height of water within the water containing vessel based on pressure data from the pressure sensor (see specification paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Gwon discloses the air passageway (“91”) is an airtight tube (tube “91” is capped by housing “93”).
Regarding claim 7, Gwon discloses the water level control unit is configured to determine the height of the water based on at least one of a volume of an interior of the water containing vessel, dimensions of the water containing vessel, or a weight of water corresponding to different water levels (weight of water in tub causes compression of air in space “P” causing pressure changes to be detected by sensor “S” from which the controller determines water level within tub “3”) within the water containing vessel (“3”).
Regarding claim 8, Gwon discloses the drain valve (“83”) is operably coupled to the water level control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraph [0065]), wherein the water level control unit is configured to control the drain valve to control the height of the water in the water containing vessel (“3”).
Regarding claim 9, Gwon discloses a faucet (“73”) operably coupled to the water level control unit (“3”), wherein the water level control unit (“controller”; see paragraph [0065]) is configured to control the faucet to control the height of the water within the water containing vessel (“3”).
Regarding claim 14, Gwon discloses the air passageway (“91”) is configured to be disposed vertically above (air passageway “91” extends vertically above a top end of drain conduit “81”) the drain conduit (“81”) and the drain valve (“83”) when the drain conduit is coupled to the opening (drain opening of tub “3”).
Regarding claim 15, Gwon discloses the pressure sensor (“S”) is arranged relative to the air passageway (“91”) to generate the pressure data indicative of a pressure (pressure in space “P”) exerted against the pressure sensor by air within the air passageway (“91”).
Regarding claim 16, Gwon discloses a method comprising:
receiving water (water from tub “3”) into a drain conduit (“81”), the drain conduit configured to be fluidly coupled to an opening (opening of tub “3” to which upper end of drain conduit “81”, relative to the orientation of fig. 1, is connected) of a water containing vessel (“3”) at a first end (upper end of drain conduit “81”, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) of the drain conduit;
receiving, by a water control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraphs [0051], [0056] and [0057]), pressure data from a pressure sensor (“S”) that is fluidly coupled to an air passageway (“91”), the air passageway fluidly coupled to the drain conduit downstream from the first end and upstream from a drain valve (“83”; although element “83” is designated a drainage pump, the drainage pump closes water flow therethrough when water retention is desired in water containing vessel “3”); and
controlling, by the water control unit, a height of the water in the water containing vessel based on the pressure data from the pressure sensor (see specification paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 17, Gwon discloses maintaining, by the water control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraphs [0051], [0056] and [0057]), the drain valve in a closed position (preventing water to be drained via discharge conduit “85”) so that air (air within space “P”) within the air passageway is compressed by a weight of the water (weight of water in tub “3”); and
generating, by the pressure sensor (“S”), the pressure data based on a pressure exerted against the pressure sensor by air within the air passageway (see specification paragraphs [0051], [0056] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 18, Gwon discloses controlling the height of the water (water in tub “3”) comprises controlling, by the water control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraph [0065]), a drain valve (“83”) that is disposed downstream from the drain conduit (“81”) and the air passageway (“91”) based on the pressure data (of pressure sensor “S”).
Regarding claim 19, Gwon discloses controlling, by the water control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraph [0065]), a faucet (“73”) based on the pressure data (of pressure sensor “S”) to control the height of the water in the water containing vessel (“3”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US2017/0059386 (“Vander”).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Gwon discloses the invention as claimed except for a connector fluidly coupling the air passageway to the drain conduit or the drain valve such that the air passageway is removable from the drain conduit or the drain valve, wherein the connector is spaced radially apart from a portion of the drain conduit that extends between the first end and the drain valve.
However, Vander teaches (see fig. 6) a connector (“136”, “602”, “404” and/or “402”; see fig. 6) fluidly coupling a sensor (“502”) to a drain conduit (“122”) or a drain valve (“134”) such that an air passageway (“604”) is removable from the drain conduit or the drain valve, and wherein the connector is spaced radially apart from a portion of the drain conduit that extends between the first end and the drain valve (see fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Gwon by employing a connector fluidly coupling the air passageway to the drain conduit or the drain valve such that the air passageway is removable from the drain conduit or the drain valve, wherein the connector is spaced radially apart from a portion of the drain conduit that extends between the first end and the drain valve, as taught by Vander, to allow for easy assembly and disassembly of parts.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gwon and Vander discloses a connector (Vander, “136”, “602”, “404” and/or “402”; see fig. 6) fluidly coupling the drain valve (Gwon, “73”) to the drain conduit (Gwon, “81”) and the air passageway (Gwon, “91”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gwon and Vander discloses the air passageway (Gwon, “91”) and the drain valve (Gwon, “83”) are disposed on different portions of the connector (Vander, “136”, “602”, “404” and/or “402”; see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gwon and Vander discloses the connector (Vander, “136”, “602”, “404” and/or “402”; see fig. 6) defines at least a portion of a drain passageway downstream from the drain conduit (Gwon, “81” as modified by Vander, “122”, above).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US2006/0085907 (“Ball”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Gwon discloses at least a portion of the air passageway (“91”) is spaced radially apart from a central axis (central longitudinal axis of drain conduit “81”) of the drain conduit (“81”), and
the air passageway (“91”) extending radially away from the central axis and at least partially along a first direction (vertical direction, relative to the orientation of fig. 1; air passageway “91” extends perpendicularly from drain conduit “81” and vertically along the first direction).
Gwon does not disclose the drain conduit further comprises an elbow at the first end that is configured to couple the drain conduit to the opening, wherein at least a portion of the elbow is spaced and extending radially apart from a central axis of the drain conduit along the first direction.
Ball teaches (see fig. 5) a drain conduit (mainly defined by “70” and “84”) further comprises an elbow (“70”) at the first end that is configured to couple the drain conduit to an opening (“14”), wherein at least a portion of the elbow is spaced radially apart from a central axis (central longitudinal axis of conduit portion “84”) of the drain conduit along a first direction, which is a vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to the invention of Gwon by configuring the drain conduit with an elbow at the first end that is configured to couple the drain conduit to the opening, wherein at least a portion of the elbow is spaced and extending radially apart from the central axis of the drain conduit along the first direction, which is a vertical direction, as taught by Ball, to allow for flexibility of assembly configuration to be better accommodating for small spaces.
Claims 10 and 20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, in view of DE3925590 (“Brueggemann”).
Regarding claim 10, Gwon discloses a faucet (“73”), wherein the faucet is operably coupled to the water level control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraph [0065]), and wherein the water level control unit is configured to control the faucet to control the height of the water within the water containing vessel (“3”).
Gwon does not disclose a temperature sensor, wherein the temperature sensor is operably coupled to the water level control unit, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to determine a temperature of the water, and wherein the water level control unit is configured to control the faucet to control the temperature of the water within the water containing vessel.
Brueggemann teaches a faucet (“5”, “6” and/or “7”) and a temperature sensor (“23”), wherein the faucet and the temperature sensor are operably coupled to a water level control unit (“3”), wherein the temperature sensor is configured to determine a temperature of water in a water containing vessel (“4”), and wherein the water level control unit is configured to control the faucet to control the temperature of the water within the water containing vessel (see English translation page 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Gwon by employing a temperature sensor, wherein the temperature sensor is operably coupled to the water level control unit, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to determine a temperature of the water, and wherein the water level control unit is configured to control the faucet to control the temperature of the water within the water containing vessel, as taught by Brueggemann, to be able to regulate temperature within the water containing vessel.
Regarding claim 20, Gwon discloses controlling, by the water control unit (“controller”; see specification paragraph [0065]), a faucet (“73”) or a drain valve (“83”).
However, Gwon does not disclose receiving, by the water control unit, temperature data from a temperature sensor; and
controlling, by the water control unit, the faucet or the drain valve based on the temperature data to control a temperature of the water in the water containing vessel.
Brueggemann teaches receiving, by a water control unit (“3”), temperature data from a temperature sensor (“23”); and
controlling, by the water control unit, a faucet (“5”, “6” and/or “7”) or a drain valve (“17”) based on the temperature data to control a temperature of the water in the water containing vessel (see English translation page 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Gwon by employing a temperature sensor, receiving, by the water control unit, temperature data from the temperature sensor; and controlling, by the water control unit, the faucet or the drain valve based on the temperature data to control a temperature of the water in the water containing vessel, as taught by Brueggemann, to be able to regulate temperature within the water containing vessel.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-11, 16 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8 and 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11906990 (“Patent A”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the more narrow Patent A claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 anticipate Application claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 1, 16, 18, 19, 20, respectively.
Patent A claim 1 reads:
1. A water level detection system, comprising: a bathtub comprising a lower wall, a forward wall, a rear wall, and a pair of side walls, each of the forward wall, the rear wall, and the pair of side walls extending upwardly from the lower wall to define an interior volume, the bathtub further comprising a drain disposed in the lower wall and a drain conduit fluidly coupled to the drain; an airtight tube fluidly coupled to the drain conduit downstream from the drain and extending upwardly from the lower wall; a connector fluidly coupling the airtight tube to the drain conduit, the airtight tube disposed at a first axial end of the connector and a drain discharge disposed at a second axial end of the connector opposite the first axial end; a drain valve coupled to the drain conduit downstream of the airtight tube; a pressure sensor fluidly coupled to the airtight tube; and a water level control unit communicably coupled to the pressure sensor, the water level control unit configured to control at least one of a height of the water within the bathtub or a temperature of the water based on pressure data from the pressure sensor.
Application claim 1 reads:
1. A water level detection system comprising:
a drain conduit configured to be fluidly coupled to an opening of a water containing vessel at a first end of the drain conduit;
a drain valve fluidly coupled to the drain conduit;
an air passageway fluidly coupled to the drain conduit downstream from the first end and upstream from the drain valve;
a pressure sensor fluidly coupled to the air passageway; and
a water level control unit communicably coupled to the pressure sensor, the water level control unit configured to control a height of water within the water containing vessel based on pressure data from the pressure sensor.
In a similar manner Patent A claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 anticipate Application claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 1, 16, 18, 19, 20, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US11169548, US11906990, US12346139, US2009/0178192 disclose an automated water basin filler assembly.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753