DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12372617. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lingard et al., US Pg. Pub. No. (2021/0123745) referred to hereinafter as Lingard.
As per claim 1, Lingard teaches a portable electronic device (see at least para 36, 37), comprising: a sensor configured to: detect a first location of the portable electronic device within an environment at a first time (see at least abstract, background, para 35-43); and detect a second location of the portable electronic device within the environment at a second time (see at least abstract, background, para 43); and a processor (see para 39, 40) configured to: generate a path based on the first location and the second location, the path associated with movement of the portable electronic device within the environment (see at least abstract, background, para 43-44); and detect an attribute of the environment based at least partially on the path (see at least abstract, background, para 47-48).
As per claim 2, Lingard teaches a portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the portable electronic device comprises a smart phone or a smart watch; and the attribute comprises at least one of a boundary of the environment or an object within the environment (see at least abstract, background, para 36-37, 39-40, 43-44, 35-43, 47-48).
As per claim 3, Lingard teaches a portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the portable electronic device comprises a first electronic device; the portable electronic device further comprising an antenna configured to receive location data from a second electronic device, the path generated by the processor is at least partially based on the location data received from the second electronic device (see at least abstract, background, para 36-37, 39-40, 43-44, 35-43, 47-48).
As per claim 4, Lingard teaches a portable electronic device of claim 3, wherein the portable electronic device comprises a first portable electronic device and the second electronic device comprises a second portable electronic device disposed within the environment (see at least abstract, background, para 36-37, 39-40, 43-44, 35-43, 47-48).
As per claim 5, Lingard teaches a portable electronic device of claim 3, wherein the second electronic device comprises a stationary electronic device disposed within the environment (see at least abstract, background, para 36-37, 39-40, 43-44, 35-43, 47-48).
As per claim 6, Lingard teaches a portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to generate an output based on the attribute when an input is received from a user of the portable electronic device (see at least abstract, background, para 36-37, 39-40, 43-44, 35-43, 47-48).
As per claim 7, Lingard teaches a portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the portable electronic device comprises a smart phone, a smart watch, or a tablet computing device (see at least abstract, background, para 36-37, 39-40, 43-44, 35-43, 47-48).
As per claims 8-20, the limitations of claims 8-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-7, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669