DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,365,555. Although the independent claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are broader versions of the allowed claims. It is noted the dependent claims are either identical to or have the same scope as the allowed dependent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “senor” in line 11 should be recited as --sensor--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 16, it is recited that one motor (i.e. “a motor”/”the motor”) performs the functions of generating drive force for the separation roller and stopping the feed roller. However, Applicant’s specification discloses the separation roller to be driven by motor 142 ([0073]) and the feed roller to be driven by motor 141 ([0086]). Therefore, there appears to be an inconsistency, wherein the metes and bounds of the claims are not understood.
Claims 2-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawarada (US Pub No. 2021/0284472 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawarada discloses
a feed roller (55) configured to feed a medium;
a separation roller (56) located facing the feed roller (Fig. 3);
a motor (59) configured to generate a drive force for rotating the separation roller in an opposite direction to a medium feed direction (Fig. 3, [0095]);
a rotation detection sensor (90) configured to detect rotation of the separation roller ([0125]); and
a processor (100) to rotate the feed roller in the medium feed direction to feed the medium, wherein
the processor
puts the separation roller on hold from when starting the feed of the medium and then controls the motor to generate the drive force (i.e. ‘hold’ is not defined, wherein it may be taken that the forward rotation of 56 during S1 in [0104] is “held”, from starting feed by 54/55 and then the motor generates the drive force in S2 per [0105], also see Fig. 5), and
controls the motor to stop the feed roller while generating the drive force if the rotation detection sensor detects rotation of the separation roller in the opposite direction to the medium feed direction during feed of the medium (i.e. per [0116], when multiple sheets are fed, 56 rotates in the reverse direction, which would be detected by its encoder 90 and subsequently the driving of 55 is stopped. Therefore, the motor 59 is controlled to stop with the intended use/effect of eventually stopping 55 after the trailing end of the sheet leaves the nip. In other words the motor is controlled to put 55 in a state in which it can stop/not being actively driven).
Regarding Claim 10, Kawarada discloses
rotating a feed roller (55) in a medium feed direction (Fig. 3) to feed a medium;
putting a separation roller (56) located facing the feed roller (Fig. 3) on hold from
when starting the feed of the medium and then controlling a motor (59) to generate a drive force for rotating the separation roller in an opposite direction to the medium feed direction (i.e. ‘hold’ is not defined, wherein it may be taken that the forward rotation of 56 during S1 in [0104] is “held”, from starting feed by 54/55 and then the motor generates the drive force in S2 per [0105], also see Fig. 5); and
controlling the motor to stop the feed roller while generating the drive force if a
rotation detection sensor detects rotation of the separation roller in the opposite direction to the medium feed direction during feed of the medium (i.e. per [0116], when multiple sheets are fed, 56 rotates in the reverse direction, which would be detected by its encoder 90 and subsequently the driving of 55 is stopped. Therefore, the motor 59 is controlled to stop with the intended use/effect of eventually stopping 55 after the trailing end of the sheet leaves the nip. In other words the motor is controlled to put 55 in a state in which it can stop/not being actively driven).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Kawarada discloses
a stacking tray (51); and
a pick roller (54) located at an upstream side from the feed roller and separation roller in the medium conveyance direction (Fig. 3) and provided movably between a first position contacting the medium (i.e. in solid lines) stacked on the stacking tray and a second position separated from the medium stacked on the stacking tray (i.e. in dotted lines), wherein
the processor locates the pick roller at the second position if the rotation detection sensor detects rotation of the separation roller in the opposite direction to the medium feed direction during feed of the medium (56 rotates reversely, which would be detected by 90 then 54 is separated from the sheet at a later time, thereby meeting the ‘if’ condition, see [0086]-[0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawarada (US Pub No. 2021/0284472 A1) in view of Gillier et al. (US Patent No. 10,106,352 B2).
Regarding Claim 16, Kawarada discloses
rotating a feed roller (55) in a medium feed direction (Fig. 3) to feed the medium;
putting a separation roller (56) located facing the feed roller (Fig. 3) on hold from when starting the feed of the medium-and then controlling a motor (59) to generate a drive force for rotating the separation roller in an opposite direction to the medium feed direction (i.e. ‘hold’ is not defined, wherein it may be taken that the forward rotation of 56 during S1 in [0104] is “held”, from starting feed by 54/55 and then the motor generates the drive force in S2 per [0105], also see Fig. 5); and
controlling the motor to stop the feed roller while generating the drive force if a rotation detection sensor detects rotation of the separation roller in the opposite direction to the medium feed direction during feed of the medium (i.e. per [0116], when multiple sheets are fed, 56 rotates in the reverse direction, which would be detected by its encoder 90 and subsequently the driving of 55 is stopped. Therefore, the motor 59 is controlled to stop with the intended use/effect of eventually stopping 55 after the trailing end of the sheet leaves the nip. In other words the motor is controlled to put 55 in a state in which it can stop/not being actively driven).
Kawarada does not disclose a computer readable, non-transitory medium.
Gillier et al. discloses a computer-readable, non-transitory medium (i.e. memory), for the purpose of storing executable instructions for feeding a medium (i.e. lines 61-65 of Column 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Kawarada by including the computer readable non-
transitory medium as disclosed by Gillier et al., for the purpose of storing executable
instructions for feeding a medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-14 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows rotating the feed roller again after stopping it, if the rotation detection sensor detects stopping of the separation roller (Claims 2, 4, 11, 13, 17 and 19), rotating the feed roller again if a predetermined time has elapsed after stopping it (Claims 3, 12 and 18), stops the pick roller if the rotation detection sensor detects rotation of the separation roller in the opposite direction (Claims 5, 14 and 20), stops the feed roller as claimed (Claim 7), first and second projecting parts as claimed (Claim 8) or a plurality of feed rollers that correct skew as claimed (Claim 9)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 March 31, 2026