DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 October 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2013/0190212 to Handique et al. (“Handique”).
With regard to Claim 10, Handique teaches an apparatus comprising a fluid inlet port 320, divided into a plurality of separate microfluidic paths 240 configured to transport a plurality of cells, each microfluidic path comprising a plurality of cell capture pores and chambers 220, 222, and an outlet port 420 to discharge merged output of cells from the capture chambers (see Abstract; FIG. 2; ¶¶ [0029]-[0031]). The apparatus features optical interrogation and detection of single cells, and the reference teaches inclusion of a plurality of sensors 130 configured to detect passage of cells in-and-out of the chambers (see FIGs. 11A-11D; ¶¶ [0029], [0055]).
With regard to Claims 11-12, Handique teaches functionalizing capture pores and chambers via introduction of antibodies therein and teaches that targeted capture on the basis of surface antigens is conventional within the art (see ¶¶ [0003], [0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handique as applied to Claim 12, and further in view of US 2016/0238623 to Sun et al. (“Sun”).
With regard to Claims 13-14, Handique teaches a parallelized microfluidic analytic device (see Abstract; ¶ [0043]); however the reference does not expressly teach an apparatus further comprising ports to facilitate receiving and delivering diverse capture antibodies among cell capture pores and chambers. Sun is similarly directed to analytical methods facilitated by devices comprising microfluidic chips, and teaches parallel microfluidic devices capable of conducting diverse simultaneous experiments without cross-talk via physical isolation of antibodies introduced to capture chambers via secondary inlets (see Abstract; ¶ [1159]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated additional ports in the microfluidic device of Handique in order to configured capture pores and chambers with diverse antibodies.
3. Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handique as applied to Claim 12, and further in view of WO 2012/094642 to Skelley et al. (“Skelley”).
With regard to Claims 15-16, Handique does not teach capture chambers comprising a plurality of micropillars as claimed. Skelley is similarly directed to microfluidic cell capture devices, and teaches a device featuring chambers comprising a plurality of micropillars of about 60 µm in diameter and spaced 80 µm apart to provide structural support thereto while minimizing fluidic resistance (see Abstract; Pgs. 2, 32-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated support pillars as claimed in the device of Handique in order to confer support to the microfluidic chambers as taught by Skelley.
With regard To Claim 17, Handique does not teach Coulter sensors. Skelley teaches incorporation of Coulter sensors in a microfluidic device in order to distinguish among cell sizes (see Pg. 62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated Coulter sensors in the microfluidic device of Handique, as taught by Skelley, in order to distinguish and count cells of varying sizes.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712