DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 9712844 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claims 1, 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 9712844 B2.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. US 10462487 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 10462487 B2 (the symbolization parameter is determined based on the operation involving a second previously decoded transform coefficient and an information component type of the current transform coefficient's transform block).
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. US 11616982 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11616982 B2 (the symbolization parameter is determined based on the operation involving second previously decoded information and a color component type related to the transform coefficient block).
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. US 11968395 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11968395 B2 (the symbolization parameter is determined based on the operation involving a second previously decoded transform coefficient and an information component type including a color component type related to the transform coefficient block).
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. US 12375716 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12375716 B2 (the symbolization parameter is determined based on the operation involving a second previously decoded transform coefficient and an information component type including a color component type related to the transform coefficient block).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Kadono et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0076237 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Kadono discloses One or more memory or storage devices having stored thereon a program ([0247] recording a program implementing the steps of … method to a floppy disk or other computer-readable data recording medium; [0251]; [0257] The software for … can be stored to any computer-readable data recording medium (such as a CD-ROM disc, floppy disk, or hard disk drive)).
See MPEP 2111.05 (III), when determining the scope of the claims, “a data stream” is not given patentable weight, because “a data stream” is non-functional descriptive material. It is merely static data that imparts no function (unlike an executable computer program which performs a function). It does not have any functional relationship with the intended computer system. Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium disclosed in Kadono meets claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-16, 18-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Marpe et al. (2003) (Context-Based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding in the H.264/AVC Video Compression Standard) in view of Bardone et al. (Adaptive Golomb Codes For Level Binarization In The H.264/AVC FRExt Lossless Mode).
Regarding claim 1. Marpe et al. (2003) discloses A decoder for decoding, from a data stream, a plurality of transform coefficients associated with different transform blocks (page 626 column 1 last paragraph, a H.264/AVC encoder/decoder; page 627 column 1 section III paragraph 1, CABAC for all residual data elements, i.e., all syntax elements related to the coding of transform coefficients, the corresponding decoding method are reverse to the encoding method), each of the plurality of transform coefficients having a transform coefficient level (page 620 column 2 paragraph 1, a block of transform coefficient levels is first mapped onto a one-dimensional list using a pre-defined scanning pattern), comprising:
an extractor configured to extract a set of symbols from the data stream for a current transform coefficient (figure 3, page 623 column 2 paragraph 4, the kth order Exp-Golomb (EGk) code word (i.e., a set of symbols); page 624 column 1 paragraph 3, concatenated scheme derived from the TU and the EGk binarization are applied to absolute values of transform coefficient levels, the corresponding decoding method are reverse to the encoding method);
a desymbolizer configured to map the set of symbols onto a transform coefficient level for the current transform coefficient in accordance with a symbolization scheme which is parameterizable in accordance with a symbolization parameter (figure 3, page 623 column 2 paragraph 4, the kth order Exp-Golomb (EGk) code word (i.e., a set of symbols), k is a symbolization parameter; page 624 column 1 paragraph 3, concatenated scheme derived from the TU and the EGk binarization are applied to absolute values of transform coefficient levels, the corresponding decoding method are reverse to the encoding method), wherein the symbolization parameter is determined (page 623 column 2 paragraph 6, an appropriately chosen parameter k); and
a symbolization parameter determinator configured to determine the symbolization parameter for the current transform coefficient (page 623 column 2 paragraph 6, an appropriately chosen parameter k),
wherein the extractor, the desymbolizer and the symbolization parameter determinator are configured to sequentially process the plurality of transform coefficients (figure 1, the corresponding decoding method are reverse to the encoding method).
However, Marpe et al. (2003) does not explicitly disclose
determine the symbolization parameter depending, via a function parameterizable based on a function parameter, on previously processed transform coefficients;
wherein the function parameter varies based on at least one selected from the group consisting of:
a size of a transform block associated with the current transform coefficient,
an information component type of the transform block associated with the current transform coefficient, and
a frequency portion the current transform coefficient is located within the transform block.
Bardone et al. discloses
determine the symbolization parameter depending, via a function parameterizable based on a function parameter, on previously processed transform coefficients (figure 3, page 289 column 2 paragraphs 5-6 and last paragraph, Golomb parameter k is backward adaptively estimated based on local, per-block statistics, the statistics are updated with the newly coded symbol, the corresponding decoding method are reverse to the encoding method);
wherein the function parameter varies based on at least one selected from the group consisting of:
a size of a transform block associated with the current transform coefficient,
an information component type of the transform block associated with the current transform coefficient, and
a frequency portion the current transform coefficient is located within the transform block (figure 3, page 289 column 2 paragraphs 5-6 and last paragraph, Golomb parameter k is backward adaptively estimated based on local, per-block statistics, the statistics are updated with the newly coded symbol, the corresponding decoding method are reverse to the encoding method).
Marpe et al. (2003) discloses the statistics are related to information component type (page 630 column 1 paragraphs 2-3, In H.264/AVC residual data coding, there are 12 different types of transform coefficient blocks (denoted by BlockType in left column of Table IV), which typically have different kinds of statistics; page 626 column 2 Table IV block type (corresponding to information component type)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Marpe et al. (2003) and Bardone et al., to determine the symbolization parameter depending, via a function parameterizable based on a function parameter, on previously processed transform coefficients, in order to lead to the shortest binary representation by optimizing the symbolization parameter (Bardone et al. page 289 column 2 paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 2. Bardone et al. discloses The decoder according to claim 1, wherein the decoder is configured to spatially determine the previously processed transform coefficients based on a relative spatial arrangement relative to the current transform coefficient (figure 3, page 289 column 2 paragraphs 5-6 and last paragraph, Golomb parameter k is backward adaptively estimated based on local, per-block statistics (local, per-block indicates a spatial arrangement relative to the current transform coefficient)).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3. Marpe et al. (2003) discloses The decoder according to claim 1, wherein the extractor is configured to extract the set of symbols from the data stream directly or using entropy decoding based on a fixed probability distribution (figure 3, page 623 column 2 paragraph 4, the kth order Exp-Golomb (EGk) code word (i.e., a set of symbols); page 624 column 1 paragraph 3, concatenated scheme derived from the TU and the EGk binarization are applied to absolute values of transform coefficient levels, the corresponding decoding method are reverse to the encoding method).
Regarding claim 5. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 7. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 9. Marpe et al. (2003) discloses The encoder according to claim 5, wherein the symbolizer is configured to restrict the symbolization scheme to a level interval out of a range interval of the plurality of transform coefficients such that the set of symbols represents a prefix or a suffix with respect to other portions of an overall symbolization of the current transform coefficient (page 624 column 1 paragraph 3, For larger values, there is the idea of concatenating an adapted truncated unary tree as a prefix and a static Exp-Golomb code tree as a suffix (i.e., the set of symbols), inherently each of the large values falls into a level greater than a maximum level associated with the prefix because each of the large values needs the suffix to map its level in addition to the prefix).
Regarding claim 10. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 16. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18. The same analysis has been stated in claim 9.
Regarding claim 19. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Claims 4, 8, 13, 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Marpe et al. (2003) (Context-Based Adaptive Binary Arithmetic Coding in the H.264/AVC Video Compression Standard) in view of Bardone et al. (Adaptive Golomb Codes For Level Binarization In The H.264/AVC FRExt Lossless Mode) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kiely (Selecting the Golomb Parameter in Rice Coding).
Regarding claim 4. Marpe et al. (2003) discloses The decoder according to claim 1, wherein:
the symbolization scheme is such that the set of symbols is of a Rice code (figure 3, page 623 column 2 paragraphs 4-5, the kth order Exp-Golomb (EGk) code word (i.e., a set of symbols) including the prefix part and the suffix part, inherently it is a Rice code because x is divided by
2
k
(a power of 2) to construct the two parts, see Kiely abstract paragraph 1; page 624 column 1 paragraph 3, concatenated scheme derived from the TU and the EGk binarization are applied to absolute values of transform coefficient levels); and
the symbolization parameter is a Rice parameter (figure 3, page 623 column 2 paragraphs 4-5, the kth order Exp-Golomb (EGk) code word (i.e., a set of symbols), k is a symbolization parameter, the kth order Exp-Golomb (EGk) code word (i.e., a set of symbols) including the prefix part and the suffix part, inherently it is a Rice code and k is a Rice parameter because x is divided by
2
k
(a power of 2) to construct the two parts, see Kiely abstract paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 8. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 17. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488