DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first office action in response to application no. 19/254,934 filed on June 30, 2025 in which claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-2, 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chhaochharia et al (US Patent Application Publication no. 2013/0151651).
Regarding claim 1 Chhaochharia discloses an apparatus comprising: a processor (See [0005]) configured to: receive, from a device, an identifier of a user action (See [0007]); determine a predicted game state based on the identifier (See [0005], [0035] and [0037]); generate a predicted frame based on the predicted game state (See Fig. 4, and [0036] “dynamically updating probabilities for predictively caching path segments in a multi-path game”); and send, in video data to the device, an encoded predicted frame and associated metadata (See [0037], [0041]).
As per claim 8, Chhaochharia discloses a method comprising: receiving, from a device, an identifier of a user action (See [0007] and [0036]); determining a predicted game state based on the identifier (See [0005], [0035] and [0037]); generating a predicted frame based on the predicted game state (See Fig. 4, and [0036] “dynamically updating probabilities for predictively caching path segments in a multi-path game”); and sending, in video data to the device, an encoded predicted frame and associated metadata (See [0037], [0041]).
As per claims 2 and 9, Chhaochharia further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: generate the encoded predicted frame based on performing at least one encoding function on the predicted frame (See [0021], [0024], [0045] “note the encoding of information”).
As per claims 7 and 14, Chhaochharia further discloses wherein the associated metadata indicates a link between the encoded predicted frame and the user action (See Chhaochharia [0053] “perform actions associated with predictive caching in cloud-based gaming”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chhaochharia et al (US Patent Application Publication no. 2013/0151651) in view of Umansky et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0314479).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 10-11, it is noted that Chhaochharia is silent about wherein the associated metadata indicates timing information associated with the encoded predicted frame.
However, Umansky teaches wherein the associated metadata indicates timing information associated with the encoded predicted frame (Umansky [0006], [0038] and [0092]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Chhaochharia to incorporate Umansky’s teachings wherein the associated metadata indicates timing information associated with the encoded predicted frame. The motivation for performing such a modification in Chhaochharia is to use a timed metadata, that will provide an indication of the order in which the video chunks for display, and may be included in the content received by a content provider.
As per claim 5 and 12, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claims 1 and 8.
It is noted that although Chhaochharia discloses network latency (See Chhaochharia [0021]-[0022]), it is silent about determining a lookahead timing value based on the measured latency, wherein the lookahead timing value is included in the associated metadata.
However, Umansky teaches determining a lookahead timing value based on the measured latency, wherein the lookahead timing value is included in the associated metadata (See Umansky [0116], [0121], [0126]-[0127]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Chhaochharia to incorporate Umansky’s teachings to determine a lookahead timing value based on the measured latency, wherein the lookahead timing value is included in the associated metadata. The motivation for performing such a modification in Chhaochharia to performs synchronization based on timing metadata in the received stream and a self-correcting clock, thereby ensuring proper synchronization.
NOTE: The Applicant should not that predictive timing is a look ahead timing.
As per claims 6 and 13, the combination of Chhaochharia and Umansky further teaches wherein a higher lookahead timing value is associated with a higher network latency resilience, and wherein a lower lookahead timing value is associated with a more accurate predicted game state (See Umansky [0024] and [0041]).
NOTE: The Applicant should not that predictive timing is a look ahead timing.
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424