DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on August 21, 2026, cancelled no claims. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-13, and 16-19 were amended, and no new claims were added. Thus, the currently pending claims addressed below are claims 1-20.
Claim Interpretation
Claim terms – the following claim terms have required interpretation based on the applicant’s disclosure:
Management interface: graphical user interface (The applicant’s specification does not mention the term “management interface”, the only interface in the applicant’s disclosure which is caused to be displayed in response to detecting a scan of a coded image and also comprises a presentation of content items, and user interface elements enabling modification of content accessibility is a graphical user interface in paragraph 71 of the applicant’s specification, wherein said graphical user interface is the one depicted in figure 7b.)
Scope of the claims: Independent claims 1, 10, and 19 recite a system, a method, and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising:
receiving media content from one or more client devices;
causing display of the management interface at a client device in response to detecting interaction with the coded image; and
receiving, from the client device, user input entered via the one or more interface elements the user input specifying availability of a content preview of the content previews.
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claims is that the client device is outside the scope of the claimed invention because the claimed invention merely receives information and transmits information for display on the client device. As such, said client device is outside of the scope of the claimed system, method, and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium. As per MPEP 2111.04, claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. In the instant case, the client device is separate and distinct device from the device performing the claimed receiving, generating, associating, generating, causing, receiving, and modifying steps. Therefore, the client device and it’s functions are given little if any patentable weight.
The limitations in dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 which refer to said client device do not require that said client device be within the scope of the claimed a system, a method, and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium and the client device and its functions are also given little if any patentable weight.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,568,446. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-17 of the instant application are obvious variants of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,568,446.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,387,241. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are obvious variants of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,387,241.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment filed on August 21, 2026, has overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1-20. Thus, the rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are directed to a system, a method, and a computer program product which would be classified under one of the listed statutory classifications (i.e., 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (hereinafter “PEG”) “PEG” Step 1=Yes).
However, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim(s) 1, 10, and 19 recite(s) the following abstract idea: (Examiner’s note: The client device and its functions have been included as part of the abstract idea because they are outside the scope of the claimed system, method, and computer program and, as such, cannot be considered “additional elements” of the claimed system, method, and computer program product.)
receiving media content from one or more client devices;
generating content previews corresponding to the media content, the content previews corresponding with access parameters;
associating a coded image with the content previews;
generating tailored content comprising a preview library, the preview library comprising a presentation of content previews and one or more links enabling modification of the accessibility of the content previews;
causing display of the tailored content at a client device in response to detecting interaction with the coded image;
receiving, from the client device, user input via the one or more links, the user input specifying availability of a content preview of the content previews; and
modifying access to the content preview based on the user input, such that a subsequent interaction with the coded image does not cause display of the content preview.
The limitations as detailed above, as drafted, falls within the “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas namely commercial or legal interactions because they recite advertising marketing and sales activities or behaviors. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea (i.e. “PEG” Revised Step 2A Prong One=Yes).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim only recites the additional elements of a computer (e.g., machine) comprising a memory and at least one hardware processor (e.g., a general-purpose computer with generic computer components) and a management interface that displays data and contains one or more interface element for accepting user input (e.g., a generic computer element as per the Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One decision which found that a generic interactive interface that provides information to and accepts user input is a generic computer element).
The following limitations, if removed from the abstract idea and considered additional elements, merely perform generic computer function of processing, storing, communicating (e.g., transmitting and receiving), and displaying data and, as such, are insignificant extra-solution activities (see MPEP 2016.05(d)(II) and MPEP 2106.05(g)):
receiving media content from one or more client devices (receiving data);
causing display of the management interface at a client device in response to detecting interaction with the coded image (transmitting data for display); and
receiving, from the client device, user input entered via the one or more interface elements, the user input specifying availability of a content preview of the content previews management interface to control availability of content (receiving data).
The additional technical elements above are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e. as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing, communicating and displaying) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional technical elements above do not integrate the abstract idea/judicial exception into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. More specifically, the additional elements fail to include (1) improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field (see MPEP 2106.05(a)), (2) applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (see Vanda memo), (3) applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)), (4) effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (see MPEP 2106.05(c)), or (5) applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda memo).
Rather, the limitations merely add the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Thus, the claim is “directed to” an abstract idea (i.e. “PEG” Revised Step 2A Prong Two=Yes)
When considering Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
More specifically, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a general-purpose computer with generic computer components and/or generic computer elements to perform the claimed functions amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a general-purposes computer with generic computer components/elements as a tool.
“Generic computer implementation” is insufficient to transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention (See Affinity Labs, _F.3d_, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016), citing Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2352, 2357) and more generally, “simply appending conventional steps specified at a high level of generality” to an abstract idea does not make that idea patentable (See Affinity Labs, _F.3d_, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016), citing Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1300). Moreover, “the use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter (See FairWarning, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d. 1293, citing DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1256 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). As such, the additional elements of the claim do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they would be generic computer functions in any computer implementation. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of the computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
The Examiner notes simply implementing an abstract concept on a computer, without meaningful limitations to that concept, does not transform a patent-ineligible claim into a patent-eligible one (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Bancorp, 687 F.3d at 1280), limiting the application of an abstract idea to one field of use does not necessarily guard against preempting all uses of the abstract idea (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Bilski, 130 S. Ct. at 3231), and further the prohibition against patenting an abstract principle “cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the [principle] to a particular technological environment” (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Flook, 437 U.S. at 584), and finally merely limiting the field of use of the abstract idea to a particular existing technological environment does not render the claims any less abstract (See Affinity Labs, _F.3d_, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016), citing Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358; Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294; Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 612 (2010); Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat’l Ass’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Applicant herein only requires a general-purpose computer (as evidence from paragraphs 107-108, 114, 117-119 and figure 14 of the applicant’s specification and the Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One decision which found that a generic interactive interface that provides information to and accepts user input is a generic computer element); therefore, there does not appear to be any alteration or modification to the generic activities indicated, and they are also therefore recognized as insignificant activity with respect to eligibility. Finally, the following limitations, if removed from the abstract idea and considered additional elements, would be considered insignificant extra solution activity as they are directed to merely receiving, displaying, storing, and/or transmitting data (see MPEP 2016.05(d)(II) and MPEP 2106.05(g)):
receiving media content from one or more client devices (receiving data);
causing display of the management interface at a client device in response to detecting interaction with the coded image (transmitting data for display); and
receiving, from the client device, user input entered via the one or more interface elements, the user input specifying availability of a content preview of the content previews management interface to control availability of content (receiving data).
Thus, taken individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea) (i.e. “PEG” Step 2B=No).
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 appear to merely further limit the abstract idea by further limiting the generating of the content previews which is considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 2, 11, and 20); further limiting the access parameters which is considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 3 and 12); further limiting the access parameters which is considered part of the abstract idea and adding the additional steps of assigning a status indicator, retrieving user profile information, and transmitting (i.e., causing display) of the content previews which are all considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 4 and 13); further limiting the coded image which is considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 5 and 14); adding the additional steps of incrementing a counter; determining the number of requests is below a threshold, and transmitting a request to display (causing display) of the management interface which are all considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 6 and 15); further limiting the media content and the content previews which are both considered part of the abstract idea, and adding the additional steps of receiving second media content, generating second content previews, associating the coded image with the second content previews and transmitting (causing display) of a preview library which are all considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 7 and 16); adding the additional steps of detecting an expiration, receiving a scan of the coded image after the expiration, and denying access to the content preview which are all considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 8 and 17); and adding the additional steps of associating a new coded image with the content previews and notifying an administrator which are both considered part of the abstract idea (Claims 9 and 18), and therefore only further limit the abstract idea (i.e. “PEG” Revised Step 2A Prong One=Yes), does/do not include any new additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and as such are “directed to” said abstract idea (i.e. “PEG” Step 2A Prong Two=Yes); and do not add significantly more than the idea (i.e. “PEG” Step 2B=No).
Thus, based on the detailed analysis above, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 7-10, 12-13, and 15-19 is/are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lim et al. (PGPUB: US 2016/0255161) in view of Burns et al. (PGPUB: 2008/0235221) in further view of Bush et al (PGPUB: US 2004/0078312).
Claims 1, 10, and 19: Lim discloses a system, a method, and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising:
a memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the memory and comprising instructions (Paragraph 30) that causes the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving media content from one or more client devices (Paragraph 51: providing a current URL or network address having content to be delivered in response to a scan of the hardlink code by a wireless device; Paragraph 48: the merchant then provides or otherwise designates its content that is to be delivered in response to a scan or entry of a code by a user);
generating content previews corresponding to the media content, the content previews corresponding with access parameters;
Lim discloses using rules to determine the particular content to be delivered and delivering the content in at least paragraphs 30 36, 42 and 48.
However, it appears that the content delivered in Lim is media content received from the client device. Thus, Lim does not disclose generating content previews corresponding to the media content or that the rules are for delivering the preview of the media content.
However, the analogous art of Burns discloses that it is well known to generate a preview of the media content and for the owner of the media content to provide access parameters (rules) that include a request limit, the request limit defining a maximum number of access requests to view the preview in at least paragraphs 12 and 14 (the computer system generates previews based on the rules provided by the owners of the protected electronic documents) and paragraph 18 (the rules may specify the number of previews that a client device is allowed for each protected electronic document stored in the electronic documents and protected electronic documents database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the invention of Lim to include the ability to generate previews of the content item and for the access parameters of Lim to be applied to the previews.
The rationale for doing so is that it merely requires the use of known techniques to improve similar devices, methods, or products in the same way. Lim teaches the “base” method of performing limited the number of accesses to content items. Burns teaches a “comparable” method for controlling access to content items which provides the improvement of not revealing the entire content item and instead merely providing a limited number of accesses to a preview of the content item. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the adaptation of the content item to a preview as disclosed by Burns to the base system of Lim for the predicted result of an improved access control for any audio/video content items the merchant/owner desires to protect.
associating a coded image with the content previews (Lim - Paragraph 36: The operator of the computer system server that distributes the codes may then establish rules for the content to be delivered in response to a scan or other indication of the code from a wireless device; 38: a rule may be established that if a particular code is scanned by a user during the business hours of a merchant, then that merchant's content will be delivered in response to a scan or entry of that particular code; 42: content delivery may be based on the number of times that a hardlink code is scanned by one or more users, the content delivery may be restricted to a certain number of deliveries, based on how many deliveries have been paid for by a particular merchant or other criteria; and Figures 2, and 7-12: which disclose how content is associated with the coded image and some of the rules used for the associating);
generating a management interface comprising a preview library, the preview library comprising a presentation of the content previews and one or more user interface elements enabling modification of accessibility of the content previews
Lim and Burns, as combined above, disclose generating a management interface comprising one or more user interface elements enabling modification of accessibility of the content previews and accessing a preview library, the preview library comprising a presentation of the content previews in at least paragraphs 109-110, 79, 82-85, 38, 42, and 60 of Lim (Lim – Paragraph 109-110: the Content Manager function allows the administrator to select accessible advertisements and/or web content from a stored content library to associate with each touchpoint based on determined triggers; options available under the Content Manager may include /Create new content (content building logic)/edit existing content/view all content/archive content/view archive/; the administrator can then create a new trigger or modify an existing trigger for the touchpoint in relations to one or more of the advertisements and/or web content from the stored content library; Paragraphs 79 and 82-85: for example the administrator may associate different content previews with the same QR code which display different content previews based on different scenarios such as displaying an ad for a dollar off a hot coffee when the temperature is below a certain threshold and an ad for a dollar off an iced coffee when the temperature is above a certain threshold; or a user being presented with one content preview upon a first scan and a different content preview upon the users second scan of the QR code; Paragraphs 38, 42, and 60: The administrator can set up and/or modify triggers such that they only display the preview content during certain times of the day, or only display it a maximum number of times, when these criteria are not satisfied the administrator can assign a different preview content to trigger when the touchpoint it scanned)
While Lim and Burns disclose the administrator can access the preview library with the Content Manager function it does not specifically state that the administrator is displayed an image library of the preview content.
However, the analogous art of Bush discloses that it is known for a series of images to be organized into an image library, to display the image library to a user when accesses the web page, wherein the user is able modify content accessibility at least paragraphs 25-27, 34-38, and 87-88.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lim and Burns to include a preview library as disclosed by Bush for the previewing contents associated with the QR code when the administrator scans the QR code.
The rationale for doing so is that it would merely require combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It can be seen that each element claimed is taught in either Lim and Burns, as combined, or Bush. Organizing the preview contents by using a preview library (taught by Bush) does not change nor effect the normal functions of providing an administrator interface when the QR code is scanned as disclosed by Lim and Burns. Since, the functionalities of the elements in Lime and Burns, as combined, and Bush do not interfere with each other the results of the combination would be predictable in that the different preview contents associated with the QR code would be presented in an organized manner.
causing display of the management interface at a client device in response to detecting interaction with the coded image; (Lim - Paragraph 64: The administrator can activate the QR codes in the field once they have been placed at a location in the real world by scanning the QR code; the server system identifies the user as an administrator and the administrator is able to access and update parameters, data and rules associated with the activated codes)
receiving, from the user device, user input entered via the one or more interface elements, the user input specifying availability of a content preview of the content previews (Lim – Paragraph 64: the server system identifies the user as an administrator and the administrator is able to activate the QR codes, as well as, access and update parameters, data and rules associated with content previews of the activated codes; Paragraph 109-110: the Content Manager function allows the administrator to select accessible advertisements and/or web content from a stored content library to associate with each touchpoint based on determined triggers; options available under the Content Manager may include /Create new content (content building logic)/edit existing content/view all content/archive content/view archive/; the administrator can then create a new trigger or modify an existing trigger for the touchpoint in relations to one or more of the advertisements and/or web content from the stored content library; Paragraphs 79 and 82-85: for example the administrator may associate different content previews with the same QR code which display different content previews based on different scenarios such as displaying an ad for a dollar off a hot coffee when the temperature is below a certain threshold and an ad for a dollar off an iced coffee when the temperature is above a certain threshold; or a user being presented with one content preview upon a first scan and a different content preview upon the users second scan of the QR code; Paragraphs 38, 42, and 60: The administrator can set up and/or modify triggers such that they only display the preview content during certain times of the day, or only display it a maximum number of times, when these criteria are not satisfied the administrator can assign a different preview content to trigger when the touchpoint it scanned)
modifying, at the system, access to the content preview based on the user input (Lim – Paragraphs 79 and 83-85: for example the administrator may associate different content previews with the same QR code which display different content previews based on different scenarios such as displaying an ad for a dollar off a hot coffee when the temperature is below a certain threshold and an ad for a dollar off an iced coffee when the temperature is above a certain threshold; or a user being presented with one content preview upon a first scan and a different content preview upon the users second scan of the QR code; Paragraphs 38, 42, and 60: The administrator can set up and/or modify triggers such that they only display the preview content during certain times of the day, or only display it a maximum number of times, when these criteria are not satisfied the administrator can assign a different preview content to trigger when the touchpoint it scanned; Paragraph 82: depending on which scenario is satisfied by a particular customer, different destinations or content may be provided to the customer device).
Claims 3 and 12: Lim, Burns and Bush disclose the system of claim 1, and the method of claim 10, wherein the access parameters include a threshold of a request limit and geolocation criteria. (Lim - Paragraphs 38, 42, 60, and 115: The administrator can set up and/or modify triggers such that they only display the preview content during certain times of the day, only display it a maximum number of times, during certain weather conditions and/or in specific geographic locations, when these criteria are not satisfied the administrator can assign a different preview content to trigger when the touchpoint it scanned; for example the condition variable may be a geographic location of a user interacting with a touchpoint, and a time of day and a weather condition at that geographic locations)
Claims 4 and 13. Lim, Burns and Bush disclose the system of claim 3, and the method of claim 12,
wherein the access parameters define display criteria of the content previews based on user profile information (Lim – Paragraph 43: conditional content delivery can be based on any information known about the user; for example, a user may register her wireless device with the computer server system by providing personal identification information (name, address, telephone number), demographic information, and the like; or user interactions with the computer server system can be tracked anonymously, without any personal identification of the consumer or user, by use of such cookie or identifier; 78: numerous conditions can be used for activating which content is displayed such as location, time at location, current date, number of visits by customer, average length of previous customer visit, current temperature, and QR code scan touchpoint; 132: day of week at client device, time at client device, weather at client device; temperature at client device, humidity at client device, from which website client device arrived can all be used to determine conditions that are assigned to serving a specific content item), and
further comprising:
assigning a status indicator to the media content, the status indicator indicating a state of the media content (Lim - Paragraph 93: a company can have multiple brands and each brand can have established ‘states,’ such as Active or Inactive; 126: content re-direction destinations when active each have assigned conditions that dictate under what criteria that specific content item is served;
retrieving the user profile information from the client device in response to detecting the interaction (Lim – Paragraph 43: conditional content delivery can be based on any information known about the user; for example, a user may register her wireless device with the computer server system by providing personal identification information (name, address, telephone number), demographic information, and the like; or user interactions with the computer server system can be tracked anonymously, without any personal identification of the consumer or user, by use of such cookie or identifier; 78: numerous conditions can be used for activating which content is displayed such as location, time at location, current date, number of visits by customer, average length of previous customer visit, current temperature, and QR code scan touchpoint; 132: day of week at client device, time at client device, weather at client device; temperature at client device, humidity at client device, from which website client device arrived can all be used to determine conditions that are assigned to serving a specific content item); and
causing display of the content previews based on the user profile information and the state of the media content (Lim – Paragraph 43: conditional content delivery can be based on any information known about the user; for example, a user may register her wireless device with the computer server system by providing personal identification information (name, address, telephone number), demographic information, and the like; or user interactions with the computer server system can be tracked anonymously, without any personal identification of the consumer or user, by use of such cookie or identifier; 78: numerous conditions can be used for activating which content is displayed such as location, time at location, current date, number of visits by customer, average length of previous customer visit, current temperature, and QR code scan touchpoint; 79: administrator runs a campaign in the month of January for one dollar off a cup of a hot or cold drink upon the first scan of a hardlink code, such as a QR code, depending on the temperature at the location of the customer; upon additional scans, a second offer is presented to a customer; this campaign thus provides a different experience for consumers based on the real world conditions surrounding them, as well as their past interactions with the administrator's brand or company; 132: day of week at client device, time at client device, weather at client device; temperature at client device, humidity at client device, from which website client device arrived can all be used to determine conditions that are assigned to serving a specific content item).
Claims 6 and 15: Lim, Burns and Bush disclose the system of claim 1, and the method of claim 10, further comprising:
incrementing a counter associated with the content previews responsive to detecting interaction with the coded image, the counter indicating a number of requests to access the content previews (Lim - Figures 13 and 15: count of QR code scans; Paragraph 72: Touchpoints should each have their own unique attributes so that traffic source through a touchpoint can be tracked so that, for example, an administrator of a marketing campaign can see the number of QR scans; 81: customer devices interactions with a touchpoint using a scan of a hardlink or QR code are counted);
determining that the number of requests is below a threshold of a request limit; and causing display of the management interface based on the number of requests being below the threshold.
Lim, Burns and Bush as currently combined to not disclose determining that the number of requests is below a threshold of a request limit; and causing display of the management interface based on the number of requests being below the threshold.
However, the prior art of Burns disclose that it is well known to determine that the number of requests is below a threshold of a request limit; and causing display of the management interface based on the number of requests being below the threshold (Burns – Paragraph 29: The maximum number of additional previews specified in the rule for the particular protected electronic document is subtracted from the number of partial views accessed by the user of the client device. This difference yields the count of the remaining previews allowed for the particular protected electronic document) and causing display of a notification at the client device based on the request, the notification including an indication of the difference (Burns – Paragraph 24: the web page may include indicators that represent a number of additional previews remaining for the client device, when viewing or accessing a particular protected electronic document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Lim, Burns and Bush to further include the ability determine that the number of requests is below a threshold of a request limit; and causing display of the management interface based on the number of requests being below the threshold as disclosed by Burns.
The rationale for doing so is that it merely requires combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It can be seen that each element claimed is taught by either Lim, Burns and Bush or Burns. Determining that the number of requests is below a threshold of a request limit; and causing display of the management interface based on the number of requests being below the threshold as taught by Burns does not change or effect the normal function of the invention of Lim, Burns and Bush as previously combined because access to the previews would still be limited in the same manner even with the addition of determining that the number of requests is below a threshold of a request limit; and causing display of the management interface based on the number of requests being below the threshold. Since the functionalities of the elements do not interfere with each other results of the combination would be predictable in that users will be able to be kept informed of the when they will no longer have access to the previews of the content item.
Claims 7 and 16: Lim and Burns disclose the system of claim 1, and the method of claim 10,
wherein the media content is first media content (Lim – Paragraphs 45-46, 48 112 as combined with Burns - Paragraphs 30 36, 42 and 48 above: a first content preview associated with a first media content is provided to a first user scanning the code),
the content previews are first content previews ((Lim – Paragraphs 45-46, 48 112 as combined with Burns - Paragraphs 30 36, 42 and 48 above: a first content preview associated with a first media content is provided to a first user scanning the code), and
further comprising:
receiving second media content (Lim – Paragraphs 45-46, 48 112 as combined with Burns - Paragraphs 30 36, 42 and 48 above: a second content preview associated with a second media content is provided to a second user scanning the code);
generating second content previews of the second media content (Lim – Paragraphs 45-46, 48 112 as combined with Burns - Paragraphs 30 36, 42 and 48 above: both a first content preview associated with a first media content and a second content previews are generated);
associating the coded image with the second content previews (Lim - Paragraph 36, 38, 42, and Figures 2, and 7-12 as combined above with Burns - Paragraphs 30 36, 42 and 48 above: disclose associating the coded image with both first content previews and second content previews); and
causing display of the preview library in the management interface, the preview library including presentations of the first content previews and the second content previews. (Lim - Paragraphs 109-110, 79, 82-85, 38, 42, and 60; Bush: Paragraphs 45-46, 64-65, 109-110 and 112).
Claims 8 and 17: Lim, Burns and Bush disclose the system of claim 1, and the method of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprising:
detecting an expiration of the content previews based on access parameters (Lim – Paragraph 48: the merchant determines or identifies those conditions, such as time of day, date range, under which they would like their content delivered to users in response to the scan or entry of a code; 55: a rule may state that between the hours of 12 AM and 6 PM on Mondays, Content X is to be delivered in response to a scan of the designated hardlink code by a user, while between 6 PM and 12 AM on Mondays, Content Y is to be delivered; 56: a rule may state that between the dates of Oct. 1, 2011 and Oct. 31, 2011, Content X is to be delivered in response to a scan of the designated hardlink code by a user, while between Nov. 1, 2011 and Nov. 30, 2011, Content Y is to be delivered; Figures 11 and 12: disclose the time and date based rules associated with accessing content, attempts to access the designated content outside of the time and date based rules (expiration or the timer) for said content results in different content being displayed);
receiving a scan of the coded image after the expiration (Lim – Paragraph 55: a rule may state that between the hours of 12 AM and 6 PM on Mondays, Content X is to be delivered in response to a scan of the designated hardlink code by a user, while between 6 PM and 12 AM on Mondays, Content Y is to be delivered; 56: a rule may state that between the dates of Oct. 1, 2011 and Oct. 31, 2011, Content X is to be delivered in response to a scan of the designated hardlink code by a user, while between Nov. 1, 2011 and Nov. 30, 2011, Content Y is to be delivered; and 58: different content may be dynamically delivered to different users, or the same user at different times; Figures 11 and 12: disclose the time and date based rules associated with accessing content, a second scan attempting to access the designated content outside of the time and date based rules (expiration or the timer) for said content results in different content being displayed); and
denying access to the content previews (Lim – Paragraph 55: a rule may state that between the hours of 12 AM and 6 PM on Mondays, Content X is to be delivered in response to a scan of the designated hardlink code by a user, while between 6 PM and 12 AM on Mondays, Content Y is to be delivered; 56: a rule may state that between the dates of Oct. 1, 2011 and Oct. 31, 2011, Content X is to be delivered in response to a scan of the designated hardlink code by a user, while between Nov. 1, 2011 and Nov. 30, 2011, Content Y is to be delivered; and 58: different content may be dynamically delivered to different users, or the same user at different times; Figures 11 and 12: disclose the time and date based rules associated with accessing content, a second scan attempting to access the designated content outside of the time and date based rules (expiration or the timer) for said content results in the access for the original content being denied and different content being displayed).
Claims 9 and 18: Lim, Burns and Bush disclose the system of claim 8, and the method of claim 17, further comprising:
associating a new coded image with the content previews in response to the denying access; and notifying an administrator associated with the media content of the new coded image (Lim - Paragraph 36: The operator of the computer system server that distributes the codes may then establish rules for the content to be delivered in response to a scan or other indication of the code from a wireless device; 38: a rule may be established that if a particular code is scanned by a user during the business hours of a merchant, then that merchant's content will be delivered in response to a scan or entry of that particular code; 42: content delivery may be based on the number of times that a hardlink code is scanned by one or more users, the content delivery may be restricted to a certain number of deliveries, based on how many deliveries have been paid for by a particular merchant or other criteria; 44: the computer server system may also provide end of range warning to indicate when certain rules are about to expire or reach their established, maximum threshold of delivery; and Figures 2, and 7-12: which disclose how content is associated with the coded image and some of the rules used for the associating. The examiner interprets this limitation as just repeating the original step of associating at some later time so that the media content can now be associated with a new coded image and is therefore, taught by Lim in the same manner).
Claims 2, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (PGPUB: US 2016/0255161) in view of Burns et al. (PGPUB: 2008/0235221) in view of Bush et al (PGPUB: US 2004/0078312) in further view of Pelletier (US Patent Number: 7,188,085).
Claims 2, 11, and 20: The system of claim 1, the method of claim 10, and the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein generating the content previews includes applying a digital watermark to the media content.
Lim, Burns and Bush disclose the system of claim 1, the method of claim 11, and the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 20 wherein the generating the preview of the media content includes placing a cookie (tracking mechanism) associated with the media content preview on the wireless device when it interacts with the media content preview in at least Lim: paragraphs 43, 63, 65, and 120.
Lim, Burns and Bush do not specifically disclose that such the tracking mechanism is a digital watermark and the application of the digital watermark to the generated media content preview.
However, the analogous art of Pelletier teaches a known technique for using a digital watermark as a tracking mechanism and applying the digital watermark to a media content in at least column 12, lines 16-56.
This known technique is applicable to disclosure of Lim, Burns and Bush because it shares characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed towards tracking media content. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Pelletier would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Pelletier would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied show the ability to incorporate such a tracking mechanism into similar systems. Further, applying a digital watermark tracking system to Lim, Burns and Bush would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would still allow for usage tracking but prevent the unauthorized sharing of the displayed media content preview offers with others that have not scanned the QR code.
Claims 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (PGPUB: US 2016/0255161) in view of Burns et al. (PGPUB: 2008/0235221) in view of Bush et al (PGPUB: US 2004/0078312) in further view of Benchoff (“How To Put Your Logo In A QR Code”, August 11, 2011, https://hackaday.com/2011/08/11/how-to-put-your-logo-in-a-qr-code/comment-page-2/, pages 1-16).
Claims 5 and 14. The system of claim 1, and the method of claim 10, wherein the coded image comprises a QR code that integrates a display of an entity logo associated with an entity as a machine-readable finder pattern within the QR code.
Lim, Burns and Bush discloses generating a coded image in at least paragraph 34 of Lim where he states that a hardlink codes such as a QR code from a QR code distributor or other operator of the computer server system establishes a unique code, such as that depicted in FIG. 1 of Lim, in which a web site address or URL is encoded and paragraph 45 of Lim where he states that the hardlink code can be a QR code or other symbology.
Lim, Burns and Bush do not specifically disclose that the coded image includes a display of an entity logo associated with the entity.
However, the analogous art of Benchoff discloses that it is well known to generate a coded image of a QR code that includes a display of an entity logo associated with an entity on at least page 4 (first and second image) and the image on page 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included the logos of Benchoff in the QR codes of Lim, Burns and Bush.
The rationale for doing so it that it merely requires use of known techniques to improve similar products (QR codes) in the same way as determined using the following: Lim and Burns teaches the “base” form of generating a QR code; Benchoff teaches a “comparable” method with respect to generating a QR code with the improvement of adding a logo to the QR code that enhances the brand recognition of the QR code which could potential entice more users to scan the code; the QR code of Benchoff operates in the same manner as the QR code of Lim; One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the adaptation of the QR code in Benchoff to the base QR code of Lim would result in an enhancement to brand recognition associated with the QR code.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 21, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that they have filed Terminal Disclaimers along with this response. However, no such Terminal Disclaimers are in the file wrapper. As such, the Double Patenting rejections have been maintained.
The applicant argues, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections, that the claims, as currently amended, overcome the 101 rejections under Step 2a, Prong 2 and Step 2b because the “additional-element” analysis rests on a premise the amendments remove. The examiner disagrees. The amendment has moved the management interface within the scope of the claims, but the client device is still outside the scope of the applicant’s invention. As indicated in the rejection above, the management interface as claimed is merely a generic computer element based on the Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One decision. Thus, the “additional elements”, of the claims, as a whole, amount to no more than a general-purpose computer with generic computer components and/or generic computer elements which are merely being used as a tool to apply the abstract idea. As such, the claims, as currently amended, fail to overcome the 101 rejections. Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
The applicant argues, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections, that the claims overcome the 101 rejections under Step 2a, Prong 1 because the claims do not recite an abstract idea that falls withing the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” category namely advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors because the claims recite no merchant, no sale, no transaction, no price, no advertisement, and no marketing activity. The examiner disagrees. The claims absolutely recite both marketing and advertising because the claims recite media content and previews corresponding to the media content. Based on the applicant’s specification in at least paragraph 22, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “media content” includes a marketing or advertising campaign. As such, the claims are describing a process for implementing a marketing or advertising campaign. Thus, the claims, without a doubt, recite an abstract idea that falls withing the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” category namely advertising, marketing, or sales activities or behaviors. The applicant further argues that the operations are performed on machine-readable data structures and are not activities a person carries out mentally or by way of a commercial interaction. The examiner notes that whether the claim can be carried out mentally is immaterial. The instant claims fall within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity category of abstract ideas. Only those claims that fall within the Mental Process category of abstract idea need to be capable of being performed in the human mind. The Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity category has no such requirement. Second, the applicant appears to be placing a narrower interpretation on the term commercial or legal interactions than required given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Neither marketing and advertising require that some type of transaction take place or even that any advertising or marketing material be presented. The act of creating an advertising campaign or a marketing campaign, including the establishment of rules or criteria for whom can be provided with such material, when it is to be provided, and where/how it is to be provided are advertising and marketing activities that fall within the commercial or legal interactions subcategory of abstract idea. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
The applicant argues, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections, that the claims overcome the 101 rejections under Step 2a, Prong 2 because they intergrate the abstract idea into a practical application and points to steps which are part of the abstract idea itself as proof. The examiner strongly disagrees. According to MPEP 2106, the steps of the abstract idea are incapable of transforming an abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2a, Prong 2 when the improvement is rooted solely in the abstract idea itself which is merely applied using the “additional elements” as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(a) - “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement”; and MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) - “However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology”). “Additional elements” are defined as those parts of a claim which are not part of the abstract idea. The only additional elements in the current claims are a general-purpose computer with generic computer components and/or a generic computer element upon which the abstract idea is merely applied. As such, the argues steps are not capable of transforming an abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2a, Prong 2. Any purported solution obtained by practicing the claim invention is rooted solely in the abstract idea itself which is merely applied using the additional elements as a tool. Thus, said solution is an improvement to an abstract idea which is an improvement in ineligible subject matter and not an improvement in technology. Unlike the Core Wireless decision which recited a specific graphical user interface with specific functionality including a GUI with menus, which summarized each of the applications stored on the device, and allowed for each application to be launched from within the GUI, the instant claim recite a generic interactive interface with merely displays data to and accepts user input. Thus, the GUI in Core Wireless was an specific GUI that was an improvement over traditional GUIs, whereas the interface in the instant claims is a generic computer element as outlined in the Intellectual Ventures I v. Capital One decision. Likewise, the instant claims bear no similarities to the DDR decision. In DDR the claims recited a new type of networking protocol that operated in a manner different from traditional networking protocols. The instant claims do not include any limitations directed towards networking protocols, much less a new type of networking protocol the applicant has invented. Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
The applicant argues, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections, that the claims overcome the 101 rejections under Step 2b because they amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea for the same reasons they overcome the 101 rejections under Step 2b. The examiner disagrees. As noted in the argument above, MPEP 2106 precludes the steps of the abstract idea which are merely applied using the “additional elements” as a tool from being capable of a determination that the claim is “significantly more” than the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(a) - “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement”; and MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) - “However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology”). In order to overcome a 101 rejection under Step 2b, the “significantly more” must be tied to the “additional elements:” in a manner other than merely applying the abstract idea using a general-purpose computer with generic computer components and a generic computer element. It is immaterial whether steps of the abstract idea were well-understood, routine, and conventional when they are merely applied using a general-purpose computer with generic computer components and a generic computer element (see the SAP v Investpic decision - Page 2, line 22 through Page 3, line 13 - Even assuming that the algorithms claimed are groundbreaking, innovative or even brilliant, the claims are ineligible because their innovation is an innovation in ineligible subject matter because they are nothing but a series of mathematical algorithms based on selected information and the presentation of the results of those algorithms. Thus, the advance lies entirely in the realm of abstract ideas, with no plausible alleged innovation in the non-abstract application realm. An advance of this nature is ineligible for patenting; and Page 10, lines 18-24 - Even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is limited to particular content, or a particular source, that limitations does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract. In addition to the sections of MPEP 2106 cited above). Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
The applicant argues that the dependent claims recite additional operations which overcome the 101 rejections. The examiner disagrees. Each of the argued operations are steps of the abstract idea itself which is merely applied using the additional elements as a tool. As such, each of the argued limitations are incapable of transforming the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2a, Prong 2, and incapable of being considered “significantly more” under Step 2b. Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
The applicant’s arguments with regards to the 112(b) rejections are moot as the claim amendment has overcome the 112(b) rejections.
The applicant’s argues with regards to the 103 rejections that Lim’s interface is not caused to display at a client device in response to detecting an interaction with the coded image. The examiner strongly disagrees. Lim’s interface is absolutely caused to display at a client device in response to detecting an interaction with the coded image in at least paragraph 64 as cited above. Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
The applicant argues with regards to the 103 rejection that neither Lim nor Burns disclose a management interface comprising a preview library, the preview library comprising a presentation of the content previews and one or more user interface elements enabling modification of accessibility of the content previews. The examiner disagrees. Arguing the references individually when they have been applied in combination is not convincing. Lim and Burns, as combined do disclose a management interface comprising a preview library, the preview library comprising a presentation of the content previews and one or more user interface elements enabling modification of accessibility of the content previews as cited in the rejection above. Lim and Burns, as previously combined, allow for the administrator to access the preview library from the management interface, but do not specifically disclose that the preview library is actually displayed. This is what the prior art of Bush had been used to teach in rejecting dependent claim 7. Since the instant amendment to the independent claims has added the actual displaying of the preview library, the prior art of Bush has been added to teach this newly added feature of the independent claims. Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
The applicant argues that neither reference teaches “modifying, at the system, access to the content preview based on the user input, such that a subsequent interaction with the coded image does not cause display of the content preview”. The examiner strongly disagrees. The are numerous teaching in the prior art of Lim in which “modifying, at the system, access to the content preview based on the user input, such that a subsequent interaction with the coded image does not cause display of the content preview” is taught. According to Lim, in at least paragraph 82, depending on which scenario is satisfied by a particular customer, different destinations or content may be provided to the customer device. Likewise, Lim discloses numerous such scenarios which can be modified by the administrator that results in the system not displaying the content preview when the QR code is subsequently interacted with in at least paragraphs 38, 42, 60, 79 and 83-85. Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not convincing, and the rejections have been maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mahkovec et al. (PGPUB: 2017/0329990) which discloses a system for receiving media contents from client devices; generating content previews corresponding to each of the media content; associating coded images to each of the content previews; displaying a preview in response to the scan, wherein the preview includes the content preview, wherein a preview interface allows the user to modify the accessibility of the content preview;
Singh (US Patent: 11,284,170) which disclose generating preview content from a source content by extracting video snippets from the source content, and storing a plurality of preview content in a preview video repository.
Harvey et al. (PGPUB: 2014/0040001) which discloses displaying a preview library of active media content preview offers at the client device in response to the receiving the scan, the preview library including presentations of the first media content preview offer and the second media content preview offer.
Lardinois ("Microsoft Gives Up On Its Tag Barcode Service, Schedules It For Shutdown In 2015", August 19, 2013, https://techcrunch.com/2013/08/19/ microsoft-gives-up-on-its-tag-barcode-service-schedules-it-for-shutdown-in-2015/, pages 1-3) which discloses that the ability to customize a scannable Microsoft Tag to include a company logo.
Fang (CA 2854169) which discloses using scannable QR codes for presenting advertisements; counting the number of times a scan occurs; and charges advertisers based on a pay-per-scan methodology for the advertisement presented as a result of the scan; and disassociates the advertisement one a budget value is reached.
Wardhaugh et al. (PGPUB: US 2008/0010351) which discloses displaying a redirect page with a user customized message once the online content has expired or reached a maximum respondent limit.
Birnbaum et al. (PGPUB: 2016/0149956) which discloses including user identifiers in access parameters for a population of users to be able to access media items.
Marsico (PGPUB: 2015/0039409) which discloses receiving media content, using an administrative module to set access parameters associate with the media content, receiving a scan of a coded image, and displaying the media content in response to receiving the scan.
Boal (PGPUB: 2014/0180790) which discloses determining a count of the number of access requests to view a preview, determining that count has exceed a threshold, and disassociating the preview with the link when the threshold has been exceeded.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John Van Bramer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622