DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the first lateral side of the drill carriage includes two stake implement”. Implement should be pluralized to “implements”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deken (US 6,216,803) hereinafter referred to as Deken.
Regarding claim 1, Deken discloses a directional drill (10, fig. 1), comprising:
a drill carriage (16);
a rotating spindle (12) coupled to the drill carriage (fig. 1), wherein the rotating spindle is adapted to translate along a surface of the drill carriage (col. 2 lines 41-49, fig. 1);
a stakedown system (22) coupled to an end of the drill carriage (fig. 1), including
a plurality of first stake implements (individual stakes 22, fig. 1) including auger flights (60, fig. 1-2 and 13) located on a first lateral side of the drill carriage (see annotated fig. 1), the plurality of first stake implements both being rotated concurrently by a common drive motor (30, fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62); and
at least one second stake implement (individual stakes 22, fig. 1) including auger flights (60, fig. 1-2 and 13) located on a second lateral side of the drill carriage (see annotated fig. 1), opposite the first lateral side (see annotated fig. 1), wherein the first lateral side of the drill carriage includes a larger number of stake implements than the second lateral side (see annotated fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Deken further discloses wherein the plurality of first stake implements are coupled to a single drive system to drive the plurality of first stake implements into the ground at the same time (30, fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62 and col. 7 lines 15-29).
Regarding claim 3, Deken further discloses wherein the first lateral side of the drill carriage includes two stake implement (see annotated fig. 1, wherein the first lateral side includes at least two stake implements).
Regarding claim 4, Deken further discloses wherein the second lateral side of the drill carriage includes one stake implement (see annotated fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Deken discloses a method of operating a directional drill (10, fig. 1), comprising:
positioning a drill carriage (16, fig. 1) and a rotating spindle (12, fig. 1) coupled to the drill carriage along a drilling axis (col. 2 lines 41-49, fig. 1);
driving multiple stake implements into the ground concurrently (22, fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62), including rotating a common drive motor coupled to the multiple stake implements (30, fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62); and
staking down the directional drill using the multiple stake implements (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62, col. 7 lines 15-54).
Regarding claim 8, Deken further discloses further including selecting an optional desired number of stake implements from a plurality of stake implements located on both a first lateral side of the drill carriage and a second lateral side of the drill carriage wherein the first lateral side of the drill carriage includes a larger number of stake implements than the second lateral side (see annotated fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Deken further discloses wherein selecting an optional desired number of stake implements includes selecting a plurality of first stake implements coupled to a single driver to drive the plurality of first stake implements into the ground at the same time (see annotated fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62).
Regarding claim 13, Deken discloses a method of operating a directional drill (10, fig. 1), comprising:
positioning a drill carriage (16, fig. 1) and a rotating spindle (12, fig. 1) coupled to the drill carriage along a drilling axis (col. 2 lines 41-49, fig. 1);
driving multiple stake implements into the ground concurrently (22, fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62), including actuating a single drive system to drive the multiple stake implements into the ground at the same time (30, fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62); and
staking down the directional drill using the multiple stake implements (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62, col. 7 lines 15-54).
Regarding claim 14, Deken further discloses wherein driving multiple stake implements into the ground concurrently, includes rotating a common drive motor coupled to the multiple stake implements (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62, col. 7 lines 15-54).
Regarding claim 15, Deken further discloses further including selecting an optional desired number of stake implements from a plurality of stake implements located on both a first lateral side of the drill carriage and a second lateral side of the drill carriage wherein the first lateral side of the drill carriage includes a larger number of stake implements than the second lateral side (see annotated fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Deken further discloses wherein selecting an optional desired number of stake implements includes selecting a plurality of first stake implements coupled to a single driver to drive the plurality of first stake implements into the ground at the same time (see annotated fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deken US Patent 6,216,803 hereinafter referred to as Deken in view of Felt (US 2009/0127001 A1), hereinafter Felt.
Regarding claim 6, Deken discloses the common drive motor (30, fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62), but fails to explicitly disclose the type of drive motor.
Felt teaches a similar device in the same field of drilling and pipe handling wherein the drive motor includes a gear drive (par. 0030).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the generic drive motor for a motor that includes a gear drive of Felt to yield the predictable result of operating the drive mechanism (par. 0030 of Felt).
Claims 10, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deken US Patent 6,216,803 hereinafter referred to as Deken in view of McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1), hereinafter McGriff.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Deken discloses wherein selecting an optional desired number of stake implements includes selecting two first stake implements coupled to a drive motor to drive the two first stake implements into the ground at the same time (col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62), but fails to explicitly disclose the type of drive motor.
McGriff teaches a similar device in the same field of horizontal directional drilling wherein the drive motor is a single hydraulic system (134, fig. 6, col. 5 lines 52-63).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the generic drive motor for a single hydraulic system of McGriff to yield the predictable result of operating the drive mechanism (col. 5 lines 52-63 of McGriff).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Deken in view of McGriff further teaches wherein staking down the directional drill using the selected number of stake implements (fig. 1, col. 3 lines 14-24 and 58-62, col. 7 lines 15-54 of Deken) includes selecting a staking depth (col. 5 lines 52-63, wherein the actuators control the upward and downward location and force on the stake implements of McGriff), and wherein the single hydraulic system includes a pair of hydraulic cylinders coupled together (135 and 137, fig. 6, col. 5 lines 52-63 of McGriff), and selecting the staking depth includes selecting actuation of one or both or the pair of hydraulic cylinders (col. 5 lines 52-63, wherein the actuators control the upward and downward location and force on the stake implements of McGriff).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
See the following table for the non-statutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11, 13-16, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (see table below) of U.S. Patent No. US 12,345,098 B2/ US 20210310314 A1 / US 11066877 B2 in view of Deken (US 6,216,803) . Deken teaches the stakes both being rotated concurrently by a common drive motor/actuating a single drive system to drive the multiple stake implements into the ground at the same time.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (see table below) of U.S. Patent No. US 12,345,098 B2/ US 20210310314 A1 / US 11066877 B2 in view of Deken (US 6,216,803) and additionally in view of Felt (US 2009/0127001 A1). Felt teaches that the drive motor can include a gear drive.
Claim 10, 12, 17, and 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (see table below) of U.S. Patent No. US 12,345,098 B2/ US 11066877 B2 in view of Deken (US 6,216,803) and additionally in view of McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1). McGriff teaches a single hydraulic system teaches that the drive motor can include a gear drive.
Instant Application 19/255,432 current claims
Patent US 12,345,098 B2
Patent US 11,713,624 B2
Patent US 11,066,877 B2
1
Claim 1, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
Claim 1 and Deken (US 6,216,803); Claim 7 and Deken (US 6,216,803)
Claim 1 and 2 and Deken (US 6,216,803)
2
Claim 3, and Deken (US 6,216,804)
Claim 1 and Deken (US 6,216,803); Claim 7 and Deken (US 6,216,803)
Claim 1 and 2, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
3
Claim 3 and 4, and Deken (US 6,216,805)
Claim 1 and Deken (US 6,216,803); Claim 7 and Deken (US 6,216,803)
Claim 1 and 3, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
4
Claim 3 and 5, and Deken US (6,216,806)
Claim 1 and Deken (US 6,216,803); Claim 7 and Deken (US 6,216,803)
Claim 1 and 4, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
5
Claim 3 and 6, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 7 and 8, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
6
Claim 3, and Deken (US 6,216,804), and Felt (US 2009/0127001 A1)
Claim 1 and Deken (US 6,216,803) and Felt (US 2009/0127001 A1); Claim 7 and Deken (US 6,216,803) and Felt (US 2009/0127001 A1)
Claim 1 and 2 and Deken (US 6,216,803) and Felt (US 2009/0127001 A1)
7
Claim 7, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
8
Claim 7 and 8, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9-11, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
9
Claim 7 and 8, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
10
Claim 7 and 9, and Deken (US 6,216,807) , and McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803) , and McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1)
11
Claim 7 and 10, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 12, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
12
Claim 7 and 11, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803), and McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1)
13
Claim 7, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
14
Claim 7 and 8, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
15
Claim 7 and 8, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
16
Claim 7 and 9, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9 and 10, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
17
Claim 7 and 9, and Deken (US 6,216,807), and McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1)
Claim 9 and 11, and Deken (US 6,216,803) and McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1)
18
Claim 7 and 10, and Deken (US 6,216,807)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803)
19
Claim 7 and 11, and Deken (US 6,216,803), and McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1)
Claim 9, and Deken (US 6,216,803), and McGriff (US 6,497,296 B1)
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676