DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
As of Claim 13: Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 13 recites, inter alia, “ A computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by an electronic device with a display and a touch-sensitive surface, cause the electronic device to:…” After close inspection, an Examiner is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during examination. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal, per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter.
Therefore, given the disclosure and the broadest reasonable interpretation, the computer readable storage medium of the claim may include transitory propagating signals. As a result, the claim pertains to non-statutory subject matter.
However, the Examiner respectfully submits a claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. For additional information, please see the Patents’ Official Gazette notice published February 23, 2010 (1351 OG 212).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 20130208127 A1) in view of Rafati et al. (US 20140099034 A1;hereafter Rafati).
As of Claim 1: Chou teaches a method, comprising: at an electronic device (¶0020 and note that a mobile device 100) displaying a representative image on the display, wherein: the representative image is one image in a sequence of images taken by a camera (¶¶0074-0076 and note FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating image view displayed on the touch screen 106 corresponding to burst images stored in the memory 108. As shown in FIG. 6, images captured in auto burst mode are grouped together, e.g. a representative image 602 of the series of burst images is shown with a smaller icon at a corner. That is to say, the user would not see all images in photo preview, instead represented by the representative image 602. As shown in FIG. 7, when the user touches the representative image 602 for viewing all of the series of burst images, a list view of all images are shown in thumbnails at bottom of the touch screen 106 and the representative image 602 is shown at the top of the touch screen 106. As shown in FIG. 7, the user may slide through the bottom list to see other images of the series of burst images. In another embodiment of the present invention, the top of the touch screen 106 can be used for displaying all images of the series of burst images in slide show.); the sequence of images includes one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image; and the sequence of images includes one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image; .
Rafati is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Rafati teaches automated thumbnail generation processes do not always guarantee that the thumbnail images selected to represent a video will be either visually stimulating or particularly representative of the corresponding video content that would have prompted a predictable variation of Chou by applying Rafati’s known principal of while displaying the representative image on the display, detecting an input to modify the representative image; and in response to detecting the input to modify the representative image: in accordance with a determination that the electronic device is in a first editing mode, modifying the representative image, the one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image, and the one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image (¶¶0027,0030 and note that FIG. 2 illustrates an implementation for selecting a thumbnail image that is representative of content. In operation 206, a content provider provides content that is received as an input. This content can be a video file, audio file, text, or PowerPoint presentation, for example. For purposes of this example, a video file will be used as the example. In operation 208, the video file is pre-processed. The pre-processing operation can include resizing and filtering. In operation 210, a selection of the best video frames is automatically made. The proposed best video frames can then be manually refined by the content provider. In operation 212, post-processing of the best video frames is implemented. The post-processing operation can include, for example, image resizing, cropping, and image enhancement. In operation 214, text, graphics or image (such as logo) insertion can be implemented. Operation 216 illustrates that thumbnails may then be output.).
In view of the motivations such as improving the visual quality and presentation of a representative image thereby quickly selecting and generating thumbnail images that are relevant and visually stimulating as disclosed in ¶0003 of Rafati and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Chou.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 2&9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (US 20130208127 A1) in view of Rafati et al. (US 20140099034 A1;hereafter Rafati), and further in view of Escobedo (US 20140092260 A1).
As of Claim 2: Escobedo is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Escobedo teaches automated thumbnail generation processes do not always guarantee that the thumbnail images selected to represent a video will be either visually stimulating or particularly representative of the corresponding video content that would have prompted a predictable variation of Chou by applying Escobedo’s known principal of in accordance with a determination that the electronic device is in a second editing mode, distinct from the first editing mode, modifying the representative image, without modifying the one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image, and without modifying the one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image (¶¶0028,0034,0040,0047-0050 and note that FIG. 4 shows a scenario in which the user also edits area 318 in a manner similar to that described in FIG. 3. Thus, the user may edit area 316 and area 318 independently of each other. Similarly, the user may also edit area 316 and 318 by adopting subject matter from different frames within the video cache. Therefore, different areas 316, 318 may include different, respective modifications. Although not shown in the Figures, it is understood that the user may also edit the right-most subject in the display 312, if desired. In fact, the user may edit any arbitrary portion of display 312.).
In view of the motivations such as using the video functionality to capture a plurality of still images at video speed, saving the plurality of still images as a cached timeline from which a user may select a desired still image, and providing a user interface on a display screen to allow the user to select a desired still image thereby allowing the user an option to select and edit an image and make it nominal as disclosed in ¶0020 of Escobedoi and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Chou.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 9: Chou in view of Rafati in view of Escobedo further teaches detecting a second input corresponding to a request to delete the one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image (Rafati ¶0081 and note that deploy the video to one or more video-sharing or social media websites; and provide detailed analytics highlighting the performance of a video or a group of videos. In one embodiment, the platform may contain one or more tools allowing a user to edit or change an audio track in a file. It may also have one or more tools that enable the user to delete or rearrange shots or frames within the file. ) and the one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image; and, in response to detecting the second input, deleting the one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image and the one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image (Escobedo¶¶0038 and note that once a user has edited and saved an image file, the system may delete video cache 502 to save space or may keep video cache 502 for any appropriate time and allow the user to make different changes later.).
As of Claim 12: Chou teaches an electronic device (¶0020 and note that a mobile device 100), comprising: a display; a touch-sensitive surface; one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying a representative image on the display, wherein: the representative image is one image in a sequence of images taken by a camera; the sequence of images includes one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image (¶¶0074-0076 and note FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating image view displayed on the touch screen 106 corresponding to burst images stored in the memory 108. As shown in FIG. 6, images captured in auto burst mode are grouped together, e.g. a representative image 602 of the series of burst images is shown with a smaller icon at a corner. That is to say, the user would not see all images in photo preview, instead represented by the representative image 602. As shown in FIG. 7, when the user touches the representative image 602 for viewing all of the series of burst images, a list view of all images are shown in thumbnails at bottom of the touch screen 106 and the representative image 602 is shown at the top of the touch screen 106. As shown in FIG. 7, the user may slide through the bottom list to see other images of the series of burst images. In another embodiment of the present invention, the top of the touch screen 106 can be used for displaying all images of the series of burst images in slide show.); and the sequence of images includes one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image; while displaying the representative image on the display, detecting an input to modify the representative image; in response to detecting the input to modify the representative image: in accordance with a determination that the electronic device is in a first editing mode, modifying the representative image, the one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image, and the one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image.
Rafati is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Rafati teaches automated thumbnail generation processes do not always guarantee that the thumbnail images selected to represent a video will be either visually stimulating or particularly representative of the corresponding video content that would have prompted a predictable variation of Chou by applying Rafati’s known principal of while displaying the representative image on the display, detecting an input to modify the representative image; and in response to detecting the input to modify the representative image: in accordance with a determination that the electronic device is in a first editing mode, modifying the representative image, the one or more images acquired by the camera after acquiring the representative image, and the one or more images acquired by the camera before acquiring the representative image (¶¶0027,0030 and note that FIG. 2 illustrates an implementation for selecting a thumbnail image that is representative of content. In operation 206, a content provider provides content that is received as an input. This content can be a video file, audio file, text, or PowerPoint presentation, for example. For purposes of this example, a video file will be used as the example. In operation 208, the video file is pre-processed. The pre-processing operation can include resizing and filtering. In operation 210, a selection of the best video frames is automatically made. The proposed best video frames can then be manually refined by the content provider. In operation 212, post-processing of the best video frames is implemented. The post-processing operation can include, for example, image resizing, cropping, and image enhancement. In operation 214, text, graphics or image (such as logo) insertion can be implemented. Operation 216 illustrates that thumbnails may then be output.).
In view of the motivations such as improving the visual quality and presentation of a representative image thereby quickly selecting and generating thumbnail images that are relevant and visually stimulating as disclosed in ¶0003 of Rafati and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Chou.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 13: Rafati teaches in ¶0096 a computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by an electronic device perform the method of claim 1. The limitations are addressed in Claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest all limitations of each of claims 3-8, 10 and 11 in combination with their corresponding independent claim 1 as recited in the claims. Claims 3-8 depend from claim 2. Claims 10 and 11 depend from claim 1.
Conclusion
/MEKONNEN D DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638