DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the invention as claimed in claim 1, the structure that moves the locking catches and detect as claimed in claims 2 and 3, the notches, the locked and unlocked positions, and the flanges moving toward each other, as claimed in claim 3, and the motors for the hinge, as claimed in claim 6, see 112 2nd paragraph rejection below, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the term “means”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires the following:
At the instant, it is unclear what is claimed as the invention.
Here is the invention as illustrated and claimed:
As claimed, the claim requires that the securing means is used to secure and maintain a 2nd flange of the 2nd enclosed space pressed against the first flange of the first space. The claim further requires that the securing means comprises locking catches that project from the 1st flange, thus locking the 2nd flange.
First, it is unclear how this is possible since, as shown above, there is a wall between the 2 flanges. The 2 flanges are just secured by screws.
Second, giving the benefit of doubt to the applicant that somehow there is an opening on the wall, then how the 2nd flange interacts with the locking catches 8 and the projections 10?
As seen above, the only way that is possible is that, as shown above, the 2nd flange has a structure that extends through the “opening” and that then interact with the locking catch 8. However, this is just an assumption.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the claims will be examined as mentioned above.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,314,787 to Porret in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20080018117 to Yeremian and US Pat No 1,903,309 to Kelly.
Regarding claim 1, Porret discloses a door arrangement of a 1st enclosed space allowing a sealed connection between the 1st enclosed space and a 2nd enclosed space.
The arrangement comprises a 1st flange (3, 5) arranged to define a passage opening in the 1st enclosed space, which defines an opening plane and a passage axis perpendicular to the opening plane; a 1st door (7, 8) hingedly mounted on the 1st flange so as to pass between a closed position, in which the door closes the passage opening and an opening position; and securing means (12, 49) for securing and maintaining a 2nd flange (6) of the 2nd enclosed space mounted against the 1st flange.
However, Porret fails to disclose that the securing means comprises locking catches movable between an unlocked position and a locked position engaging a notch. Porret discloses the use of a pin/slot to engage the 1st and the 2nd flanges without rotational movement of the flanges.
Yeremian teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a catch (24) on a flange (15) that in a locked position, it will rotate to be received within a notch on a door (18, 32).
Kelly teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a catch (61) engaged to a notch (63), so as to create a press fit engagement between a 1st member and a 2nd member (doors and frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the securing means described by Porret so as to have the catch received in a notch on the door, as taught by Yeremian and Kelly, in order to create a press-fit engagement between the two flanges.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,314,787 to Porret in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20080018117 to Yeremian, US Pat No 1,903,309 to Kelly and further in view of WO 2011031185 to Zamesov et al (Zamesov).
Porret, as modified by Yeremian and Kelly, fails to disclose the use of a micromotor to drive each locking catch. The combination discloses the use of a manual actuator.
Zamesov teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuator to drive a locking catch (2) as a micromotor (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the actuator described by Porret, as modified by Yeremian and Kelly, as a micromotor, as taught by Zamesov, in order to automatically operate the locking catches.
Applicant is reminded that providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,314,787 to Porret in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20080018117 to Yeremian, US Pat No 1,903,309 to Kelly, WO 2011031185 to Zamesov et al (Zamesov) and further in view of US Pat No 7,735,480 to Larsen et al (Larsen).
Porret, as modified by Yeremian, Kelly and Zamesov, fails to disclose that the micromotors are associated with means for detecting the presence of the door.
Larsen teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a door arrangement with means for detecting the presence of a door (sensors 77, 78) that are associated with a motor (114) that operate latch catches (118, 119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the door arrangement described by Porret, as modified by Yeremian, Kelly and Zamesov, with means to detect the presence of the door, as taught by Larsen, in order to detect the position of the door and turn off the motor.
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,314,787 to Porret in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20080018117 to Yeremian, US Pat No 1,903,309 to Kelly and further in view of US Pat No 7,779,510 to Hoffman.
As to claim 4, Porret, as modified by Yeremian and Kelly, fails to disclose that the door is fixed to the flange by means of a double-jointed link mechanism. Porret discloses a single joint.
Hoffman teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a door arrangement with a double-jointed link mechanism (201) to fix a door (53) that comprises a first joint (209) arranged to allow rotational movement about an axis perpendicular to the passage axis of at most 30 degrees relative to the plane of the passage opening and a second joint (274, 291) arranged to allow rotational movement about an axis parallel to the passage axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the door arrangement described by Porret, as modified by Yeremian and Kelly, with a double-jointed link mechanism, as taught by Hoffman, in order to provide the door to move in other angular directions.
As to claim 5, Hoffman teaches that the second joint is arranged to allow a rotational movement, of up to 180 degrees, relative to the plane of the passage opening.
As to claim 13, Hoffman teaches that the double-jointed link mechanism is configured to be power operated (by a linear actuator, col 9 lines 27-31). Zamesov teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuator to drive a member (20 that is a micromotor (6).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,314,787 to Porret in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20080018117 to Yeremian, US Pat No 1,903,309 to Kelly, US Pat No 7,779,510 to Hoffman, and further in view of WO 2011031185 to Zamesov et al (Zamesov).
As to claim 6, Porret, as modified by Yeremian, Kelly and Hoffman, teaches that the double-jointed link mechanism is configured to be power operated (by a linear actuator, Hoffman col 9 lines 27-31).
However, the combination fails to disclose the use of a micromotor.
Zamesov teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuator to drive a member (20 that is a micromotor (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the actuator described by Porret, as modified by Yeremian, Kelly and Hoffman, as a micromotor, as taught by Zamesov, in order to select the best powered operator for the movement of the hinge.
As to claim 7, Porret, as modified by Yeremian, Kelly, Zamesov and Hoffman, teaches that the door is fixed to the flange by means of a double-jointed link mechanism comprising a first joint arranged to allow rotational movement about an axis perpendicular to the passage axis of at most 30 degrees relative to the plane of the passage opening and a second joint arranged to allow rotational movement about an axis parallel to the passage axis.
As to claim 9, Hoffman teaches that the second joint is arranged to allow a rotational movement, of up to 180 degrees, relative to the plane of the passage opening.
As to claims 11 and 14, Hoffman teaches that the double-jointed link mechanism is configured to be power operated (by a linear actuator, col 9 lines 27-31). Zamesov teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuator to drive a member (20 that is a micromotor (6).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 9,314,787 to Porret in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20080018117 to Yeremian, US Pat No 1,903,309 to Kelly, WO 2011031185 to Zamesov et al (Zamesov), US Pat No 7,735,480 to Larsen et al (Larsen) and further in view of US Pat No 7,779,510 to Hoffman.
As to claim 8, Porret, as modified by Yeremian, Kelly, Zamesov and Larsen, fails to disclose that the door is fixed to the flange by means of a double-jointed link mechanism. Reynie discloses a single joint (E).
Hoffman teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a door arrangement with a double-jointed link mechanism (201) to fix a door (53) that comprises a first joint (209) arranged to allow rotational movement about an axis perpendicular to the passage axis of at most 30 degrees relative to the plane of the passage opening and a second joint (274, 291) arranged to allow rotational movement about an axis parallel to the passage axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the door arrangement described by Porret, as modified by Yeremian, Kelly, Zamesov and Larsen, with a double-jointed link mechanism, as taught by Hoffman, in order to provide the door to move in other angular directions.
As to claim 10, Hoffman teaches that the second joint is arranged to allow a rotational movement, of up to 180 degrees, relative to the plane of the passage opening.
As to claims 12 and 15, Hoffman teaches that the double-jointed link mechanism is configured to be power operated (by a linear actuator, col 9 lines 27-31). Zamesov teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an actuator to drive a member (20 that is a micromotor (6).
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 17/787468. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application.
At the instant, the current set of claims is identical to the set of claims previously presented by the applicant on 10/9/24 in the parent case 17787468 and that were already examined and an action was been made on the record on 12/30/24.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
June 12, 2026