DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the correspondence filed on 06/30/25. Claims 1-20 are still pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the computing device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Truskovsky et al. (2013/0326614).
Claim 16: Truskovsky et al. discloses a method comprising, at a security agent executing on a computing platform comprising a set of resources and a first application:
authenticating the security agent with a security device based on first identity information associated with the security agent(when multiple security modules are employed, some may verify tickets issued by other modules, such as by determining validity of the ticket and/or verifying digital signature) [page 11, paragraph 0129];
accessing a configuration profile defining a subset of network communication channels, in a set of network communication channels, to which the first application is permitted access(manifest identifies computer resources that an application will access…the computer resources including hardware components such as the various radios and/or software modules that provide access to the aforementioned communication buses) [page 6, paragraphs 0073-0075 | page 2, paragraphs 0027-0029];
monitoring the set of resources responsive to execution of the first application on the computing platform(requesting access to resources) [page 6, paragraph 0079]; and
executing a first action in response to detection of an access by the first application to a first network communication channel in the set of network communication channels, the first communication channel excluded from the subset of network communication channels(when request for secure resource is received, security module determines if the request includes a valid ticket, and if not, initiates procedure for generating a ticket) [page 7, paragraphs 0088-0089].
Claim 17: Truskovsky et al. discloses the method of Claim 16, wherein executing the first action comprises generating a command that causes the computing device to transition from a first operating mode to a second operating mode comprising a safe state(when ticket is valid the security module grants the requested access automatically, but when the ticket is not valid, the security module initiates a procedure for generating a ticket which may comprise prompting the user for manual authorization, hence transitioning to a safer mode of operation and/or safe state, so to speak) [page 7, paragraph 0089].
Claim 20: Truskovsky et al. discloses a method comprising, at a security agent executing on a computing platform comprising a set of resources and a first application:
authenticating the security agent with a security device based on first identity information associated with the security agent [page 11, paragraph 0129];
authenticating the first application based on second identity information associated with the first application(ticket contains application ID and is validated before permitting access to secured resources) [page 7, paragraph 0086 | page 10, paragraphs 0120-0121];
monitoring the set of resources responsive to execution of the first application on the computing platform [page 6, paragraph 0079]; and
in response to access by the first application to a first resource excluded from a subset of resources, in the set of resources, to which the first application is permitted access [page 7, paragraphs 0088-0089], generating a command that causes the computing platform to enter a safe state(when the ticket is not valid, the security module initiates a procedure for generating a ticket which may comprise prompting the user for manual authorization, hence entering a safer mode of operation and/or safe state, so to speak) [page 7, paragraph 0089].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,008,099 in view of Truskovsky et al. (2013/0326614).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to a substantially similar technique for detecting and responding to security policy violations on a computing platform; and only differing in that the instant claims go on to specify minor nuances not found in the patented claims, such as that the configuration profile defines a network communication channels.
However, Truskovsky et al. discloses a similar invention and goes on to disclose each of the various deficiencies not found in the patented claims [page 6, paragraphs 0073-0074], as already discussed above in the prior art rejection(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the patented claims with the additional features of Truskovsky et al., in order to facilitate controlled access to secure resources by various applications, as suggested by Truskovsky et al. [page 1, paragraphs 0002 & 0016]; thus, arriving at patented claims which are not patently distinct from the instant claims and properly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,373,543 in view of Truskovsky et al. (2013/0326614).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to a substantially similar technique for detecting and responding to security policy violations on a computing platform; and only differing in that the patented claims go on to specify minor nuances not found in the instant claims, such as accessing the configuration profile defining various restrictions.
However, Truskovsky et al. discloses a similar invention and goes on to disclose each of the various deficiencies not found in the instant claims [page 6, paragraphs 0073-0074], as already discussed above in the prior art rejection(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the instant claims with the additional features of Truskovsky et al., in order to facilitate controlled access to secure resources by various applications, as suggested by Truskovsky et al. [page 1, paragraphs 0002 & 0016]; thus, arriving at instant claims which are not patently distinct from the patented claims and properly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smith et al. (2020/0021618).
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435