DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 06/30/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,395,407 (US 12395407 B2, hereinafter “Patent”). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are broader in every aspect than the corresponding claims of Patent (US 12395407 B2) and are therefore anticipated by claims 1-20 of Patent (US 12395407 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US 2021/0092132 A1, hereinafter “Bhatia”) in view of Salman et al. (US 2020/0177638 A1, hereinafter “Salman”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 17 and 20), Bhatia teaches:
A method of anomaly detection, the method comprising:
obtaining, at a network interface component, incoming network data from a network device, the networking data including operating information for the network device and mirrored packet metadata (collecting network traffic including packet headers for analysis, Bhatia: [0057], [0086])
classifying, at the network interface component, the incoming network data using one or more machine learning models, including identifying abnormal network data from the incoming network data (classifying normal and abnormal traffic using machine learning model, Bhatia: [0085]).
Bhatia does not explicitly disclose:
causing a policy rule to be generated based on the abnormal network data and applied at the network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Salman teaches:
causing a policy rule to be generated based on the abnormal network data and applied at the network device (generating security rules based on monitored network traffic, Salman: [0030]-[0033], [0044]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bhatia in view of Salman in order to further modify the method of classifying collected network traffic into abnormal traffic using machine learning model from the teachings of Bhatia with the method of generating security rules based on classified network traffic from the teachings of Salman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved resource security (Salman: [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the one or more machine learning models comprise a support vector machine (SVM) model (SVM model, Bhatia: [0085]).
Regarding claim 3, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the one or more machine learning models comprise a logistic regression model, a random forest model, or a k-nearest neighbor (KNN) model (ML model, Bhatia: [0102], [0103]).
Regarding claim 4, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the one or more machine learning models include an unsupervised deep learning model (unsupervised ML model, Bhatia: [0102], [0103]).
Regarding claim 5, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the one or more machine learning models include an SVM model and an unsupervised model (SVM model and ML model, Bhatia: [0085], [0102], [0103]).
Regarding claim 6, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the SVM model is trained on pre-labeled data and the unsupervised model is configured to learn autonomously (trained SVM model and untrained ML model, Bhatia: [0085], [0102], [0103]).
Regarding claim 7, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the unsupervised model is configured to learn via a series of rewards and penalties (function based model learning, Bhatia: [0102], [0103]).
Regarding claim 8, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the one or more machine learning models include a model for network traffic analysis, a model for network security analysis, and/or a model for network maintenance analysis (detecting abnormal traffic using machine learning model, Bhatia: [0085]).
Regarding claim 9, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the classifying the incoming network data is performed in real time (classifying normal and abnormal traffic in real-time, Bhatia: [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the incoming network data corresponds to a border gateway protocol (BGP) change (collecting raw data of network traffic including source, Bhatia: [0048], [0087]).
Regarding claim 11, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the incoming network data comprises protocol metadata for one or more network packets (classifying network traffic based on network protocols, Bhatia: [0064], [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein classifying the incoming network data comprises performing a two-class classification (classifying normal and abnormal traffic, Bhatia: [0085]).
Regarding claim 13, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
further comprising obtaining a classification hyperplane for the one or more machine learning models by training the one or more machine learning models using labeled training data (training model with training data, Bhatia: [0085], [0102], [0103]).
Regarding claim 14, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the network interface component is a component of the network device (network device collecting network traffic, Bhatia: [0037], [0057], [0086]).
Regarding claim 15, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein classifying the incoming network data comprises performing a radial basis function to linearly-separate the incoming network data (classifying network traffic into normal and abnormal traffic, Bhatia: [0085]).
Regarding claim 16, Bhatia-Salman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Bhatia-Salman further discloses:
wherein the operating information comprises one or more of: information about an operating state of the network device, information about a network state detected by the network device, and information about hardware and/or software of the network device (packet headers for analysis of abnormal traffic detection, Bhatia: [0057], [0086]).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2 and 3. Therefore, claims 18 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 2 and 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Beliveau et al. (US 2014/0233385 A1: Methods and Network Nodes for Traffic Steering Based on Per-Flow Policies), Rahat et al. (US 2019/0045036 A1: Header Modification for Supplement Services), Miriyala et al. (US 2020/0106744 A1: Intent-Based Policy Generation for Virtual Networks), Seddigh et al. (US 2018/0139104 A1: Method and System for Discovery and Mapping of a Network Topology), Kaplan et al. (US 2007/0106605 A1: Apparatus and Method for Determining Billable Resources on a Computer Network), and Ameling et al. (US 2024/0267317 A1: Methods, Systems and Computer Readable Media for Non-Intrusive Queue Analysis).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454