Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues 1) it would not have been obvious to combine the teachings of the cited prior art reference, Hannuksela, with teachings of cited prior art reference Guo since Guo is directed toward a single layer coding architecture focused on intra prediction (SDIP) while Hannuksela is directed toward multi-layer scalable coding (see remarks pg. 7, para. 1 and 2). The applicant further argues: 2) the invention disclosed by Guo would become inoperable or destroy its intended function (see remarks pg. 7, para. 3).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. 1) The examiner contends Guo is directed toward both intra and inter prediction ([0043], [0087], [0093], [0120], blocks are encoded in inter or intra mode)(in other words, while Guo discusses signaling whether or not a block is encoded using short distance intra prediction (SDIP) ([0006], [0035], [0037]), Guo does not limit the type of prediction to only include SDIP; and, as known in the art, intra prediction and inter prediction processes often include commonly used processes which are applicable to both the intra/inter prediction processes, such as image resizing (padding, resampling, upscaling/downscaling, varying the aspect ratio) for motion prediction and signaling syntaxes regarding said processes. In this instance, while Guo discusses performing motion estimation/compensation ([0043], [0087], [0093], [0120]), Guo does not account for unavailable reference samples in the reference image when a vector of the current image points outside of the reference image, which could possibly lead to image degradation during encoding/decoding. Hannuksela remedies this issue by padding unavailable reference pixel locations ([0223], [0229]) and signaling padding parameters for both and x and y directions using the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY. 2) While Guo is directed toward single layer prediction and Hannuksela is directed toward multi-layer prediction, incorporating the padding process taught by Hannuksela into the prediction process taught by Guo would not render the invention taught by Guo inoperable, but would in fact increase the encoding/decoding quality and image display by accounting for unavailable reference samples for prediction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,830 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,809 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,818 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,839 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2013/0163664) in view of Hannuksela (US 2019/0082184).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded (FIG. 3, the encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30);
determining a current block included in the image ([0045], a current block is processed);
obtaining information on a residual block for the current block from the bitstream ([0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)), the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0061], [0067], [0129], a split enable flag is signaled), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0039], a split direction flag is signaled);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the information on the residual block ([0067], transform units are generated using the split flag information);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0109], a prediction block is generated);
reconstructing the current block based on the residual block and the prediction block to generate a reconstructed image ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated);
performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled, [0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)); and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 6, 152-158; FIG. 8, [0070], In asymmetric partitioning, one direction of a CU is not partitioned, while the other direction is partitioned into 25% and 75%).
Guo is silent about wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 4, Hannuksela further discloses wherein the resizing is either increasing or decreasing the width or height of the reconstructed image ([0223], the border regions of an image are padded (i.e. the size is increased)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a current block included in the image ([0045], a current block is processed);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0109], a prediction block is generated);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the prediction block ([0067], transform units are generated using the split flag information);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream ([0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)), the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0061], [0067], [0129], a split enable flag is signaled), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0039], a split direction flag is signaled); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled, [0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)),
wherein the image processing information is used for performing an image processing on a reconstructed image, the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated by adding a residual to prediction block), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a 1/4 size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks(FIG. 6, 152-158; FIG. 8, [0070], In asymmetric partitioning, one direction of a CU is not partitioned, while the other direction is partitioned into 25% and 75%).
Guo is silent about wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Guo further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image (FIG. 3, the encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2013/0163664) in view of Hannuksela (US 2019/0082184), and further in view of Yoo et al. (Yoo) (US 2017/0155922).
Regarding claim 2, Guo in view of Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Guo in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable.
Yoo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo into the teachings of Guo in view of Hannuksela for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488