Priority
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the priority objections made in the previous office action have been fully considered and are persuasive. The priority objections made in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,802 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,818 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,839 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 8 recite the limitation “wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image, independently of whether the reconstructed image is used as a reference image for prediction or not”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (Yoo) (US 2017/0155922) in view of Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2013/0163664) in view of Hannuksela (US 2019/0082184).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded (FIG. 12, an encoded bitstream BISTREAM is received by decoder 500);
determining a current block included in the image ([0138], a current block is input);
obtaining information on a residual block for the current block from the bitstream, the information on the residual block includes a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0266], Table 1, splitting of a transform block (i.e. a transformed residual block) asymmetrically is signaled for splitting the current block into transform blocks);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the information on the residual block (FIG. 20, [0165], [0266], splitting of the transform block is performed based on the signaled transform split type);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0215], a predictor (prediction) block is generated);
reconstructing the current block based on the residual block and the prediction block to generate a reconstructed image ([0215], the residual is added to a prediction block to generate a reconstructed block); and
performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed),
wherein the residual block is added to a prediction block corresponding to the residual block ([0215], the residual is added to the predictor block);
wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image ([0069], [0094], padding of the current image is performed), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 20, block 1322-1338).
Yoo is silent about the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks, a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction; and resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Guo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the information on the residual block ([0028], [0067], transform unit splitting is performed) includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0038], [0162], a SDIP_flag indicates whether or not a block is split), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043], asymmetric split flags are signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0041], SDIP_flag_direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Yoo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Yoo in view of Guo is silent about resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses resizing the reconstructed image ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed) based on resizing information included in the image processing information ([0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0320], the image is resized according to a scale factor(s) which is used for resampling (i.e. padding); a scale factor greater than or less than one is able to be used to determine the ratio of the resized image to the size of the original image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Yoo in view of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo discloses wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo discloses wherein the resizing is either increasing or decreasing the width or height of the reconstructed image (FIG. 5, the image size is increased by padding; [0094], the padded region may be removed (i.e. the size of the image is reduced)).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a current block included in the image ([0138], a current block is input);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0215], a predictor (prediction) block is generated);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the prediction block ([0215], a residual is generated by subtracting a current block from a predictor block);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream, the information on the residual block includes a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0266], Table 1, splitting of a transform block (i.e. a transformed residual block) asymmetrically is signaled for splitting the current block into transform blocks); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed),
wherein the image processing information is used for performing an image processing on a reconstructed image ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed), the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0215], the residual is added to a prediction block to generate a reconstructed block),
wherein the residual block is added to a prediction block corresponding to the residual block ([0215], the residual is added to a prediction block to generate a reconstructed block),
wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image ([0069], [0094], padding of the current image is performed), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 20, block 1322-1338).
Yoo is silent about the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks, a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction; and resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Guo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the information on the residual block ([0006], transform unit splitting is performed) includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0038], [0162], a SDIP_flag indicates whether or not a block is split), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043], asymmetric split flags are signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0041], SDIP_flag_direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Yoo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Yoo in view of Guo is silent about resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses resizing the reconstructed image ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed) based on resizing information included in the image processing information ([0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0320], the image is resized according to a scale factor(s) which is used for resampling (i.e. padding); a scale factor greater than or less than one is able to be used to determine the ratio of the resized image to the size of the original image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Yoo in view of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Lee further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image and transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 12, an encoded bitstream BISTREAM is received by decoder 500).
Conclusion
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488