DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejections of claims 1, 6, and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112 rejections of claims 1, 6, and 8 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues 1) it would not have been obvious to combine the teachings of the cited prior art reference, Hannuksela and Guo, with teachings of cited prior art reference Yoo since Guo is directed toward a single layer coding architecture focused on intra prediction (SDIP) while Hannuksela and Yoo are directed toward multi-layer scalable coding and single layer coding (see remarks pg. 7, para. 1 and 2). The applicant further argues: 2) the invention disclosed by Guo would become inoperable or destroy its intended function (see remarks pg. 7, para. 3).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. 1) The examiner contends Guo is directed toward both intra and inter prediction ([0043], [0070], [0087], [0093], [0120], [0142], blocks are encoded in inter or intra mode)(in other words, while Guo discusses signaling whether or not a block is encoded using short distance intra prediction (SDIP) ([0006], [0035], [0037]), Guo does not limit the type of prediction to only include SDIP; and, as known in the art, intra prediction and inter prediction processes often include commonly used processes which are applicable to both the intra/inter prediction processes, such as image resizing (padding, resampling, upscaling/downscaling, varying the aspect ratio) for motion prediction and signaling syntaxes regarding said processes. In this instance, while Guo discusses performing motion estimation/compensation ([0043], [0087], [0093], [0120]), Guo does not account for unavailable reference samples in the reference image when a vector of the current image points outside of the reference image, which could possibly lead to image degradation during encoding/decoding. Hannuksela remedies this issue by padding unavailable reference pixel locations ([0223], [0229]) and signaling padding parameters for both and x and y directions using the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY. 2) While Guo is directed toward single layer prediction and Hannuksela is directed toward multi-layer prediction, incorporating the padding process taught by Hannuksela into the prediction process taught by Guo would not render the invention taught by Guo inoperable, but would in fact increase the encoding/decoding quality and image display by accounting for unavailable reference samples for prediction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,802 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,809 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,839 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (Yoo) (US 2017/0155922) in view of Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2013/0163664) in view of Hannuksela (US 2019/0082184).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded (FIG. 12, an encoded bitstream BISTREAM is received by decoder 500);
determining a current block included in the image ([0138], a current block is input);
obtaining information on a residual block for the current block from the bitstream, the information on the residual block includes a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0266], Table 1, splitting of a transform block (i.e. a transformed residual block) asymmetrically is signaled for splitting the current block into transform blocks);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the information on the residual block (FIG. 20, [0165], [0266], splitting of the transform block is performed based on the signaled transform split type);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0215], a predictor (prediction) block is generated);
reconstructing the current block based on the residual block and the prediction block to generate a reconstructed image ([0215], the residual is added to a prediction block to generate a reconstructed block); and
performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed),
wherein the residual block is generated by performing inverse-quantization ([0215], inverse quantization is performed);
wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image ([0069], [0094], padding of the current image is performed), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 20, block 1322-1338).
Yoo is silent about the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks, a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction; and resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Guo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the information on the residual block ([0028], [0067], transform unit splitting is performed) includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0067], a split flag indicates whether or not a block is split in transform units TU), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0070], [0072], [0142], asymmetric split flags for inter prediction are signaled) and a flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0070], an indication of left right up or down direction partitioning). The examiner notes while Guo does not explicitly disclose a third, separate flag for signaling a split direction, in view of In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961), the process of making parts of an invention separable (in this case, having distinct flags for signaling both split type and direction) is not sufficient for distinguishing over the prior art and would require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients (see MPEP 2144.04 section V.B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Yoo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Yoo in view of Guo is silent about resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses resizing the reconstructed image ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed) based on resizing information included in the image processing information ([0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0320], the image is resized according to a scale factor(s) which is used for resampling (i.e. padding); a scale factor greater than or less than one is able to be used to determine the ratio of the resized image to the size of the original image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Yoo in view of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo discloses wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo discloses wherein the resizing is either increasing or decreasing the width or height of the reconstructed image (FIG. 5, the image size is increased by padding).
Regarding claim 6, Yoo discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a current block included in the image ([0138], a current block is input);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0215], a predictor (prediction) block is generated);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the prediction block ([0215], a residual is generated by subtracting a current block from a predictor block);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream, the information on the residual block includes a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0266], Table 1, splitting of a transform block (i.e. a transformed residual block) asymmetrically is signaled for splitting the current block into transform blocks); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed),
wherein the image processing information is used for performing an image processing on a reconstructed image ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed), the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0215], the residual is added to a prediction block to generate a reconstructed block),
wherein the residual block is encoded by performing quantization ([0215], quantization is performed),
wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image ([0069], [0094], padding of the current image is performed), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 20, block 1322-1338).
Yoo is silent about the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks, a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction; and resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Guo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the information on the residual block ([0028], [0067], transform unit splitting is performed) includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0067], a split flag indicates whether or not a block is split in transform units TU), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0070], [0072], [0142], asymmetric split flags for inter prediction are signaled) and a flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0070], an indication of left right up or down direction partitioning). The examiner notes while Guo does not explicitly disclose a third, separate flag for signaling a split direction, in view of In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961), the process of making parts of an invention separable (in this case, having distinct flags for signaling both split type and direction) is not sufficient for distinguishing over the prior art and would require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients (see MPEP 2144.04 section V.B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guo into the teachings of Yoo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Yoo in view of Guo is silent about resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses resizing the reconstructed image ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed) based on resizing information included in the image processing information ([0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0320], the image is resized according to a scale factor(s) which is used for resampling (i.e. padding); a scale factor greater than or less than one is able to be used to determine the ratio of the resized image to the size of the original image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Yoo in view of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Yoo further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image and transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 12, an encoded bitstream BISTREAM is received by decoder 500).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488