Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112(a) rejections of claims 1, 6, 7, and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(a) rejections of claims 1, 6, 7, and 8 have been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,802 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,809 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,818 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,839 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2013/0163664) in view of Hannuksela (US 2019/0082184).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded (FIG. 3, the encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30);
determining a current block included in the image ([0045], a current block is processed);
obtaining information on a residual block for the current block from the bitstream ([0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)), the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0061], [0067], [0129], a split enable flag is signaled), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0039], a split direction flag is signaled);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the information on the residual block ([0067], transform units are generated using the split flag information);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0109], a prediction block is generated);
reconstructing the current block based on the residual block and the prediction block to generate a reconstructed image ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated); and
wherein the residual block is generated by performing inverse-transformation ([0109], via inverse transformation unit 60), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 6, 152-158; FIG. 8, [0070], In asymmetric partitioning, one direction of a CU is not partitioned, while the other direction is partitioned into 25% and 75%).
Guo is silent about performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 4, Hannuksela further discloses wherein the resizing is either increasing or decreasing the width or height of the reconstructed image ([0223], the border regions of an image are padded (i.e. the size is increased)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a current block included in the image ([0045], a current block is processed);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0109], a prediction block is generated);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the prediction block ([0067], transform units are generated using the split flag information);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream ([0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)), the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0061], [0067], [0129], a split enable flag is signaled), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0039], a split direction flag is signaled); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled, [0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)),
the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated),
wherein the residual block is encoded by performing transformation ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 6, 152-158; FIG. 8, [0070], In asymmetric partitioning, one direction of a CU is not partitioned, while the other direction is partitioned into 25% and 75%).
Guo is silent about wherein the image processing information is used for performing an image processing on a reconstructed image, wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the image processing information is used for performing an image processing on a reconstructed image ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image), wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Guo further discloses a computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which 's generated by a method of encoding an image ([0185], a program stored on a computer readable media is executed).
Claim 7’s recitation of “A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which 's generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the image and flag data manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Guo recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0185]).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Guo further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image (FIG. 3, the encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30).
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2013/0163664) in view of Hannuksela (US 2019/0082184), and further in view of Yoo et al. (Yoo) (US 2017/0155922).
Regarding claim 2, 3, and 5, Guo in view of Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1 above). Hannuksela further discloses wherein the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Guo in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable; and wherein, based on the flag indicating enable, the image processing information comprises resizing information for the resizing.
Yoo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed); and wherein, based on the flag indicating enable, the image processing information comprises resizing information for the resizing ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo into the teachings of Guo in view of Hannuksela for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488