Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 7, and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,802 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,809 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,818 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/255,839 (reference application). Any differences between the instant application’s claims and the co-pending application’s claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2013/0163664) in view of Li et al. (Li) (US Pat. No. 6,704,358).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded (FIG. 3, the encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30);
determining a current block included in the image ([0045], a current block is processed);
obtaining information on a residual block for the current block from the bitstream ([0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)), the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0061], [0067], [0129], a split enable flag is signaled), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0039], a split direction flag is signaled);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the information on the residual block ([0067], transform units are generated using the split flag information);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0109], a prediction block is generated);
reconstructing the current block based on the residual block and the prediction block to generate a reconstructed image ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated); and
wherein the residual block is generated by performing inverse-transformation ([0109], via inverse transformation unit 60), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 6, 152-158; FIG. 8, [0070], In asymmetric partitioning, one direction of a CU is not partitioned, while the other direction is partitioned into 25% and 75%).
Guo is silent about performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Li from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream (col. 7, lns. 62-67, SCALE FACTOR is the scaling factor used by, e.g., pixel processor 120 to scale the pixel blocks forming the reference frame. In the case horizontal scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the horizontal scale factor SFH, while in the case of vertical scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the vertical scale factor SFV), and wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height (col. 7, lns. 62-67, SCALE FACTOR is the scaling factor used by, e.g., pixel processor 120 to scale the pixel blocks forming the reference frame. In the case horizontal scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the horizontal scale factor SFH, while in the case of vertical scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the vertical scale factor SFV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 4, Li further discloses wherein the resizing is either increasing or decreasing the width or height of the reconstructed image (col. 7, lns. 62-67, SCALE FACTOR is the scaling factor used by, e.g., pixel processor 120 to scale the pixel blocks forming the reference frame. In the case horizontal scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the horizontal scale factor SFH, while in the case of vertical scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the vertical scale factor SFV; col. 16, lns. 7-17, the image size is increased or decreased).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
determining a current block included in the image ([0045], a current block is processed);
generating a prediction block for the current block ([0109], a prediction block is generated);
generating a residual block for the current block based on the prediction block ([0067], transform units are generated using the split flag information);
encoding information on the residual block into a bitstream ([0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)), the information on the residual block includes at least one of a first flag indicating whether to divide the current block to obtain one or more sub-blocks ([0061], [0067], [0129], a split enable flag is signaled), a second flag indicating whether to divide the current block asymmetrically ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled) and a third flag indicating whether a division direction for the current block is a horizontal direction or a vertical direction ([0039], a split direction flag is signaled); and
encoding image processing information into the bitstream ([0043] asymmetric partitioning is signaled, [0045], [0068], residual data corresponding to data for a coding unit is obtained for partitioning a block into transform units (TU)),
the reconstructed image is generated by reconstructing the current block based on the residual block ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated),
wherein the residual block is encoded by performing transformation ([0109], a reconstructed block is generated), and
wherein, in case the current block is divided asymmetrically, a first sub-block having a ¼ size of the current block is obtained, the first sub-block belonging to the one or more sub-blocks (FIG. 6, 152-158; FIG. 8, [0070], In asymmetric partitioning, one direction of a CU is not partitioned, while the other direction is partitioned into 25% and 75%).
Guo is silent about performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream, wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Li from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses performing an image processing on the reconstructed image based on image processing information included in the bitstream (col. 7, lns. 62-67, SCALE FACTOR is the scaling factor used by, e.g., pixel processor 120 to scale the pixel blocks forming the reference frame. In the case horizontal scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the horizontal scale factor SFH, while in the case of vertical scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the vertical scale factor SFV), and wherein the image processing comprises resizing the reconstructed image based on resizing information included in the image processing information, the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height (col. 7, lns. 62-67, SCALE FACTOR is the scaling factor used by, e.g., pixel processor 120 to scale the pixel blocks forming the reference frame. In the case horizontal scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the horizontal scale factor SFH, while in the case of vertical scaling, SCALE FACTOR is equal to the vertical scale factor SFV).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Guo for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Guo further discloses a computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which 's generated by a method of encoding an image ([0185], a program stored on a computer readable media is executed).
Claim 7’s recitation of “A computer readable recoding medium storing a bitstream which 's generated by a method of encoding an image, the method of encoding comprises…” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bit stream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the image and flag data manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 18 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Guo recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0185]).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6. Guo further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image (FIG. 3, the encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (Guo) (US 2013/0163664) in view of Li et al. (Li) (US Pat. No. 6,704,358), and further in view of Yoo et al. (Yoo) (US 2017/0155922).
Regarding claim 2, Guo in view of Li discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Guo in view of Li is silent about wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable.
Yoo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable ([0069], [0094], padding of the current blocks is performed using information indicating whether or not padding is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo into the teachings of Guo in view of Li for efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hannuksela (US 2019/0082184) ([0223], reconstructed images are padded, [0306], resampling involving padding for reference images is performed, [0320], the variables ScaleFactorX and ScaleFactorY are indicated in a bitstream for padding a reference image).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488