DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,344,474, and claims 9-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,159. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 11, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herbert (8,616,250).
In re claim 1, Herbert discloses a computer-implemented method when executed on data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
receiving an order identifying a first ingredient and a second ingredient (col.13 ln.22-30);
operating a first ejector (150) to dispense the first ingredient from a first container (inherent containers of “flavoring product dispensers” col.5 ln.14-36) to a bin (130) disposed within a dispensing region (col.13 ln.31-64); and
operating a second ejector (160 or 155) to dispense the second ingredient from a second container (165 or inherent container of product dispenser 155) to the bin within the dispensing region (figs. 1-4, 10, 21).
In re claim 6, Herbert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
operating a conveyor to move the bin within the dispensing region to a first position corresponding to the first ingredient (at least fig.21); and
operating the conveyor to move the bin within the dispensing region to a second position corresponding to the second ingredient (at least fig.21).
In re claim 8, Herbert discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the operations further include operating the conveyor to move the bin to a third position outside of the dispensing region for retrieval of the bin by a user (col.11 ln.33-47).
In re claim 9, Herbert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first ejector is operated to dispense a metered amount of the first ingredient from the first container based on a sensor detecting the first ingredient dispensed from the first container.
In re claim 11, Herbert discloses a system comprising:
memory hardware storing instructions that, when executed on data processing hardware in communication with the memory hardware, cause the data processing hardware to perform the method of claim 1 (see the rejection, supra).
In re claim 16, see the rejection of claim 1 above as similar reasoning applies.
In re claim 20, see the rejection of claim 6 above as similar reasoning applies.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maurantonio (4,748,902).
In re claim 16, Maurantonio discloses a system for dispensing ingredients, the system comprising:
a dispensing region (region having bin 152);
a first container (one of 123) holding a first ingredient;
a second container (another of 123) holding a second ingredient;
a first ejector (a first one of 124 or 173) operable to dispense the first ingredient from the first container to the dispensing region; and
a second ejector (a second one of 124 or 173) operable to dispense the second ingredient from the second container to the dispensing region.
In re claim 17, Herbert discloses. The system of claim 16, wherein the first container and the second container are accommodated within a cabinet (111) disposed above the dispensing region (fig.5).
In re claim 19, Herbert discloses. The system of claim 17, wherein the cabinet includes a first chute (chute at a first one of 178) configured to direct the first ingredient dispensed from the first container toward the dispensing region, and the cabinet includes a second chute (chute at a second one of 178) configured to direct the second ingredient dispensed from the second container toward the dispensing region.
In re claim 20, Herbert discloses. The system of claim 16, further comprising a conveyor (128) operable to move a bin within the dispensing region between at least a first position corresponding to the first ingredient and a second position corresponding to the second ingredient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herbert in view of Maurantonio.
In re claims 2 and 12, Herbert discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first container and the second container are accommodated within a cabinet (200). However, Herbert discloses the cabinet is below the dispensing region and utilized pumps to bring the fluid up.
Maurantonio teaches another dispensing method wherein the containers (22) are in a cabinet (11) disposed above the dispensing region (fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Maurantonio for the purpose gravity dispensing the ingredients thereby of eliminating the need for pumps.
In re claims 3 and 13, Herbert discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the cabinet is refrigerated via a cooling system (col.5 ln.54-60).
In re claims 5 and 15, Herbert discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the cabinet includes a first chute (chute shown as 150) configured to direct the first ingredient dispensed from the first container toward the dispensing region, and the cabinet includes a second chute (chute shown as 160 or 155) configured to direct the second ingredient dispensed from the second container toward the dispensing region.
In re claim 17, see the rejection of claim 2 above as similar reasoning applies.
In re claim 18, see the rejection of claim 3 above as similar reasoning applies.
In re claim 19, see the rejection of claim 5 above as similar reasoning applies.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herbert in view of Dresser (10,239,742)
In re claim 7, Herbert discloses the use of weight sensors which detect the container it fails to explicitly discloses wherein operating the first ejector to dispense the first ingredient is responsive to a sensor detecting presence of the bin at the first position of the dispensing region.
Dresser teaches another method of dispensing ingredients wherein operating the first ejector to dispense the first ingredient is responsive to a sensor detecting presence of the bin at the first position of the dispensing region (col.7 ln.26-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Dresser in Herbert for the purpose of reducing spills and errors and accidently dispensing when no container is present.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herbert in view of Hamon (10,588,322).
In re claim 10, Herbert fails to explicitly disclose wherein the order comprises a customer order for a pizza, the pizza including at least the first ingredient and the second ingredient.
Hamon teaches another method of dispensing ingredients wherein the order comprises a customer order for a pizza, the pizza including at least the first ingredient and the second ingredient (whole disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Hamon in Herbert for the purpose of designing a system for the intended end use. Hamon teaches pizza ingredients are another type of food dispensing system. Selection of the specific ingredients dispensed is a design choice based on the desired product to be made. This requires only routine and ordinary skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and once a Terminal Disclaimer is filed to obviate the NSDP rejections.
Conclusion
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753